Andy Moran - Roscommon Fans

Replying To club51:  "i was at the game, he did so because of the abuse he was getting.
he scored a wonderful goal that day, hopefully the booing will spur him on the next day.
ps kissing a crest is hardly crime of the century hes played for Mayo since under 16."
Booing a player is hardly a crime either ffs.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/07/2017 16:36:44    2026783

OK for a Monaghan man, this seems odd. I looked at the map there and ballaghdreen town seems to be well inside the Roscommon border, but they play their football in Mayo? Does this mean that all the locals support Mayo?

Would this be like for example Crossmaglen which is in Armagh but on the monaghan border, playing their football in Monaghan and all the locals supporting Monaghan?

Can someone enlighten me as I am genuinely curious.

muckla (UK) - Posts: 366 - 31/07/2017 17:43:59    2026814

Replying To muckla:  "OK for a Monaghan man, this seems odd. I looked at the map there and ballaghdreen town seems to be well inside the Roscommon border, but they play their football in Mayo? Does this mean that all the locals support Mayo?

Would this be like for example Crossmaglen which is in Armagh but on the monaghan border, playing their football in Monaghan and all the locals supporting Monaghan?

Can someone enlighten me as I am genuinely curious."
God help the fella who has the explain this to this lad he hasn't a clue and it will take a month for the penny to drop.

foxes_denn (Cavan) - Posts: 129 - 31/07/2017 18:02:58    2026829

Donaghy gets TERRIBLE abuse every time from Dublin fans but no hope they will ever get lambasted by the media...

Galantis (USA) - Posts: 55 - 31/07/2017 18:34:07    2026851

Replying To neverright:  "Not justified but I suppose it was to be expected from some supporters who felt that Moran's over the top celebration in front of Rosscommon supporters in Kiltoom, after his late goal won an FBD game, was done to wind them up. Hopefully that is the end of it. Moran's behavior was idiotic and so was the booing yesterday."
There must have been a record crowd at that FBD game if so many Rossies were there to witness it and were angered enough to want to boo him 4 or 5 months later.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1904 - 31/07/2017 18:34:14    2026852

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Booing a player is hardly a crime either ffs."
not a crime but conduct unbecoming of Gaa supporters.
not really surprised thats the Dublin view.
i dont think its acceptable for any county btw, next it will end up like the soccer terraces.
fair play to the rugby lads in Thomond park .

club51 (Mayo) - Posts: 395 - 31/07/2017 19:04:01    2026865

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Don't you just love the Mayo fans , crying about Andy getting Booed the whole game but they had no problem booing Diarmuid Connolly for the whole replay in '15. Cause he got off on a red card, just like Keane did the game before our first game with Mayo , were we suppose to boo Keane?

Andy Moran born in Roscommon his family all supported Roscommon before he started playing for Mayo he scores a goal in the FBD and waves the crest at all the Roscommon supporters, now there should be never any booing but surely if any man deserved a boooooooing it is Andy Moran from the Roscommon faithful."
Andy has played with Mayo full time since the Ted Webb cup.

club51 (Mayo) - Posts: 395 - 31/07/2017 19:06:41    2026866

Replying To club51:  "not a crime but conduct unbecoming of Gaa supporters.
i dont think its acceptable for any county btw, next it will end up like the soccer terraces.
fair play to the rugby lads in Thomond park ."
Any comment on the Mayo fans booing Roscommon free takers

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 31/07/2017 19:39:47    2026877

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Any comment on the Mayo fans booing Roscommon free takers"
Agree Cukoosinging. Hypocrisy here is Mind boggling. It's fine for Mayo fans to boo certain opposition players but when it's done to one of their own, theyre up in arms. Please God ye put them out of their misery once and for all next weekend.

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 31/07/2017 19:55:03    2026887

Replying To muckla:  "OK for a Monaghan man, this seems odd. I looked at the map there and ballaghdreen town seems to be well inside the Roscommon border, but they play their football in Mayo? Does this mean that all the locals support Mayo?

