Meath

Replying To Spoddgy:  "Sorry now but I like my full back line in forde prendegast Flanagan mold hard to say one full back line was the greatest in an era of great full back lines"
I think the Meath full back line of 'Hands' and his corner men had a bit of extra help at the time. I remember listening to Michael O'Hehir's commentary on a Meath Mayo All-Ireland semi-final or final, and at one point he said that, 'the whole Hill of Tara' had come down on Mick Flanagan as he headed towards goal. O'Brien and Prendergast were outstanding full-backs.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 13/07/2017 15:37:41    2016144

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "A bit rich, Didnt Meaths new manager activally try and recruit a good few Dubs over the winter."
You'd want to get your facts straight.

A Meath player playing in Dublin made himself available and a former Dublin underage player playing in Meath for the past 4 years made himself available.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 13/07/2017 16:47:18    2016176

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "A bit rich, Didnt Meaths new manager activally try and recruit a good few Dubs over the winter."
Concentrate on your own county mate..

Stuart Lowndes - play his club football in Meath, folks are from Meath, pretty sure its common knowledge he always supported Meath. He played maybe two O'byrne cup matches and was then dropped off the panel. He's Eric's older brother but Eric always preferred Dublin

Stephen O'Connor - folks are from Meath, played one trial match and it went no further..

It happens in every county and cuts both ways. Should a manager not pick the best players available to him

We'd Michael Deegan playing for Donaghmore Ashbourne but was always on the Dublin panel. I believe a couple of lads from Ratoath were involved with Dubs underage too. Never a complaint from Meath folk about that..

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 13/07/2017 17:22:04    2016190

So by your logic dean rock is a Meath player poached by dubs?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/07/2017 18:21:34    2016212

Replying To tiobraid:  "There's a lot of young people growing up in Meath that have seen Meath win nothing at all and can only hear of stories of the past. I'd rather be a young player growing up in Kildare seeing them win Leinster minors and U21 titles - if I was a bigger football man than hurling man.
Although, the fact that I'm a hurling first man I can fully see your point now. Ye have won silverware almost every year in recent times at different levels so maybe I mistook your original point. :D"
Can I have some of what you smoking.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/07/2017 18:23:15    2016213

If you want to compare teams to soccer. Dublin would be Barcelona Kerry would be Real Madrid . Meath would be Liverpool. Liverpool won 4 European Cups in 70s and 80S and have a great tradition. But find it hard to win in modern times. Meath won 4 All Irelands in 80s and 90s have a great tradition. But find it hard to win in modern times. Kildare would be Newcastle Utd. Both have passionate great supporters. Both were last the best team in the land in the 1920s. And both had 2 or 3 great years in the 90s. And both had one great year in the 90s when they could have won the big prize. But are rebuilding.
Regards the two Dubs. They never played 1 minute or 1 second for Meath in championship or league. So its not an issue . You cannot criticize Meath for playing Dubs when they never played for the county for 1 second in league or championship.
Listen many players have played for other counties. The greatest hurling goalkeeper of all time was Tony Reddan for Tipp. Yet he was a Galway man born and bred. Meath would not have a tradition of playing players from other counties. I know people will say Colm O Rourke but he was reared in Meath lived in Meath taught in Meath played all his club football in Meath. What I mean is Meath have never really had a Larry Tompkins. A player who played for another county.
Kildare did seem to have policy of poaching other inter county players. Karl Dwywr was a Kerry footballer. Brian Lacey was a Tippearey footballer. Good luck to them.. I see no problem to much. Once a player lives or works in the county. But there was disquiet at the time when they tried to poach Declan Browne from Tipp and then Seanie Johnston fiasco brought it to farcical levels. Dwyer brought Cathal Sheridan onto the kildare panel in late 90s . Sheridan is one of the most successful footballer in Meath history winning senior under 21 minor and junior All Irelands with Meath. Bringing player from other counties with no link to their new county. Could be an issue. There was disquiet towards Kildare when Dwyer and McGeeney were bringing lacey and Johnston on board. I couldn't care less. Good luck to them. That Kildare 98 team was a brillant team. But as far as I can remeber Meath have not played 1 player in the championship in the last 30 years. Who played with another inter county team with the exception of Shane McAlinary and Ollie Murphy who but played for London in the championship.
Many examples of player from other counties changing allegiance but there should be a link. That player is lIving or playing football in the county. Or have strong family connections eg Declan D'Arcy for Leitrim.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 13/07/2017 18:31:05    2016217

