Kildare V Armagh

Armagh were excellent.They won't be in division 3 for long.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2166 - 29/07/2017 20:36:23    2025486

Armagh easily the better team, Kildare poor

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 29/07/2017 20:40:33    2025489

Replying To Daith:  "Once a set of chokers always a set of chokers. They did it v an awful Galway team in 2013 and again today. Such an appalling decision to base a senior setup around that squad. Talented as they are there is no future in any of them because there is absolutely no clue how to win a big game in the county."
I feel for you Daith..plus you make a lot of sense .

But well done Armagh..i think Kieran Mcgeeney has matured as a manager ,meaning he is more tactical now than he was in the past!

Tyrone v Armagh would be nice :)

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 29/07/2017 20:43:15    2025490

Replying To Daith:  "Once a set of chokers always a set of chokers. They did it v an awful Galway team in 2013 and again today. Such an appalling decision to base a senior setup around that squad. Talented as they are there is no future in any of them because there is absolutely no clue how to win a big game in the county."
A little ott maybe?

I don't think they bottled it to be fair. I think they were bet by easily the better team.

Look it, when your bringing on the players we did tonight to try and win a game questions have to be asked of the decisions on the line. I still feel that next year in division 1 will stand to them but some of the lads just are not good enough.

Maybe we and the players started to believe their own hype a little?

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 29/07/2017 20:43:48    2025491

I know your disappointed but to expect a young team to recover so quickly after a nine point defeat in there first provisional final is asking a lot, there's huge potential in Kildare and div 1 football next year will bring them on , allot of young fellas can bottle it but leadership comes with experience, this Kildare team should be judged in 3 to 5 years not now.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 29/07/2017 20:48:55    2025496

Well done Armagh. Jamie Clarke is a joy to watch. Brendan Donaghy gave a masterclass on how to play the sweeper role.

mon (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 29/07/2017 20:52:55    2025499

Armagh are a good football county and anyone who expected Kildare to win this easily doesn't know football. Well done Armagh..

downtothecore (Down) - Posts: 349 - 29/07/2017 20:53:31    2025500

what happened the great kildare team? told ye the meath game was your all-ireland.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/07/2017 20:53:50    2025501

Replying To daytona11:  "A little ott maybe?

I don't think they bottled it to be fair. I think they were bet by easily the better team.

Look it, when your bringing on the players we did tonight to try and win a game questions have to be asked of the decisions on the line. I still feel that next year in division 1 will stand to them but some of the lads just are not good enough.

Maybe we and the players started to believe their own hype a little?"
yeah but this is the kildare way.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/07/2017 20:54:41    2025502

Well done the Orchard County; a good win in a great game. Hard luck Lillywhites: All in all a good year. Back in Div 1, though I would say a poor championship with no wins outside Leinster. Still, what a hammering ye gave Meath, and I'd take something from that.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 29/07/2017 20:59:06    2025506

Replying To ziggy32001:  "what happened the great kildare team? told ye the meath game was your all-ireland."
Or another way of looking at it.....how bad are Meath?
Think people lost the run of themselves a wee bit with Kildare because the held a pulling up Dublin team to single figures or NINE points. Some already had them back in the semi playing the Dubs again. Poor respect shown to the other teams on that side of the draw

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 29/07/2017 21:00:42    2025508

If we were that awful in 2013 at u21 then many u21 all ireland winning teams must be awful. irrespective of tomorrow very few u21 teams produce players of the quality of Damien Comer and Shane Walsh.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 29/07/2017 21:01:56    2025509

Replying To ziggy32001:  "what happened the great kildare team? told ye the meath game was your all-ireland."
We beat a shocking bad Laois team, a very poor Meath team got bet by an excellent dublin team and the players feet didn't stay grounded it would seems. We are probably carrying 3-4 players on our starting 15 that when it comes to this level aren't good enough. It's grand versus the Meaths and Laois's of this world but not against better teams.

The subs are up to standard either.

I fully believe that a year in division will be a massive boost to the team but we need to cut some lads loose.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 29/07/2017 21:04:09    2025512

Well well well, sorry for Kildare but that was brilliant from Armagh. Didn't know enough about them but they showed up today, that's for sure.
And the good thing for them is, either Tyrone or Dublin is a huge match and will bring out the best in them again.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 29/07/2017 21:04:17    2025513

Two great games this evening.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 29/07/2017 21:04:20    2025514

Well done Armagh. Better team won. Best of luck next week.

Dr.Watson (Kildare) - Posts: 208 - 29/07/2017 21:04:55    2025516

Meath are an irrelevance.

Dr.Watson (Kildare) - Posts: 208 - 29/07/2017 21:06:08    2025517

Once a set of chokers always a set of chokers. They did it v an awful Galway team in 2013 and again today. Such an appalling decision to base a senior setup around that squad. Talented as they are there is no future in any of them because there is absolutely no clue how to win a big game in the county.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 29/07/2017 21:07:45    2025520

I think our issue was we haven't really had a decent game of football since the league, Blew Laois out of the water, destroyed Meath and aren't good enough at present to get close to the dubs.

Armagh were far better tonight but looked sharper. Our lads looked a little off the pace. Some aren't good enough though and that'll have to be dealt with. Some difficult decisions to be made in the winter.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 29/07/2017 21:10:42    2025524

Replying To festinog:  "Well done the Orchard County; a good win in a great game. Hard luck Lillywhites: All in all a good year. Back in Div 1, though I would say a poor championship with no wins outside Leinster. Still, what a hammering ye gave Meath, and I'd take something from that."
Maybe that's the problem ...they took to much from the Meath game.

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 29/07/2017 21:11:03    2025525