Kildare V Armagh

Replying To ziggy32001:  "what happened the great kildare team? told ye the meath game was your all-ireland."
Tonight really puts where Meath are in perspective though doesn't it?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 29/07/2017 21:16:45    2025529

Replying To Dr.Watson:  "Meath are an irrelevance."
and kildare are not?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/07/2017 21:17:37    2025530

I should have known better than to say a team would probably physically dominate Armagh. The fact is few teams actually do as was shown tonight. They were superb and fully deserved the victory. Armagh are a great footballing county and the Championship really needs their large, colourful support despite what some Westmeath GAA people say.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 29/07/2017 21:26:29    2025535

Great game of ball.

BartMcQueen (Cork) - Posts: 196 - 29/07/2017 21:31:05    2025544

Replying To ziggy32001:  "and kildare are not?"
Well you felt the need to come on here and have your say about kildare so obviously not.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 29/07/2017 21:33:51    2025548

Well done Armagh. Best team on the night, Clarke and a couple of others were excellent. Delighted for Geezer too, he's still very popular in these parts. Best of luck in the quarters lads.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 29/07/2017 21:49:57    2025560

Armagh and Kildare - great game of football to watch and good movement. Good to see teams back playing football without continuous back passing. Was a bit disappointed with Monaghan in the way that they did not contest the kick outs in first half.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 29/07/2017 22:28:42    2025574

Replying To ziggy32001:  "what happened the great kildare team? told ye the meath game was your all-ireland."
That's it Ziggy, Kildare's All ire was won In tillamore , pity as its a real shame for Leinster yet again only one rep in last 8. Lets be honest, Kildare were beat well by a Dublin side in 2nd gear and by a team who couldn't get out of division 3 that Louth and tipp did. Says a awful lot about where Leinster is at unfortunately. And yes I include Meath football in that. The highest ranked team Kildare beat this year was Meath, and in hindsight Meath had a awful year (despite been better than last year, which wouldn't be hard) long road ahead, for every Leinster county.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/07/2017 22:33:07    2025578

Replying To daytona11:  "We beat a shocking bad Laois team, a very poor Meath team got bet by an excellent dublin team and the players feet didn't stay grounded it would seems. We are probably carrying 3-4 players on our starting 15 that when it comes to this level aren't good enough. It's grand versus the Meaths and Laois's of this world but not against better teams.

The subs are up to standard either.

I fully believe that a year in division will be a massive boost to the team but we need to cut some lads loose."
Face facts you dont have the players Kelly and feeley apart none of that team are ic standard a team that couldn't get out of div 3 handed you your asses on a plate

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/07/2017 22:36:58    2025581

Replying To Dr.Watson:  "Meath are an irrelevance."
So are Kildare, beat by a poor division 3 team,

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/07/2017 22:38:08    2025583

Fair play to Armagh.
I have been critical of McGeeney as a manager that he is overrated etc.
He has never beaten a team he shouldn't have etc etc

Nobody saw this result coming. Maybe McGeeney is finally starting to live up to the hype?

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 29/07/2017 22:43:22    2025587

Replying To daytona11:  "Well you felt the need to come on here and have your say about kildare so obviously not."
Says the guy who comments on everything meath related, even bringing Meath into subjects where we not even mentioned. Ever hear term pot kettle black? Or can hive it but can't take it.?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/07/2017 22:44:35    2025588

Replying To ziggy32001:  "yeah but this is the kildare way."
Whether you meant this as a joke or whatever only you know, what I will say is that it is the absolute height of irony for you to come on here and kick the Kildare lads when they are down after losing a very hard fought close battle, when that very same Kildare side made a mockery of your lot earlier in the championship. On that day in Tullamore Kildare pocketed you guys and you lay down and you died, You guys showed absolutely no passion, no guts ... nothing, You hid away and you went down with a pathetic wimper. You can waffle on about Kildare treating it as an all Ireland, Whether they did or didn't, the fact you didn't match their passion on the day just goes to show everything that is wrong with Meath football and why, as Dr Watson says, Meath are an absolute total and utter irrelevance except to a few cabbages on here who will talk about the Meath tradition and hard men/great players of the past who are of no use to you now to try and big this bang average team up to something they arent and try put themselves on the map again after falling so drastically away, I was at the games tonight and all 4 sides were warriors. Not one went down without a hell of a fight and unfortunately for Down and Kildare, the better team on the day won out. Entertainment wise the games today where absolutely terrific value for money for 25 quid. Armagh fans are immense and bring wonderful colour to Croke Park. Next week will likely sell out and it promises to be a brilliant double header. Dying for it. Roll on tomorrow. This championship has been phenomenal. Great competitive games for the most part. Shock results... Class.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 29/07/2017 22:49:43    2025594

