Abuse of Rory Gallaghers Father

Most proper Donegal fans and that's the biggest majority would never condone this behaviour and I guess the good people of Donegal will sort these idiots out!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 25/07/2017 23:38:26    2023585

Have to say mceniff came out early on this one and he should have a word with his source who seems to have shown him up on this one. i doubt any donegal fans would know what rory Gallaghers dad looks like is he going around with a sign .

Bottom line is rory has come out with excuses he talks about tje number of u21 on the team. Thay play because he as manager has chosen to overlook the 23 - 29 year old club players in the county. Leo mcloone brick molloy david walsh etc. Do you think mcnellis would have siad to mcguiness i want to take a year out no

Rory has proven in my eyes a lack of ability to motivate the donegal players. He has an excuse for every occassion.

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 25/07/2017 23:57:57    2023590

Replying To Ulsterman:  "The drunken yahoos at games is becoming a bigger problem and some of the filthy stuff coming out of their mouths is a disgrace. The stewards and guards need to be given more powers to root this element too. Brian McEniff is a gent and I would take his word that this happened."
Well it seems, gent or not, that you were wrong to take his word. A lot of people on here adamant it was fact when it was pointed out that you shouldn't believe everything you hear or read. Brian McEniff should have known better and so should a lot of the posters on here.

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 26/07/2017 00:33:40    2023596

Fake news, it amazes me how people can jump on a bandwagon like this and not even check the facts, typical of the age we live in,
everyone knows that RG has to go.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 26/07/2017 00:38:50    2023597

Replying To ulsterrules:  "Have to say mceniff came out early on this one and he should have a word with his source who seems to have shown him up on this one. i doubt any donegal fans would know what rory Gallaghers dad looks like is he going around with a sign .

Bottom line is rory has come out with excuses he talks about tje number of u21 on the team. Thay play because he as manager has chosen to overlook the 23 - 29 year old club players in the county. Leo mcloone brick molloy david walsh etc. Do you think mcnellis would have siad to mcguiness i want to take a year out no

Rory has proven in my eyes a lack of ability to motivate the donegal players. He has an excuse for every occassion."
Definitely agree with this. He did an interview fairly quickly after the Galway game where he would almost convince you that the result was to be expected given the amount of young players we have. Clearly he isn't going to walk away. The only question now is whether the county board will have the spondoolicks to move him on for the sake of the set-up

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 26/07/2017 00:49:35    2023601

Looks like this story wasn't even true to begin with. As I said in a previous post, most of the Donegal supporters seemed resigned to losing and weren't even that mad - which is even more worrying that being passionate. Most Donegal supporters are irate with the way Rory behaves on the sidelines himself, does plenty of roaring at our players and then we have his assistant Maxi running on the pitch ever minute.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 26/07/2017 09:01:40    2023643

Replying To ulsterrules:  "Have to say mceniff came out early on this one and he should have a word with his source who seems to have shown him up on this one. i doubt any donegal fans would know what rory Gallaghers dad looks like is he going around with a sign .

Rory has proven in my eyes a lack of ability to motivate the donegal players. He has an excuse for every occassion."
Exactly and unfortunately the likes of Leo McLoone, Brick Molloy and Anthony Thompson will not play until Rory Gallagher leaves and not to mention he was in charge of training for the Mayo game in 2013 as Jim was in Scotland. His attitude and tactics are the problem and are not up to the standard of a bunch of players as good as Donegal.

NaomhNaille (Donegal) - Posts: 124 - 26/07/2017 09:05:18    2023645

Glad to hear that Mr Gallagher wasn't in fact abused like that.

Good news

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 26/07/2017 10:52:00    2023723

Cuckoosinging, for someone who was so vocal yesterday, you've gone very quiet today!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 26/07/2017 11:35:17    2023758

Replying To Lifford Gael:  "Cuckoosinging, for someone who was so vocal yesterday, you've gone very quiet today!"
Only after clicking back into this thread fella and fair play to you, You said straight away dont believe everything you read.
Apologies if i did offend any Donegal supporters but i did say every county has a few clowns of supporters and thankfully this time Donegal fans did not let down their county.

