Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews

I don't get what Gavin said. How was his "good name" affected by what Spillane said? That whole piece on the Sunday Game that night was very boring. All they did was show a few replays and read out of a rule book. At this stage I'm sure Spillane wishes he had said what he truly felt as he's getting hammered for it anyway. And he said very little worth getting upset about.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 591 - 26/06/2017 20:45:59    2006012

Replying To tiobraid:  "When I seen it in realtime it was obvious too in fairness. Duignan was only doing his job"
No argument about that Bennet pulled off the helmet but where does reviews start and stop. Should the two missed penalties call be revisited. In my opinion reviews should only be done when an off the ball incident cause injury to a player and this should be very unusual as there are enough on field officials to rule. Interfering with a ref or official again should be dealt with on the field. Connolly's should have been called incidental with a severe warning on his record to be taken in to account on further violations. But again it was a big mouth ex player pundit who drove this forward.
Not trying to take away from the Cork win as they were the best team. Would not accept that Duignan needs to assist the CCCC. There are plenty other aspects of the game to focus on. I do not think you would ever see Donal O Grady helping to get a player suspended.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 26/06/2017 21:16:07    2006022

I don't think Spillane or O'Rourke did anything wrong. Talked about it for a minute or so, said he should be banned. What did people want them to do, not talk about it?
Jim also talked about the occupation of the two men, what the hell has that got to do with it?
He also talked about Connolly's good name. Even the Dubs have to admit he doesn't have a good name with discipline issues on the football pitch or off it. Unreal player but very poor discipline.
Galvin in also talked about the Sunday game pundits having an agenda. What about the Sky pundits? They bought it up first and talked about it a lot longer than the Sunday game did. So does that mean McGuiness, Canavan, etc all have agendas against Dublin and Connolly?
Dublin would be better off leaving this.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 26/06/2017 21:22:32    2006027

Replying To catch22:  "Exactly,
There are some who can be less offended or outraged but they are in the minority and it's the same for all counties.
It's bred into lads from an early age and the rivalry even at Club level is the same and often worse.
People just cannot handle the truth."
The parochial bit is probably correct. This is the price paid for volunteerism and turning out to help your team mate/neighbour if he breaks his led on Sunday. Doing his chores etc. If this is the only indictment we have of GAA people who stand up for their parish and county I would not swap places with the professional sports. However it could be toned down when something is blatantly wrong and most good supports do this.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 26/06/2017 22:11:52    2006064

Replying To The_Fridge:  "I don't think Spillane or O'Rourke did anything wrong. Talked about it for a minute or so, said he should be banned. What did people want them to do, not talk about it?
Jim also talked about the occupation of the two men, what the hell has that got to do with it?
He also talked about Connolly's good name. Even the Dubs have to admit he doesn't have a good name with discipline issues on the football pitch or off it. Unreal player but very poor discipline.
Galvin in also talked about the Sunday game pundits having an agenda. What about the Sky pundits? They bought it up first and talked about it a lot longer than the Sunday game did. So does that mean McGuiness, Canavan, etc all have agendas against Dublin and Connolly?
Dublin would be better off leaving this."
Or what ?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 26/06/2017 22:16:23    2006068

Replying To jimbodub:  "Or what ?"
Lose more respect for themselves. Not that they have much left too be fair.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 26/06/2017 22:40:43    2006082

Replying To SaffronDon:  "from a personal perspective I usually ignore the majority of Dublin related threads. A lot of them are started by Dublin posters who seem to want to dangle topics in front of the rest of the country on the main page and then get offended when people from other counties respond to what's in front of them. Dublin are also the reigning AI champions and are happy to take the praise for just that but any criticism seems almost unspeakable to a few on here. Kerry and Tyrone went through the exact same when they were dominant. Controversy is perspective no matter what the sport. what more can really be said on yesterday's game?"
A lot of Dublin posts started by Dublin posters is hardly unusual. A lot of other counties also tend to talk about their counties too. Ye win an AI and ye get some, not all praise. Criticism by nature will be counter atacked. Try have a random go at any county and se if they step in and disagree.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 27/06/2017 00:33:59    2006120

Replying To Laois76:  "The problem with the GAA is it's so bloody parochial! While it's the Association's great strength it's also it's great weakness. The vast majority of commentators, county board members, analysts, managers will defend the indefensible when it concerns their own county or club. You only get a small percentage of people who are big enough to rise above the malaise.

