Andy Moran - Roscommon Fans

Most of the Clare hurling/football teams born in Limerick.does that make them Limerick men?of course not.

hitmanhart (Limerick) - Posts: 496 - 31/07/2017 10:52:09    2026503

Replying To yew_tree:  "Fact is though Ballagh was originally in Mayo until a landlord redrew the border for cheaper rates...the local GAA club wished to stay with Mayo.

I believe there is a similar situation in Moneygall?"
Moneygall village is in Offaly, right on border. The gaa club play in Tipperary. I think in the early days Moneygall played in Offaly, but a switch with Carrig and Riverstown saw them cross over to Tipp.
Someone might confirm this.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1745 - 31/07/2017 11:05:00    2026511

as a young lad he and his family were all Roscommon supporters, believe he may have also tried to transfer to Western Gaels when he was younger, but it never went through. Older he has gotten he has been saying how he is 100% Mayo etc, then in FBD league game he kissed the badge. None of that enough reason to boo him though, he has never done anything to warrant it.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 31/07/2017 11:06:07    2026513

Replying To riverboys:  "It was the Roscommon fans in the Lower Hogan Stand near the Davin Stand that were most of the booing at Andy Moran, I was in the Lower Cusack and didn't hear anything from our side of the pitch, in relation to the booing for the last Roscommon free I can tell you that was because it wasn't a free, it happened beside us and the ref got the decision wrong, that was why there was booing for that free, it had nothing to do with the Roscommon free taker or trying to put him off, it was a protest at the ref that he got the decision wrong"
Watched it again on the Sunday game last night.Ball clearly touched on the ground by Mayo player and absolutely a correct decision by the ref.Great free by Donie Smith.Brings us all back to Croker next Monday.!

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2170 - 31/07/2017 11:12:33    2026519

Some Mayo fans just love to be outraged. Andy Moran is a mighty player and he would have loved the boos. Ros fans who boo should lay off Andy and save it for when a certain player kicks,punches or dives.

Mayo are the best fans in Ireland as they constantly remind everyone they are so good they never boo players not even one taking a pressure free or anyone else let alone one of their own players..
Ger Cafferky had a great game.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 31/07/2017 11:39:12    2026541

You've just got to love the hypocrisy of the Mayo supporters complaining about the opposition booing. I've been listening to that Mayo crowd (and not just a few fans either - I'm talking the vast majority) booing every decision that doesn't go their way and booing Michael Murphy every time he touches the ball and booing Donegal freetakers at Donegal v Mayo games for years. To complain now about Roscommon booing Andy Moran is the most hypocritical nonsense. It's the reason I really hope the Rossies finish them off next weekend. C'mon Roscommon.

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 31/07/2017 12:47:40    2026593

i dont care whos doing it ( county) its condict unbecoming of Gaa fans.
i suppose jeering a free taker is here to stay but a systematic constant abuse of one player is pathetic.
we would be the first ( GAA) to say we are better than the soccer louts.
if its because hes from Ballagh its childish, should the Mayo fans be booing McStay and McHale, or the Kerry lads boo O Keefe on the Roscommon bench .ABSOLUTELY NOT

club51 (Mayo) - Posts: 395 - 31/07/2017 14:21:27    2026665

Don't you just love the Mayo fans , crying about Andy getting Booed the whole game but they had no problem booing Diarmuid Connolly for the whole replay in '15. Cause he got off on a red card, just like Keane did the game before our first game with Mayo , were we suppose to boo Keane?

Andy Moran born in Roscommon his family all supported Roscommon before he started playing for Mayo he scores a goal in the FBD and waves the crest at all the Roscommon supporters, now there should be never any booing but surely if any man deserved a boooooooing it is Andy Moran from the Roscommon faithful.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/07/2017 15:06:12    2026714

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Don't you just love the Mayo fans , crying about Andy getting Booed the whole game but they had no problem booing Diarmuid Connolly for the whole replay in '15. Cause he got off on a red card, just like Keane did the game before our first game with Mayo , were we suppose to boo Keane?

