Galway vs Kerry

Replying To Galantis:  "a glorified training game at home.

Dublin fans would know all about this phenomenon"
Never said we didn't.

Just describing how I felt that Munster final went

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 24/07/2017 15:44:30    2022660

Replying To jimbodub:  "
Replying To Galantis:  "a glorified training game at home.

Never said we didn't.

Just describing how I felt that Munster final went"
yeah you are right in your eyes the rest of Leinster (and further a field) wouldn't be as remotely strong as Dublin 2nd XV and be less competitive than them and given the rampant inequalities the GAA have created

Galantis (USA) - Posts: 55 - 24/07/2017 19:10:44    2022776

This is it...mouthwatering....

oricelt (USA) - Posts: 207 - 24/07/2017 20:42:15    2022807

Replying To kingdomfan:  "I just don't rate this Galway team. They barely put away a Mayo team at home playing with 14 players for most of the game. Roscommon absolutely destroyed them at the back and they have nobody even close to Geaney or JOD. Donaghy will be put on the edge of the square and will create havoc. Galway are a poor team and it doesn't look good that they need Michael Meehan to come back after such a long time out. I stand by my 10 point win."
A very honest post. Refreshing to read something that isn't the usual sound bytes. It's going to be an interesting game nonetheless. I feel that the difference between the 2 teams is Galway's full back line.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 24/07/2017 21:54:06    2022830

There was a serious gulf in class between the division one final and division two final. Imagine that will be reflected on Sunday when the division 2 and division one Champs meet

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 24/07/2017 22:25:09    2022848

Replying To Galantis:  "
Replying To jimbodub:  "[quote=Galantis:  "a glorified training game at home.

Never said we didn't.

yeah you are right in your eyes the rest of Leinster (and further a field) wouldn't be as remotely strong as Dublin 2nd XV and be less competitive than them and given the rampant inequalities the GAA have created"]Dry your eyes mate , do something constructive ref these so called inequalities ,moaning here is not the answer.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 24/07/2017 22:38:14    2022861

Replying To Condorman:  "Getting into fellas faces isn't really in the Galway DNA though is it? Galway should play to their strengths i.e. by playing attacking ,fast, open football.
They probably won't win but there is a lot to be said for going down swinging."
Were you born after 1983? :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 24/07/2017 23:24:12    2022901

I just set down this eve myself and the other half and watched back the Kerry / Clare game and the Kerry / Cork on youtube........ Myself and herself were in "shock and awe" after watching both games! Sthop Kerry are a deadly outfit! It's born and bred into them. I don't know any player and I'm including the Dublin players in this, that could mark james o'donoghue!??? Ffs! Top top class player, what a dream to have him on ur team! Not to mention the likes of Paul Geaney, Kieran Donaghy and half forwards of Michael Geaney, Kevin McCarthy & Donnchadh Walsh. I've cold sweats just mentioning there names!! Christ and then the height of Anthony Maher @ centre field...and to have the likes of Darran O'Sullivan and Johnny Buckley on the bench!! Oh man..... Kerry haven't won the all Ireland n a couple of years and there is only one thing on Fitzmaurice and co's mind and that's to take Sam back off the dubs this year and bring it back down south! I hate saying this as a Galway man but we are only a minor hurdle in Kerry's eyes and no one will stop Kerry this year to be back n a final... Through hell or high water Fitzmaurice and his men will make sure of that.. Eammon Fitzmaurice was @ the Connaught final this year and I'd say he must have thought what a shambles!! I'd say he left Pearse stadium that afternoon saying to himself "what a waste of three hour drive up from Kerry there is defo nothing to worry about for us up here n Connaught" and that's the truth of the matter... All six backs won't stand a chance against the mighty Kingdom.... And that is a fact....7 days is an impossible task to get any team ready for the second best team n the country.. If I had to be really really picky about Kerry, I think there full backs are a bit vulnerable, it is possible they themselves could be under pressure if you ran at them down the middle....but there midfield and forward line counteract this... Look I'm being realistic here, Galway are developing well but not quite there yet as we saw from there Roscommon performance and I fear that if that Galway team that turned up against Donegal last Saturday don't turn up against Kerry next Sunday it could a disaster for this developing squad and set them back years.... It's an awful petty we had to meet Kerry n da quarters because to make it to semi final I believe was Kevin walshs goal this year and to get the monkey of there backs... I'll enjoy the day out and the atmosphere and the banter with the supports, but I will defo have no expectations for a Galway win. If Galway lose by 5 or less it will be respectable result for the Galway men..

