Super 8's Gonna Be Damp Squib

It would be a ridiculous waste of money to build another stadium in Dublin. When would Croke Park be used then? Croke Park needs using as much as possible and the Dubs do the best job of filling it or getting closest to it.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 06/08/2017 23:00:35    2029975

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I don't know what safety has to with ye playing games around the the country!

All big intercounty games are ticketed now and people can safely buy their tickets on line or in SuperValu or centra or their clubs or from a ticket van.

There are plenty of venues like clones Cork thurles with capacities of over 40,000 that could facilitate a stand alone clash with the dubs, at most you'd probably look at 20,000 dubs fans that would travel and a quarter of them would get lost anyway so they'd be no problem with safety or getting the dubs to hit the road or into stadia around the country."
I absolutely wouldn't mind at all mate.

In reality though i think you are looking at the early games of a Leinster for a crowd of 20.000-30.000k realistically you are not going to play that outside the province.

In my opinion you are looking at crowds of 50k and up from the Leinster final on. The GAA could cap tickets of course and i would be open to that, i genuinely wouldn't have an issue with say playing Kerry in PUC or Limerick in a semi final, or Tyrone up in Casement when its done up. Galway in Salthill, i would really relish it.

Thats just my choice though, i wouldnt say the Dublin county board would be to bothered, i dont think the GAA would allow it though, Dublin is the cash cow.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/08/2017 23:04:01    2029978

Replying To kildare73:  "Kilkenny wasn't an away game, it was a neutral venue v Laois. Neither was portlaoise, it was a neutral venue too v Carlow. In reality Dublin don't have to do away games for some reason. That's why I asked the question. Not putting that on Dublin, that's a GAA issue but it's plainly ridiculous. Portlaoise wasn't deemed to be able to host the Laois game last year so it was moved to kilkenny but yet it could host the Carlow v Dublin game this year with not an extra brick laid in the meantime. The Carlow game this year too could have been in Dr.Cullen Park as there was around 3k less at it than the Carlow venue holds. Weird logic from Headquarters."
I suppose that fair enough mate. It is unfair on the county who gets the home draw i agree, its not a Dublin issue though really, its the GAA who make these decision on Safety and i suspect financial reasons.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/08/2017 23:05:38    2029979

Replying To kildare73:  "I know what you are saying and I'm not aiming digs at Dublin here, I am asking a serious question. Do you not think if Dublin were to build that 35k stadium their resources would be depleted as to what they can spend on coaching and the like? Some of the money they currently have available to them would have to be used to build and upkeep their own ground instead of channelling 100% of it into their playing squads. Every other county, big or small, has a county ground to fund from within except Dublin. The Dubs have definitely spent their money well but maybe not necessarily on the same things other counties have had to."
Not at all mate.

The popular narrative is Dublin have money coming out of their ears, but in reality the games development money that is the headline figure for finance doesn't go near the senior inter county teams. It goes on developing the grassroots and attracting young people into gaelic games across the county.

In truth Mayo spent the most on their teams last year. Generally the top counties are pretty equal on what they spend on their inter-county teams. http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/mayo-the-big-spenders-this-graph-breaks-down-each-countys-costs-in-2016-35458592.html

Dublins home ground is parnel park and the county board is charged with its up keep, Dublin teams play there just not the senior football team because the GAA wouldnt allow them, i would love the senior football team to play some games there, but it would be a death trap.

I think the GAA want Dublin in Croke park if i am honest.

Im not overly fussed abo tit, it has its pros and cons, im happy for Dublin to play wherever when ever, and feel we get hard done by not having as many away games as other teams.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/08/2017 23:16:04    2029986

Replying To bennybunny:  "It would be a ridiculous waste of money to build another stadium in Dublin. When would Croke Park be used then? Croke Park needs using as much as possible and the Dubs do the best job of filling it or getting closest to it."
It's not the job of Leinster counties to let their game go into Croke Park so it can be paid for. It was never envisaged to be anybody's home pitch. We all pay for our own county grounds but Dublin seem to be getting a free pass. If Cork knew that for years to come they would never get a home game against Kerry would Cork people sit quietly and say nothing? I seriously doubt it.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 06/08/2017 23:23:18    2029996

Watching the Sunday game tonight it seems rte are looking for a super 3. Hardly a mention of monaghan/armagh and not a mention of a game on tomorrow yet a half hour discussion on a game that is not for another 3 weeks.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 06/08/2017 23:23:52    2029997

Replying To TheUsername:  "Not at all mate.

The popular narrative is Dublin have money coming out of their ears, but in reality the games development money that is the headline figure for finance doesn't go near the senior inter county teams. It goes on developing the grassroots and attracting young people into gaelic games across the county.

In truth Mayo spent the most on their teams last year. Generally the top counties are pretty equal on what they spend on their inter-county teams. http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/mayo-the-big-spenders-this-graph-breaks-down-each-countys-costs-in-2016-35458592.html

Dublins home ground is parnel park and the county board is charged with its up keep, Dublin teams play there just not the senior football team because the GAA wouldnt allow them, i would love the senior football team to play some games there, but it would be a death trap.

