Andy Moran - Roscommon Fans

Storm in teacup. Andy is big enough and old enough to deal with any booing.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 31/07/2017 22:21:42    2027012

Replying To club51:  "not a crime but conduct unbecoming of Gaa supporters.
not really surprised thats the Dublin view.
i dont think its acceptable for any county btw, next it will end up like the soccer terraces.
fair play to the rugby lads in Thomond park ."
Climb down off that high horse before you give yourself a nosebleed there!

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 31/07/2017 22:36:31    2027019

Replying To riverboys:  "It was the Roscommon fans in the Lower Hogan Stand near the Davin Stand that were most of the booing at Andy Moran, I was in the Lower Cusack and didn't hear anything from our side of the pitch, in relation to the booing for the last Roscommon free I can tell you that was because it wasn't a free, it happened beside us and the ref got the decision wrong, that was why there was booing for that free, it had nothing to do with the Roscommon free taker or trying to put him off, it was a protest at the ref that he got the decision wrong"
Thats nonsense Mayo got at least two frees in the first half that weren't even fouls and i didn't hear Roscommon supporters booing in protest.and anyway Coen picked the ball off the ground it was the correct call. Mayo supporters booed every Roscommon free and jeered every wide they kicked. So Mayo supporters are no saints in the booing department. On Andy Moran who celebrates winning a FBD game in January like he did?

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3353 - 31/07/2017 22:43:18    2027031

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "So it's all still the brits fault, typical."
You are one of the guys I was referring to!!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 31/07/2017 22:57:49    2027043

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Thats nonsense Mayo got at least two frees in the first half that weren't even fouls and i didn't hear Roscommon supporters booing in protest.and anyway Coen picked the ball off the ground it was the correct call. Mayo supporters booed every Roscommon free and jeered every wide they kicked. So Mayo supporters are no saints in the booing department. On Andy Moran who celebrates winning a FBD game in January like he did?"
Were you at the game or preaching from your Yankee horse like a lot of people, I said from where I was in Croke Park I didn't hear anything, anyway when the other 29 counties can bring around 10000 supporters to every game both League and 15000 for Championship like Dublin and Mayo then ye can preach to the rest of us, if it wasn't for Dublin and Mayo supporters the GAA would die on it's arse because nobody would turn up, should people boo at games? Of course not but when certain counties head to Dublin and wonder are they here for a game or for Christmas shopping then they have a problem. Nobody ever said Mayo fans don't boo but then the other county fans sadly do the same, where did this all begin? Poor ref decisions and supporters feeling hard done by. It's being a long time since I left any county game whether it's Mayo playing or 2 other counties involved and said the ref had a good game

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 31/07/2017 23:02:10    2027047

Replying To riverboys:  "Were you at the game or preaching from your Yankee horse like a lot of people, I said from where I was in Croke Park I didn't hear anything, anyway when the other 29 counties can bring around 10000 supporters to every game both League and 15000 for Championship like Dublin and Mayo then ye can preach to the rest of us, if it wasn't for Dublin and Mayo supporters the GAA would die on it's arse because nobody would turn up, should people boo at games? Of course not but when certain counties head to Dublin and wonder are they here for a game or for Christmas shopping then they have a problem. Nobody ever said Mayo fans don't boo but then the other county fans sadly do the same, where did this all begin? Poor ref decisions and supporters feeling hard done by. It's being a long time since I left any county game whether it's Mayo playing or 2 other counties involved and said the ref had a good game"
Are you trying to justify the poor behaviour of fans by saying it's ok there are loads of us?

Call a spade a spade man. There's a rum element to Mayo support. Some of them are outstanding gaa men and women. In castlebar last year two of the nicest fellas I've ever met were beside me. In the clubhouse and the pub after there were some great characters and I talked in depth with them about the match. Great gaa chat.

However 10 foot down from time there was a group of middle aged men booing everything. They were booing snows kickouts and shouting about the length of time it was taking him to take one, no longer than the Mayo keeper the other end. The lads beside me were embarrassed by their antics and apologised to me. There was a rum element that day, again as Mayo progressed booing could be heard quite clearly on the tv in their remaining qualifiers. Again yesterday the boos could be heard from them for everything. Two wrongs don't make a right so don't mention the Andy booing which is wrong also.

But call a spade a spade and don't try justify the bad behaviour of some of your fans by saying the gaa would die without Mayo and it's couple of thousand supporters.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 31/07/2017 23:20:14    2027058

Replying To riverboys:  "Were you at the game or preaching from your Yankee horse like a lot of people, I said from where I was in Croke Park I didn't hear anything, anyway when the other 29 counties can bring around 10000 supporters to every game both League and 15000 for Championship like Dublin and Mayo then ye can preach to the rest of us, if it wasn't for Dublin and Mayo supporters the GAA would die on it's arse because nobody would turn up, should people boo at games? Of course not but when certain counties head to Dublin and wonder are they here for a game or for Christmas shopping then they have a problem. Nobody ever said Mayo fans don't boo but then the other county fans sadly do the same, where did this all begin? Poor ref decisions and supporters feeling hard done by. It's being a long time since I left any county game whether it's Mayo playing or 2 other counties involved and said the ref had a good game"
Ahhh here..methinks you are blatantly disregarding hurling in your post there as regards the GAA dieing a death without mayo or dublin...the cork waterford and wexford hurling support is definitely helping the gaa balance the books this season..so I propose you allow those counties to "preach" aswell ;)

pidge (Cork) - Posts: 543 - 01/08/2017 02:57:20    2027098

"If it wasn't for Dublin and Mayo supporters the GAA would die on its arse". . . . . . .

