Meath

Replying To OLLIE:  "Haha you said 9 so you were 2 out. You can add in Tipp and Laois in 1889 as another final were two neighbouring counties played each other. Was it in 1949 or 1952 when Meath played Cavan that two brothers were playing against each other?"
I think was 52. I have met people from Louth still talk about the team of 40s and 50s. Still a team very loved in the wee county. The win in 57 v Cork is one leinsters greatest wins by any county in an All Ireland final. Hopefully the minors will win on Sunday.It would be a massive boost . Louth seniors have a good young team with allot of potential . I wouldn't be surprised to see Louth promoted to Division 1 like Cavan and Roscommon. They key for Louth is the manager they appoint next. I thought Kelly did a real good job. Again in first season bad start, relegated. But he was getting to know players. Two promotions in a row was great progress. If Louth get the right man in charge I think they are team to look out for. Peter Cavanan, Tony McEntee maybe an outside manager. There is potential.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 11/07/2017 21:34:47    2015259

Replying To sam1884:  "Meath football does not seem to be getting any better. Is there a link between all counties bringing strength and conditioning to a new level and Meath no longer being competitive?! The traditional strength of Meath football can be easily matched now, which appears to be stopping them making any progress. For a county it's size they are gone again, before the Leinster final is even played."
Sad to see meath the way itis now.

Bernardo (Monaghan) - Posts: 597 - 11/07/2017 21:49:23    2015268

Replying To OLLIE:  "Yeah as far as I know Armagh were the last team to win the All Ireland when they were not playing in Division one back in 2002. They beat Kerry who were also not playing in Division one."
I think only 2 teams have won Sam in the last 20 years outside Division 1. Armagh in 2002 and Galway in 1998. With the league format in one season playing in Division 1 is essential for sucess.
It is no coincidence that Kerry and Dublin are the counties with the longest stay in league 1. The other county with a longest stay in Division 1 is Mayo. They have played in 4 All Ireland finals in recent years . They have been at least 15 years in a row in Division 1.( I cannot remeber the last time Mayo were in div 2). It's linked stay in Division 1 sucess will follow. Meath have lost promotion by scoring difference point difference and head to head in 3 of 4 seasons. Promotion has to be possible now. It's the main priority.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 11/07/2017 21:52:28    2015269

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Concentrated to much on league as did Galway cavan Donegal Louth monaghan mayo and dare I say tipp and Armagh even though a number of the teams are still involved a number of there performances have been dead and not up to there best and that's not me saying it after our bit of success against Galway that's me saying it after watching us at championship last year we were out on our feet trying to scrape by, hold on and hope things clicked.
Next year with the super 8s I think a lot of teams will be smarter and it'll effectively kill the league for everyone bar the big 2, mickey harte the cute fox once they were safe this year let them get a few hammerings and was concentrating on the real stuff.
If we came 5th in division 2 next year and reached super 8 ild be thrilled, days like Sunday are 100 times better than beating Kerry Donegal cork in league."
how many teams can win the all-Ireland ? One
how many teams can reach the all-Ireland final ? TWO
How many can reach the semi-final ? 4

are all the others failures ? Shall we all dissect where they are going wrong ?

perhaps it's just cyclical and it's down to the players at your disposal and a little bit to do with the management team and resources and how they are used.
Kerry seem to be successful regardless of who manages them.
Dublin seem to be fairly successful also.
Cork,galway,Mayo and Meath also have periods of success.
Tyrone have success under Mickey Harte.
There are a few other teams that have success for short periods with a good crop of players :
Donegal,Armagh,Down,Monaghan,Roscommon,Kildare,Derry,

A few others are currently holding their own in or around the top table: Clare,Tipp.
The rest are nowhere.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 11/07/2017 21:54:47    2015270