I think the hurling commentators are less petty than the football ones. They tend to be what is termed 'hurling people'. Though many would argue that this group are also a law onto themselves and have a strong element of snobbery towards gaelic football.

I'm on here about a year and there are some remarkably fair minded people on the forum. Killarney87, Damothedub, Ballydalane are just a few who come to mind."
Bang on the money with that post.

The parochial nature of the GAA is great in instilling a loyalty amongst supporters and players for their team but it's awful in terms of the way in which people view instances of indiscipline etc.

Even if someone is commenting on something that occurred between two different counties not their own there is still a suspicion that there's an axe to grind somewhere! Not always the case obviously but definitely an issue.

You see it in the media constantly as well as on sites like this.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 27/06/2017 08:13:56    2006132

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Lose more respect for themselves. Not that they have much left too be fair."
Because I see you are so respectful?

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 27/06/2017 08:20:26    2006136

Replying To Canuck:  "The parochial bit is probably correct. This is the price paid for volunteerism and turning out to help your team mate/neighbour if he breaks his led on Sunday. Doing his chores etc. If this is the only indictment we have of GAA people who stand up for their parish and county I would not swap places with the professional sports. However it could be toned down when something is blatantly wrong and most good supports do this."
Ya, I suppose. A lot of the stuff posted here seems to be purely about getting the oul sly dig in when you can. Fellas talking about respect and this and that like their opinion is of any real consequence to anyone.It's purely to get a boot in while they can is all it seems to me anyway.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 27/06/2017 08:47:08    2006142

most pundits tend to lick up to dublin. connolly got away with a lot of stuff in the past.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/06/2017 08:52:04    2006143

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Lose more respect for themselves. Not that they have much left too be fair."
Those that know their football respect this Dublin outfit hugely. Dublin have done nothing here that Tyrone haven't done and let's face it there were numerous players on the Tyrone team of the 00s who had discipline problems. So pot kettle and all that. I'm a bit confused by Gavin's stance but clearly they feel strongly about the trial by TV angle. Obviously respected and long established pundits on the national channel, on the longest running GAA programme are much more likely to influence officials and the process than a UK pay for view outfit. I think Dessie Dolan's words spoke volumes. This will rumble on but will galvanise this Dublin team. They meant business on Sun but let's hope they can carry that form.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 27/06/2017 09:10:30    2006153

Replying To cityman73:  "A player verbally attacks and pushes a official, ye have no leg to stand on, grow up,grow a pair and move on"
Who are you telling grow up? Read my posts . Then come back to me. I agreed the day of the game Connolly deserves his ban. The team and managent have agreed on this. That is not the point I was making here. Now learn to read before you jump all over something.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 27/06/2017 09:22:52    2006157

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "I don't get what Gavin said. How was his "good name" affected by what Spillane said? That whole piece on the Sunday Game that night was very boring. All they did was show a few replays and read out of a rule book. At this stage I'm sure Spillane wishes he had said what he truly felt as he's getting hammered for it anyway. And he said very little worth getting upset about."
They specifically only choose to analyse and highlighy one incident.
when Carlow Brendan Murphy got his matching orders he verbally abused the same linesman leaving the field.
now the Sunday game choose clearly not to highlight this or analyse it.
that's a clear lack of balance and a clear indication that it was because of who Connolly is that they went after him on the programme and not give the same condemnation of Brendan Murphy

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/06/2017 10:02:49    2006168

Replying To Laois76:  "I enjoyed the show. It was the excellent football yesterday from Dublin. That's the 'show' in my opinion. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

It had nothing to do with tigers though. The British have a phrase for the Connolly/Brolly/Gavin side show and it's apt here, playing silly buggers.

Actually i never thought Jim Gavin would engage in the mind games and psychological bull that the likes of Ger Loughnane, Warren Gatland, Eddie Jones, Ferguson, Mourinho et al do.

What does it say that he's acting like this. I suppose the obvious is he'll leave no stone unturned in gaining an edge for Dublin in his quest for 3 in a row. If he was my county's manager i'd probably defend him.

I wouldn't defend Connolly however. When Joanne Cantwell asked Paul Galvin what had changed when he won footballer of the year in 2009 as opposed to the controversy he was in during 2008 he simply replied. Look it was high time i copped myself on and played a bit of football. Connolly is at a similar stage of his career. It's par for the course you'll have lads pulling out of you and clattering into you. Time for him to man up and realise all the good/great players have to get used to this. After Conor McManus of Monaghan got clattered early in the Down game he didn't go looking for people to blame. Got on with it and kicked a few fine scores from play. If he had any help Monaghan would have completed their comeback.

