Why Croker?

On the same note on Saturday for the qualifiers you have Armagh v Kildare and Monaghan v Down. 3/4 Teams travelling from the north to play in HQ. With an estimated capacity of 73,500 excluding Hill 16 could have easily went to Breffini or the Athletic Grounds for this game as for Kildare v Armagh I'm sure that there could have been a venue in Leinster to hold this fixture. I can hardly see them reaching the figure above. Armagh are growing momentum and has been a while since they have been in Croke Park same could be said for Down but they brought a massive crowd to Clones for the Ulster final maybe outnumbering Tyrone support 2/1. Mayo and Cork from my understanding brought poor support with them, could you imagine if that was held in HQ?

I think this has been argued already but its about the teams looking to play in HQ thats their goals for the year. This would be like asking why do they hold the Club AI finals in Croke park when they don't fill it. You probably wouldn't fill a provincial ground in a Club game never mind Croker but its the norm. Tbh if Tyrone lost and was told to either travel Armagh/Cavan to play Monaghan or go to Croker i'd take Croker all day long. Especially on a Saturday for the sesh! Bring on the 5th! Hoping we get another go at Armagh!

Find_the_space (Tyrone) - Posts: 313 - 25/07/2017 09:37:00    2022995

Replying To Find_the_space:  "On the same note on Saturday for the qualifiers you have Armagh v Kildare and Monaghan v Down. 3/4 Teams travelling from the north to play in HQ. With an estimated capacity of 73,500 excluding Hill 16 could have easily went to Breffini or the Athletic Grounds for this game as for Kildare v Armagh I'm sure that there could have been a venue in Leinster to hold this fixture. I can hardly see them reaching the figure above. Armagh are growing momentum and has been a while since they have been in Croke Park same could be said for Down but they brought a massive crowd to Clones for the Ulster final maybe outnumbering Tyrone support 2/1. Mayo and Cork from my understanding brought poor support with them, could you imagine if that was held in HQ?

I think this has been argued already but its about the teams looking to play in HQ thats their goals for the year. This would be like asking why do they hold the Club AI finals in Croke park when they don't fill it. You probably wouldn't fill a provincial ground in a Club game never mind Croker but its the norm. Tbh if Tyrone lost and was told to either travel Armagh/Cavan to play Monaghan or go to Croker i'd take Croker all day long. Especially on a Saturday for the sesh! Bring on the 5th! Hoping we get another go at Armagh!"
Not sure where you got it from that Down outnumbered Tyrone 2 to 1 for the ulster final. Tyrone were definitely in the majority. More Tyrone fans in the Pat McGrane and O'Duffy terrace and even enough elsewhere. I was surprised there wasn't a bigger Down support there on the day. Down are poor enough supporters too, they'll not show up in big numbers this weekend either. I'd say Armagh will have the majority out of the 4 counties involved.

A Another (None) - Posts: 193 - 25/07/2017 10:00:20    2023013

"Mayo and Cork from my understanding brought poor support with them, could you imagine if that was held in HQ?"

Cork had hardly any fans there but Mayo brought a huge support.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 25/07/2017 10:04:39    2023016

Replying To as_ky:  "On Sunday we have four teams travelling from the west up to Croker to play in a half empty stadium with little atmosphere. They should be good enjoyable games but when croker isn't near to full capacity it takes away from the occasion. The early game between Kerry and Galway will be a joke, place will be near empty for throw in.
I have always believed that provincial champions should get to play the quarters in their own province. This Sunday Kerry should play Galway in the Gaelic Grounds and Roscommon play Mayo in Pearse stadium. Will pack out both, be a great atmosphere and is fair on fans because it is not asking them to fork out too much to watch their team play this early in the year.
But for some ludicrous reason everyone has to pack up and go to croker. It's the same craic every year and nobody is a fan of it and there would actually be higher gate receipts if played outside of croker, time for the GAA to show a bit of cop on"
Two things about your post, first of all whatever about Galway but we all know Kerry fans are a fickle bunch and won't travel in great numbers and the old excuse used in the 70s and to a lesser extent the 80s about waiting for the final won't wash anymore,the problem with the "Kingdom" is they have way too many fair weather fans who'll come looking for tickets and claim to be great supporters should Kerry reach the final and most Kerry matches throughout the year hold no interest for them. Secondly us Dubs are told time and time again that Croke park is basically our home ground yet here I'm sure we'll have a rake of bogtrotters complaining because they have to come up to Croker to see their team playing when really they should embrace the occasion the way us Dubs do after all its not as if they get too many opportunities to play on the hallowed turf of Croke park! By the way this is a great Galway team, I love the way they play the game takes the pressure off the Dubs in having to be the saviours of our great game!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 25/07/2017 10:14:04    2023025

