Mayo vs Roscommon

Replying To ispeakwisdom:  "You simply aren't old enough to talk history so. Ballinlough is a sleepy scenic village and has loads of Mayo people living it in, didn't know it will have a motorway built beside it? as along as you know with all that heartbreak you had your sure fair share of luck that fine but I'd wonder how many lives is left on this Mayo aging cat?"
South Mayo will be able to take the new M17/M6 to Dublin in the future. Why would Mayo people in Ballinlough give the fingers tonpassung Mayo cars and hang out silly signs?

Ballyhaunis also had visitors in RN cars beeping through town after a final a number of years ago...jeering and shouting like clowns.

As a south Mayo man it's only the last few days seeeing the commmets here how pathetic some people are.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 26/07/2017 18:55:49    2024085

Talk about childish comments on here..

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1057 - 26/07/2017 19:30:26    2024088

Replying To yew_tree:  "South Mayo will be able to take the new M17/M6 to Dublin in the future. Why would Mayo people in Ballinlough give the fingers tonpassung Mayo cars and hang out silly signs?

Ballyhaunis also had visitors in RN cars beeping through town after a final a number of years ago...jeering and shouting like clowns.

As a south Mayo man it's only the last few days seeeing the commmets here how pathetic some people are."
The sign was a joke (it may have been a bit soon, granted) but it had no malice and I think 3 young lads (maybe 15, 16 in age) where behind it. Hardly anything to write home about? It's banter.No RN cars went into Ballyhaunis beeping either and not all RN cars have Roscommon owners FFS.

There's a bit of banter going around the border now but there is no maliciousness whatsoever and there won't be on Sunday evening onwards either.

UPAY4DINNER (Roscommon) - Posts: 22 - 26/07/2017 20:01:24    2024105

Replying To yew_tree:  "It is amusing though the Roscommon people laugh at Mayos All Ireland final record...ye haven't won a championship game in Croke Park in 37 years...I wasant even born then. Are ye sure there is no curse out her way too?"
We don't laugh at Mayo's All-Ireland Final record.Mayo's All-Ireland Final record is no laughing matter.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 26/07/2017 20:02:36    2024108

Replying To endgame:  "We don't laugh at Mayo's All-Ireland Final record.Mayo's All-Ireland Final record is no laughing matter."
neither is rosscommons

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 26/07/2017 21:40:06    2024169

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "This game has draw written all over it, best to both teams, wonder where will the replay be?"
I hadn't thought about that possibility. That would put some strain on those Mayo legs!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 26/07/2017 21:45:42    2024175

I'm in Amsterdam at the weekend but I think I'll make a point of crawling out of the coffee shop for a couple of hours to watch this one. Although Kerry v Galway has the potential to be a better game I think yours will be a bit closer.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 26/07/2017 21:58:36    2024186

Replying To mayo_123:  "neither is rosscommons"
Roscommon(with one S) have played in 7 senior All-Ireland football Finals.We've lost 3 ,won 2 and drawn 2.Not a bad record in Finals but we haven't got to enough of them.Mayo's problem is losing Finals when they get there.Mayo have lost 8 senior Finals since 1989.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 26/07/2017 22:18:05    2024207

Replying To endgame:  "Roscommon(with one S) have played in 7 senior All-Ireland football Finals.We've lost 3 ,won 2 and drawn 2.Not a bad record in Finals but we haven't got to enough of them.Mayo's problem is losing Finals when they get there.Mayo have lost 8 senior Finals since 1989."
As Jim Guinness stated
Large population counties should be challenging for SAM regularly
So smaller counties have to make the most of it while they are going well

Scarabin (Dublin) - Posts: 116 - 27/07/2017 10:16:16    2024326

A lot of rubbish been posted here. think both sets of fans should concentrate on the game instead of this "over the border" stuff that goes on in any 2 neighbouring counties which rival each other in GAA.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 27/07/2017 11:33:59    2024366

I listened to Mid West Radio last night as they had Mayo fanatic John Regan from Kiltimagh and John Joe Burke of Roscommon (another fanatic), both local barbers in their towns. Two characters who's love of their county and the GAA in general was infectious and great to listen to. Is a far cry from the sniping that goes on here.

