Dublin bullying of media...

Replying To Fionn:  "If you want to talk about arrogant counties then look no further than Kerry.

Much worse than Dublin could ever be claimed to be.

As for the claim by You know who - well he has opened a right auld bag of snakes here.
Let us see him back his claim up now.

The Kerry Dublin rivalry has taken to a whole new low level now.

Is it just me or does the timing of all this, in an era when Dublin are dominating Kerry in the championship, not smell a bit off... Something untoward going on here and in my opinion, as Dessie D has stated, all pre planned and calculated by a certain tv pundit.

Sad that an ex football great resorts to this in order to try to derail the Dubs and at the same time benefit his own county, in terms of distracting focus etc.

In my opinion, this is all going too far now.
Pundits are supposed to be unbiased yet then write articles in papers which clearly have anterior motives.
Not good to see at all.

If correct then why the innuendo - don't beat about the bush. Just name the person who sent the text....!
Plenty of bridges being burned at the moment though it has to be said."
It's not enough for ye to have all the money population and home advantage in perpetuity ye have to have the censure the media as well

Galantis (USA) - Posts: 55 - 02/07/2017 21:38:19    2009240

Replying To Galantis:  "It's not enough for ye to have all the money population and home advantage in perpetuity ye have to have the censure the media as well"
A biased media should be silenced

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 02/07/2017 21:49:16    2009243

Don't know how anybody can argue that Kerry have had a huge advantage over the last 100 years by playing in a hurling province 4 games was good enough to win an all-ireland and that continued for 100 years..the mind boggles..

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 02/07/2017 21:51:13    2009245

Replying To jimbodub:  "A biased media should be silenced"
You are fake news

Morty (Westmeath) - Posts: 209 - 02/07/2017 21:54:50    2009246

Replying To Morty:  "You are fake news"
Pat Spillane being biased is fake news?

Even his own colleagues called him out on live TV

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 02/07/2017 22:08:53    2009250

The amount of people from Dublin and Kerry whinging about stuff that is so trivial is actually sad. Are ye men on here of bloody children. Does anyone talk about football any more ? I'm sick of this one upmanship craic that's going on here. Both sides had good victories in the past week but no instead of talking about them you have this he said this. No wonder some great posters have left here down the years. It's just not enjoyable any more... too many muppets with many different usernames just fishing for reactions instead of talking about what is actually happening on the pitch.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 02/07/2017 22:09:16    2009251

Replying To Pericles:  "Is Ciaran Whelan given a script by the Dubs management?"
He's a smart man, I'd like to think he doesn't require a script from management.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 02/07/2017 22:13:13    2009253

Replying To Marse:  "He's a smart man, I'd like to think he doesn't require a script from management."
A smart man doesn't believe DC shouldn't serve his 12 week suspension.

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 02/07/2017 22:30:06    2009261

Debate not hate

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 02/07/2017 22:31:49    2009263

Replying To jimbodub:  "Another Dublin related thread started by a culchie

Seriously what would you do without us?"
We'd miss the Dubs but i don't think anyone will ever miss you!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 02/07/2017 22:59:19    2009271

Replying To jimbodub:  "A biased media should be silenced"
Surely not if it is biased towards Dublin, Jim - you have to draw the line somewhere.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 02/07/2017 23:35:52    2009282

Replying To jacktheDub:  "You have just lost all credibility pal...your bias anti dublin rubbish has shown right through I have not seen any dub who has seen it back say the hit on Crowley wasn't a foul. The o mahoney hit on mcmahon was far worse he actually let the ball run by and lined mcmahon up from a good bit out..at least Crowley had the ball when he got hit."
If you understand my last sentence then your post makes no sense.

I am not giving my opinion on the 2 incidents. David Gough said he felt he got the 1st one correct and admitted he didnt see the 2nd one and if he had he's have given a free.

That's not bias. That's not my opinion. That's what he said.

I'm not making the point that one was or the other wasn't. I'm making the point that Dublin fans (whether the thought it was a foul or not) justified the wrong call being made by comparing it to an earlier incident. And mark my words - if there's, say, a Dublin player cited for something obvious in the semi final but he gets off, you can bet your bottom dollar there'll be Dublin fans saying "ah well after how Connolly was treated we deserve a bit of luck"

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 03/07/2017 00:01:35    2009294

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Don't know how anybody can argue that Kerry have had a huge advantage over the last 100 years by playing in a hurling province 4 games was good enough to win an all-ireland and that continued for 100 years..the mind boggles.."
So usually 4 wins for Kerry to win an All-Ireland, as opposed to how many for others?