The fact is to say Meath have had no underage sucess is factually wrong. It is an 100% incorrect statement. Meath have had underage sucess in the traditional sense.
Firstly yes Meaths record at under 21 is appalling. We have not won 1 leinster under 21 title in 16 years . We have only played in 1 leinster final under 21 in 16 years. We have not played in a senior final in 16 years. It's linked . In the 90s we won 4 under 21 leinster titles. Our minor record is better. In the last 16 years we have reached 2 minor All Ireland finals. After Dublin we are the only leinster county to reach minir final in 14 years.
Yes Kildare and Dublin are stronger at minor and under 21 level in recent years. And even though Kildare won a couple of leinster titles?
they still did not reach a final like we did in 2012. Kildare have never won a minor All Ireland title. But yes they are much ahead of Meath in the provience at minor and particularly under 21 level.

Meath have not had a group of titles or sucess like Cavan and Roscommon footballers and Clare hurlers have had recently at underage level. We need to. But we haven't. But in the traditional sense we have had underage sucess.
I
n that we reached the 2012 All Ireland minor final. Which is the only leinster team outside Dublin to reach All Ireland minor final in 14 years. You have to go back to 2003 when Laois reached the All Ireland for a leinster to team other then Dublin reached a final.

So we have produced one of the best minor teams to come out of leinster in 15 years. Yes they were beaten twice by Dublin. But that Dublin team is their only win 30 years or so. And is the best minor Dublin team ever. And one of the best I ever seen. And the one of the advantages they had over that small light young Meath team. Was their physique . That Dublin team size, so many of them were built like seniors. But that was a sucessful Meath minor team. They defeated very highly fancied Mayo and Tyrone teams. Tyrone were seen as been very strong that year. And some where saying they were the best Tyrone minor team since the great minor Tyrone team that backboned the Tyrone team of the noughties. And many of those Tyrone minors would lead Tyrone to under 21 sucess a year or two later. Mayo also had a very strong minor team in 12. And thoSe Mayo minors would win under 21 title in a year or two.
While 8 or 9 of that Meath minor team have played senior for Meath. And at least 5 of that minor will be the backbone of the Meath senior team for the next 5 or 6 years . The manager of that minor team is now senor manager.
Yes Meath have not had a cluster of title eg Roscommon. But we have had a sucessful underage team. And in the past that is how you obtained sucess. The 1999 Cork hurling team was backboned by the under 21 1998 winners.
1997 Kerry All Ireland winning team was backboned by the 1995 under 21 winning team and manager. 1996 Meath winning All Ireland team was backboned by 7 under 21s from.the same years leinster under 21 winning team. While the 1998 All Ireland Galway winning team was built on a Galway minor team that reached minor final in the 90s While the Armagh 2002 winning team had many players that came from 1992 All Ireland finalis the minor eg McGeeney.
So yes Meath have had some underage sucess. To say they haven't is wrong. But we need much more to facedown Dublin and Kildare.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 13/07/2017 19:37:59    2016244

Here is a lIst of players from that All Ireland minor finalist Meath of 2012. 11 of that minor and sub bench have played senior for Meath. The manager Andy McEntee is now our senior manager.
Ruarii O Coilean Brian Power James McEntee Shane McEntee Cillian Sullivan Harry Rooney Adam Flanagan Robbie Burlingham Declan Symth Seamus Lavin and Paddy Kennelly. You cannot say there was no underage sucess in Meath when 11 players and managers of the only leinster team( outside Dublin ) to reach All Ireland minor final in 14 years played senior. While players of that Meath minor team like Power O Coilean Rooney Shane McEntee James McEntee Cillian Sullivan 6 players are pretty much first team starters. More like Flanagan and Kennelly could get back on the team. So a third of Meaths senior team in thr next 5 to 6 years will come from that minor team.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 13/07/2017 19:54:42    2016252

