Killkenny vs Waterford (hurling)

Strange how little talk there is on this considering 1 of last years final 4 will be gone before the Munster final is played, maybe 2 if Dublin spring a surprise. I suppose nobody knows exactly how either side are going but you get the feeling if Waterford come through this they will be a real threat to any team they face.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 08/07/2017 13:30:05    2012325

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Kilkenny team announced. The same fifteen that started against Limerick. I'm a bit surprised at that, I thought there might have been a couple of changes. Ah well, Cody and team know best."
Ya seems odd for Cody? Is he likely to make a couple of changes beforehand tho?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 08/07/2017 13:38:07    2012329

I think Waterford might just do it.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2522 - 08/07/2017 15:13:19    2012351

How in God's good name did Waterford let the Cats back into that ...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 08/07/2017 20:36:28    2012498

what an exciting finish to the game, feel momentum now with the cats for extra time, waterford seemed to bottle it but that said should of being a free out for kilkennys second goal for charging

mrsme (USA) - Posts: 172 - 08/07/2017 20:37:18    2012500

Hope Kilkenny win it now. Waterford, how the hell did ye let that slip?

3Dhurling (Laois) - Posts: 24 - 08/07/2017 20:41:11    2012503

When Maurice Shannon stepped up to take the free and immortality beckoned I had a feeling he was going to miss it, what a tragedy but then what a game and to think we get a second helping.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4903 - 08/07/2017 20:42:21    2012504

Janey Mack, when's the last time the Cats were gone by the first week of July??

Fair play to the Desie, hope they have a long summer!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 08/07/2017 21:25:37    2012542

Replying To TheHermit:  "How in God's good name did Waterford let the Cats back into that ..."
Let? You obviously know nothing about Kilkenny hurling.

PS: Well done the Déise.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2485 - 08/07/2017 21:37:58    2012552

This Waterford team wont be happy til every one of their supporters suffers heart failure.
Fair play to them. Delighted and hope they win it now.
Congrats and good luck.

3Dhurling (Laois) - Posts: 24 - 08/07/2017 21:43:33    2012559

Replying To TheHermit:  "Janey Mack, when's the last time the Cats were gone by the first week of July??

Fair play to the Desie, hope they have a long summer!!"
Who's Janey Mack?

In answer to your question. Kilkenny lost to Wexford on June 2nd 1996 in the Leinster Quarter-Final.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2485 - 08/07/2017 21:48:29    2012570

Delighted for Derek McGrath. Even more delighted for Cody.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 08/07/2017 21:57:59    2012581

Replying To TheHermit:  "Janey Mack, when's the last time the Cats were gone by the first week of July??

1997 the last time kk haven't been in the 1/4s, some game for the neutral and some atmosphere in semple. Back now in the horse and jockey and looking forward to clare vs cork. Who needs to be in clones for a bore fest tomorrow when the wee ball gives such entertainment. Have to say big thanks to the family for a wonderful 50th birthday present, couldn't ask for more, round of golf at thurles this morning and again tomorrow, wonderful hotel, great games. great weather only downer the long road home tomorrow evening and back to reality on Monday. Yeah great times in july and no fikn orange parades and bonfires, this is culture.

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 08/07/2017 22:00:09    2012583

Congrats to all concerned on a great win. Great to see one of the big three gone

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4350 - 08/07/2017 22:16:12    2012593

the year when kilkenny hurlers exit the championship before the carlow and tipp footballers. Crazy

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 08/07/2017 22:17:01    2012594

Replying To icehonesty:  "Delighted for Derek McGrath. Even more delighted for Cody."
Why would you be delighted for Cody? Am I missing something?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2485 - 08/07/2017 22:21:39    2012601

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Why would you be delighted for Cody? Am I missing something?"
He might have seen Cody roaring and shouting at Derek McGrath down the sideline during the first half and he might have thought that a manager with 11 All-Ireland titles should show more grace.That might be the source of his delight for Cody as Kilkenny go out of the championship.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2187 - 08/07/2017 22:32:12    2012610

Because he's Mr Personality

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1929 - 08/07/2017 22:32:54    2012611

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Why would you be delighted for Cody? Am I missing something?"
Its an old Irish thing! Probably too successful and all that!

Well done Waterford - super in extra time when many would have thought you'd let you chance slip away again

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1421 - 08/07/2017 22:43:14    2012625

Some great highlight moments in that game. Some of Gleesons points were exceptional, Barrons sidestep and goal probably the best there will be this season and the pass through the legs from the Waterford forward was outrageous. It is great to see that in an era of systems and processes lads are still prepared to try the outrageous. Its a pity the summer has to end but at least we have another 2 months left.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 08/07/2017 22:53:46    2012638