Charlie Redmond's Jim McGuinness comments

I'd say there's a good element of the old Irish scourge of begrudgery from Charlie,and maybe he's still a bit sick after '92, I'm sure Jim's not too worried about him.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2757 - 21/07/2017 00:05:29    2020341

Replying To alano12:  "big jim gavin fan but blaming a rock concert for a lad getting a black card isnt nonsense?"
He blamed him slipping on the re-laid pitch

That part of the pitch wasn't fit for purpose last Sunday

All players were slipping in that area over and over on a perfectly dry and warm day

I'm not sure what Rock actually did - I haven't seen it back allI remember is both lads slipping and falling on top of each other

Again what has that point got anything to do with Jim Mc's far more severe comments directed at Gavin in the media which Charlie was responding to... you know the actual context of this entire thread...

A ridiculous comparison

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 21/07/2017 09:54:39    2020399

Replying To TheFlaker:  "
Replying To hill16no1man:  "[quote=TheFlaker:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "He didn't say you called someone a fool.

Just saying

So perhaps save your Laughing out loud and actually read what he said.. no?"
Eh he assumes I think Kilkenny is a fool. Listen we are going nowhere. As you have seen before on here I have defended the Dubs and their team on many occasions but this whole Connolly thing has been laughable to be honest. There is literally no talking to some of you. And Gavin can do no wrong in the eyes of most Dubs even when he is talking s###e."
well you said anybody that would turn down a professional sports team for a gaa team has no life goals and needs to get out more
kilkenny done that did he not?"]First of all I didn't say that. I said you can't say for sure you would or not cos you never have or will be in that position. Just because Murphy and Kilkenny did doesn't mean you can make a flippant comment about Jim Mc choosing soccer, your comment was silly. And I didn't confuse you with any poster, I never said it was you who was giving ROC grief. Maybe you should try reading my posts properly. I know what poster it was and I know what posters I have debated with in the past. But you keep messaging you buddy for back up. Siege mentality yawn."]What are you talking about I'm getting a bit worried about you ability to see reality from fiction.
I haven't mentioned siege mentality at all, how many people from Dublin do you start rows with that your constantly mixing me up. I think it's getting a bit silly now.
You know what you said regarding anybody who would choose to not take up a professional sports contract and choose gaa it's there in black and white for all to see.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/07/2017 10:13:00    2020410

Replying To alano12:  "enlighten us on how close you were to being a top player so"
If you can read I have already done so
I guess for some peoples way of thinking on here anybody that partake in online messaging must be no good, I wonder does that count for the majority of top gaa players who are on Twitter every day the mind boggles

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/07/2017 10:18:22    2020415

I love the way the lad won't respond to daft things Gavin has said because they only wants to deal with what Redmond and McGuinness said. No room for debate when it suits.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 21/07/2017 12:55:33    2020527

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I love the way the lad won't respond to daft things Gavin has said because they only wants to deal with what Redmond and McGuinness said. No room for debate when it suits."
I'm debating the topic

Why are you not?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 21/07/2017 13:01:29    2020533

I hear *insert some GAA name* said something daft a few years ago

What would that have to do with Charlie responding to comments made by Jim McG in reference to Jim Gavin?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 21/07/2017 13:10:43    2020538

Replying To alano12:  "i believe its very easy to talk like that when you havent received much of a chance at the other life, like how many of us in all honestly wouldnt consider professional soccer or another of the big sports if we were good enough at the sport"
I'm sure many would consider it but there are those who wouldn't for a variety of reasons.

1. Uprooting family.
2. Chances of success at a professional club are not high.
3. Leaving a well paid job.
4. Leaving home where roots are well established.

In my own locality I know a musician who was offered a great opportunity to go full time but turned it down as he enjoyed what he was doing as well as a talented Irish dancer who turned down a chance to go with Riverdance as she didn't want to leave family & home & had a good job.

I am not knocking anyone who chooses to either stay or leave but I do take issue with an assumption that everyone who would get a chance would go no questions asked.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 21/07/2017 14:02:26    2020564

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "I'm sure many would consider it but there are those who wouldn't for a variety of reasons.

1. Uprooting family.
2. Chances of success at a professional club are not high.
3. Leaving a well paid job.
4. Leaving home where roots are well established.

In my own locality I know a musician who was offered a great opportunity to go full time but turned it down as he enjoyed what he was doing as well as a talented Irish dancer who turned down a chance to go with Riverdance as she didn't want to leave family & home & had a good job.

I am not knocking anyone who chooses to either stay or leave but I do take issue with an assumption that everyone who would get a chance would go no questions asked."
wasnt implying that but to be talking big about it when youve never had the chance is silly also

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 21/07/2017 23:01:34    2020742

Replying To jimbodub:  "He blamed him slipping on the re-laid pitch

That part of the pitch wasn't fit for purpose last Sunday

All players were slipping in that area over and over on a perfectly dry and warm day

I'm not sure what Rock actually did - I haven't seen it back allI remember is both lads slipping and falling on top of each other

Again what has that point got anything to do with Jim Mc's far more severe comments directed at Gavin in the media which Charlie was responding to... you know the actual context of this entire thread...