Can someone enlighten me as I am genuinely curious."
Ballaghdreen was originally in Mayo before the border was moved to place it inside Roscommon. The GAA club was already founded and so said they would not play their football in Ros but would continue to be part of Mayo.
Hope this clears it up somewhat.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 31/07/2017 20:11:37    2026897

Replying To club51:  "not a crime but conduct unbecoming of Gaa supporters.
fair play to the rugby lads in Thomond park ."
Your not really surprised that's the Dublin view when your own lot booed Connolly for the whole of the '15 replay? You want it all your own way , grow up ffs. If you's are big enough to give then yous have to take it aswell.

I don't remember you on here giving out about the mayo supporters booing Connolly but you seem awful upset about poor Andy getting booed, andy is a big boy he'll be fine.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/07/2017 20:15:44    2026900

Replying To catch22:  "Ballaghdreen was originally in Mayo before the border was moved to place it inside Roscommon. The GAA club was already founded and so said they would not play their football in Ros but would continue to be part of Mayo.
Hope this clears it up somewhat."
Thanks catch. So do all the locals support Mayo then. Weren't they talking about moving the border round athlone recently to move a few clubs from wmeath to Roscommon?

muckla (UK) - Posts: 366 - 31/07/2017 20:16:08    2026901

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "There must have been a record crowd at that FBD game if so many Rossies were there to witness it and were angered enough to want to boo him 4 or 5 months later."
Your comment does not make sense.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 31/07/2017 20:26:51    2026911

Such a load of nonsense..martin Carney on radio today would make me sick..moran is a big boy I think he can handle it himself and i actually think he is loving every second of it..and as someone said above that donie smith had a massive free kick to take and the mayo fans did the same to him but he put the ball over the bar and got on with it..all this added to a fantastic atmosphere..

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1059 - 31/07/2017 20:31:08    2026915

Unfortunately every county has their morons who will carry on like that. Ballaghaderreen formed in 1885 was geographically part of Mayo, however an English landlord who had influence (hadn't they all) got it 'legally' transferred to Roscommon for his own financially reasons in 1888. The club rightfully decided that they were not going to change their allegiance.- from google!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 31/07/2017 21:07:45    2026945

Replying To browncows:  "Unfortunately every county has their morons who will carry on like that. Ballaghaderreen formed in 1885 was geographically part of Mayo, however an English landlord who had influence (hadn't they all) got it 'legally' transferred to Roscommon for his own financially reasons in 1888. The club rightfully decided that they were not going to change their allegiance.- from google!"
So it's all still the brits fault, typical.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 31/07/2017 21:30:23    2026963

OK, Andy gets the bird from roscommon fans because he's playing for Mayo .
Are they also booing their own management team, or is it just OK for Mayo people to coach them but not to play against them ?

yelowbelly (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 31/07/2017 21:33:14    2026970

Replying To yelowbelly:  "OK, Andy gets the bird from roscommon fans because he's playing for Mayo .
Are they also booing their own management team, or is it just OK for Mayo people to coach them but not to play against them ?"
Suggest you read the contents of the thread before posting....

Andy was booed in retaliation to his antics at the FBD league game in January and not because he plays for Mayo. Roscommon have played Mayo numerous times throughout his career and there was never any issue.

UPAY4DINNER (Roscommon) - Posts: 22 - 31/07/2017 21:43:26    2026981

Martin Carney is a gob*****

offtheboat (USA) - Posts: 57 - 31/07/2017 21:47:15    2026984

Replying To offtheboat:  "Martin Carney is a gob*****"
Amen and a biased one at that.

Happened to catch a few minutes of his co-commentary for MidWest for the Derry game and his analysis was so biased it was embarrassing. In the end I turned off the radio as I just couldn't listen to any more.

UPAY4DINNER (Roscommon) - Posts: 22 - 31/07/2017 21:54:26    2026993