Replying To baire:  "Loads of ppl go to Salthill, it's very popular! Great views, lovely beaches, fine pitch, hotels, restaurants, bars etc. Once you know how to get there you won't want to leave!"
U can't leave although it was handier get out this year 50% of the fans were gone early.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 25/07/2017 10:15:26    2023026

Replying To A Another:  "Not sure where you got it from that Down outnumbered Tyrone 2 to 1 for the ulster final. Tyrone were definitely in the majority. More Tyrone fans in the Pat McGrane and O'Duffy terrace and even enough elsewhere. I was surprised there wasn't a bigger Down support there on the day. Down are poor enough supporters too, they'll not show up in big numbers this weekend either. I'd say Armagh will have the majority out of the 4 counties involved."
I personally felt they brought more that Tyrone especially looking over at the Pat McGrane and the Hill from the Eastern Stand. Regardless, I don't see Saturday Fixtures filling Croker unless Kildare bring all the support saying they have the chance to get one over Geezer

Find_the_space (Tyrone) - Posts: 313 - 25/07/2017 10:25:41    2023030

Amazing how many on here give out about concerts taking place in HQ , ITS SUPPOSED TO BE A GAA STADIUM, then lads get the chance to play there and its location is a problem , well I have found the perfect solution we shall put Croke Park on wheels , think about it then we can role into the West North and South when we know how fixtures pan out , brilliant

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 25/07/2017 11:00:44    2023052

Players always want to play in Croke park whatever about supporters wanting to travel. Kerry probably one of the worst travellers and seem to only show up when silverware on offer.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 25/07/2017 11:11:56    2023064

Kerry's history of Winning contributes to their slowburn support. That and their county is further away from Croke Park than any where else barring deepest West Cork. Donegal supporters like to think they are the furthest way. They aren't but maybe have the worst roads

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 25/07/2017 12:10:30    2023117

Replying To Damothedub:  "Amazing how many on here give out about concerts taking place in HQ , ITS SUPPOSED TO BE A GAA STADIUM, then lads get the chance to play there and its location is a problem , well I have found the perfect solution we shall put Croke Park on wheels , think about it then we can role into the West North and South when we know how fixtures pan out , brilliant"
I think you could be onto something there Damo lol

I'd love to see a running cost of Croke Park on a match day and how many people are put off by the travelling due to the distance and compare that to the abysmal show out at the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick at the weekend.

Find_the_space (Tyrone) - Posts: 313 - 25/07/2017 12:30:47    2023138

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "Two things about your post, first of all whatever about Galway but we all know Kerry fans are a fickle bunch and won't travel in great numbers and the old excuse used in the 70s and to a lesser extent the 80s about waiting for the final won't wash anymore,the problem with the "Kingdom" is they have way too many fair weather fans who'll come looking for tickets and claim to be great supporters should Kerry reach the final and most Kerry matches throughout the year hold no interest for them. Secondly us Dubs are told time and time again that Croke park is basically our home ground yet here I'm sure we'll have a rake of bogtrotters complaining because they have to come up to Croker to see their team playing when really they should embrace the occasion the way us Dubs do after all its not as if they get too many opportunities to play on the hallowed turf of Croke park! By the way this is a great Galway team, I love the way they play the game takes the pressure off the Dubs in having to be the saviours of our great game!"
Have a go at that post again. I don't think you got enough insults and slurs in.

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 25/07/2017 13:16:31    2023184

Replying To Damothedub:  "Amazing how many on here give out about concerts taking place in HQ , ITS SUPPOSED TO BE A GAA STADIUM, then lads get the chance to play there and its location is a problem , well I have found the perfect solution we shall put Croke Park on wheels , think about it then we can role into the West North and South when we know how fixtures pan out , brilliant"
Need to decide whether to roll out the entire stadium or just the seated areas Damo. What happens to the Hill? Should people be denied the opportunity to save some loose change and should that be prioritised over the logistical difficulties re the railway line? We need to set up a committee to organise an enquiry. Once that's done, a decision should be pending in no more than 5 years.....