A ridiculous comparison"
and that is already being discussed, stop dodging the fact that what gavin said was silly for him

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 21/07/2017 23:02:28    2020743

Replying To hill16no1man:  "If you can read I have already done so
I guess for some peoples way of thinking on here anybody that partake in online messaging must be no good, I wonder does that count for the majority of top gaa players who are on Twitter every day the mind boggles"
that has very little credibility, surely that was obvious, anybody can say anything of that sort on an internet forum

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 21/07/2017 23:04:34    2020744

Replying To jimbodub:  "Not that you'd have to worry about playing there ;)"
LOL .. very good.. Sorry Saffron.
Jimbo you bring back memories of standing on the hill at low key league matches enjoying quick witted Jackeens.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 22/07/2017 00:11:35    2020758

Huge admiration for both Jim Gavin/McGuinness for standing up for their players.
Spillane , many in the media and some posters on here made a big play of Gavin defending the indefensible but Jim Gavin did NOT defend Connolly's behaviour (stated that clearly from the beginning) . He instead objected to the player's trial by media before he got a fair hearing from the disciplinary meeting.
Jim McG put his career on hold for 3-4 years for the sake of Donegal football and no one should have any problem with him moving to Glasgow to earn a better living for his young family. I cant see how' Hill 16' can regard this as a question of morals. JMcG wasnt the first to leave one of Ireland's economic blackspots to improve his lot. I dont agree with his comment on Jim Gavin atall .. his thoughts are usually intelligent and thought provoking but he is wide off the mark on Gavin.
I am still trying to make sense of Charlie Redmond's attitude that someone's playing tactics dictates that he is unworthy of an opinion.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 22/07/2017 00:37:52    2020760

Replying To Curlew66:  "Huge admiration for both Jim Gavin/McGuinness for standing up for their players.
Spillane , many in the media and some posters on here made a big play of Gavin defending the indefensible but Jim Gavin did NOT defend Connolly's behaviour (stated that clearly from the beginning) . He instead objected to the player's trial by media before he got a fair hearing from the disciplinary meeting.
Jim McG put his career on hold for 3-4 years for the sake of Donegal football and no one should have any problem with him moving to Glasgow to earn a better living for his young family. I cant see how' Hill 16' can regard this as a question of morals. JMcG wasnt the first to leave one of Ireland's economic blackspots to improve his lot. I dont agree with his comment on Jim Gavin atall .. his thoughts are usually intelligent and thought provoking but he is wide off the mark on Gavin.
I am still trying to make sense of Charlie Redmond's attitude that someone's playing tactics dictates that he is unworthy of an opinion."
I never said it was a question of morals very strange how people seem to put two and two together and get 10.
I said you can't bang on about disadvantages in Donegal and not point out the overwhelming gulf between Celtic and the Mickey mousers in the Scottish league. I said as a manger I thaught he was excellent with Donegal but as a pundit I am not a fan personally. Hope that clears up for u

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 22/07/2017 10:03:29    2020795

Replying To alano12:  "that has very little credibility, surely that was obvious, anybody can say anything of that sort on an internet forum"
I give up
I didn't bring up what I played I was the one asked that I had no chance of ever playing for Dublin or a pro team so I gave the answer honestly if your not wanting to take what I say at face value what's the point, I have no reason to make things up on here. Each to their own

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 22/07/2017 10:09:00    2020797

Replying To Curlew66:  "LOL .. very good.. Sorry Saffron.
Jimbo you bring back memories of standing on the hill at low key league matches enjoying quick witted Jackeens."
you know they're only that quick witted because they've covered every blade of grass at Croker in a long and successful playing career right?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 22/07/2017 11:25:23    2020829

Replying To hill16no1man:  "I give up
I didn't bring up what I played I was the one asked that I had no chance of ever playing for Dublin or a pro team so I gave the answer honestly if your not wanting to take what I say at face value what's the point, I have no reason to make things up on here. Each to their own"
Haha He has some neck having a go at your honesty

When he's not even from Dublin and only posts passive aggressive comments in the guise of a Dubs fan in order to have a pop at Dublin GAA or Dublin posters.

That's the cut of some on here..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 22/07/2017 11:34:17    2020837

Replying To jimbodub:  "Haha He has some neck having a go at your honesty

When he's not even from Dublin and only posts passive aggressive comments in the guise of a Dubs fan in order to have a pop at Dublin GAA or Dublin posters.

That's the cut of some on here.."
if you're talking about Alano, I've had many debates over soccer and boxing with him on here. I find it hard to believe his main purpose is to disguise himself as a Dub to have a go at the county. Why would he need to do that? its a forum ffs, not the feckin witness protection programme!

some of you lads need a reality check. why is it that there's no such thing as wrong doing in your own county or at least admitting so? and anyone that has a different opinion than the 'defend Dublin at all costs' approach is anti Dublin, angenda drivin or some sort of double agent. catch a grip!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 22/07/2017 14:29:42    2020920

You lads are literally a joke. Many an argument I have had with Alano, he is defo a Dub.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 22/07/2017 15:08:47    2020929

Breffni will be here shortly I'm sure.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 22/07/2017 15:30:25    2020934