Mayo's double standard's

I dont understand why anyone would shout 'BOOO' at a game or anywhere, its so stupid. All Gaa games have it these days and its really annoying. Mayo fans were not booing at the Roscommon players, they were booing the refs decision..the refs are always getting booed but it kind of gets drowned out by the opposing supporters cheering at winning a free..i think the booing and shouting abuse at Andy was very noticable as it was during play and alot of ppl didnt see any reason for it..going back to the FBD game, Andy was getting awful abuse in the dug out before coming on so all this was there before the kissing of the badge

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 602 - 01/08/2017 11:49:09    2027254

Replying To tommy132:  "I dont understand why anyone would shout 'BOOO' at a game or anywhere, its so stupid. All Gaa games have it these days and its really annoying. Mayo fans were not booing at the Roscommon players, they were booing the refs decision..the refs are always getting booed but it kind of gets drowned out by the opposing supporters cheering at winning a free..i think the booing and shouting abuse at Andy was very noticable as it was during play and alot of ppl didnt see any reason for it..going back to the FBD game, Andy was getting awful abuse in the dug out before coming on so all this was there before the kissing of the badge"
Watch the match back and turn on the sound. The Mayo booing by Mayo fans was all through the game you must have selective hearing and especially when Donie Smith was taking his free the booing lasted for well over a minute in and around him taking the free especially while he was running up to kick it. Booing the ref is no excuse he has feelings too and is a lot more isolated in Croker than any player- And to think he was booed for giving a free against Coen for touching the ball on the ground, Its mens football you cant touch the ball on the ground.
Andy only got abuse in Kiltoom after his actions on the pitch

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 01/08/2017 12:31:14    2027294

Galway V Mayo this year.

Comer got slapped in the family jewels, Mayo player gets sent off, Mayo supporters start booing Comer the rest of the match.

MTS (Galway) - Posts: 279 - 01/08/2017 12:55:56    2027317

Booing is pathetic really but it has been creeping into the game for a while now.
The hill do everything to try and put visiting freetakers off but thats been going on for decades.

The reason Rossies were booing Moran was because he kissed the mayo crest after scoring a goal in an fbd match in january.
The reason Andy did this is because some young lads had been shouting personal abuse at him as he warmed up before coming
on in that match. So there is context and to why Andy reacted the way he did in that match.

It's a bit bizarre that ballaghaderreen is in Roscommon but the team plays in the mayo championship. There is historical reasons
for this. That aint Andy Moran fault and he shouldn't be abused for it. Anyone who knows him will tell you he's a decent bloke.
Always plays the game in the right spirit.

Emotions were running high in such a tense and tight match on Sunday but lets hope the genuine supporters voice is head next
Monday. Both sets of supporters are better than this pathetic soccer type booing.

I have no idea who will win the replay, if i had to put a bet on, i'd probably still go with Mayo but it looks like Ross have the better
tactical nous on the sideline.

If the Rossies win, I'll shake their hands and wish them all the best against the kingdom.

Ah_Here (Mayo) - Posts: 42 - 01/08/2017 12:59:12    2027323

Replying To Gleebo:  "The 2011 Connacht final was played in Roscommon in monsoon like conditions, leaving several roads out of Mayo impassable, so it's not a terribly good example of the county's support base, bandwagon or otherwise. Given that Mayo regularly outnumber opposition supporters at away games, I would suggest that their league support is a better metric to gauge their core fan base, much like any other county, actually. Funny that Roscommon failed to sell out their season ticket allocation, given their amazing support in comparison to their neighbours...

As an aside, there's some amount of whingeing and bellyaching on these boards recently, and most of it's not coming from Mayo fans. We get it, you don't like us. Do we care? No."
Talk about excuses about Mayos 2011 support.. I was at the Mayo v Longford senior back door game in Pearse park in the 2010 more Roscommon supporters have traveled to Longford for underage games than Mayo supporters attended that game. That was a Mayo team that reached the Div one final that year. I would like to see how much support Mayo would have at games if they had to play years down in Div 3 and one year in Div 4 like we had to do 2004 to 2014. A better gauge of core/hardcore support then I'd reckon.

I like Mayo and have always supported Connacht teams when we are no longer in the championship but unfortunately the Mayo support on here,Mayogaablog,Gaaboard etc paint their support in a very bad light and clearly those same "supporters" were booing every free we took last Sunday and cheering all of our wides. Those type of supporters of course won't be going to Mayo games once results turn south...