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 25/07/2017 13:47:42    2023218

Replying To catch22:  "Players always want to play in Croke park whatever about supporters wanting to travel. Kerry probably one of the worst travellers and seem to only show up when silverware on offer."
We wouldn't have much of a traveling background Down here in fairness.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/07/2017 13:59:26    2023232

Damo that's a silly idea, you'd never be able to wheel it out of drumcondra you'd have to fly it out if anything.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/07/2017 14:02:15    2023235

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Damo that's a silly idea, you'd never be able to wheel it out of drumcondra you'd have to fly it out if anything."
We could get it out through the port tunnel. grand.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 25/07/2017 14:05:10    2023239

Replying To riverboys:  "God help us if we had to go back to that car park that is Salthill, and as for a neutral venue for Kerry v Galway the game would be played in Cork because the GAA seem to use some strange figures to find a venue halfway from the 2 counties which usually means 1 county travels half an hour while the other takes 3 or 4 hours, on last Saturday's choice of venue I spoke to somebody from Belmullet in north west Mayo, they left at 10 am and arrived in Limerick at 3pm, no stopping and traffic moving okay, that 5 hours, most in Cork hadn't left home by 3 pm, games are in Croker and I'm delighted, might be our only game there this summer"
Enough of you working in Galway creating the car park!

MTS (Galway) - Posts: 279 - 25/07/2017 14:25:59    2023255

Replying To as_ky:  "On Sunday we have four teams travelling from the west up to Croker to play in a half empty stadium with little atmosphere. They should be good enjoyable games but when croker isn't near to full capacity it takes away from the occasion. The early game between Kerry and Galway will be a joke, place will be near empty for throw in.
I have always believed that provincial champions should get to play the quarters in their own province. This Sunday Kerry should play Galway in the Gaelic Grounds and Roscommon play Mayo in Pearse stadium. Will pack out both, be a great atmosphere and is fair on fans because it is not asking them to fork out too much to watch their team play this early in the year.
But for some ludicrous reason everyone has to pack up and go to croker. It's the same craic every year and nobody is a fan of it and there would actually be higher gate receipts if played outside of croker, time for the GAA to show a bit of cop on"
One can only assume the KY in your username alludes to the product you use to extract this type of opinion from its traditional place of storage.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 25/07/2017 14:41:30    2023265

It's hard when everyone wants a slice of the pie. I would be in favour of playing provincials in croke park but only as part of a double header. but not all provincial finals every year.....I know in Ulster the final in Clones is a wonderful occasion and i don't think any player or supporter would swap that for a croker final. I do see the merits in moving some quarter finals out of croke park. Make a tour of it and create a carnival in the town or city. so for example Kidare v Galway in a quarter in Cork should be a festival like atmosphere instead of the complaining of the journey for both sets of supporters. It'd only work if its planned correctly in conjunction with the local town/ city council well in advance

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 25/07/2017 15:08:46    2023282

Talking to people in Monaghan it seems they are bringing a sizeable crowd to croker....

Id say it will prob get about 30,000 Saturday

10,000 Armagh
10,000 Kildare
6,000 Monaghan
4,000 Down

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 25/07/2017 17:02:33    2023357

Replying To Greengrass:  "Do you actually want any games to be played in Croker ?"
Yes - but far fewer. All the Dublin games should be played there as they attract capacity or near capacity crowds.

Some Cork hurling games attract more than provincial venues could handle. The up-coming semi final is likely to be one of those. So Croker is really only needed for the finals and a handful of other games. Of course its a shame to leave it idle that often - but is it not equally shameful to leave better located provincial grounds idle when they could attract occasional capacity crowds?

There is too much stadium capacity in the GAA. There will always be a lot of empty seats throughout the summer. The question is where those seats should be. I don't see any reason why they can't be in Dublin. And I see every reason why numbers going through turnstiles and big match atmosphere could be greatly enhanced by leaving HQ idle, and filling provincial grounds more frequently.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 25/07/2017 23:44:06    2023588