Charlie Redmond's Jim McGuinness comments

Replying To baire:  "If you had read my post carefully you'd notice that I was referring to Charlie Redmond's eulogising of Cluxton, I didn't mention your manager or DC. There is no spite or bile in my post. Have a look at the video, hard to argue with video evidence! Obviously not all Dub supporters are arrogant, but there's a large section of the your football supporters who wouldn't be a patch on your hurling supporters when it comes to sporting behaviour in Croke Park."
Apologies I thought you were referring to Connolly's "assault" on the linesman .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 19/07/2017 13:32:28    2019259

Replying To Damothedub:  "We've been tacking criticism as long as we have been playing the game , if you bother to read posts you will note there is many a Dub who has not agreed with Gavin , many have come down fairly harshly on Connolly but hey maybe you couldn't read those posts with the spite and bile welling up your eyes."
As you say yourself, you can tack criticism but you can't take it! ;)

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1819 - 19/07/2017 13:36:52    2019266

Replying To SaffronDon:  "just curious, is Alano having his background questioned because his opinion differs from the standard reactive/defensive Dublin response to criticism?"
No not at all.

The 'standard reactive/defensive Dublin response to criticism' is hardly just a Dublin phenomenon. You only have to look at the response of the Donegal lads reaction to anything negative said about JimMc on this thread, justified or not as a case in point.

A.

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 19/07/2017 13:41:50    2019271

Replying To Aido69:  "No not at all.

The 'standard reactive/defensive Dublin response to criticism' is hardly just a Dublin phenomenon. You only have to look at the response of the Donegal lads reaction to anything negative said about JimMc on this thread, justified or not as a case in point.

A."
Have no qualms with people criticising things Jim has said, but when his character gets called into question I think we're right enough to bristle at that. Some pathetic childish stuff been said in the thread.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 19/07/2017 13:49:38    2019276

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I agree, talking about "bringing the game into disrepute" was OTT."
Good man!

It was daft alright but listen Charlie should have kept it to himself and not been throwing muck back, and he shouldn't have been that critical of McGuinness in any shape or form. It was a poor effort.

The whole Sunday game incident is a thing of the past now and Gavin is back talking to them

It's a pity that a really nothing incident that wasn't deemed important enough to be dealt with at the time has resulted in this but that's what happens when players are targeted in a very self serving way.

Look at what Cody did and the reaction to it... the big difference is that there wasn't a deliberate campaign against Cody.

Gavin was right not to talk to the Sunday game after the effort they went to hang Connolly in the manner they did...

It was no doubt a self serving personal agenda to over blow a nothing incident and this is what happens...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/07/2017 13:57:54    2019283

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Have no qualms with people criticising things Jim has said, but when his character gets called into question I think we're right enough to bristle at that. Some pathetic childish stuff been said in the thread."
I replied to SaffronDon regarding Dublin posters 'reactive/defensive' response to any criticism. I made the point its country wide. That's all. I have never called any manager/players character into question. Not my thing. As I stated earlier in thread I thought both articles were rubbish. Both using inflammatory language to what end?

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 19/07/2017 14:02:03    2019288

Replying To Damothedub:  "Apologies I thought you were referring to Connolly's "assault" on the linesman ."
No worries!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1819 - 19/07/2017 14:05:04    2019289

Replying To Aido69:  "No not at all.

A."
you should maybe take a look at the Donegal reaction when somebody criticised one of their backroom staff members behaviour on the touchline last week. Most if not all called him what he was, an embarrassment. No whataboutery like we see time and again on anything involving Dublin.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 19/07/2017 15:20:18    2019337

Redmond should have kept his mouth shut tbh no need for it

mickbob (Waterford) - Posts: 5 - 19/07/2017 16:37:52    2019394

Firstly

Jim shouldn't have used the term "game into disrepute" - Gavin is hardly the first manager to try and make the most out of Seige mentality (and not dissimilar to Jim having a pop at Spillane after the Ryan Bradley MOM in Ballybofey

Aside from that Redmond's reaction and comments are very out of order. McGuiness won all Ireland's as a player - took an U-21 team to within a crossbar rattle of an AI title and then spent 4 years with the senior team. Pursuing a career to provide for his family in an area that he spent a lot of years at college training for is hardly something to be lambasted for.

As regards taking football to the brink - They game evolves and continues to evolve - McGuinness started the journey in 2011 which no-one can deny was over the top and evolved in 2012 in doing so brought many great days for the county. The gameplan for the Dublin game was over defensive and was met with a very similar approach from the opposition which resulted in a tactically intriguing if not visually pleasant encounter.

