Cute Kerry H--rs?

Assuming Mayo win the replay and let me be very clear Kerry would at best be 50/50 to beat Mayo although a lot would favour Mayo

Is this the same Mayo team who Dublin needed 2 own goals and a botched ref decision at the very end just to draw,

The Same Mayo team who inexplicably changed Goalies which cost Mayo 1-3, 1-4 and the best player in Ireland to a Black Card (wrongly in my opinion) and still had a free to got to Extra Time

Is this the Same Mayo team or were they replaced by Aliens......

Galantis (USA) - Posts: 55 - 01/08/2017 18:07:27    2027547

Replying To Galantis:  "Assuming Mayo win the replay and let me be very clear Kerry would at best be 50/50 to beat Mayo although a lot would favour Mayo

Is this the same Mayo team who Dublin needed 2 own goals and a botched ref decision at the very end just to draw,

The Same Mayo team who inexplicably changed Goalies which cost Mayo 1-3, 1-4 and the best player in Ireland to a Black Card (wrongly in my opinion) and still had a free to got to Extra Time

Is this the Same Mayo team or were they replaced by Aliens......"
Yes the same Mayo that drop the load when they face Kerry.
Hopefully this year they give ye a pasting.
Very wishful thinking but we all live in hope.
Seeing Spillane having that smug look wiped off his face would be a joy to behold. Come on Mayo (or Rossies) I say. ..
Anyone But Kerry....! ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 01/08/2017 21:25:44    2027620

Replying To Galantis:  "Assuming Mayo win the replay and let me be very clear Kerry would at best be 50/50 to beat Mayo although a lot would favour Mayo

Is this the Same Mayo team or were they replaced by Aliens......"
Rattled!

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 01/08/2017 21:43:10    2027627

Replying To Fionn:  "Yes the same Mayo that drop the load when they face Kerry.
Hopefully this year they give ye a pasting.
Very wishful thinking but we all live in hope.
Seeing Spillane having that smug look wiped off his face would be a joy to behold. Come on Mayo (or Rossies) I say. ..
Anyone But Kerry....! ;o)"
If Mayo and Kerry do play each other they will have played:

Kerry: 3 games in the championship.

Mayo: 7 games plus all the extra time.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/08/2017 21:46:49    2027628

Replying To Galantis:  "A Dublin fan moralising about competitive provinces, dont make me split my sides laughing

Leinster Football is a total joke, the team with the biggest population and funding by a country mile getting every game at Home bar the odd neutral venues vs Div 4 opposition.

When is the last time a Leinster team did anything since Meath in the late 90's and early 00's???"
Offaly in 1982!

tjcentrehalfbak (Galway) - Posts: 28 - 01/08/2017 23:43:10    2027668

Replying To TheUsername:  "If Mayo and Kerry do play each other they will have played:

Kerry: 3 games in the championship.

Mayo: 7 games plus all the extra time."
What's your point??

Mayo got themselves knocked out of Connacht and drew the last day?

If Kerry got knocked out of Munster at the same stage we would have to play a similar number of games, a la 2009.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/08/2017 09:53:52    2027732

Replying To TheHermit:  "What's your point??

If Kerry got knocked out of Munster at the same stage we would have to play a similar number of games, a la 2009."
TheUsername is a good poster but that post about Kerry playing 3 to Mayo's 7 is as silly as I have seen in a long time. That would have been Mayo's 4th game is they won Connaught.
That was Roscommon's 3rd game too.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 02/08/2017 11:05:40    2027762

Exactly put Kerry in Mayos place in Connaught and we would have the same success as we do in Munster. Its hard to see us losing to Galway or any other team in that province. Mayos failings should have nothing to do with us. Silly post.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 02/08/2017 12:10:20    2027807

If Kerry got knocked out of Munster at the same stage we would have to play a similar number of games, a la 2009."
Its a comment based on Fionn and Galantis speaking about Mayo's as possible semi final opponents mate and my point was to suggest that mayo should they get through to a semi will likely not be the same beast as other years given the miles they put in this year already. I think it will have an influence should it come to pass, less so Roscommon of course.