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "McStay was in a joint management last year and if you call reaching D1 league semi final and losing a provincial final after a replay a bar year I'd love to hear how you describe the year McEntee just had"
Listen congrats to the Rossies. A great win on Sunday . No real surprise. Rossies have some serious young forwards . A definate to watch out for in coming years. The best group of footballers the county has produced since the team in the late 70s. Which in my book is the greatestart never to win an All Ireland. Roscommon is a great gaelic football county. Very little soccer rugby or other sports it's just gaelic football. Great supporters. They have a team that will win more connacht. But I think they have an opportunity to become the dominat force in the west in the next 4 to 5 years . Galway still havent got things sorted out fully . And Mayo have an aging team. That's what the Rossies team

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 11/07/2017 22:04:05    2015279

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "McStay was in a joint management last year and if you call reaching D1 league semi final and losing a provincial final after a replay a bar year I'd love to hear how you describe the year McEntee just had"
Listen congrats to the Rossies. A great win on Sunday . No real surprise. Rossies have some serious young forwards . A definate team to watch out for in coming years. The best group of footballers the county has produced since the team in the late 70s. Which in my book is the greatest team never to win an All Ireland. Roscommon is a great gaelic football county. Very little soccer rugby or other sports it's just gaelic football. Great supporters. They have a team that will win more connacht. But I think they have an opportunity to become the dominat force in the west in the next 4 to 5 years . Galway still havent got things sorted out fully . And Mayo have an aging team. That's what the Rossies team have to do . Like the team of the 70s. They won 4 or 5 connachts in a row and were unlucky to lose final v Kerry in 80. The Rossies have the forwards to become a force. But like Meath they need to get back to div 1.
But yes McStay kept Rossies in div 1 and reached Connacht last year . The season did end badly. And there was allot of disquiet in the county over the winter months. Yes he has been a roaring sucess this year. But to say he was a sucess last year when there was so much criticism last year is a falsehood.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 11/07/2017 22:08:29    2015284

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Meaths sucess in 40s 50s 60s 70s 80s and 90s was not just down to being hard that makes no sense whatsoever. There was plenty of hard teams in that period. In the last 80 years only kerry and Dublin have been more sucessful for Meath. The reasons were sucessful not coz they were hards. The reasons are below

Paddy O Brien The greatest full back of all time. The King of Full backsize. Full back on the team of the century.
M O Brien P O Brien McConnell - The greatest full back line in the history of gaelic football.
Peter McDermont- At his peak the best footballer in Ireland in the 40s and 50s
Jack Quinn The best full back of his generation. And at his peak the best footballer in Ireland in the 60s
Pat Reynolds Snr In the sixties one of the best wing backs in Ireland
Pat Red Collier Famous Meath wing back from the 60s
Mattie Kerrigan At his peak the best centre forward in Ireland
Ken Rennicks One of the greatst players never to win All Ireland
Joe Cassells Legendary Meath captain
Mick Lyons the best full back in Ireland in the 1980s
Robbie O Malley One of the greatest corner backs of all time. Michael Muiritigh said he was the best corner back he ever saw
Martin O Connell The greatest wing back number 7 of all time. The only modern player on the team of the Millennium
McEntee and Hayes One of the best midfield partnership of last 40 years.
O Rourke Stafford Flynn One of the greateSt full forwards lines of all time
C O Rourke In the mid 1980s the best forward footballer in Ireland
B Stafford One of the greatest free taker s of all time
B Flynn Between 1987 -1991 The best corner forward in Ireland
Tommy Dowd In the mid 90s one of the best forwards in Ireland
Darren Fay The best full back of his generation the best full back of the 90s.
John McDermont At his peak the best midfielder in Ireland
Galway Gerathy All star wing back wing forward and full forward. One of the most talented footballers of the last 40 years
Ollie Murphy Between 1999 2001 The best corner forward in Ireland
Trevor Giles Two time footballer of the year. One of the greatest if not the greatest centre forward of the last 40 years
Fr Tully one of the best manager coaches of the 40s 50s 60s
Peter McDermont One of the best manager coach of the 60s
Sean Boylan The second most sucessful manager of all time and some consider the greatst manager of all time."
I think you went on about five furlongs too long there.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 11/07/2017 22:18:41    2015292