As highlighted already I would regard what Redmond did against Tyrone as being more against the ethos of the game than anything McGuinness ever did or devised.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 19/07/2017 16:52:19    2019410

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Take a deep breath there, you're foaming at the mouth a bit"
its not the grand national you know

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/07/2017 17:17:01    2019433

Replying To SaffronDon:  "let me get this straight, you would have turned down a lucrative career move to Celtic and China to scrape by in Donegal?? LOL"
i would rather play for dublin or manage dublin than any soccer team you could name
yes

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/07/2017 17:17:59    2019434

Replying To baire:  "If you had read my post carefully you'd notice that I was referring to Charlie Redmond's eulogising of Cluxton, I didn't mention your manager or DC. There is no spite or bile in my post. Have a look at the video, hard to argue with video evidence! Obviously not all Dub supporters are arrogant, but there's a large section of the your football supporters who wouldn't be a patch on your hurling supporters when it comes to sporting behaviour in Croke Park."
wasnt that alan brogan talking about niall morgan and cluxton?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/07/2017 17:20:11    2019437

Replying To hill16no1man:  "i would rather play for dublin or manage dublin than any soccer team you could name
yes"
Ah good, another poster who talks absolute mince. Pretty easy having that viewpoint when you had no chance of playing for Dublin or get paid big bucks to be involved in pro soccer. I do have to laugh at the posters who think it's a competition on here to prove who is the biggest die hard, much like my own county it's usually the people who know the least and you wouldn't want to be anywhere near during a game. Another Dub poster was posting pure muck when ROC decided to take a break to go travelling. Laughable stuff.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 19/07/2017 17:37:31    2019453

Replying To SaffronDon:  "you should maybe take a look at the Donegal reaction when somebody criticised one of their backroom staff members behaviour on the touchline last week. Most if not all called him what he was, an embarrassment. No whataboutery like we see time and again on anything involving Dublin."
I wasn't singling out Donegal people either. But it is a countrywide thing. Most threads on this forum end up in childish whataboutery. It's not just a Dublin thing. Anyway that's me done. We could keep going in circles.

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 19/07/2017 17:59:43    2019467

Replying To hill16no1man:  "i would rather play for dublin or manage dublin than any soccer team you could name
yes"
ah the moral standards are just impeccable on here aren't they. I'm sure if you had a young family in rural Donegal in this day and age after years of study your family would be delighted at your loyalty over making a fortune and setting them up for life!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 19/07/2017 18:42:35    2019487

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Ah good, another poster who talks absolute mince. Pretty easy having that viewpoint when you had no chance of playing for Dublin or get paid big bucks to be involved in pro soccer. I do have to laugh at the posters who think it's a competition on here to prove who is the biggest die hard, much like my own county it's usually the people who know the least and you wouldn't want to be anywhere near during a game. Another Dub poster was posting pure muck when ROC decided to take a break to go travelling. Laughable stuff."
Why is it so hard for you to understand that I would rather play or manage Dublin than play or manage soccer ???
How is that mince? It's just being honest.
how do you know If I ever had a chance of playing for dublin or not???
You don't know who I am so very silly statement to make. I played underage for Dublin at all ages and alongside 7 or 8 of the current team. I don't know if I could have made it in soccer as I never had any interest in playing for a team so can't answer that one.
it's not being the biggest die hard I don't see why you find it so hard to believe i prefer gaa to soccer.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/07/2017 20:17:24    2019524

Replying To SaffronDon:  "ah the moral standards are just impeccable on here aren't they. I'm sure if you had a young family in rural Donegal in this day and age after years of study your family would be delighted at your loyalty over making a fortune and setting them up for life!"
Again I'll explain this really slow
I prefer gaelic football to soccer
I'm not motivated by money in my life
I would rather do things that make me happy than do things just for money.
I think it says more about your morals if your only motivation in life is money.
I think my family would rather see me happy than do something just for money as they care about my happiness.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/07/2017 20:27:13    2019531

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Why is it so hard for you to understand that I would rather play or manage Dublin than play or manage soccer ???
You don't know who I am so very silly statement to make. I played underage for Dublin at all ages and alongside 7 or 8 of the current team. I don't know if I could have made it in soccer as I never had any interest in playing for a team so can't answer that one.
it's not being the biggest die hard I don't see why you find it so hard to believe i prefer gaa to soccer."
I hope you're reading this Kevin Moran, ya dirty sell out

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 19/07/2017 20:38:43    2019542

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Why is it so hard for you to understand that I would rather play or manage Dublin than play or manage soccer ???
it's not being the biggest die hard I don't see why you find it so hard to believe i prefer gaa to soccer."
Listen man, your post is so daft it doesn't warrant a response. Unless you are a teenager who has zero life experience then you seriously need to raise your goals for life. Die hard Dubs fan who has no interest in making being a success in a professional sports environment, well done.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 19/07/2017 20:46:09    2019547