The one massive problems for Meath and I would say Galway, since the blanket defence and sweeper system have been introduced neither county since 2001 have had real sucess. Meath have not played in a senior final in 16 years. Galway have not won a championship match in Croke Park in 16 years. Both counties past sucess was built on the traditional kick and catch game. Long balls in to the forward line. With the blanket defence and sweeper system . This style of play is not as effective. Counties that traditionally play a more short passing game, possession game have adapted better to the modern game. Both counties find it hard to play the modern way sweepers etc. There is no tradition in both counties of sweepers. And you can see when both counties get men behind the ball. And the players look lost at times.

I will give you an amazing statistic that will emphasis how Mesth have not adapted to modem game. Who traditionally has the best record in the championship v Ulster teams. Kerry No Dublin no . Meeth do . Up to 2000 Meath had outstanding record v Ulster teams. Tyrone and Armagh had never beaten us in the championship. And in 14 All Ireland semi finals v Ulster teams Meath has 14 victories. Between 1955 and 2000 Downs victory over in 1991 Meath was Meaths only loss to a Ulster teams in that period of nearly 50 years in the championship. We even hammerd the great Down of the 60s in the 1966 all Ireland semi final..No wonder we were not popular up North.

However Meaths record v Ulster teams since 2001 have been atrocious. Meath in 16 years have been knocked out of the championship by Ulster 9 times. The losestate are below
Eg Donegal 02 Fermanagh 03 04 Cavan 05 Tyrone 13 Armagh 14 Tyrone 15 Derry 16 Donegal 17.
That extraordinary turn around where Ulster teams couldn't best Meath teams to where Meath teams cannot beat teams from Ulster. We do up our game v Ulster teams eg Tyrone twice and Donegal this year. But obviously when see Meath teams play Ulster teams the Meath players are much smaller lighter teams.the Ulster have much bigger stronger men. The strenght of conditioning of players up north is excellent. In Meath it is below average. And Ulster teams have this image of Meath teams being physical so they bring a very physical approach to games v Meath. Meath have not had a big powerful team since the mid 90s. Hopefully when the current crop reach the age of 25 and 26 27 in the years 2019 2020 2021 ,they will have a couple of years in the gym. But up to now Meath teams have been lightweight . At underage Kildare teams have been much bigger teams then Meath. This has translated to senior. And the evidence was in the Meath game v Kildare this year. Kildare are a much stronger team.

Meath have a problem at midfield and half back line for 16 years . We have not had top class midfielder since McDermont, a top class centre back since Liam Harnan and a top class wing back since Martin O Connell. All the best footballers in Ireland 20 years ago were in half forward line eg Giles Donnellan etc. Now all the best players are in half back line eg Keegan and Caffrey. There is little room up forward. So players like McCaffrey and Keegan who would have been forwards in 90s are now half backs. All the top teams have top class half back lines Eg Mcarthy Sullivan McCaffrey, Harte Gormley Jordan. Until we find a top class midfielder and top Class half back line we are standing still .Hopefully Power Menton Rooney Conlon Forde and Harnan develop in the mid sector of the field.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 13/07/2017 20:49:45    2016265

Replying To royaldunne:  "So by your logic dean rock is a Meath player poached by dubs?"
I never said I had a problem with it, Roscommon have sourced players in Dublin too and like yourselves nothing worked it, I wasn't having a dig a Meath for it I was referring to the Meath poster who started on about Kildare and players from outside the county

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 13/07/2017 21:52:18    2016279

Replying To kildare73:  "If we are Tottenham, what does that make Leitrim? Accrington Stanley??"
Probably, did I ever claim Leitrim were a footballing powerhouse ? I am a Meath man to the core, one of my parents is from Leitrim hence the name

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1464 - 14/07/2017 00:41:59    2016332

Replying To brian:  "Concentrate on your own county mate..