Replying To Furlong1949:  "I think was 52. I have met people from Louth still talk about the team of 40s and 50s. Still a team very loved in the wee county. The win in 57 v Cork is one leinsters greatest wins by any county in an All Ireland final. Hopefully the minors will win on Sunday.It would be a massive boost . Louth seniors have a good young team with allot of potential . I wouldn't be surprised to see Louth promoted to Division 1 like Cavan and Roscommon. They key for Louth is the manager they appoint next. I thought Kelly did a real good job. Again in first season bad start, relegated. But he was getting to know players. Two promotions in a row was great progress. If Louth get the right man in charge I think they are team to look out for. Peter Cavanan, Tony McEntee maybe an outside manager. There is potential."
Yes the forties and fifties was a golden era for the Wee County. They had won five Leinster titles, one All Ireland, five minor Leinster titles and one minor All Ireland. They should had won more All Ireland titles. But 1957 was Louth's heaven. The smallest county in Ireland beat the biggest county in Ireland.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 11/07/2017 22:18:48    2015293

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "I think you went on about five furlongs too long there."
Oh! go on, make it the mile and I'm with you.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 11/07/2017 22:59:49    2015317

Replying To OLLIE:  "Yes the forties and fifties was a golden era for the Wee County. They had won five Leinster titles, one All Ireland, five minor Leinster titles and one minor All Ireland. They should had won more All Ireland titles. But 1957 was Louth's heaven. The smallest county in Ireland beat the biggest county in Ireland."
It was a great period for leinster football with the exception of the late 90s and early noughties. The forties and fifties was the golden age of leinster football. You had great Meath Louth and Dublin teams. You also had excellent Kildare 56 Carlow 44 Laois Wexford teams. It was a competitive provience.The rest of the history of leinster football has been Dublin v 1 rival and the rest well behind. That's what so unusual about the last ten years that Dublin have no rival in leinster. That has never happened before . Even in the 70s Meath and Offaly were a serious opposition for Dublin
Dublin and their rivals teams in leinster a short summary kind of below
1920s Dublin and Kildare
1940s 1950 Meath Louth Dublin
1960s Meath Offaly
1970s Dublin Meath Offaly
1980s Dublin Meath
1990s Dublin Meath
Late 90s Dublin Meath Offaly Kildare
Early noughties Westmeath laois
2005 -2017 Dublin and no one else . First time ever Dublin don't have a rival in leinster.
Also the 1955 is the beginning of modern Dublin football. Dublin players winning titles for the Dubs. Before that Dublin teams were full of country lads. In the early 40s Dublin played kerry in a final. The best kerry player was on the Dublin team. The best player on the field was a longford playing for Dublin. Even though Dublin have 6 or 7 hurling All.Ireland. Only 2 or 3 Dubs have senior hurling medals. Dublin hurling and football All Ireland up to 1940s were won by country lads playing for Dublin. The modern Dublin began 1955 in leinster final v Meath. So modern leinster football begins in 1955.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 11/07/2017 23:14:17    2015320

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "I think you went on about five furlongs too long there."
Still it's an impressive lIst. Probaly up to this decade Meath have produced as many great players as Dublin in the last 70 years. Meath have gone toe to toe with Dublin. From 1940- 2010 Meath won 7 Dublin won 9 All.Irelands. Meath really overachieved. Dublin Only one won 1 All.Ireland every decade with the exception of the 70s when they won 3 and noughties when they won none. Dublin won 1 in the 40s won 1 in the 50s 1 in the 60s 1 in the 80s and 1 in the 90s. For county woth so much resources and power they were undeachieving It's not till this decade that Dublin have reached full potential. And Meath have fallen well behind. Maybe we are the new Cavan time will tell. Dublin are the new Kerry. Time will tell.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 11/07/2017 23:22:58    2015325

