Andy Moran - Roscommon Fans

ah here seriously, if any of you even bothered to check you'd all see that the majority of people giving out about the roscommon suporter's booing are'nt even from mayo but sure why let a small little detail like that get in the way

glasagusdhearg (Mayo) - Posts: 55 - 01/08/2017 22:59:53    2027658

Replying To club51:  "not a crime but conduct unbecoming of Gaa supporters.
not really surprised thats the Dublin view.
i dont think its acceptable for any county btw, next it will end up like the soccer terraces.
fair play to the rugby lads in Thomond park ."
Have you spent much time watching soccer on the terraces to form that opinion?

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 01/08/2017 23:03:53    2027662

Replying To browncows:  "Every county have idiots who boo players, however that does not make it correct. I bet my bottom dollar that the idiots who boo players are the same clowns who would never attend a club match."
Agree 100% with you on this. Has become more evident in recent years. The big intercounty game is just another event to attend or to be seen at.

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 02/08/2017 08:26:03    2027701

Roscommon county board have released a statement about it: link

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 02/08/2017 09:01:11    2027714

That should have said team and players not county board!

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 02/08/2017 09:05:08    2027717

Roscommon county board have released a statement about it: link

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 02/08/2017 09:21:54    2027723

Replying To glasagusdhearg:  "ah here seriously, if any of you even bothered to check you'd all see that the majority of people giving out about the roscommon suporter's booing are'nt even from mayo but sure why let a small little detail like that get in the way"
The whole thing is blown out of proportion in my opinion as a Roscommon supporter I don't condone it at all but its time to move on the majority of Rossie fans have great respect for Andy. He did let himself down in Kiltoom as a minority of Roscommon supporters did on Sunday. I think a line should be drawn under it and we push on to hopefully what will be a great game on Monday and whoever wins will be supported by the other for the rest of the champo. Hon the Ros

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 02/08/2017 09:30:22    2027727

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "The whole thing is blown out of proportion in my opinion as a Roscommon supporter I don't condone it at all but its time to move on the majority of Rossie fans have great respect for Andy. He did let himself down in Kiltoom as a minority of Roscommon supporters did on Sunday. I think a line should be drawn under it and we push on to hopefully what will be a great game on Monday and whoever wins will be supported by the other for the rest of the champo. Hon the Ros"
Exactly. Let's face it, if these are considered major issues then we definitely have an organisation to be rightly proud of.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 02/08/2017 09:41:40    2027730

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "Exactly. Let's face it, if these are considered major issues then we definitely have an organisation to be rightly proud of."
Jesus how has this managed to get SIX pages? Booing goes on all the time, Mayo fans as guilty as anyone, Monaghan fans, Dublin fans everyone at it. We had a rump behind the goals in Clones the last day who decided to shout what they probably saw as banter at the victorious Derry minor team as they walked behind the goals to take their seats for the senior game when the rest of the crowd saw fit to give them a round of applause as they went by. Not nice but all part of the crowd that goes to games nowadays. But six pages on booing?

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 02/08/2017 10:37:16    2027750

Is there a similar story with Tom Parsons?

Born and raised in Sligo and support Sligo as a kid but the school/ GAA club was in Mayo? Does he get booed by Sligo Fans??

MURPHB33 (Dublin) - Posts: 166 - 02/08/2017 10:42:58    2027752

Replying To benched:  "Jesus how has this managed to get SIX pages? Booing goes on all the time, Mayo fans as guilty as anyone, Monaghan fans, Dublin fans everyone at it. We had a rump behind the goals in Clones the last day who decided to shout what they probably saw as banter at the victorious Derry minor team as they walked behind the goals to take their seats for the senior game when the rest of the crowd saw fit to give them a round of applause as they went by. Not nice but all part of the crowd that goes to games nowadays. But six pages on booing?"
It's the "holier than thou" argument put forward by a small minority of posters who seem to think soccer is only watched by sub-species and that anything, ANYTHING at all the GAA might have in common with it, on or off the pitch, means we're going to hell in a handcart!