Respect

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 27/07/2017 11:37:47    2024370

Replying To moros:  "A lot of rubbish been posted here. think both sets of fans should concentrate on the game instead of this "over the border" stuff that goes on in any 2 neighbouring counties which rival each other in GAA."
Exactly..all that matters is sunday..who really cares how many finals mayo or roscommon have won or lost or been in..thats in the past and everything is about Sundays game.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1057 - 27/07/2017 11:54:10    2024379

Replying To Scarabin:  "As Jim Guinness stated
Large population counties should be challenging for SAM regularly
So smaller counties have to make the most of it while they are going well"
He also failed to mention that Galway is a dual county, nothing like Dublin or Cork in terms of numbers playing the game. A million miles behind.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 27/07/2017 11:58:48    2024383

Tough game to call, I wouldnt be putting money on it..Roscommon will be targeting Caffereky and rightly so he is not playing well, Id say Rochford will still start him hoping he plays himself in too form as he is coming back from a bad injury..
Boyle should play sweeper and Higgins further up the field cause it worked very well against Clare, Higgins doesnt have the greatest football brain, his speed has gotten him out of trouble for years and its his speed that can cause alot of damage going forward..
If Mayo backs can hold Roscommon forwards, we will have enuf ball to win and also Aidan O Shea should rotate more in full forward cause Roscommon wont be able to handle him inside

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 602 - 27/07/2017 12:04:20    2024387

Here is a good podcast on game vs Roscommon it also goes over a few other things https://soundcloud.com/mayoarebackpodcast/mayoareback-podcast-s1-ep1

I think it will be a tight game but.Mayo to win by an odd point

Rokfuk (Mayo) - Posts: 1 - 27/07/2017 12:27:58    2024403

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "This game has draw written all over it, best to both teams, wonder where will the replay be?"
If that were to happen no doubt the GAA will have it in Castlebar to make sure Mayo get through to the latter stages. Sure in 2001 they did the same thing putting the Galway Ros fixture there where of course we got beaten

OverBlackSpot (Roscommon) - Posts: 47 - 27/07/2017 12:36:49    2024409

Replying To Gleebo:  "The same Oisin McConville who has a stack of All-Ireland medals and was one of the best forwards in Ireland in his day? Will probably accept his word over yours."
I'd say you are hanging on every word by Pat Spillane too, look how that worked out for Westmeath v Dublin. Told those players to have a go in the second half which they ended up doing and the Dubs tore them apart. Great tactical nous shown there

OverBlackSpot (Roscommon) - Posts: 47 - 27/07/2017 12:38:40    2024410

Replying To mayo_123:  "neither is rosscommons"
At least we know if we get there we wont have the emtional baggage that Mayo will have to go into another final. Ya wouldnt have a hope getting that emotional baggage through as a carry-on in a Ryanair flight I can promise you that!

OverBlackSpot (Roscommon) - Posts: 47 - 27/07/2017 12:44:17    2024412

If this game is level or close to level going into the last 10 mins then it'll be very interesting to see if mayo will tire from last weeks exertions and would the rossies have what it takes to drive it home.

But to be honest I think mayo will be doing a lap of honour coming into the last 10, I think the rossies will be happy with their Connacht title.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/07/2017 12:54:58    2024419

Replying To OverBlackSpot:  "I'd say you are hanging on every word by Pat Spillane too, look how that worked out for Westmeath v Dublin. Told those players to have a go in the second half which they ended up doing and the Dubs tore them apart. Great tactical nous shown there"
I knew Spillane was an important figure in the GAA, but I had no idea he gave the half time team talks to Westmeath.

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 27/07/2017 13:23:58    2024434