Pre backdoor in Connacht, all but two All-Ireland wins, both for Galway, involved winning 4 games, those other two Galway won 5 times.

No Ulster side has ever won the All-Ireland having started in the preliminary round, so 5 for them.

The other Munster sides won 4 or 5.

That leaves Leinster, where the same mostly applies, bar three times shared between Louth and Meath in the 40s and 50s when they came from the preliminary round, winning 6 games, and 1974 when Dublin started in the first round and had to go through a second round too before they reached the Leinster Quarter Final, finishing up with 7 wins that summer to take the All-Ireland. All of Dublin's All-Irelands won pre-1940s, over half of their current total, were won by winning 2, 3 or 4 games.

Winning 4 games to win an All-Ireland wasn't exactly unusual before the Qualifiers and Quarter Finals and all the other years needed 5 wins bar 4 where 6 and 7 games were won to win the All-Ireland.

When you're trying to criticise Kerry, at least do a decent job of it and make sure there's some reasonable logic behind it, not just blind accusations. It's fair to question some of the opposition that they beat along the way, although it was usually Cork, who are joint 4th for All-Ireland wins, but the number of wins is irrelevant really when there's so little difference between the 4 wins for Kerry that you complain about and everyone elses.

As is the claim you made on another thread that Kerry have converted less than 50% of their Munster wins into All-Irelands and suggest that's because of the lack of competition in Munster. First of all, Dublin have won 55 Leinster Championships for 26 All-Irelands, a conversion rate of 47.3% and before this year Kerry had won 78 Munsters for 37 All-Irelands, a conversion rate of 47.4%, pre-backdoor they were at 51.2% and 47.8% respectively. Can't really call it an issue with competition when Dublin in the strongest province are at more or less the same figure. In fact, both are incredibly impressive, with four teams going into the All-Ireland you'd expect a conversion rate of around 25%, both Dublin and Kerry are far above that, only Wexford are higher with 5 from 10. Dublin and Kerry winning the All-Ireland nearly half of the times they enter it is not down to the strength of their provinces, the teams they faced or the numbers of games they played, it is because they have been better than everyone else and across history, the best two counties.

expe (UK) - Posts: 31 - 03/07/2017 00:04:46    2009296

Replying To Pericles:  "Is Ciaran Whelan given a script by the Dubs management?"
No!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 03/07/2017 00:23:53    2009302

Replying To Fionn:  "If you want to talk about arrogant counties then look no further than Kerry.

Much worse than Dublin could ever be claimed to be.

As for the claim by You know who - well he has opened a right auld bag of snakes here.
Let us see him back his claim up now.

The Kerry Dublin rivalry has taken to a whole new low level now.

Is it just me or does the timing of all this, in an era when Dublin are dominating Kerry in the championship, not smell a bit off... Something untoward going on here and in my opinion, as Dessie D has stated, all pre planned and calculated by a certain tv pundit.

Sad that an ex football great resorts to this in order to try to derail the Dubs and at the same time benefit his own county, in terms of distracting focus etc.

In my opinion, this is all going too far now.
Pundits are supposed to be unbiased yet then write articles in papers which clearly have anterior motives.
Not good to see at all.

If correct then why the innuendo - don't beat about the bush. Just name the person who sent the text....!
Plenty of bridges being burned at the moment though it has to be said."
I'll take your point about Kerry. When Dublin, Down, Tyrone, Armagh, Donegal, Donegal etc are beating them they DO put up every excuse and waffle going rather than ever admit the better team won. I am on record as saying this.
I am also on record as stating my admiration and recognition for Dublin and the many positives they bring to the GAA. There's no better sight than a full (literally) colourful Hill belting out songs when Dublin take the field. The loyalty and support of the Dub fans between 1995 and 2011 when they lost so many close games is also admirable.
However success has brought arrogance and elitism to Dublin with an air of "Stuff you, we are Dublin and we'll do what we want, and the rules DON'T apply to us". This mindset is alienating many other Gaels and leaving Dublin's reputation in tatters.
I don't believe Spillane had any ulterior motives about highlighting the Connolly incident. It was there in technicolor for all to see and he HAD to say something as a pundit. Refusing to do so would have left him open to ridicule. Though I have criticised Spillane and Kerry in the past I think Pat deserves plaudits for sticking to his guns and not bowing down to any censorship or pressure just because it's Dublin like some so called pundits have done.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 03/07/2017 00:58:38    2009308

Replying To cavanman47:  "It happened last year! For weeks after the all ireland semi final, Dublin fans on here said kev mcmenamons hit at the end of the Kerry game was fair and compared it to omahoneys earlier in the game.