Stuart Lowndes - play his club football in Meath, folks are from Meath, pretty sure its common knowledge he always supported Meath. He played maybe two O'byrne cup matches and was then dropped off the panel. He's Eric's older brother but Eric always preferred Dublin

Stephen O'Connor - folks are from Meath, played one trial match and it went no further..

It happens in every county and cuts both ways. Should a manager not pick the best players available to him

We'd Michael Deegan playing for Donaghmore Ashbourne but was always on the Dublin panel. I believe a couple of lads from Ratoath were involved with Dubs underage too. Never a complaint from Meath folk about that.."
Correct in every aspect except for the fact that Eric used to support Meath. Went to school here and if you look at the Dublin GAA page his sporting hero is Trevor Giles funnily enough

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1464 - 14/07/2017 00:42:59    2016333

Replying To tiobraid:  "There's a lot of young people growing up in Meath that have seen Meath win nothing at all and can only hear of stories of the past. I'd rather be a young player growing up in Kildare seeing them win Leinster minors and U21 titles - if I was a bigger football man than hurling man.
Although, the fact that I'm a hurling first man I can fully see your point now. Ye have won silverware almost every year in recent times at different levels so maybe I mistook your original point. :D"
I am one of those young people. I was only 6 months old when we last won Sam so my time supporting them has been fairly bad to say the least. Still though in my life 3 Leinsters to Kildare's 1, 4 semi final appearances to Kildare's 2.

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1464 - 14/07/2017 00:52:53    2016335

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "I am one of those young people. I was only 6 months old when we last won Sam so my time supporting them has been fairly bad to say the least. Still though in my life 3 Leinsters to Kildare's 1, 4 semi final appearances to Kildare's 2."
You have 99 in your name so I assume you were born in 99 so I sincerely doubt you remember anymore than 1

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 14/07/2017 08:08:18    2016345

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Here is a lIst of players from that All Ireland minor finalist Meath of 2012. 11 of that minor and sub bench have played senior for Meath. The manager Andy McEntee is now our senior manager.
Ruarii O Coilean Brian Power James McEntee Shane McEntee Cillian Sullivan Harry Rooney Adam Flanagan Robbie Burlingham Declan Symth Seamus Lavin and Paddy Kennelly. You cannot say there was no underage sucess in Meath when 11 players and managers of the only leinster team( outside Dublin ) to reach All Ireland minor final in 14 years played senior. While players of that Meath minor team like Power O Coilean Rooney Shane McEntee James McEntee Cillian Sullivan 6 players are pretty much first team starters. More like Flanagan and Kennelly could get back on the team. So a third of Meaths senior team in thr next 5 to 6 years will come from that minor team."
Ye lost though....
Tip won in 2011 and have 3-4 max playing senior now. One minor team will hardly make a great senior team...

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 14/07/2017 08:10:14    2016346

Replying To tiobraid:  "Ye lost though....
Tip won in 2011 and have 3-4 max playing senior now. One minor team will hardly make a great senior team..."
Your right and your wrong.
Yes we need to do what Tipp Roscommon Kildare Dublin Cavan footballers and Clare hurlers have done. And have underage sucess over a couple of years. We do need to follow that sucessful underage model. If we don't we are going nowhere fast. There has been allot of work being done recently. And if under 14 15 16 17 results are to go by . In the next few years we should be more sucessful in the new minor and under20 grades. Kildare and Dublin teams have wiped the floor with us at underage grades for 5 or 6 years. However the gap seems to have closed and we are expecting sucess at under 17 and under 20 in the next couple of years and if there is not serious questions have to be asked.