Lads would soon stop 'pulling the tail' with Connolly if he wasn't so easily wound up."
I think your right mate, after Sunday i am pretty confident that all the answers will be found on the pitch, as for Gavin why shouldnt use the situation to find an edge to win three on the trot, this is competitive sport. If the situation has pulled the whiskers of the tiger, then its a positive for Dublin and the game as a whole given the enjoyment watching them ou says gives you.

I dont think you will find many Dubs that dont think Dermo is innocent, opinions on due process, match reports and the influence of the media is another thing. Im all for free Speech, Pat Spillane has a right to it, as does Jim Gavin, they are both buig enough men and long in the tooth in the game to deal with the consequences.

As the crow flies however, it seems Pat Spillane has created a bit of tiger, cause and effect sure what can you do.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 27/06/2017 10:28:21    2006181

Replying To poguemahone:  "A lot of Dublin posts started by Dublin posters is hardly unusual. A lot of other counties also tend to talk about their counties too. Ye win an AI and ye get some, not all praise. Criticism by nature will be counter atacked. Try have a random go at any county and se if they step in and disagree."
So you should react to all criticism of your county by responding in kind, regardless of how justified that criticism may be?

If my county had a player who got involved in needless trouble most games I'd be the first to agree that he needs to wind his neck in and do his time. The greater cause of the team is suffering because of his actions so why play the victim to this criticism?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 27/06/2017 10:28:41    2006182

As far as I can see Gavin is using this issue to galvanise his team even further, to make sure that competitive edge is maintained to highest of degrees. He had his boys revved up on Sunday and Westmeath were the ones in the firing line. He stated he didn't condone what Connolly did and I gathered from him that Connolly accepted he was wrong too, the issue was put to bed so why bring it all up again? The only reason can be that he sees a value in it as in persuading his players Dublin have been sinned against and they need to ram certain words back down people's throats. One of the oldest tricks in the managerial handbook but still very effective. He's out to turn a negative into a positive for his panel. Some of the stuff he said about Spillane reading from a script was rubbish in my opinion, the man was there to give an opinion. He gave a free pass to Sky who highlighted the whole incident first. I just looked at Sunday night's Sunday Game last night. Brolly is hard to take serious at times in my opinion. Flailing his arms around, interrupting people, having two opinions on the same issue. As for Dolan, he Seemed like he was just there to agree with Joe. Looked like he wouldn't disagree if the other fella said black was white. It'll be interesting the next time Brolly and Spillane are on a panel together.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 27/06/2017 10:47:39    2006192

Still think it's gas that HS posters think Jim is using a siege mentality tactic and his players will buy into it, not knowing what he is at. LOL

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7897 - 27/06/2017 10:53:03    2006197

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Still think it's gas that HS posters think Jim is using a siege mentality tactic and his players will buy into it, not knowing what he is at. LOL"
the whole thing is player driven as jg said.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 27/06/2017 11:01:40    2006202

Replying To SaffronDon:  "So you should react to all criticism of your county by responding in kind, regardless of how justified that criticism may be?

If my county had a player who got involved in needless trouble most games I'd be the first to agree that he needs to wind his neck in and do his time. The greater cause of the team is suffering because of his actions so why play the victim to this criticism?"
But he doesn't get involved every game
He is beeing targeted and some games responds. Your tv cameras won't show you that so you need to actually attend and see the actual level he gets.
people use the line all players get this to an extent but not to the extent he gets it literally starts before throw in and lasts till full time. You have pundits basically saying it's only way to curb his influence and last year westmeath manager after the game said it was a clear tactic of theirs to try get him sent off. You don't hear that about any other top player.
he reacts yes but the amount of stuff he gets his reaction is only a fraction of the games compared to the agressors on him that go unpunished, do they get highlighted and howcome the cccc don't review these incidents id they don't just go by the Sunday game hysteria? If somebody was constantly breaking into your house and stealing and you keep reporting to the garda and they never do anything I'm sure you would get sick of it and try and stop them yourself.if you don't stick up for yourself on the pitch you will get walked all over. It's officials not doing their jobs t the end of the day that let's agressors keep targetting and then the world and its mother goes bananas when somebody gets fed up being kicked slapped, verbally abused and turns around and gives them a taste of their own medicine.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/06/2017 11:09:07    2006211