Andy Moran born in Roscommon his family all supported Roscommon before he started playing for Mayo he scores a goal in the FBD and waves the crest at all the Roscommon supporters, now there should be never any booing but surely if any man deserved a boooooooing it is Andy Moran from the Roscommon faithful."
Actually what happened in that FBD league game (I was there) was when Andy Moran was coming on he got loads of abuse from a section of Roscommon fans beside the dugout. He said nothing went out did his talking on the pitch and scored two goals to win Mayo the game and kissed the Mayo badge and showed it to the lads who abused him who were absolutely outraged.

Im sure Andy Moran wasn't too upset with the booing and probably even expected it but I was sitting beside a man in his 50s who was booing him. If your in your 50's and you are booing an amateur you really need to have a long hard look at yourself.

Goalie2016 (Mayo) - Posts: 36 - 31/07/2017 15:22:09    2026722

I genuinely don't think he would have got any stick had he not done what he done in the fbd game in Kiltoom. He scores two goals for Mayo and that wins the game. Fair play to him....that's sport. But then he goads and taunts the Ros fans by kissing the crest and rubbing their nose in it. So what do you expect , we all sit around and clap him on the back. If you light the fire your going to have sparks. I would be disappointed if a Ros player did the same in Castlebar. I wouldn't be reading much into it anyhow...the banter was 100per cent yesterday and I thoroughly enjoyed the Mayo fans and from where I was in the lower Hogan they enjoyed us as well.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 31/07/2017 15:29:19    2026729

Replying To Goalie2016:  "Actually what happened in that FBD league game (I was there) was when Andy Moran was coming on he got loads of abuse from a section of Roscommon fans beside the dugout. He said nothing went out did his talking on the pitch and scored two goals to win Mayo the game and kissed the Mayo badge and showed it to the lads who abused him who were absolutely outraged.

Im sure Andy Moran wasn't too upset with the booing and probably even expected it but I was sitting beside a man in his 50s who was booing him. If your in your 50's and you are booing an amateur you really need to have a long hard look at yourself."
Of course you were there, I was also at the All Ireland in '13 when he did something similar to the hill after his goal when no one was booing him but of course you were there so obviously you are telling the truth , St Andy would never do anything bad.

Was Martin Carney just as outraged when the Mayo fans booed Diarmuid Connolly for the whole replay in '15???

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/07/2017 15:30:11    2026730

I agree it should not happen in GAA but come on stop makin such a big deal about it. I can nearly guarantee it wont happen Monday. If your saying the Roscommon fans should have a look at themselves then so should ye ye done it to Connolly and moran should have done what he done in kiltoom. so build a bridge and over ye get. Hopefully another good game Monday and the best team whoever that is comes out on top and don't give Kerry a easy path to the final

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 31/07/2017 15:35:32    2026736

I don't like this either. Carlow crowd booed Monaghan off the field at half time during our game two weeks ago. It seems Monaghan fans booed at Wexford lads the week before. A bad call (obvious) from a ref and unsporting behaviour from a player probably warrants this....but to be aggrieved over where someone is from or jeer a wide is poor form and childish....hence I get surprised when I see people who should know better doing it. Atmosphere in CP on saturday much better. Down, Monaghan, Armagh and Kildare fans very respectful of each other and the teams on the most part....(although Maurice Deegan did his best to change this!)