Find it strange that McEniff would make a statement like that bringing bad and unwanted publicity to Donegal without investaging the matter himself to see was there truth to it

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 26/07/2017 11:48:29    2023768

Replying To Lifford Gael:  "So now it appears that no auch abuse of Rory Galllaghrs father took place And this came from Gerry Gallagher himself. Shame on those who were so quick to condemn a county based on totally unfounded allegations and shame on Mr. McEniff for publishing allegations based on hearsay.

http://www.donegalsporthub.com/rory-gallaghers-father-denies/"
Was the gun jumped? Yes clearly but I am struggling to find any comments condemning Donegal and Donegal fans. In fact a lot of posters while condemning the incident (which we all know now never happened) were quick to point that it did not reflect on Donegal as a whole

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 26/07/2017 12:12:16    2023786

Some fair points. Having Leo, Brick and Declan Walsh to pick from would bring back alot of experience and physicality that is much needed. Donegal do not have many options for the full forward line and Brick could definitely do a job. He is strong on the ball and know where the posts are and would free up Paddy a bit more. We all know the qualities Leo brings. Always was a very underrated player. Can play in a variety of positions and is tough as teak. Got treated appallingly last year so will not be back unless there is a change of management. Similar sentiments can be applied to Declan Walsh who is an excellent player. He had to wait in reserve for a few years as the Donegal half back line was so strong. Played against Galway in Croker in 2015 and was excellent. He then got dropped for the Mayo debacle for one player not even 60% fit. As for Odhran it was his choice to go. He done an interview last weekend where he spoke very highly of Rory and had absolutely no issues with him. His reasons for leaving were because he was not happy with his form which was in some way ironic given last year was probably his best season. This lad is a fantastic player who would walk onto any side in the country. He is so naturally gifted but does have consistency issues. I don't think we have seen anywhere near his full potential and under the right guidance he can be one of the best players in the country. It should also be noted that Rory seems to be very popular with most of the players. He was a vital cog in the backroom team in 2011 and 2012. I know he has given up so much of his time to Donegal football and people should be grateful of this. I was not surprised that it was a non story in relation to his dad getting abuse. As pointed out how would Donegal supporters even know who he was. It is very rare I encounter idiots at Donegal games. I am not saying there are none but it is rare all the same. The biggest murmurs of disquiet I have witnessed was on occasions when maxi runs on and off the pitch constantly but never heard anyone shout out abuse.

I read the interview Rory done and it must be said he really is the king of spin as far as Donegal are concerned. He always sounds convincing and articulate but I am afraid his bluff has well and truly been called. I find it bemusing to say that some players are tired etc. Well you cannot be surprised that some of the U-21's are given the crazy months they had earlier in the year. Rory had opportunity to rest them in the latter stages of the year and leave them to concentrate on the U-21 championship but insisted on playing them which ultimately done no help on 2 fronts. Donegal need a new leader. Someone who is strong of mine, adaptable tactically and surrounds himself with a quality proven backroom team. This includes video analysts and the right fitness and conditioning coaches. They also need to be aware that U-20 players are best within that group, if RG stays on that squad will seriously be weakened and it won't be for the good of Donegal football. Just look at Jason McGee who is a fantastic player and will be a top player in 3-4 years but is still not developed enough for senior football.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 26/07/2017 12:59:13    2023824

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Only after clicking back into this thread fella and fair play to you, You said straight away dont believe everything you read.
Apologies if i did offend any Donegal supporters but i did say every county has a few clowns of supporters and thankfully this time Donegal fans did not let down their county.

Find it strange that McEniff would make a statement like that bringing bad and unwanted publicity to Donegal without investaging the matter himself to see was there truth to it"
Apology graciously accepted. In fairness the issue lies here with McEniff making a sweeping remark without checking his sources or facts first so my gripe is first and foremost with McEniff. Best of luck to Roscommon in the quarter finals. Really hope ye can fulfill that obvious potential and follow up on the great victory over Galway.

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 26/07/2017 14:42:47    2023912

Replying To the_walls:  "Was the gun jumped? Yes clearly but I am struggling to find any comments condemning Donegal and Donegal fans. In fact a lot of posters while condemning the incident (which we all know now never happened) were quick to point that it did not reflect on Donegal as a whole"
Fair enough, and you're right, the posters here did not have a go at Donegal and its supporters who I have to say are up there with the best supporters in the country. It was more the idiotic comments on other forms of social media using the issue to have a real go at Donegal supporters in general.

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 26/07/2017 14:46:00    2023916