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 01/08/2017 16:12:31    2027462

Mayo are a cod...always fall flat on their faces. Come on Roscommon send them packing please

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 02/08/2017 21:17:46    2028106

Note to self don't leave Hoganstand account open on laptop on kitchen table...well first time it's happened in my 15 odd years posting here...any ideas on how I can get her back ?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 02/08/2017 21:41:56    2028121

Replying To Gleebo:  "The 2011 Connacht final was played in Roscommon in monsoon like conditions, leaving several roads out of Mayo impassable, so it's not a terribly good example of the county's support base, bandwagon or otherwise. Given that Mayo regularly outnumber opposition supporters at away games, I would suggest that their league support is a better metric to gauge their core fan base, much like any other county, actually. Funny that Roscommon failed to sell out their season ticket allocation, given their amazing support in comparison to their neighbours...

As an aside, there's some amount of whingeing and bellyaching on these boards recently, and most of it's not coming from Mayo fans. We get it, you don't like us. Do we care? No."
No one likes us, we don't care? Careful Gleebo that's Millwall territory. Carry on like that and the soccer hating fraternity will be on here calling you a fake Gael! :)

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 02/08/2017 21:46:09    2028123

Replying To yew_tree:  "Note to self don't leave Hoganstand account open on laptop on kitchen table...well first time it's happened in my 15 odd years posting here...any ideas on how I can get her back ?"
Plenty. But you'd never hear the end of it !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 02/08/2017 22:09:09    2028137

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Watch the match back and turn on the sound. The Mayo booing by Mayo fans was all through the game you must have selective hearing and especially when Donie Smith was taking his free the booing lasted for well over a minute in and around him taking the free especially while he was running up to kick it. Booing the ref is no excuse he has feelings too and is a lot more isolated in Croker than any player- And to think he was booed for giving a free against Coen for touching the ball on the ground, Its mens football you cant touch the ball on the ground.
Andy only got abuse in Kiltoom after his actions on the pitch"
so this started off with andy being booed, now the big bad mayo fans were booing everything throughout the full game from start to finish and dont forget the referee has feelings too, jez ye lads are great craic, thanks for giving us all a great laugh, dont worry the big bad mayo's will soon be gone but sure we'll head up to croker for another look on bank holiday monday anyway to see what happens and sure hopefully all the comedians on here will keep us entertained between now and then

glasagusdhearg (Mayo) - Posts: 55 - 03/08/2017 00:06:16    2028197

Replying To glasagusdhearg:  "so this started off with andy being booed, now the big bad mayo fans were booing everything throughout the full game from start to finish and dont forget the referee has feelings too, jez ye lads are great craic, thanks for giving us all a great laugh, dont worry the big bad mayo's will soon be gone but sure we'll head up to croker for another look on bank holiday monday anyway to see what happens and sure hopefully all the comedians on here will keep us entertained between now and then"
Jesus get over yourself. As pointed out by sportsjoe last night Mayo fans were booing aswell. Time to come down off your high horse

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 03/08/2017 07:26:59    2028225

Replying To yew_tree:  "Note to self don't leave Hoganstand account open on laptop on kitchen table...well first time it's happened in my 15 odd years posting here...any ideas on how I can get her back ?"
Boooooooooooooo

MTS (Galway) - Posts: 279 - 03/08/2017 07:38:30    2028226

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo are a cod...always fall flat on their faces. Come on Roscommon send them packing please"
here here well said

OverBlackSpot (Roscommon) - Posts: 47 - 03/08/2017 11:19:27    2028315

Replying To MTS:  "Boooooooooooooo"
Feck her...She was left at home while yew_tree goes racing today :)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 03/08/2017 11:34:53    2028326

Replying To yew_tree:  "Feck her...She was left at home while yew_tree goes racing today :)"
He's one for you in the big race - Ornua - Mayo colors :-)

MTS (Galway) - Posts: 279 - 03/08/2017 11:45:41    2028333

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "No one likes us, we don't care? Careful Gleebo that's Millwall territory. Carry on like that and the soccer hating fraternity will be on here calling you a fake Gael! :)"
Yeah but they would have to be aware of Milwall fans carry on and reputation and for my liking that would be showing too much of an interest which is grounds for excommunication itself

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 03/08/2017 13:02:56    2028384

Replying To MTS:  "He's one for you in the big race - Ornua - Mayo colors :-)"
Mayo Colours? Guaranteed to fall at the last or Lose a photo finish then...

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 03/08/2017 14:00:04    2028416

Replying To Jaden:  "Mayo Colours? Guaranteed to fall at the last or Lose a photo finish then..."
Will listen to you and not bet and it would probably win!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 03/08/2017 20:48:34    2028614

Smithers, are they saying boo or boo-urns??

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 03/08/2017 20:54:49    2028617

Replying To MTS:  "He's one for you in the big race - Ornua - Mayo colors :-)"
Thanks MTS....didn't take your advice but had the last two winners which took me out of the hole. Breaking even in Galway is a successful day in my book :)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 03/08/2017 21:09:53    2028623