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 31/07/2017 15:39:21    2026740

Replying To seanfinn:  "I don't like this either. Carlow crowd booed Monaghan off the field at half time during our game two weeks ago. It seems Monaghan fans booed at Wexford lads the week before. A bad call (obvious) from a ref and unsporting behaviour from a player probably warrants this....but to be aggrieved over where someone is from or jeer a wide is poor form and childish....hence I get surprised when I see people who should know better doing it. Atmosphere in CP on saturday much better. Down, Monaghan, Armagh and Kildare fans very respectful of each other and the teams on the most part....(although Maurice Deegan did his best to change this!)"
This was nothing to do with Andy being from ballaghderreen. He has played and tormented us many times before. This had everything to do with inconsequential FBD game in kiltoom last January where Andy childishly goaded the crowd. It am not forgiving the booing, just trying to explain why it happened yesterday and not before in his love going mayo career.
General atmosphere was brilliant yesterday and I have never seen such a mixed set of fans with many groups made up of all 3 western counties

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 31/07/2017 15:57:14    2026753

I could understand the booing if it was a Jack Grealish type situation where he clearly used the Irish underage teams as a stepping stone for his international chances for England. Moran is entitled to play for Mayo in this instance so the booing was unfair, compared to justifiably booing the ref for a bad decision or trying to put off the free taker which is a trivial issue

eoghan6688 (Galway) - Posts: 154 - 31/07/2017 16:08:53    2026764

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Don't you just love the Mayo fans , crying about Andy getting Booed the whole game but they had no problem booing Diarmuid Connolly for the whole replay in '15. Cause he got off on a red card, just like Keane did the game before our first game with Mayo , were we suppose to boo Keane?

Andy Moran born in Roscommon his family all supported Roscommon before he started playing for Mayo he scores a goal in the FBD and waves the crest at all the Roscommon supporters, now there should be never any booing but surely if any man deserved a boooooooing it is Andy Moran from the Roscommon faithful."
i was at the game, he did so because of the abuse he was getting.
he scored a wonderful goal that day, hopefully the booing will spur him on the next day.
ps kissing a crest is hardly crime of the century hes played for Mayo since under 16.

club51 (Mayo) - Posts: 395 - 31/07/2017 16:22:02    2026771

Replying To eoghan6688:  "I could understand the booing if it was a Jack Grealish type situation where he clearly used the Irish underage teams as a stepping stone for his international chances for England. Moran is entitled to play for Mayo in this instance so the booing was unfair, compared to justifiably booing the ref for a bad decision or trying to put off the free taker which is a trivial issue"
well said.

club51 (Mayo) - Posts: 395 - 31/07/2017 16:25:46    2026774

Replying To eoghan6688:  "I could understand the booing if it was a Jack Grealish type situation where he clearly used the Irish underage teams as a stepping stone for his international chances for England. Moran is entitled to play for Mayo in this instance so the booing was unfair, compared to justifiably booing the ref for a bad decision or trying to put off the free taker which is a trivial issue"
Not justified but I suppose it was to be expected from some supporters who felt that Moran's over the top celebration in front of Rosscommon supporters in Kiltoom, after his late goal won an FBD game, was done to wind them up. Hopefully that is the end of it. Moran's behavior was idiotic and so was the booing yesterday.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 31/07/2017 16:25:56    2026775

Replying To yew_tree:  "Fact is though Ballagh was originally in Mayo until a landlord redrew the border for cheaper rates...the local GAA club wished to stay with Mayo.

I believe there is a similar situation in Moneygall?"
It was part of a redrawing of county borders in the early 1900s, that affected many counties.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 31/07/2017 16:29:14    2026776

Replying To facethepuckout:  "This was nothing to do with Andy being from ballaghderreen. He has played and tormented us many times before. This had everything to do with inconsequential FBD game in kiltoom last January where Andy childishly goaded the crowd. It am not forgiving the booing, just trying to explain why it happened yesterday and not before in his love going mayo career.
General atmosphere was brilliant yesterday and I have never seen such a mixed set of fans with many groups made up of all 3 western counties"
Andy kissed the creast in reaction to the horried abuse he was getting from the Kiltoom crowd...it was an over reaction. Fans like to give abuse but rarely take it well when a player responds.

Agree on atmosphere though....was top class.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 31/07/2017 16:36:05    2026782