Buff Egan and Croke Park Wifi

Replying To bricktop:  "I had to look up to see who Alan Milton was and to my shock I found that the GAA have a Director of Communications.

What does he communicate with as the GAA is pretty bad at communications especially down the grades.

Give Buff the Wifi."
He's not a bad lad for a Dub brick!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 06/07/2017 09:26:54    2011360

Buff was in Limerick last night for the U21 clash.

He is some man for one man. Loads of hurling updates and all good natured too. His photos on social media are often hilarious.

As I was walking into the Gaelic Grounds last night there were two young girls trying to get a picture with him. He has certainly made a name for himself, fair play to him. Even ex county stars are giving him the thumbs up on social media.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 13/07/2017 11:31:20    2016002

Replying To slayer:  "Buff was in Limerick last night for the U21 clash.

He is some man for one man. Loads of hurling updates and all good natured too. His photos on social media are often hilarious.

As I was walking into the Gaelic Grounds last night there were two young girls trying to get a picture with him. He has certainly made a name for himself, fair play to him. Even ex county stars are giving him the thumbs up on social media."
usually on pitch after a limerick game its cian lynch whos the centre of attention -not last night there was a huge crowd around buff young wans young lads, selfies autographs pics , whats the world coming to!!!!

in fairness to the lad he does some amount of games and give excellent reports

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 13/07/2017 11:51:59    2016020

Buff Egan had some night of it in Kanturk last night link

SlipperyDodger (Cork) - Posts: 93 - 05/02/2018 16:28:49    2074354

Replying To SlipperyDodger:  "Buff Egan had some night of it in Kanturk last night link"
And you can believe that...

PortInFaithful (Offaly) - Posts: 472 - 05/02/2018 17:29:42    2074378

Its about time Buff Egan gets a free pass to all GAA games. The lad must be spending a fortune on tickets not to mind petrol. and doing it all for nothing in terms of cash.

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 426 - 01/11/2022 20:55:40    2446169

Replying To perfect10:  "who?and what is the background here?i never heard of him."
He's a bit of an Internet celebrity apparently Perfect10. Never met the fella either.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11932 - 02/11/2022 12:04:08    2446213

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "Its about time Buff Egan gets a free pass to all GAA games. The lad must be spending a fortune on tickets not to mind petrol. and doing it all for nothing in terms of cash."
Spot on. He seems like he doesnt want to take hand outs tho. Surely someone has offered him a sponsored car or something at this stage.
He arrived into Thurles at the end of the Tipp county final on sunday after rushing back from Ballinasloe.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 02/11/2022 12:15:22    2446214

This thread was already old when it was last dragged up in 2018. Funny that it now be dragged up again, four and a half years later.....

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2250 - 02/11/2022 12:19:30    2446218

Replying To Pikeman96:  "This thread was already old when it was last dragged up in 2018. Funny that it now be dragged up again, four and a half years later....."
Was thinking Perfect10 hadn't been on HS for a few years !!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11932 - 02/11/2022 12:21:13    2446220

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "Its about time Buff Egan gets a free pass to all GAA games. The lad must be spending a fortune on tickets not to mind petrol. and doing it all for nothing in terms of cash."
No Buff you shouldn't be given a free pass. If you're doing it for the "love of it" you wouldn't spend your time completing about what others are doing.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 02/11/2022 12:52:07    2446227

Replying To oneoff:  "No Buff you shouldn't be given a free pass. If you're doing it for the "love of it" you wouldn't spend your time completing about what others are doing."
Sod him. He and Bonnar O Loingsigh are going around with puffed up egos ......

bruffgael (Limerick) - Posts: 144 - 02/11/2022 15:38:55    2446252

Free Hat McCullough

DuhallowRed (Cork) - Posts: 268 - 02/11/2022 21:44:31    2446282

Replying To bruffgael:  "Sod him. He and Bonnar O Loingsigh are going around with puffed up egos ......"
why do so many people in this country resent anyone doing well for themselves.

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 426 - 03/11/2022 10:44:28    2446305

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "why do so many people in this country resent anyone doing well for themselves."
Its only since I lived abroad that I realised the Irish always look to find a negative in absolutely everything. Its exhausting to listen too on a daily basis. Whats wrong with us?!

I'm no big fan of either party in government but I'd argue with anyone that we are in a very privileged position in this country compared to 95% of other countries.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 03/11/2022 11:37:52    2446319

Such injustice ppffffff..Typical snowflake generation. If we cant do something next best thing is to find someone else to blame.. and then create the biggest sense of injustice ever.

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 541 - 03/11/2022 12:10:26    2446330

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "why do so many people in this country resent anyone doing well for themselves."
Don't know the answer to your question but I do know that resentment is toxic. For some strange reason, many of Buffs followers are trolls with only negative contributions. Maybe it makes them feel better about themselves for a few minutes?

Met him after a game recently and he's a real gent. the kids absolutely love him. He's very entertaining. I'm more aware of what's going on in County Championships than I ever was. Its because of him.

Both the GAA and Buff would benefit from a partnership. Maybe he's just happy doing his own thing.. Who knows!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 03/11/2022 12:11:42    2446331

Replying To Ban:  "Don't know the answer to your question but I do know that resentment is toxic. For some strange reason, many of Buffs followers are trolls with only negative contributions. Maybe it makes them feel better about themselves for a few minutes?

Met him after a game recently and he's a real gent. the kids absolutely love him. He's very entertaining. I'm more aware of what's going on in County Championships than I ever was. Its because of him.

Both the GAA and Buff would benefit from a partnership. Maybe he's just happy doing his own thing.. Who knows!"
Unfortunately social media can be a bit of a cesspit these days, especially Twitter. Buff does annoy me at times, some of his posts for example after the queen's death and when the sky deal ended were just silly but his coverage of games is fantastic.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1734 - 03/11/2022 12:19:51    2446334

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Unfortunately social media can be a bit of a cesspit these days, especially Twitter. Buff does annoy me at times, some of his posts for example after the queen's death and when the sky deal ended were just silly but his coverage of games is fantastic."
I had similar feelings on his coverage of both these events. I think its probably a side that he'd need to refine if he was to start working closer with the GAA or anyone else for that matter.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 03/11/2022 13:07:53    2446339

As Buff. He seems to have an issue with anyone doing well fir themselves.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 03/11/2022 13:38:07    2446344