Qualifiers -- Cavan v Tipperary.

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well done tipp, that's mighty stuff out of ye.
Drive it like ye stole it."
I love that song! Ending of the film was bit sh#te though :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 08/07/2017 17:33:19    2012395

Replying To TheHermit:  "I love that song! Ending of the film was bit sh#te though :D"
I didn't even know it was a song the hermit, I just had to googled it there :-)

There is a guy I know from Tralee who always says it so it was stuck in my head.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/07/2017 22:21:39    2012600

Well done Tipp but shocking from our boys for most of that second half, having been full value for our 6 point lead at half-time.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 08/07/2017 22:29:12    2012609

Didn't see that Tipperary performance adversity seems to spur us on.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 09/07/2017 00:21:32    2012696

Replying To WildPundit:  "Didn't see that Tipperary performance adversity seems to spur us on."
They are a team that are easy to get behind when they come up with performances like that out of the blue. They don't feel sorry for themselves or the bad luck they have been dealt, they just get on it with it.

Great to have Austin and Quinlivan close to full fitness too.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 09/07/2017 02:32:15    2012743

Replying To Killarney.87:  "They are a team that are easy to get behind when they come up with performances like that out of the blue. They don't feel sorry for themselves or the bad luck they have been dealt, they just get on it with it.

Great to have Austin and Quinlivan close to full fitness too."
If more injured players come back we should be a strong position to get into last 8 or 4 again. Austin and Quinlivan back was great to see and that Jack Kennedy lad showing the potential he had at minor.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 09/07/2017 09:46:49    2012803

Fair play to Tipp, that is a great win, you guys have produced a great crop of players currently despite the guys that are away/injured, Sweeney & Quinlivan are as good as any anywhwere, keep her lit!

NorthKildare (Kildare) - Posts: 197 - 09/07/2017 10:12:59    2012815

Replying To NorthKildare:  "Fair play to Tipp, that is a great win, you guys have produced a great crop of players currently despite the guys that are away/injured, Sweeney & Quinlivan are as good as any anywhwere, keep her lit!"
They just never give up always fighting to the end no matter the situation. It's a massive lift for the so called extended panel to get a win in Cavan two memorable wins in two years up there.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 09/07/2017 11:09:35    2012854

Replying To Killarney.87:  "They are a team that are easy to get behind when they come up with performances like that out of the blue. They don't feel sorry for themselves or the bad luck they have been dealt, they just get on it with it.

Great to have Austin and Quinlivan close to full fitness too."
So what's the story with ye'r injured players Killarney87 ? How close are they to a return?
I seen young jack Kennedy at minor level a few times and he's a fine footballer is he a brother of Coleman Kennedy ye'r 2011 minor?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/07/2017 11:34:30    2012865

Replying To WildPundit:  "They just never give up always fighting to the end no matter the situation. It's a massive lift for the so called extended panel to get a win in Cavan two memorable wins in two years up there."
Ye should the Munster Council to let play zkerry up there next year, might end out six in a row quest!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/07/2017 13:19:11    2012916

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "So what's the story with ye'r injured players Killarney87 ? How close are they to a return?
I seen young jack Kennedy at minor level a few times and he's a fine footballer is he a brother of Coleman Kennedy ye'r 2011 minor?"
Yes younger brother of Colman and Seamus and son of John who was hurling centre back for Tipp in the late 80s and early 90s under Babs.

From last year's team here is the story. Comerford is suspended til August like Connolly. O'Shaughnessy is getting closer to full fitness and came on as a sub yesterday. Ciaran McDonald has a serious injury and no word on when he will be back. Acheson is in Dubai. Austin and Quinlivan made big impacts of the bench yesterday so close enough to full fitness. Ian Fahey who was injured a lot last year is out again, not sure what the story is with him.

So of the lads who played this year. Codd and O'Connell are out. Code is very good and experienced full back. Moloney looks like he is back. Connors is not too far away as far as I know. Kevin Fahey still seems to be out which is disappointing because he is very capable.

With regards yesterday I was hoping the likes of Kiely, Fox and Sweeney would show leadership and it sounds like the three of them did in spades. With all the injuries and omissions we still have a strong well balanced team. Wild Pundit made a great observation about the extended panel getting their moment in the sun yesterday.

Liam Kearns seems to be a superb motivator.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 09/07/2017 14:44:07    2012970

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Yes younger brother of Colman and Seamus and son of John who was hurling centre back for Tipp in the late 80s and early 90s under Babs.

From last year's team here is the story. Comerford is suspended til August like Connolly. O'Shaughnessy is getting closer to full fitness and came on as a sub yesterday. Ciaran McDonald has a serious injury and no word on when he will be back. Acheson is in Dubai. Austin and Quinlivan made big impacts of the bench yesterday so close enough to full fitness. Ian Fahey who was injured a lot last year is out again, not sure what the story is with him.

So of the lads who played this year. Codd and O'Connell are out. Code is very good and experienced full back. Moloney looks like he is back. Connors is not too far away as far as I know. Kevin Fahey still seems to be out which is disappointing because he is very capable.

With regards yesterday I was hoping the likes of Kiely, Fox and Sweeney would show leadership and it sounds like the three of them did in spades. With all the injuries and omissions we still have a strong well balanced team. Wild Pundit made a great observation about the extended panel getting their moment in the sun yesterday.