David Gough has since said he got it wrong, that omahoneys shoulder was fine but he didn't see mcmenamons and would've given the free in if he had.

Same happened with Keegans incorrect black card in the final. . .dubs pointed out that Cooper got a harsh black. Even tho coopers was a black by the letter of the law and Keegans wasn't.

(and before all the dubs dislike this post, id like to point out that it is factually based rather than an expression of opinion)"
You're making the non-call on the Crowley hit bigger than it was. It would have given Kerry a 50 yard free to level the game. Hardly a gimme. And Dublin would still have 2 minutes to score the winner, and being in total dominance at the time it is most likely that they would have scored, as Connolly did. And Keegan fouled Connolly in the replay. It was arguably a black card 7 refs out of 10 would say black, 3 yellow. Mayo didn't suffer because of Keegan's absence, they defended well only conceded 5 points in second half. Goalkeeping error cost them Sam. So these incidents shouldn't be seen as huge calls going Dublin's way.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 03/07/2017 05:24:41    2009319

Lads Kerry are rattled by the fact the Dubs have the Indian sign over them for the last 7 years.

We never beat them fairly, the refs beat them in '11 and '16, the weather was the reason we won in '15 ans so on.

No Dublin commentator called Kerry 'scumbags' wereas the same cannot be said in reverse.

When you see Kerry celebrating beating us in the League you know they are rattled by us.

Lap it up lads. And remember what really pees them off is that we play the best stlye of football in the country.

Shit back relax and enjoy it. Kerry are needled by us!

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 03/07/2017 09:39:59    2009380

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "You're making the non-call on the Crowley hit bigger than it was. It would have given Kerry a 50 yard free to level the game. Hardly a gimme. And Dublin would still have 2 minutes to score the winner, and being in total dominance at the time it is most likely that they would have scored, as Connolly did. And Keegan fouled Connolly in the replay. It was arguably a black card 7 refs out of 10 would say black, 3 yellow. Mayo didn't suffer because of Keegan's absence, they defended well only conceded 5 points in second half. Goalkeeping error cost them Sam. So these incidents shouldn't be seen as huge calls going Dublin's way."
He was one of their main attacking threats too, scoring a goal in the 1st half. He was player of the year. Of course it was a big call.

As for 7 refs would give it - well those 7 refs would be wrong as a pull back is not a black card, a black card is awarded for pulling a player to ground. That did not happen. I'm not even sure how you can argue that point, everyone saw it and everyone who has internet access can read the rule book.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 03/07/2017 10:31:25    2009441

Replying To cavanman47:  "He was one of their main attacking threats too, scoring a goal in the 1st half. He was player of the year. Of course it was a big call.

As for 7 refs would give it - well those 7 refs would be wrong as a pull back is not a black card, a black card is awarded for pulling a player to ground. That did not happen. I'm not even sure how you can argue that point, everyone saw it and everyone who has internet access can read the rule book."
The black card was for a deliberate body collide which is what Keegan did, that is covered in the black card definition

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 03/07/2017 10:48:59    2009464

Replying To cavanman47:  "He was one of their main attacking threats too, scoring a goal in the 1st half. He was player of the year. Of course it was a big call.

As for 7 refs would give it - well those 7 refs would be wrong as a pull back is not a black card, a black card is awarded for pulling a player to ground. That did not happen. I'm not even sure how you can argue that point, everyone saw it and everyone who has internet access can read the rule book."
Calls go for and against

Kerry have had plenty go their way over the years just like Cavan have had

It evens itself out

In the same game Kerry were awarded a fairly dubious goal where if goal line technology was available could have easily disproven if that was over the line or not.

So that was a fairly handy 3 points they got for what was at best a 50/50 call

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 03/07/2017 10:59:52    2009470