Hupgalway (Galway) - Posts: 252 - 24/07/2017 23:44:59    2022909

Replying To The_DOC:  "Bit of perspective

Great win at the weekend, I went up and was really impressed with Galway, but when they took their foot off the intensity pedal then Donegal subs had a good run for a while - this cant happen Vs Kerry. Also Murphy sauntered through Galway players without a hand on him when he wanted to (not often enough for the Donegal lad I brought with me to the game) again, this cant happen Vs Kerry.

I see this game going even enough in the first half, but will be something like, Kerry to surge ahead and Galway to fight back, then Kerry to goal and Galway to fight back....then Kerry will goal twice in quick succession in the 2nd half and that's all she wrote.

HOWEVER, Id love Galway to win but even if they do lose this has been a great year in its entirety:
- Won Div 2 and won in Croke Park to clinch the title
- Great resolve and fight-back shown against Donegal
- Another great win against Mayo
- Some class U21's to make the step up and well as continued development of 22-23year olds on the team and panel this year

All of that said, none of the current team give a blood damn about winning or not winning a champ match in Croker in the last 16 years, do you think that will even be a factor? Hope the lads go out and do themselves justice and we cant ask for anything more."
Could you post the next week's lotto numbers while your at it.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 25/07/2017 11:23:26    2023075

Replying To realdub:  "Were you born after 1983? :D"
No.I remember 83 well.Who won that day? With only 12 men?
Not Galway.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 25/07/2017 13:26:04    2023194

Replying To Galantis:  "
Replying To jimbodub:  "[quote=Galantis:  "a glorified training game at home.

Never said we didn't.

yeah you are right in your eyes the rest of Leinster (and further a field) wouldn't be as remotely strong as Dublin 2nd XV and be less competitive than them and given the rampant inequalities the GAA have created"]The GAA have created no inequlaties. Dublin were only marginally ahead of Mayo & Kerry last year.
Kerry have beaten Dublin in the League Final this year. So it is a case of other teams are not
competitive with the top four teams. If the top four teams are competitive, there is no reason why
some other teams can not reach that standard.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 25/07/2017 14:11:03    2023245

Can anyone tell me the score of the Challange Match that was played between Kerry and Galway before the Connacht Semi Final. By all accounts Galway gave a good account of themselves but I didn't hear any result.

theblackcard (Mayo) - Posts: 47 - 25/07/2017 14:24:16    2023252

Replying To Hupgalway:  "I just set down this eve myself and the other half and watched back the Kerry / Clare game and the Kerry / Cork on youtube........ Myself and herself were in "shock and awe" after watching both games! Sthop Kerry are a deadly outfit! It's born and bred into them. I don't know any player and I'm including the Dublin players in this, that could mark james o'donoghue!??? Ffs! Top top class player, what a dream to have him on ur team! Not to mention the likes of Paul Geaney, Kieran Donaghy and half forwards of Michael Geaney, Kevin McCarthy & Donnchadh Walsh. I've cold sweats just mentioning there names!! Christ and then the height of Anthony Maher @ centre field...and to have the likes of Darran O'Sullivan and Johnny Buckley on the bench!! Oh man..... Kerry haven't won the all Ireland n a couple of years and there is only one thing on Fitzmaurice and co's mind and that's to take Sam back off the dubs this year and bring it back down south! I hate saying this as a Galway man but we are only a minor hurdle in Kerry's eyes and no one will stop Kerry this year to be back n a final... Through hell or high water Fitzmaurice and his men will make sure of that.. Eammon Fitzmaurice was @ the Connaught final this year and I'd say he must have thought what a shambles!! I'd say he left Pearse stadium that afternoon saying to himself "what a waste of three hour drive up from Kerry there is defo nothing to worry about for us up here n Connaught" and that's the truth of the matter... All six backs won't stand a chance against the mighty Kingdom.... And that is a fact....7 days is an impossible task to get any team ready for the second best team n the country.. If I had to be really really picky about Kerry, I think there full backs are a bit vulnerable, it is possible they themselves could be under pressure if you ran at them down the middle....but there midfield and forward line counteract this... Look I'm being realistic here, Galway are developing well but not quite there yet as we saw from there Roscommon performance and I fear that if that Galway team that turned up against Donegal last Saturday don't turn up against Kerry next Sunday it could a disaster for this developing squad and set them back years.... It's an awful petty we had to meet Kerry n da quarters because to make it to semi final I believe was Kevin walshs goal this year and to get the monkey of there backs... I'll enjoy the day out and the atmosphere and the banter with the supports, but I will defo have no expectations for a Galway win. If Galway lose by 5 or less it will be respectable result for the Galway men.."
I'd hate to be a player if you were giving the team talk!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 25/07/2017 14:49:31    2023271

