Galway vs Kerry

Replying To TheHermit:  "Honestly, either Brian Kelly or Fionn.

Can't believe how poor Kerry were today AGGHHAA!!!!!!!!"
Were you 1 of the 5 kerry people I seen yesterday in croker. Kerry toyed with Galway like a cat would play with a mouse I don't know how your team performs when ye don't show up to sport them.

galwayted (Galway) - Posts: 26 - 31/07/2017 08:15:54    2026374

Game was played like a training session...that said if Galway had forwards who could score goals it could have Been different. Kevin Wlah came in for horrid abuse after.

Do Galway fans want to see a change on the sideline?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 31/07/2017 08:53:48    2026389

Replying To yew_tree:  "Game was played like a training session...that said if Galway had forwards who could score goals it could have Been different. Kevin Wlah came in for horrid abuse after.

Do Galway fans want to see a change on the sideline?"
Many would like to see him replaced, but the problem is who they'd replace him with. It's also not as simple as just changing the manager.
Kevin is a very decent and honest man who's doing his best for Galway football, but the style he's trying to implement does not play to our strengths.
We're incredibly passive and play with very little intensity. We all knew a 'containment' mindset yesterday was going to lead to a slow tortuous defeat. Kerry would've taken much harder hits in training than yesterday.
We're at our best when we play at a high tempo and move the ball quickly. This was shown in the Donegal game and in parts against Mayo.
The way we tend to mentally check out when losing near the end of games is also a serious problem.
He did get us promoted and it would only be fair to let him take the team in division 1. However, I can't see us make any real progress without a serious change of mindset.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2050 - 31/07/2017 10:23:15    2026477

Replying To yew_tree:  "Game was played like a training session...that said if Galway had forwards who could score goals it could have Been different. Kevin Wlah came in for horrid abuse after.

Do Galway fans want to see a change on the sideline?"
I was thinking the same re.Mayo. You look at Rochford on the Mayo line, you look at McStay and the tune he's knocking out of Ros, and it must leave food for thought?

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3468 - 31/07/2017 10:59:16    2026507

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Many would like to see him replaced, but the problem is who they'd replace him with. It's also not as simple as just changing the manager.
Kevin is a very decent and honest man who's doing his best for Galway football, but the style he's trying to implement does not play to our strengths.
We're incredibly passive and play with very little intensity. We all knew a 'containment' mindset yesterday was going to lead to a slow tortuous defeat. Kerry would've taken much harder hits in training than yesterday.
We're at our best when we play at a high tempo and move the ball quickly. This was shown in the Donegal game and in parts against Mayo.
The way we tend to mentally check out when losing near the end of games is also a serious problem.
He did get us promoted and it would only be fair to let him take the team in division 1. However, I can't see us make any real progress without a serious change of mindset."
Well playing in division 1 and we have a good crop of u21 coming so its not all bad, its worrying for the rest of us that it might be the Dublin and Kerry show for the next few years hope I am wrong.

galwayted (Galway) - Posts: 26 - 31/07/2017 11:14:01    2026521

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "I was thinking the same re.Mayo. You look at Rochford on the Mayo line, you look at McStay and the tune he's knocking out of Ros, and it must leave food for thought?"
We know we haven't the best forward line...third best in Connacht we keep hearing...Galway are harping on about their forwards but I seen little against Kerry...

Do you wantWlash to stay on?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 31/07/2017 11:17:58    2026523

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "I was thinking the same re.Mayo. You look at Rochford on the Mayo line, you look at McStay and the tune he's knocking out of Ros, and it must leave food for thought?"
We know we haven't the best forward line...third best in Connacht we keep hearing...Galway are harping on about their forwards but I seen little against Kerry...

Do you wantWlash to stay on?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 31/07/2017 11:18:06    2026524

Replying To yew_tree:  "We know we haven't the best forward line...third best in Connacht we keep hearing...Galway are harping on about their forwards but I seen little against Kerry...

Do you wantWlash to stay on?"
I'd favour a competition for the job, including KW in the contest, if he wants another 3 year term. I wouldn't blame Walsh too much. I think we've a mediocre panel, that is not capable of reaching top4 status currently. It's a minor miracle imo that we've banished Mayo from the last two Connacht championships, which has led me to conclude that Mayo are a declining force, as we've debated previously.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3468 - 31/07/2017 11:44:17    2026545

So disappointing yesterday. No intensity or urgency in their game. It's so frustrating they did it vs Donegal and Mayo but it looked like Galway had no belief that they could win yesterday.

Hopefully Division 1 football can bring this team on and a sprinkling of a few more of this years U-21 team .

mon (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 31/07/2017 12:01:00    2026563

Super win for Kerry

Didn't have to break stride

Not even playing well they managed to easily beat Galway

Very promising signs for them and it's good to have things to address to refocus the efforts

Yes they coughed up a few goal chances but in the end, two good saves and a piece of great defending getting back on the line cleared the danger

With what was on show in the other game. It'll be Kerry in another final with relative ease but that'll be done to how good a side they are.