Just made an account to see what people were saying after no one gave us a chance. I know gaa is massive everywhere but in Armagh we are so passionate it's unbelievable. We have good team coming through still very young so we aren't far away. Getting to quarter final is are all Ireland win. Although would not be scared of Tyrone. Fair play Kildare lads use are a great bunch of people and a top top team. Use are like everyone in Armaghs second county cuz of geezers routes there. No doubt use will be back. Two great games that's what the Gaa is all about! Can't beat it

Armaghman2002 (Armagh) - Posts: 2 - 29/07/2017 23:15:54    2025608

Disappointing night for Kildare but I think the overall outlook is quite good and they should be commended as the only team in Leinster who are really prepared to try and challenge the Dubs. I think a season next year in division 1 will really bring on this team as will the super 8. I think Kildare are short a couple of players but they do have some talent coming through who have a big advantage in that their conditioning will already be at a level close to what is required for senior football. In Feely, Brophy and Kelly they have players as good as any around in their positions. The much hyped Daniel Flynn clearly has talent but he needs to work on his finishing. He looks like a real confidence player so playing in division 1 and the super 8 will definitely be good for him. Defensively Kildare need to definitely improve. I think in division 2 their defensive record was quite good especially in in terms of not conceding goals. They are still very loose and playing at the higher level will again help. My biggest gripe with Kildare is the over indulgence of some players to take too much out of the ball trying to do it all themselves. They have a few players like this and it really is something they need to eradicate a bit especially when the likes of Brophy and Flynn can thrive on quicker quality ball inside. These players have plenty of pace so would be far better off using it to provide support to these players inside. All in all not a bad season for Kildare and the outlook is positive where it is pretty bleak for the rest of the province including in Meath.

Big congrats to Armagh who are really improving game by game and proving that this notion of Ulster requiring too much effort when it comes to competing in the qualifiers as just a another nonsense excuse employed by poor management in other countie(s). Last year was always going to be tough without Clarke as he is such a talent on his day. But credit to Geezer for getting the best out of him and using him in different roles throughout the game ensuring Armagh get the best out of him. They will be a test for whoever they play in the next round and should really be a division 2 team this time next year.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 29/07/2017 23:23:15    2025614

Replying To royaldunne:  "So are Kildare, beat by a poor division 3 team,"
You may not like Meath BUT it's obvious you are seething with rage that they lost to an Ulster side; you fool no one.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 29/07/2017 23:31:59    2025617

Replying To royaldunne:  "So are Kildare, beat by a poor division 3 team,"
That should be Kildare.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 29/07/2017 23:32:55    2025618

Just wanted to post on this thread to pay tribute to armagh fans incredible support today that was like a 16th man for their match. Brought great atmosphere also.McGeeney has moulded one v motivated team there was great to watch after our match.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 30/07/2017 00:12:05    2025634

Replying To waynoI:  "Whether you meant this as a joke or whatever only you know, what I will say is that it is the absolute height of irony for you to come on here and kick the Kildare lads when they are down after losing a very hard fought close battle, when that very same Kildare side made a mockery of your lot earlier in the championship. On that day in Tullamore Kildare pocketed you guys and you lay down and you died, You guys showed absolutely no passion, no guts ... nothing, You hid away and you went down with a pathetic wimper. You can waffle on about Kildare treating it as an all Ireland, Whether they did or didn't, the fact you didn't match their passion on the day just goes to show everything that is wrong with Meath football and why, as Dr Watson says, Meath are an absolute total and utter irrelevance except to a few cabbages on here who will talk about the Meath tradition and hard men/great players of the past who are of no use to you now to try and big this bang average team up to something they arent and try put themselves on the map again after falling so drastically away, I was at the games tonight and all 4 sides were warriors. Not one went down without a hell of a fight and unfortunately for Down and Kildare, the better team on the day won out. Entertainment wise the games today where absolutely terrific value for money for 25 quid. Armagh fans are immense and bring wonderful colour to Croke Park. Next week will likely sell out and it promises to be a brilliant double header. Dying for it. Roll on tomorrow. This championship has been phenomenal. Great competitive games for the most part. Shock results... Class."
Excellent post. No shame in losing to a better team but to wait in the long grass with your fingers hovering over the keyboard waiting to mock the team who actually hammered your own lot is unbelievably childish and silly. Dublin were better than us, we lost. Armagh on the night were better than us and we lost. Fair play to both of them and best of luck going forward. They deserve to be where they are as do all the quarter finalists. The rest of us can sit back and enjoy the rest of the Championship as neutrals and see some good football.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 30/07/2017 00:15:16    2025636

Replying To royaldunne:  "Face facts you dont have the players Kelly and feeley apart none of that team are ic standard a team that couldn't get out of div 3 handed you your asses on a plate"
If a three point defeat is "having your asses handed to you on a plate" what's 9 and a 10 point defeat? Is there even a word for it? It's hilarious how a couple of sour lads are on with their scripts prepared waiting for us to be beaten. Maybe if you put as much effort into putting your own house in order then Meath football wouldn't be in the bin. And no, our all Ireland was the leinster final........beating Meath was no Biggie;)

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 30/07/2017 00:27:57    2025641