I think and hope this will be a game to just sit back, relax and enjoy. I can see Galway causing Kerry problems at times but ultimately the men from the Kingdom will still be too cute to get caught out. A Kerry win by about 6 or 7 points for me in a high scoring, entertaining match.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 25/07/2017 16:00:47    2023313

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "I'd hate to be a player if you were giving the team talk!"
It's fact that's all...

Hupgalway (Galway) - Posts: 252 - 25/07/2017 16:23:05    2023333

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I think and hope this will be a game to just sit back, relax and enjoy. I can see Galway causing Kerry problems at times but ultimately the men from the Kingdom will still be too cute to get caught out. A Kerry win by about 6 or 7 points for me in a high scoring, entertaining match."
Defo lockjaw.... Nothing like the craic n da big tree before after the games win or lose!

Hupgalway (Galway) - Posts: 252 - 25/07/2017 16:25:27    2023337

Roscommon absolutely destroyed them at the back and they have nobody even close to Geaney or JOD. Donaghy will be put on the edge of the square and will create havoc. Galway are a poor team and it doesn't look good that they need Michael Meehan to come back after such a long time out. I stand by my 10 point win.

kingdomfan (Kerry) - Posts:378 - 23/07/2017 12:29:26 2021628

You obviously wernt at the league game between Roscommon and Kerry this year because Diarmuid Murtagh was head and shoulders best forward on the pitch.

Anyway hope kerry players have the arrogance you have and right Galway off like you do they wont be long heading home with their tails between there legs. Galways defence is poor but no way will Kerry forwards get the space like they did against Cork. No way will they not have a wide until the 50 minute. Evan at that if Cork had taken there goal chances they would have been well in the game. And we seen how bad Corks defense is last Saturday when COC one of the slowest forwards in the country was 5 yards ahead of his man everytime.
Think this could be a very close game ONLY IF Galway perform to there capabilitys

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 25/07/2017 16:35:05    2023340

"Also Murphy sauntered through Galway players without a hand on him when he wanted to (not often enough for the Donegal lad I brought with me to the game) again, this cant happen Vs Kerry"

Not sure the account name of whoever posted this, this statement couldnt be anymore false. Murphy was cleaned out at midfield, maybe his handy frees and one very good 45 gave the illusion he had a good game , he really didnt. He sauntered once all game and was dispossesed which resulted in a galway counter attack which resulted in a galway score , he was completely at fault for the 2nd goal and in doing so got his keeper sent off. Just to clarify im a michael murphy fan, but between people posting these statements and the likes of brolly saying he tried everything etc they must have been at a different game. Advice for new Donegal manager would be leave Murphy at 14 because between TYrone,Meath and Galway, midfield is not for him.

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 285 - 25/07/2017 18:18:22    2023399

While Galway may yet be an all Ireland challenger they are not anyway near it yet.
The main reason is Flynn and O Currán are near the level of Moran and Maher so possession will be a problem.
If Kerry dominate midfield then O Dinoghue and Geaney will have a field day inside and it could be a long day.
Galways midfield really need to deliever on their promise in order to have a chance.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1134 - 26/07/2017 05:49:42    2023617

Replying To as_ky:  "There was a serious gulf in class between the division one final and division two final. Imagine that will be reflected on Sunday when the division 2 and division one Champs meet"
Galway have already dispatch 2 Div 1 teams.

Look the division 1 final was a great game (especially in comparison to the div game) but lets take each game on their own merits. Galway beat what was put in front of them.

Ive been to the majority Galway league games this year and a few div 1 games as well - and some of the div one games were pure muck!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 709 - 26/07/2017 09:19:11    2023655