There are example of 1 underage team becoming sucessful at senior and even losing teams. The examples are below
1 A recent example. The Kerry team that won 2014 senior final. Had allot of players from an under 21 that was hammerd by a Cork team in under 21 Munster championship.
2 The brillant 2 time All Ireland winning Galway team of the 90s was backboned by a minor Galway all ireland finalist team.
3 Meath All Ireland winning 1996 team. The greatest young team of the last 30 years. And one of the greatest ever young teams with Kerrys 1975 team. Had 7 under 21 from leinster winning team of the same year.
4 Clare hurling that lost under 21 Munster Final in the early 90s was managed by German loughnane and many of those players would play on 1995 and 1997 All Ireland winning teams
5 A very good comparison of different underage teams is limerick hurlers won 3 All Ireland under 21 titles in a row in early noughties. Huge expections were placed on those teams shoulders . It never translated to senior. A Waterford hurling lost minor final in the 90s with Paul Flynn and co. Those players backboned Waterfords Munster winning teams in the noughties.
It's very hard to predict what players and teams at underage have sucess at senior level. Dont they get me wrong in that we have obtain more sucess at underage level. But that minor team which is the most sucessful team outside Dublin to come out of leinster in 15 years and with so many playing senior was a very good underage team.. Yes they were beaten by Dublin. That Dublin team was exceptional. And also they were like senior players in terms of physique. Those Mesth minors even at senior level are still quite small.and light. However when they reach 25 26 age bracket I think they will physically better able to deal with senior football.

Meath are not as bad as many people want the. To be . They have one of the youngest teams in the country who have been knocking on the door to Division 1 for a couple of years have a great tradition and a strong management team. A sucessful Meath team in the next few years is not impossible. The years 2019 2020 2021 I can see Meath making an impact in the championship. Obtaining Division 1 status is essential. And staying in Division 1 is the key to sucess. Meath are not a million miles from getting into div1 finishing 3rd 3 times in four years losing out to score difference point difference and head to head . If Meath go up next year. When the players play div 1 in 2019 they will older and stronger for div 1 football . Players like McGill Harnan Rooney Sullivan McMahon etc would be 25 then.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 14/07/2017 18:26:09    2016630

Replying To Furlong1949:  "The fact is to say Meath have had no underage sucess is factually wrong. It is an 100% incorrect statement. Meath have had underage sucess in the traditional sense.
Firstly yes Meaths record at under 21 is appalling. We have not won 1 leinster under 21 title in 16 years . We have only played in 1 leinster final under 21 in 16 years. We have not played in a senior final in 16 years. It's linked . In the 90s we won 4 under 21 leinster titles. Our minor record is better. In the last 16 years we have reached 2 minor All Ireland finals. After Dublin we are the only leinster county to reach minir final in 14 years.
Yes Kildare and Dublin are stronger at minor and under 21 level in recent years. And even though Kildare won a couple of leinster titles?
they still did not reach a final like we did in 2012. Kildare have never won a minor All Ireland title. But yes they are much ahead of Meath in the provience at minor and particularly under 21 level.

Meath have not had a group of titles or sucess like Cavan and Roscommon footballers and Clare hurlers have had recently at underage level. We need to. But we haven't. But in the traditional sense we have had underage sucess.
I
n that we reached the 2012 All Ireland minor final. Which is the only leinster team outside Dublin to reach All Ireland minor final in 14 years. You have to go back to 2003 when Laois reached the All Ireland for a leinster to team other then Dublin reached a final.

So we have produced one of the best minor teams to come out of leinster in 15 years. Yes they were beaten twice by Dublin. But that Dublin team is their only win 30 years or so. And is the best minor Dublin team ever. And one of the best I ever seen. And the one of the advantages they had over that small light young Meath team. Was their physique . That Dublin team size, so many of them were built like seniors. But that was a sucessful Meath minor team. They defeated very highly fancied Mayo and Tyrone teams. Tyrone were seen as been very strong that year. And some where saying they were the best Tyrone minor team since the great minor Tyrone team that backboned the Tyrone team of the noughties. And many of those Tyrone minors would lead Tyrone to under 21 sucess a year or two later. Mayo also had a very strong minor team in 12. And thoSe Mayo minors would win under 21 title in a year or two.
While 8 or 9 of that Meath minor team have played senior for Meath. And at least 5 of that minor will be the backbone of the Meath senior team for the next 5 or 6 years . The manager of that minor team is now senor manager.
Yes Meath have not had a cluster of title eg Roscommon. But we have had a sucessful underage team. And in the past that is how you obtained sucess. The 1999 Cork hurling team was backboned by the under 21 1998 winners.
1997 Kerry All Ireland winning team was backboned by the 1995 under 21 winning team and manager. 1996 Meath winning All Ireland team was backboned by 7 under 21s from.the same years leinster under 21 winning team. While the 1998 All Ireland Galway winning team was built on a Galway minor team that reached minor final in the 90s While the Armagh 2002 winning team had many players that came from 1992 All Ireland finalis the minor eg McGeeney.
So yes Meath have had some underage sucess. To say they haven't is wrong. But we need much more to facedown Dublin and Kildare."
Very good detailed post and i hate to pull you on one inaccuracy. McGeeney didn't play minor with Armagh in 1992. He was 31 in 2002. Barry O'Hagan and Marsden were the main men. I'm sure you remember Trevor Giles great pass to set up the winning goal in the final :)