I think the GAA want Dublin in Croke park if i am honest.

Im not overly fussed abo tit, it has its pros and cons, im happy for Dublin to play wherever when ever, and feel we get hard done by not having as many away games as other teams."
I take your point. I suppose what I'm saying is all other counties invest as much as they can too in underage and coaching but also have to provide a place for the county team to play. Dublin don't have to do that so more money is available to spend on the grassroots and building structure. Dublin are the best financed county in the land, having their own ground and spending on grassroots should be more easily possible for them than anybody. Even London and New York have to provide themselves with a ground. But my points are more validly addressed to GAA hierarchy, Dublin are only doing what any of us would do in the circumstances and taking full advantage of it. Just seems a bit of an unbalanced situation.
Before I go thank you for not being dismissive and claiming bitterness and the like. It was nice to talk over points in a decent fashion. Good luck in the semi final mate.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 06/08/2017 23:39:24    2030009

Replying To ROS1:  "Watching the Sunday game tonight it seems rte are looking for a super 3. Hardly a mention of monaghan/armagh and not a mention of a game on tomorrow yet a half hour discussion on a game that is not for another 3 weeks."
Definitely poor form not to mention the game tomorrow. Totally ignored it. Got themselves into a spin about Dublin and Tyrone when there will be loads of time to talk about that game.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 06/08/2017 23:48:25    2030015

Replying To kildare73:  "I take your point. I suppose what I'm saying is all other counties invest as much as they can too in underage and coaching but also have to provide a place for the county team to play. Dublin don't have to do that so more money is available to spend on the grassroots and building structure. Dublin are the best financed county in the land, having their own ground and spending on grassroots should be more easily possible for them than anybody. Even London and New York have to provide themselves with a ground. But my points are more validly addressed to GAA hierarchy, Dublin are only doing what any of us would do in the circumstances and taking full advantage of it. Just seems a bit of an unbalanced situation.
Before I go thank you for not being dismissive and claiming bitterness and the like. It was nice to talk over points in a decent fashion. Good luck in the semi final mate."
Dublin get the lions share of development money mate, but you also have to remember it's catering for millions ok people and ex pats from other counties and it doesn't have a bearing on the senior team provision.

To be fair though Dublin do well with private sponsorship, but the riches are far over exaggerated.

Dublin county board maintain Parnell park mate it's a 15k stadium and is used by county teams except the the senior football team it's also used for club games. It's as big a stadium as others in Leinster and maintains it I'm sure the cost is the same for the Dublin County Board as for other counties.

My understanding is Dublin Senior Footballers play their home games in Croke park at the insistence of the GAA, I think Dublin pay something toward it, but others might have more detail on that. To be honest I don't think there is a financial advantage to Dublin playing in Croke Park, more so for the GAA. Realistically I think the GAA need Dublin in Croke park to make it viable.

I think the Dublin county board would like to build a new ground, seemed the Spawell sight was looking to be bought recently, it seems though the p,an is for a 25mill centre of excellence there as opposed to a ground that was the original plan, I wouldn't be surprised if the GAA shot down the idea of a new ground.

Cheers mate and best of luck to yourselves in Duv 1 next season.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/08/2017 00:52:32    2030048

In my opinion championship football should be as it states on the tin. Once beaten you're out. No Super-8's or backdoor's to redeem yourself.

Suck it up and prepare for next year.

Feck the brigade that says you be given a second chance........and now possibly withh the Super-8's a third chance. Championship my arse!!!

dingle2 (Kerry) - Posts: 278 - 07/08/2017 00:56:25    2030050

Replying To dingle2:  "Going on the four quarter finals we have had this year (Roscommon v Mayo apart) it looks like the proposed Super Eights will turn out to be a damp squib and just inflict further misery on teams who really don't have the ability to compete at such a level. Galway, Monaghan, and Armagh are cases in point on the evidence so far (and possibly Roscommon also).

Imagine Monaghan having to turn around to face Tyrone in Healy Park next weekend and Armagh having to face Dublin in Croker. Following on that there would be a useless rubber game between Monaghan and Armagh while Tyrone and Dublin would shadow box each other in another meaningless game as both teams would have qualified already (only issue would be that if the other side of the Super 8's were known both teams might play to win to avoid a certain semi-final opponent).

All in all I think the Super 8's will be a disaster and will only humiliate and set back teams who are not at the level of preparedness as Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone & Mayo. Teams making incremental progress could be set back hugely by this system.

It has, in my opinion, been created for TV and for pay per view channels in particular so that they get to air more games.