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 02/08/2017 10:44:31    2027753

Time to close this thread - the story has gotten more legs than it deserved.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 02/08/2017 11:14:04    2027766

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "It's the "holier than thou" argument put forward by a small minority of posters who seem to think soccer is only watched by sub-species and that anything, ANYTHING at all the GAA might have in common with it, on or off the pitch, means we're going to hell in a handcart!"
Fair point. These type of people wouldn't care to admit that there is also a very large crossover in support between the two codes. I'm living in Dubln the last few years. I'm playing club football in Dublin, I rarely miss a Mayo game. However I'm also a regular at Dalymount Park following Bohemians and I follow Ireland all over Europe. Off to Georgia next month for the match there. I love both and there is a lot more in common than some of the purists might like to admit.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 02/08/2017 12:12:02    2027808

Replying To yew_tree:  "Time to close this thread - the story has gotten more legs than it deserved."
Yep close it away as it has now had the desired and effect. Mayo will use this as a psychological advantage and it will probably be worth a point or two for them in the replay.

I don't condone the booing but tbh I didn't feel it to be noteworthy as it is common-place whether we like it or not. All Roscommon fans in my area stood up to clap him as he was being substituted but of course that doesn't get mentioned. Always the negative shite that gets the headlines!

GL in the replay!

UPAY4DINNER (Roscommon) - Posts: 22 - 02/08/2017 12:33:51    2027822

Replying To browncows:  "Every county have idiots who boo players, however that does not make it correct. I bet my bottom dollar that the idiots who boo players are the same clowns who would never attend a club match."
That is so true. I see it in my own county....the clowns shouting abuse and booing wouldn't have a clue what club they belong to. I suppose every county has them though

Blacky (Monaghan) - Posts: 19 - 02/08/2017 12:58:47    2027845

Replying To MURPHB33:  "Is there a similar story with Tom Parsons?

Born and raised in Sligo and support Sligo as a kid but the school/ GAA club was in Mayo? Does he get booed by Sligo Fans??"
Were Aidan and Seamus o Shea not born in Kerry? Read somewhere that they lived in Mullingar for a year or 2 playing underage with St.Lomans before moving on to Mayo.

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 775 - 02/08/2017 19:31:17    2028055

Replying To Chops:  "Were Aidan and Seamus o Shea not born in Kerry? Read somewhere that they lived in Mullingar for a year or 2 playing underage with St.Lomans before moving on to Mayo."
No, he was born in Mullingar and moved to Mayo at 3 yrs old. Both his Mother and Father are from the Killorglin area.

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 03/08/2017 01:39:28    2028216

With the apology now accepted , im sure that nastiness that was brought up for the drawn game wont be their on Monday.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 03/08/2017 06:57:22    2028223

Replying To the_walls:  "Fair point. These type of people wouldn't care to admit that there is also a very large crossover in support between the two codes. I'm living in Dubln the last few years. I'm playing club football in Dublin, I rarely miss a Mayo game. However I'm also a regular at Dalymount Park following Bohemians and I follow Ireland all over Europe. Off to Georgia next month for the match there. I love both and there is a lot more in common than some of the purists might like to admit."
will keep an eye out for you over there.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 03/08/2017 09:04:25    2028253

Replying To UPAY4DINNER:  "Yep close it away as it has now had the desired and effect. Mayo will use this as a psychological advantage and it will probably be worth a point or two for them in the replay.

I don't condone the booing but tbh I didn't feel it to be noteworthy as it is common-place whether we like it or not. All Roscommon fans in my area stood up to clap him as he was being substituted but of course that doesn't get mentioned. Always the negative shite that gets the headlines!

GL in the replay!"
I gave my opinion on the matter and most people posting would know that Roscommon supporters behave better than some that I know. I think people were making comments relating to the general booing which goes on. At most matches one would be lucky to not be within earshot of a clown shouting abuse when all the frees are not given to the side he is supporting. Most of the guys who shout/boo do not even know the rules of the game. I would say that most players are not in the least upset by opponents booing them.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 03/08/2017 09:22:53    2028258