Its not Kerry problem really, i accept.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/08/2017 12:21:12    2027813

Aren't you ignoring the fact that the Munster Championship draw is structured in a way that in practice tends to perpetuate Kerry advantage?

Putting aside the year that Kerry were actually parachuted straight into the final, don't finalists in one year receive an automatic bye into the following year's semi finals ? Does the Connaught championship do this ?

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 358 - 03/08/2017 08:43:29    2028243

Thou doth protest too much it seems by the Kerry lads it would seem, the wagons have well and truly been circled and opinions shot down despite there being some merit to them.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 03/08/2017 10:06:30    2028278

Replying To Knoxboya:  "Aren't you ignoring the fact that the Munster Championship draw is structured in a way that in practice tends to perpetuate Kerry advantage?

Putting aside the year that Kerry were actually parachuted straight into the final, don't finalists in one year receive an automatic bye into the following year's semi finals ? Does the Connaught championship do this ?"
It's up to every provincial council to decide how they want to structure their Championship. Munster adopted a structure a few years ago whereby the finalists of a given year are given a bye into the following years semi final, with 6 counties there is only so much you can do.

If Ulster counties are so upset about the number of games they play they should get their County Boards to lobby the Ulster Council to change the structure so finalists one year can be rewarded with a bye the next.

It's yer own fault if the Ulster champions one year are drawn into a preliminary round the next.

Why ye think any of yer woes are Kerry's fault is beyond me...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/08/2017 10:11:04    2028279

Could everyone stop this "Yerra, Yerra, Kerry are poor" bullshit? Kerry "rope a doped" their way to the 2009 All Ireland but that ship has sailed. We're not falling for that rubbish ever again. Kerry are the 2nd best team in the country. Only 3 teams can win the All Ireland and the other 2 are on the other side of the draw. So Kerry are on the soft side. If they meet Dublin in the All Ireland Final and if Dublin play to their full potential and Kerry play to theirs, then Dublin win by 2/3 points.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 564 - 03/08/2017 10:51:10    2028298

Hi Hermit,

The fairest way is to treat each team equally.
Whether a provincial Council has 6 or 9 or any other number of teams, an open draw is transparent and clear. The Ulster Council have decided to do that. Fair play to them. For as long as others don't, these questions won't go away.

Whilst we're on provincial Council decisions, can you offer any insight into the chronology behind the Munster football final seemingly always taking place before its Hurling counterpart ?

To be clear, I'm not denying the unique occasion that it the Munster SHC final, but when it's feeding into an All Ireland series that finishes ahead of the football, surely to goodness these should be switched around ?

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 358 - 03/08/2017 11:34:04    2028325

Replying To TheUsername:  "Its a comment based on Fionn and Galantis speaking about Mayo's as possible semi final opponents mate and my point was to suggest that mayo should they get through to a semi will likely not be the same beast as other years given the miles they put in this year already. I think it will have an influence should it come to pass, less so Roscommon of course.

Its not Kerry problem really, i accept."
Firstly, if Mayo had beaten Galway as they should have done they wouldn't have played the extra matches

Secondly, the extra games will provide Mayo with extra information and knowledge about their best XV and system of play

Finally, in 2009 Kerry scraped past Longford, Sligo + Antrim and went in to the QF as total no-hopers on a Bank Holiday Monday we know happened next

Indeed Mayo 2016 seemed unconvincing until the final and but for the worst bad luck imaginable would be the reigning AI champions right now

PluckyUnderdog (Kerry) - Posts: 25 - 03/08/2017 11:56:40    2028339

Replying To Knoxboya:  "Hi Hermit,

The fairest way is to treat each team equally.
Whether a provincial Council has 6 or 9 or any other number of teams, an open draw is transparent and clear. The Ulster Council have decided to do that. Fair play to them. For as long as others don't, these questions won't go away.