I think this format deserves a rethink and should be scrapped before the damage is done,"
If the Super 8s had been in this year it would have been
Kerry Roscommon Monaghan Armagh in one group
Dublin Tyrone Mayo Galway in the other
Plenty of competitive matches there and up for grabs who would qualify with Kerry and Dublin

Mike Patton (Monaghan) - Posts: 82 - 07/08/2017 08:11:43    2030078

Replying To Mike Patton:  "If the Super 8s had been in this year it would have been
Kerry Roscommon Monaghan Armagh in one group
Dublin Tyrone Mayo Galway in the other
Plenty of competitive matches there and up for grabs who would qualify with Kerry and Dublin"
Would it not have been dublin tryone armagh and monaghan in one group, which based on the weekend would do armagh or monaghan no favours at all

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 07/08/2017 09:44:45    2030095

Replying To uibhfhaili1986:  "Yeah.The GAA is a massive threat to the Premier League.

The GAA doesn't desperately need sky , they could pull the plug on it in the deal if they really wanted so Sky has absolutely no hold over the GAA like you're stupidly implying."
No GAA is being used to plug a gap in the Sky schedule.

No GAA is not dependent on Sky deal - yet. That will take time.

Bit defensive of Sky deal - no vested interests?

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 503 - 07/08/2017 10:53:53    2030121

Replying To dingle2:  "In my opinion championship football should be as it states on the tin. Once beaten you're out. No Super-8's or backdoor's to redeem yourself.

Suck it up and prepare for next year.

Feck the brigade that says you be given a second chance........and now possibly withh the Super-8's a third chance. Championship my arse!!!"
I think that is a valid point, i dont have a problem with the back door per say, but lets remember the purpose was to bring the weaker counties on.

This year we have a situation Mayo who have been beaten by Galway, drew with Derry, Roscommon and Cork and are still in the championship.

Teams have also won the championship coming through the backdoor.

It begs the question is it still an advantage to weaker counties or act as a safety net for bigger counties.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/08/2017 11:02:18    2030127

Replying To TheUsername:  "I think that is a valid point, i dont have a problem with the back door per say, but lets remember the purpose was to bring the weaker counties on.

This year we have a situation Mayo who have been beaten by Galway, drew with Derry, Roscommon and Cork and are still in the championship.

Teams have also won the championship coming through the backdoor.

It begs the question is it still an advantage to weaker counties or act as a safety net for bigger counties."
Definitely the latter. If they really wanted to design a system to help the weaker counties they would have put some kind of preliminary competition with them broken into groups to give them match practice and sharpness. Then at least they would have a better chance of hitting some form before the Championship proper started and they go up against the better teams. Wouldn't draw massive crowds and telly wouldn't really be interested but at least it would be an honest effort at helping the lower level teams, which was supposed to be the whole point. Right now the Super 8 is looking farcical. There isn't 8 teams of near equal standing to make it come anywhere close to working.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 07/08/2017 15:42:02    2030316

Replying To kildare73:  "Definitely the latter. If they really wanted to design a system to help the weaker counties they would have put some kind of preliminary competition with them broken into groups to give them match practice and sharpness. Then at least they would have a better chance of hitting some form before the Championship proper started and they go up against the better teams. Wouldn't draw massive crowds and telly wouldn't really be interested but at least it would be an honest effort at helping the lower level teams, which was supposed to be the whole point. Right now the Super 8 is looking farcical. There isn't 8 teams of near equal standing to make it come anywhere close to working."
Okay, So of the last 8 Teams that were in the championship for 2017, The Four Winners contributed to score(excluding Mayo/Roscommoon drawn game) 9 goals 73 Points(Dublin,Kerry,Mayo, Tyrone). The four beaten teams scored 0 Goals and 42 Points.(Galway,Roscommon, Armagh and Monaghan). Whats does this say for Super 8s starting in 2018?
I think the story is plain and simple.

ranger (None) - Posts: 166 - 07/08/2017 15:48:29    2030332

After today that is what we will have to look forward too - brutal idea.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 07/08/2017 15:53:40    2030340

Today's result further proves my point that the so called Super 8 system will be a damp squib with the stronger getting stronger and the weaker qualifying teams being humiliated with no chance of a one off shock and little or no chance of ever making an All Ireland semi....ever!!!

dingle2 (Kerry) - Posts: 278 - 07/08/2017 16:02:16    2030359

When they have a half empty Croke Park on a number of occasions it might begin to dawn on them as people will vote with their feet, if they think people from Monaghan, Galway, Roscommon, Armagh are going to make the long journey & the financial cost of the day to fill Croke Park for regular maulings they are blind to the reality. It will take a lot for Rachel, Peter & James to dress up some of the bore feats we had this w'end for Sky. Fair play to Colm O Rourke for giving us a bit of passion & opinion today as he speaks for the majority.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 07/08/2017 16:09:14    2030373

Replying To dingle2:  "Today's result further proves my point that the so called Super 8 system will be a damp squib with the stronger getting stronger and the weaker qualifying teams being humiliated with no chance of a one off shock and little or no chance of ever making an All Ireland semi....ever!!!"
So the top 4 are in order

Dublin
Mayo
Tyrone
Kerry

Why do you say that other counties cannot get up there ever? A little myopic surely?
I could see Donegal or Monaghan or Galway or Cork etc put their hands up over the next few seasons.
RTE pundits are lazy, they just go with form du jour, now they have super 4, yesterday they had super 3.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 07/08/2017 16:13:28    2030384