Liam Kearns seems to be a superb motivator."
Just to correct a few things, seamus kennedy is no relation to coleman and jack. Shocks started yesterday but went off at ht, tactical rather than injury it seems. Ian fahy was on the bench yesterday and is ready if needed

tipp11 (Tipperary) - Posts: 353 - 09/07/2017 16:14:48    2013083

Yesterday was a terrible performance by Cavan particularly in the second half. We are leaderless on the field and seemed to me, clueless on the line. The great mystery of the last seven years is - How did we manage to win 4 Ulster U21's without producing one top class player or even a reasonable forward? We have blown whatever positivity came from that run and the downward spiral begins from today. We will get relagated from Div 2 and every team in Ulster will be praying that they draw us next year. The only bit of hope was the performance of young O'Reilly from Butlersbridge who scored more in the first half than Niall Clerkin did in the previous 10 matches (makes you question the management). Mackey was a lionheart as usual and Matin O'Reilly did ok even though he pulled out of a few balls. These two have kept us competitive and punching above our weight for years. McKiernan was okay at midfield as well but Tipp kept three men on him for every kickout and we abandoned him to their mercy. Of course Galligan kept kicking the ball to him when a change of tactic was necessary. Once again no instruction from the line.

The striking thing though was that Tipp had 3 or 4 players who were far ahead of anything we had in class and skill . When Moynihan came on - injured and not fully fit - he was a joy to watch and worth the entrance fee alone. We have not produced a player like him since the seventies and early 80's. We cannot, and seem to refuse to, develop big men who can play and be effective.

So today was a sad day all in all for the long suffering Cavan supporters. The emperor paraded after the successful U21's has been exposed as having no clothes. The County Board don't seem to be able or willing to get in the expertise we need on the line. Tellingly, they employed Peter McGrath a few years ago to find a manager when they should have had the foresight to give him the job.

The future is blue alright but for all the wrong reasons.

BlueHeaven (Cavan) - Posts: 75 - 09/07/2017 16:28:05    2013093

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Yes younger brother of Colman and Seamus and son of John who was hurling centre back for Tipp in the late 80s and early 90s under Babs.

Liam Kearns seems to be a superb motivator."
Good man thanks for the update, I would love to see ye with all ye'r lads back and if ye had Colin o'riordan and Steven O'Brien return ye would be a serious outfit, I mean if you took 6/7 players out of the Kerry team we'd struggle big time.

Anyway I hope ye get a good draw tomorrow.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/07/2017 16:35:02    2013099

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Good man thanks for the update, I would love to see ye with all ye'r lads back and if ye had Colin o'riordan and Steven O'Brien return ye would be a serious outfit, I mean if you took 6/7 players out of the Kerry team we'd struggle big time.

Anyway I hope ye get a good draw tomorrow."
Thanks a lot. Yeah if we had O'Riordan, O'Brien, S Kennedy and Acheson we would be a top 5 or 6 team.

We lost Greg Henry and Colman Kennedy to soccer scholarships too. Quirke is perennially injured, his younger brother is very good too. Another year or two and he'll see game time for the seniors as long as tne hurlers don't swoop.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 09/07/2017 16:44:24    2013107

Congrats to Tipp on a fully deserved win in Kinspan Breffni yesterday. If ever there was a game of two halves then that was it. Nobody in Cavan will begrudge Tipp the win and wish you all the best in the rest of the championship.

As for us, the prospect of a competitive division 2 on the back of this defeat and relegation doesn't make for a comfortable next 6 months. There is some serious soul searching needed for our player and management team.

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 10/07/2017 08:28:01    2013645

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Thanks a lot. Yeah if we had O'Riordan, O'Brien, S Kennedy and Acheson we would be a top 5 or 6 team.

We lost Greg Henry and Colman Kennedy to soccer scholarships too. Quirke is perennially injured, his younger brother is very good too. Another year or two and he'll see game time for the seniors as long as tne hurlers don't swoop."
Well ye are doing all ye can do to make it enticing for these fellas to come back in at at some stage, if fellas see a team going in the right direction and winning they'll want to be a part of it.

I see ye got Armagh at home next weekend, that will be a tough one but if ye can get over that ye'd have a couple of weeks of a break to refresh for a tilt at the losers of either Ulster or Leinster.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/07/2017 12:32:37    2013921

Well done Tipp. I hope ye have another long summer.

As for ourselves, the only consolation I'm taking is that surely serious questions will now be asked as to why we keep doing this to ourselves. We're not an up and coming team anymore. The core of the team are approaching their late 20s yet not 1 leader appears to be emerging. The manager will get a 2nd year and it's put up or shut up. He needs to get to as many club games as he can over the summer and bring in 5 or 6 established players capable of steering the ship. We've a seriously talented bunch of footballers but they look completely rudderless.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5018 - 10/07/2017 12:55:14    2013949

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well ye are doing all ye can do to make it enticing for these fellas to come back in at at some stage, if fellas see a team going in the right direction and winning they'll want to be a part of it.

I see ye got Armagh at home next weekend, that will be a tough one but if ye can get over that ye'd have a couple of weeks of a break to refresh for a tilt at the losers of either Ulster or Leinster."
Yeah Armagh will be well up for it after we pickpocketd them in the league. Thankfully we got a home draw.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 10/07/2017 13:06:35    2013969

Replying To cavanman47:  "Well done Tipp. I hope ye have another long summer.

As for ourselves, the only consolation I'm taking is that surely serious questions will now be asked as to why we keep doing this to ourselves. We're not an up and coming team anymore. The core of the team are approaching their late 20s yet not 1 leader appears to be emerging. The manager will get a 2nd year and it's put up or shut up. He needs to get to as many club games as he can over the summer and bring in 5 or 6 established players capable of steering the ship. We've a seriously talented bunch of footballers but they look completely rudderless."
Cavan have some serious talent in their team and it's hard to fathom why they can't make a major breakthrough. They can play some great football at times, for instance the drawn game against Tyrone last year and some of the match against Monaghan this year. I think if they could scalp one of the big teams in Ulster then it could move them up a level. Do you think that it is because there is a lack of leaders in the team as the talent is there?

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 10/07/2017 13:16:15    2013982