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Still it's an impressive lIst. Probaly up to this decade Meath have produced as many great players as Dublin in the last 70 years. Meath have gone toe to toe with Dublin. From 1940- 2010 Meath won 7 Dublin won 9 All.Irelands. Meath really overachieved. Dublin Only one won 1 All.Ireland every decade with the exception of the 70s when they won 3 and noughties when they won none. Dublin won 1 in the 40s won 1 in the 50s 1 in the 60s 1 in the 80s and 1 in the 90s. For county woth so much resources and power they were undeachieving It's not till this decade that Dublin have reached full potential. And Meath have fallen well behind. Maybe we are the new Cavan time will tell. Dublin are the new Kerry. Time will tell."
the key for meath is trying to keep their best young players in the game. we lose far too many.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/07/2017 09:25:44    2015395

Replying To THE_SNAPPER:  "The GAA was going for well over a half a century before Meath made the break through and that break through would not have come were it not for the farmers from other parts of deprived Ireland been given land to farm in the early 1930's, and that is the truth."
Funny that seen as most of those western farmers did not come up until the 1960's. It was not till the 1980's that the children of the western farmers started getting on the teams.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1359 - 12/07/2017 18:06:23    2015741

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Meaths sucess in 40s 50s 60s 70s 80s and 90s was not just down to being hard that makes no sense whatsoever. There was plenty of hard teams in that period. In the last 80 years only kerry and Dublin have been more sucessful for Meath. The reasons were sucessful not coz they were hards. The reasons are below

Paddy O Brien The greatest full back of all time. The King of Full backsize. Full back on the team of the century.
M O Brien P O Brien McConnell - The greatest full back line in the history of gaelic football.
Peter McDermont- At his peak the best footballer in Ireland in the 40s and 50s
Jack Quinn The best full back of his generation. And at his peak the best footballer in Ireland in the 60s
Pat Reynolds Snr In the sixties one of the best wing backs in Ireland
Pat Red Collier Famous Meath wing back from the 60s
Mattie Kerrigan At his peak the best centre forward in Ireland
Ken Rennicks One of the greatst players never to win All Ireland
Joe Cassells Legendary Meath captain
Mick Lyons the best full back in Ireland in the 1980s
Robbie O Malley One of the greatest corner backs of all time. Michael Muiritigh said he was the best corner back he ever saw
Martin O Connell The greatest wing back number 7 of all time. The only modern player on the team of the Millennium
McEntee and Hayes One of the best midfield partnership of last 40 years.
O Rourke Stafford Flynn One of the greateSt full forwards lines of all time
C O Rourke In the mid 1980s the best forward footballer in Ireland
B Stafford One of the greatest free taker s of all time
B Flynn Between 1987 -1991 The best corner forward in Ireland
Tommy Dowd In the mid 90s one of the best forwards in Ireland
Darren Fay The best full back of his generation the best full back of the 90s.
John McDermont At his peak the best midfielder in Ireland
Galway Gerathy All star wing back wing forward and full forward. One of the most talented footballers of the last 40 years
Ollie Murphy Between 1999 2001 The best corner forward in Ireland
Trevor Giles Two time footballer of the year. One of the greatest if not the greatest centre forward of the last 40 years
Fr Tully one of the best manager coaches of the 40s 50s 60s
Peter McDermont One of the best manager coach of the 60s
Sean Boylan The second most sucessful manager of all time and some consider the greatst manager of all time."
Sorry now but I like my full back line in forde prendegast Flanagan mold hard to say one full back line was the greatest in an era of great full back lines

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 12/07/2017 21:02:15    2015816