That line really gave me a laugh. Putting Mayo in the same category, number-wise, as the Dubs?? Lol

yelowbelly (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 01/08/2017 05:19:00    2027102

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Any comment on the Mayo fans booing Roscommon free takers"
cuckoo i think NO team should do it and its never justified. please read my post.

club51 (Mayo) - Posts: 395 - 01/08/2017 07:05:18    2027107

Replying To Lifford Gael:  "Agree Cukoosinging. Hypocrisy here is Mind boggling. It's fine for Mayo fans to boo certain opposition players but when it's done to one of their own, theyre up in arms. Please God ye put them out of their misery once and for all next weekend."
does anyone really think Mayo will underperform as badly again.
if I was a Ross fan id be outraged they blew a 7 point lead. Mayo had a missfire is all, dont mind it to be honest makes the Mayo lads running the Ross team look good.No poxy goals next week it will be a different story.
ps how are the Novenas going in Donegal going to get Jimmy back?

club51 (Mayo) - Posts: 395 - 01/08/2017 07:09:49    2027108

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Your not really surprised that's the Dublin view when your own lot booed Connolly for the whole of the '15 replay? You want it all your own way , grow up ffs. If you's are big enough to give then yous have to take it aswell.

I don't remember you on here giving out about the mayo supporters booing Connolly but you seem awful upset about poor Andy getting booed, andy is a big boy he'll be fine."
whats a yous?
do you meane ewe?

club51 (Mayo) - Posts: 395 - 01/08/2017 07:11:16    2027109

Replying To gotmilk:  "Are you trying to justify the poor behaviour of fans by saying it's ok there are loads of us?

Call a spade a spade man. There's a rum element to Mayo support. Some of them are outstanding gaa men and women. In castlebar last year two of the nicest fellas I've ever met were beside me. In the clubhouse and the pub after there were some great characters and I talked in depth with them about the match. Great gaa chat.

However 10 foot down from time there was a group of middle aged men booing everything. They were booing snows kickouts and shouting about the length of time it was taking him to take one, no longer than the Mayo keeper the other end. The lads beside me were embarrassed by their antics and apologised to me. There was a rum element that day, again as Mayo progressed booing could be heard quite clearly on the tv in their remaining qualifiers. Again yesterday the boos could be heard from them for everything. Two wrongs don't make a right so don't mention the Andy booing which is wrong also.

But call a spade a spade and don't try justify the bad behaviour of some of your fans by saying the gaa would die without Mayo and it's couple of thousand supporters."
The super 8 will not do GAA any good

When the same teams stroll through and people stop going to round robin matches

Scarabin (Dublin) - Posts: 116 - 01/08/2017 08:25:23    2027120

"If it wasn't for Dublin and Mayo supporters the GAA would die on its arse" wow how deluded are you? 60,000 plus turned up to Leinster hurling final this year, does that not keep the GAA alive?? 50-60,000 turning up to Ulster finals in Croke park in the noughties, does that not keep the GAA alive? Well done on bringing 10,000 plus fans to league games, the warm up to the championship, just so you can hope your county makes an All Ireland and you have a hope of getting a ticket because your a season ticket holder. The GAA should abandon the super 8 and just have a super 2, Dublin and Mayo going by your comments, what you reckon Riverboy? Some tripe your spouting a vic.

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 775 - 01/08/2017 08:49:49    2027129

Replying To club51:  "whats a yous?
do you meane ewe?"
Good man pull out the spelling mistakes when your getting battered.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/08/2017 09:53:15    2027154

No poxy goals next week it will be a different story.

club51 (Mayo) - Posts:171 - 01/08/2017 07:09:49 2027108

McInerneys own goal was the only poxy goal in Croker last Sunday. You can count your blessing ye got a bit of luck last Sunday or ye would be out

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 01/08/2017 10:00:31    2027158

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Good man pull out the spelling mistakes when your getting battered."
Was thinking the same.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 01/08/2017 10:10:01    2027163

This is a bit much lads. Booing of players happens in every game. Enda Smith was booed as he took that last kick. Only way to silence the boo boys is on the scoreboard. Some mayo fans are being too precious over Andy Moran who is a great servant no doubt. But this public outcry is cringe and a bit embarassing tbh.

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 01/08/2017 11:19:31    2027232

booing of any players regardless of who he plays for is terrible, there are dublin fans who do it, mayo fans, tyrone fans, donegal fans, armagh fans, kerry fans but not all fans of these counties should be tarred with the same brush. booing is digusting and needs to be cut out.

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 920 - 01/08/2017 11:50:20    2027257

Replying To unclegerry:  "This is a bit much lads. Booing of players happens in every game. Enda Smith was booed as he took that last kick. Only way to silence the boo boys is on the scoreboard. Some mayo fans are being too precious over Andy Moran who is a great servant no doubt. But this public outcry is cringe and a bit embarassing tbh."
Well said..media are adding to it. It happens so often..i remember Frankie Dolan been booed by fans over the years but it happens and most players wouldn't pass any notice

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1059 - 01/08/2017 16:33:38    2027479

Replying To unclegerry:  "This is a bit much lads. Booing of players happens in every game. Enda Smith was booed as he took that last kick. Only way to silence the boo boys is on the scoreboard. Some mayo fans are being too precious over Andy Moran who is a great servant no doubt. But this public outcry is cringe and a bit embarassing tbh."
Every county have idiots who boo players, however that does not make it correct. I bet my bottom dollar that the idiots who boo players are the same clowns who would never attend a club match.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 01/08/2017 19:07:04    2027575