Why Croker?

If it wasn't in Croker people would be comlaining. We are a country of whingers and no more

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 26/07/2017 08:15:56    2023628

Replying To Culchie:  "Yes - but far fewer. All the Dublin games should be played there as they attract capacity or near capacity crowds.

Some Cork hurling games attract more than provincial venues could handle. The up-coming semi final is likely to be one of those. So Croker is really only needed for the finals and a handful of other games. Of course its a shame to leave it idle that often - but is it not equally shameful to leave better located provincial grounds idle when they could attract occasional capacity crowds?

There is too much stadium capacity in the GAA. There will always be a lot of empty seats throughout the summer. The question is where those seats should be. I don't see any reason why they can't be in Dublin. And I see every reason why numbers going through turnstiles and big match atmosphere could be greatly enhanced by leaving HQ idle, and filling provincial grounds more frequently."
Your name is quite apt , that we are the real capital isn't a pi77 take then , your logic and lack of basic financial balancing is quite funny

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 26/07/2017 10:38:13    2023712

Replying To as_ky:  "On Sunday we have four teams travelling from the west up to Croker to play in a half empty stadium with little atmosphere. They should be good enjoyable games but when croker isn't near to full capacity it takes away from the occasion. The early game between Kerry and Galway will be a joke, place will be near empty for throw in.
I have always believed that provincial champions should get to play the quarters in their own province. This Sunday Kerry should play Galway in the Gaelic Grounds and Roscommon play Mayo in Pearse stadium. Will pack out both, be a great atmosphere and is fair on fans because it is not asking them to fork out too much to watch their team play this early in the year.
But for some ludicrous reason everyone has to pack up and go to croker. It's the same craic every year and nobody is a fan of it and there would actually be higher gate receipts if played outside of croker, time for the GAA to show a bit of cop on"
Looks like you were well out with your prediction of a half empty croke park for sunday. Lower decks more or less sold out and big crowds in upper cusack and upper Hogan. Great to see two huge games played in a great stadium in front of big crowd. If the games had been split up and played down the country I doubt as many would have went. Time for a bit of positivity instead of constant giving out about everything.

A Another (None) - Posts: 193 - 26/07/2017 10:46:22    2023718