Whilst we're on provincial Council decisions, can you offer any insight into the chronology behind the Munster football final seemingly always taking place before its Hurling counterpart ?

To be clear, I'm not denying the unique occasion that it the Munster SHC final, but when it's feeding into an All Ireland series that finishes ahead of the football, surely to goodness these should be switched around ?"
Man, I've been saying it for years that it was ridiclious that every provincial final in either code was put at a set date. I could never understand why the Munster football final had to be the first Provincial final every year while the Leinster and Ulster football finals were the last. (More infuriating was that, in recent years, the Munster final was always given a 2pm thrown in and the Leinster final always started at 4pm!!!)

Every year since the Q-final's came in, the Munster football champions have had a 4, 5 and in some years a 6 week gap to their next game. On the other hand the Leinster or Ulster champions had only a 2 or 3 week gap.

I could never understand why all the provincial deciders couldn't be rotated over 4 set weekends year on year, i.e. Year 1 Munster first week of July, year 2 Connacht first week of July, Munster second week etc etc.

Anyway it will probably be a moot point now with the Super 8's coming in.

As for when it became standard for the set dates of the Munster hurling and football finals, I'm not sure but my guess would be the late 1920, early 1930s.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/08/2017 11:59:45    2028341

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Thou doth protest too much it seems by the Kerry lads it would seem, the wagons have well and truly been circled and opinions shot down despite there being some merit to them."
A bit like all the caveats for Dublin's recent success eh?

Dublin posters certainly don't like hearing arguments about home advantage, massive socio-economic benefits, huge sponsorship, money pouring in from HQ to top it up etc, but my friend they have had probably a far greater impact on yer current success than being from Munster has ever had for Kerry.

I'll take being put in Ulster every day of the week if Kerry are given every artificial advantage Dublin now enjoy thanks to the powers that be ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/08/2017 12:04:32    2028346

Replying To PluckyUnderdog:  "Firstly, if Mayo had beaten Galway as they should have done they wouldn't have played the extra matches

Secondly, the extra games will provide Mayo with extra information and knowledge about their best XV and system of play

Finally, in 2009 Kerry scraped past Longford, Sligo + Antrim and went in to the QF as total no-hopers on a Bank Holiday Monday we know happened next

Indeed Mayo 2016 seemed unconvincing until the final and but for the worst bad luck imaginable would be the reigning AI champions right now"
I wouldn't disagree with any of the points you make mate, i just think they will be weaker opposition this year then previous based on the age profile of the team, recovery time and the miles they have played and number of games they have played. Its not Kerry problem they have played three games to Mayos 7 plus extra time, but i think it significantly decreases there chances.

its an interesting fact, if Mayo were to win the all Ireland they will have to win 9 games. Dublin and Tyrone 6, Kerry 5. The strength of the individual provincial championships is already the subject to debate in another thread so i wont go into it here.

For me the above mean Kerry have a massive, massive chance of breaking the famine this year.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/08/2017 13:37:49    2028405

Don't agree with the rope a dope theory for Kerry '09. Sligo had a late penalty to win in Tralee, so if they were playing with fire they came dangerously close to being incinerated. Mayo players being replaced by aliens would explain a lot!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 03/08/2017 15:24:49    2028455

Replying To TheHermit:  "A bit like all the caveats for Dublin's recent success eh?

Dublin posters certainly don't like hearing arguments about home advantage, massive socio-economic benefits, huge sponsorship, money pouring in from HQ to top it up etc, but my friend they have had probably a far greater impact on yer current success than being from Munster has ever had for Kerry.

I'll take being put in Ulster every day of the week if Kerry are given every artificial advantage Dublin now enjoy thanks to the powers that be ;D"
You are jealous! We get it.

Losers always make excuses.... winners are busy winning!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 03/08/2017 16:49:32    2028500