Kildare fans on here don't like it being pointed out to them that they never win anything. They are like Tottenham, great team to put on the pressure and yet win nothing. Two Leinsters in living memory and yet they took Mick and Karl O'Dwyer from Kerry. Then you tried the same trick but from Ulster with McGeeney and Seanie Johnson. I see your hurlers were great for some imports this year as well. I hope to god ye give Dublin a great game and if ye beat them I'll be singing aught to be a Lilly all summer long. But the reality is this Meath and Kildare are similar. Two very big counties, record against each other almost 50/50 both football mad. Yet Kildare never win anything

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1464 - 13/07/2017 02:22:22    2015891

Replying To Spoddgy:  "Sorry now but I like my full back line in forde prendegast Flanagan mold hard to say one full back line was the greatest in an era of great full back lines"
Fair enough. It is hard to say who was the best no doubt. That Mayo full back line was some full back line also. Best way to describe both were two of the greatest full back lines ever in the history of the game. But we do have a great tradition of full backs in Meath from Paddy O Brien in the 40s and 50s Jack Quinn in the 60s Mick Lyons in the 80s and Darren Fay in the 90s. Martin Breheny in the indo did a list of greatest full backs of all time. O Brien Quinn Lyons and Fay were all in his top 6. However he did mention wrongly which is always case. That Joyce ran riot on Fay in the 2001 final. This is factually incorrect. Fay was on Joyce . And took himself of Joyce. Why? He had scored 2 points from play on Fay. This was the first time in 6 years from 1996 to 2001 that a forward scored more then 1 point from play being marked by Fay. It emphiases what an extraordinary defender Fay was. Anyway Mark Reilly took over and Joyce ran riot. With a performance which wil go down as one the greatest individual performances in a final ever. By the time Meath management realised Reilly was on Joyce . The damage was done. And Fay was put back on Joyce. So just to clear up that Fay was not marking Joyce when he put an exhibition of forward play . It was Mark O Reilly. Most people think it was Fay. This is incorrect

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 13/07/2017 04:50:57    2015893

*Samuel L Jackson voice*

Say "of all time" again.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 13/07/2017 09:47:05    2015943

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Kildare fans on here don't like it being pointed out to them that they never win anything. They are like Tottenham, great team to put on the pressure and yet win nothing. Two Leinsters in living memory and yet they took Mick and Karl O'Dwyer from Kerry. Then you tried the same trick but from Ulster with McGeeney and Seanie Johnson. I see your hurlers were great for some imports this year as well. I hope to god ye give Dublin a great game and if ye beat them I'll be singing aught to be a Lilly all summer long. But the reality is this Meath and Kildare are similar. Two very big counties, record against each other almost 50/50 both football mad. Yet Kildare never win anything"
A bit rich, Didnt Meaths new manager activally try and recruit a good few Dubs over the winter.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 13/07/2017 10:07:48    2015954

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Kildare fans on here don't like it being pointed out to them that they never win anything. They are like Tottenham, great team to put on the pressure and yet win nothing. Two Leinsters in living memory and yet they took Mick and Karl O'Dwyer from Kerry. Then you tried the same trick but from Ulster with McGeeney and Seanie Johnson. I see your hurlers were great for some imports this year as well. I hope to god ye give Dublin a great game and if ye beat them I'll be singing aught to be a Lilly all summer long. But the reality is this Meath and Kildare are similar. Two very big counties, record against each other almost 50/50 both football mad. Yet Kildare never win anything"
There's a lot of young people growing up in Meath that have seen Meath win nothing at all and can only hear of stories of the past. I'd rather be a young player growing up in Kildare seeing them win Leinster minors and U21 titles - if I was a bigger football man than hurling man.
Although, the fact that I'm a hurling first man I can fully see your point now. Ye have won silverware almost every year in recent times at different levels so maybe I mistook your original point. :D

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 13/07/2017 10:27:03    2015968

If we are Tottenham, what does that make Leitrim? Accrington Stanley??

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 13/07/2017 15:06:21    2016126