Yep.. great win and moving very nicely.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 31/07/2017 12:10:34    2026575

An awful lot of 'talk' about Galway's u21s this year! Galway won u21 all-irelands in 2002, 2005, 2011 & 2013, and not a single player in any of those panels ever won a championship game at senior level in Croke Park subsequent to pocketing those u21 medals. Remarkable really.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3468 - 31/07/2017 12:12:20    2026576

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "An awful lot of 'talk' about Galway's u21s this year! Galway won u21 all-irelands in 2002, 2005, 2011 & 2013, and not a single player in any of those panels ever won a championship game at senior level in Croke Park subsequent to pocketing those u21 medals. Remarkable really."
Wow that is amazing if true. There was a serious lack of belief yesterday and some of that lays with the management. Galway clearly rattled Kerry at the start of the 2nd half but as it progressed they just remained over cautious and let the game trickle away. It must be said that the form of the Donegal game came with a big red flag. I definitely think Galway have some decent forwards and really like Bradshaw the centre back who I would have liked to see going more forward especially in the 2nd half. While the forwards are a talented bunch the decision making on show yesterday was very poor but something that can be worked on.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 31/07/2017 13:00:05    2026604

I thought Galway could have done better yesterday, I also thought if we had a stuck away any of those goal chances Kerry had the ability to up their level and kick-on at any time.

Now, all this talk of changing manager - I think its crazy. Look I'm not his club man but if a manager is bringing a constant progression to a team then he deserves to remain in charge. I think this year has seen Galway develop further, we won our division and into Div 1 next year and another AI OF. We are not a top 4 team yet but are getting there.

Now the caveat:
- I hope KW uses the FBD to settle in a few of the u21's in key positions and formulate an A and B game plan and drill it into players and team right from the FBD into the league and then championship. This craic of dropping GK in middle of championship has to stop
- Focus on plan B, this year ahs show either we have no plan B or we have an inability to enact a plan B
- Bring in/freshen up selectors

All of the above needs to be done ASAP - we need to start to focus on div 1 ASAP now I'm not saying training or anything like that but a few quiet chats with players on a one to one basis, a few management chats about tactics and players in/out position, in-game scenario's against div 1 teams - this all needs to start happening over the coming weeks.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 709 - 31/07/2017 13:14:41    2026616

Replying To galwaydublin:  "Galway were awful. If we are serious about breaking into the top 4, our workrate, especially tackling needs to be ramped up. We simply didn't believe we could beat Kerry, and they were there for the taking if we'd been more clinical. The bigger picture though, not enough guys who'll hurt themselves, putting their bodies on the line like the rossies. that was the biggest disappointment yesterday. It's a year of progress for sure, but in Division 1, workrate needs to be ramped up."
As a neutral think your being a bit harsh , I have seen enough from Galway to convince me they are going to be a serious team , they are raw and make mistakes , but fundamentally they have the tools pace , youth, good footballers if they stick together and iron out obvious flaws like tighter defending and punishing teams with goals they will be some outfit. For me they will give Sam a right go in next couple of years.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 31/07/2017 13:16:49    2026618

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Many would like to see him replaced, but the problem is who they'd replace him with. It's also not as simple as just changing the manager.
He did get us promoted and it would only be fair to let him take the team in division 1. However, I can't see us make any real progress without a serious change of mindset."
I agree with you, the last 15 minutes was torture. I would give big KW the job for a couple of years, hope div. 1 improves the problems you mentioned.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1197 - 31/07/2017 13:28:24    2026629

Neither G and KY performances were of quarter final intensity.
G definitely unlucky with 2 of the 4 or 5 possible shots on goal.
First time I've seen G live since the Tipp game last year. Impressed with the talent in G team but some distance to go in "killer" instinct or aggression, perhaps. Not much could have been done to outfield Donaghy, -some you can break, some he'll catch, but he turned and seemed to find space to shoot rather easily for the goal. Gap there for Galway? Might be too simple to blame his marker. Tyrone in the past, or D always seem to have someone between him and goal. I thought G did well on KY's 2 very good corner forwards.
It seemed to me at the end G had players as good or better than KY but KY a fair bit better "team" if that makes any sense. KY further down the road in terms of intensity, planned running/support play and tackling. .
Kinda looks from the outside that something different needs to be done soon with this group of good players in G, or Roscommon might become dominant.

KY1002 (Kerry) - Posts: 2 - 31/07/2017 13:36:11    2026630

Replying To galwayted:  "Were you 1 of the 5 kerry people I seen yesterday in croker. Kerry toyed with Galway like a cat would play with a mouse I don't know how your team performs when ye don't show up to sport them."
Think you might need to check your spectacles there lad, plenty of Kerry supporters up around Croker yesterday.

In case you don't know we're the ones in the green and gold jerseys.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 31/07/2017 23:02:24    2027048

Replying To Damothedub:  "As a neutral think your being a bit harsh , I have seen enough from Galway to convince me they are going to be a serious team , they are raw and make mistakes , but fundamentally they have the tools pace , youth, good footballers if they stick together and iron out obvious flaws like tighter defending and punishing teams with goals they will be some outfit. For me they will give Sam a right go in next couple of years."
I dont think I am. Their attitude for me stank the place out. No intensity in tackling, or passive shadowing as it couldn't be called tackling, Micheal farragher pulling out a tackle that led to a kerry point, Kieran donaghy not being pulled down for the goal. I agree with you on forwards, but what we have is a painted car body without the engine. I think lads like Daly and Walsh, great on the ball, awful off it, become liabilities against bigger teams when their men are setting up scores. The biggest one was the way they gave up after farraghers goal miss with fifteen to go at only four points down. Mayo closed down a seven point Dublin lead in half that time in 2015.
As for challenging for Sam, we lost to Kerry, donegal, tipp and Kerry by seven, ten, nine and eight respectively from 2014-17. Don't share the optimism without changes in attitude and personnel, this ain't a new team, it's experienced, at losing and throwing in the towel when the heat is on in Croker. That's why I'm still upset. I'll forgive missed chances, but not the lack of attitude.

galwaydublin (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 01/08/2017 18:37:00    2027563