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 14/07/2017 21:02:18    2016692

meath have some talented players from the current u16's,u17's and from the minor team 2 years ago. be interesting to see how these progress in a few years...

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 14/07/2017 21:56:27    2016704

we are starting to beat dublin at underage. our u17's beat them easily in this years championship,our minors hammered them last year,our minors were 10 points up this year only to lose in added time. our bogey is still kildare at underage our u17's play them in newbridge tuesday in the u17 leinster semi.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 14/07/2017 21:59:44    2016706

Replying To ziggy32001:  "we are starting to beat dublin at underage. our u17's beat them easily in this years championship,our minors hammered them last year,our minors were 10 points up this year only to lose in added time. our bogey is still kildare at underage our u17's play them in newbridge tuesday in the u17 leinster semi."
Your 100% right. Ziggy. Two points
1 Kildare are our Bogey team full stop. We have a bit of a Kildare problem. Look at our championship record v every other team in leinster it's really good. I know we have a bad recent record v the Dubs. But overall our record v Dubs is the best in the country. Our record v teams outside the province is real good. Mayo Corks we arw their bogey team in the championship and good record v Kerry. Kildare, we underestimate. We think it's all Dublin. But it's Kildare that have emerged in laat 20 years or more as county we find hard to beat. In the last 50 years they have beaten us 8 times. After Dublin that is the best record any team has . Laois are next with 3 wins.

We need to improve our record v kildare first before Dublin at senior. This year's game will be the first of a few meetings in the next few years in the championship between both of these young teams. Kildare do seem to have the basis of a quality team. As long they don't get another 15, 20 point hammering on Sunday. They look like a serious team. But at minor and under 21 year, Kildare have beaten us over and over in recent years. As well as Dublin.

Dublin will continue to produce good underage teams. But so far in this decade they have produced brillant underage teams . If you look at record in the lower grades. The gap has closed and Meath are beaten Dublin consistently. Kildare might dip at underage. Which is natural.

Meath have an opportunity and other counties eg louth8e Laois Westmeath have a chance in the next few years And looking at our record at under 14 15 etc. We should do well at the new minor and u20 level. But if we don't questions needed to be asked. In the last two years we had two good minor teams with allot of potential. However neither got to even a leinster final . We have got to get our work done at underage to turn into silverware in the next few years. If not serious questions have to be asked.

One thing also . I cannot understand why more of the 90s team have not been used more at underage level. Barry Callaghan has had both minor and under 21 jobs. No real sucess other then 1 hammering v Dublin. But why is someone like Graham Geraghty not been involved at minor and under 21 level. He had managed at different levels. Was a Meath selector. In any other county someone Geraghty would be singled out and brought in. Look how Peter Cavanan Brian Dooher and Lohan are in charge of Tyrone under 21 team. And Darra O Se was Kerry under 21 manager. And Dessie Farrell was minor and under 21 manager. When Jim Galvin leaves Dessie Farrell is ready to take over. When Mickey Harte leaves, Lohan management team will probaly take over. Other counties have sucession plans in place. Jim Galvin and Jimmy McGuiness were under 21 managers first before senior . Why are people like Gerathy Seamis Kenny Anthony Moyes not been made our under 17 and and under 20 manager. Imagine if we were playing Dublin at under 20 next year. And Graham Geraghty was manager. Thats what we need to do. We need to do what other counties are doing.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 15/07/2017 00:14:54    2016741