Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews

Replying To cityman73:  "A player verbally attacks and pushes a official, ye have no leg to stand on, grow up,grow a pair and move on"
Verbally 'attacked'?? Ha. Connolly's exact words were 'that was a Dublin ball'. If that constitutes a verball attack these days then God help us. The only verbal attack that day was by a Carlow player on the same linesman after he was dismissed. Strangely the SG jury didn't comment on that incident. I wonder why.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 26/06/2017 15:05:49    2005783

Replying To SaffronDon:  "its more to do with the fact that Dublin posters have a monopoly on this forum and cant keep a lot of internal debates on the Dublin page because they know there will be enough interest on the main page. You mentioned this wouldnt be an issue if a smaller county stopped talking to rte well the same could be said for a no contest game that involved a smaller county. My county were thumped by Donegal and it went unnoticed on here for good reason. Dublin get 90 plus comments which tells you all you need to know really"
By monopoly, ye mean there is more Dublin posters than other counties? Does that not balance out then when posters from other counties who have no obvious rivalry with Dublin (eg Antrim) get stuck in on debates involving Dublin too? Dublin get 90 odd comments cos , like it or not, they cause and divide opinion whereby Antrim don't. It's just the way it is. Folk talk and analyse Dublin more than other counties whether folk like it or not. I don't like plenty of posts and comments started by some Dubs and likewise from other country posters. Like the comments here, folk foaming at the mouth about nothing in particular except it involves the name 'Dublin'.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 26/06/2017 15:10:36    2005789

Replying To JayP:  "Ah jasus lads give over. You think this cute hoorism thing still works?

Spillane, a Kerry man, gushed as he read from "the rulebook". He was delighted with himself.... I'll be the man down in Kerry.....sticking it to the Jackeens.

Yeah, all the haters got Connolly suspended.....

Jim didnt do an interview!? So what!

You got your pound of flesh.....you dont like Dublin. Stop this cry baby nonsense. Dermo wasnt around yesterday. We moved on.....and Jim gave those cheerleaders a gentle tap on their paws."
We moved on.....
Really?
Well everyone else had until yesterday when the Dublin manager dug it all up again.

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 26/06/2017 15:47:45    2005831

Masterstroke by Jim, havnt seen Dublin so hungry and motivated and playing with rage and edge in years, absolutely no mercy or quarter given.

Spillane may have just contributed to another All Ireland for Dublin, funnily hes not the only Spillane who has this year either.

The tiger is loose.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 26/06/2017 15:56:17    2005838

Replying To Weary:  "We moved on.....
Really?
Well everyone else had until yesterday when the Dublin manager dug it all up again."
He tapped their paws over their behaviour. Just reminding them that they were there to analyse the game. Not adjudicate.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 26/06/2017 15:57:26    2005839

Not a Dublin or a Connolly supporter but his suspension and others are driven by pundits and commentators analysis. Yes the CCCC may refute that but marginal incidents are reviewed. Everyone will say it is in the rules but so are other things that are left go. If Connolly farted the linesman would have felt more as he never reacted. In the Cork Waterford Stephen Bennett pulled the helmet and how many times did Duignan say "thats a red card". "Thats a red card"
Not saying Bennett should not be suspended but how many things did these former player pundits get away with in their day. Let the CCCcCdo their own work. In the same game the very first ball blocked by Jamie Barron he ran over the lines man in his drive to get the ball to take the shot. Are we going to be trying to decide what is incidental and what is deliberate next.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 26/06/2017 15:58:50    2005841

Gavin is entitled to talk to whoever he choses. In this instance I feel he is correct in the stance he has taken. There has always been a lot of football politics in the GAA and different rules apply when it suits the 'suits'. What Connoly did was wrong and pretty minor, however it was in full view off, and within 10m of both the linesman and the Ref who took no action, so why investigate without first investigating the incompetence of both the linesman and the Ref?

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 26/06/2017 16:02:20    2005846

Replying To Canuck:  "Not a Dublin or a Connolly supporter but his suspension and others are driven by pundits and commentators analysis. Yes the CCCC may refute that but marginal incidents are reviewed. Everyone will say it is in the rules but so are other things that are left go. If Connolly farted the linesman would have felt more as he never reacted. In the Cork Waterford Stephen Bennett pulled the helmet and how many times did Duignan say "thats a red card". "Thats a red card"
Not saying Bennett should not be suspended but how many things did these former player pundits get away with in their day. Let the CCCcCdo their own work. In the same game the very first ball blocked by Jamie Barron he ran over the lines man in his drive to get the ball to take the shot. Are we going to be trying to decide what is incidental and what is deliberate next."
When I seen it in realtime it was obvious too in fairness. Duignan was only doing his job

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 26/06/2017 16:02:35    2005847

Replying To TheUsername:  "Masterstroke by Jim, havnt seen Dublin so hungry and motivated and playing with rage and edge in years, absolutely no mercy or quarter given.

Spillane may have just contributed to another All Ireland for Dublin, funnily hes not the only Spillane who has this year either.

The tiger is loose."
That type of motivation and rage only lasts so long.

'The tiger is loose'. Mother of Jesus!! If Spillane coined the phrase 'puke football' that's definitely puke commentary.

Is that Tony the Tiger the Frosties cereal mascot?

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 26/06/2017 16:50:05    2005882

Replying To JayP:  "He tapped their paws over their behaviour. Just reminding them that they were there to analyse the game. Not adjudicate."
He tapped their paws?? What does that actually mean? Is Jim Gavin some sort of circus master?!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 26/06/2017 16:51:48    2005883

Replying To kavvie:  "dont blame them/spillane and o rourke hung connolly out to dry.."
WHAT? where was all the outrage when same said gents { used loosely } Whelan and brolly in particular laid into sean Cavanagh for a foul that any player would have committed which resulted in multiple miles of written print, umpteem pages on here, radio phone ins and joe duffys' live line red hot with callers for near 3 days, but now the pundits have turned to commenting on a Dublin player some Dublin players the management and county board are up in arms. If all these how powered attorneys, barristers believed they would/could have gotten him off it would have went the full way to court. A load of bluster from Gavin and some dub supporters. I'm no great fan of M Harte but his dispute with rte was about an personal family insult aired in bad taste after the terrible murder of his only daughter and successive sponsors have been aware of and supported his stance, though personally I think players should be made available for comment to the national broadcaster even if they fall down badly at the promotion of games and if they had of put the same effort into gaa as they do rugby and soccer we would probably not have sky/ eir now holding the strings waiting to pounce.

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 26/06/2017 16:52:49    2005886

Any Dublin supporters on here think the Diarmuid Connolly ban could be an absolute blessing in disguise? If I were a Dublin fan I'm pretty sure this would be my way of thinking. In more games than not Connolly gets involved on some sort of shenanigans whether it's his fault or not which in turn causes distractions during and after games. It could also cost Dublin if they were involved in a tough game against a Mayo, Kerry or Tyrone (League final as an example). As good a player Connolly is when you balance the great and the bad I don't think he helps his team in a positive way. Dublin in my opinion have a better chance of completing the 3 in a row without him and I do believe they have a really good chance of doing it.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 26/06/2017 17:04:21    2005895

Dublin refusing to do interviews with rte. After a match interview are a waste of time. what do we get a reporter trying to get a manager to say a ref was useless. and then he gets into trouble for it. would be much better if manager had time to talk to players in dressing room and his backroom team for 10-15 minutes, or even review an inicidence and then gave a meanful interview.

madbull (Westmeath) - Posts: 195 - 26/06/2017 17:11:44    2005900

Replying To JayP:  "He tapped their paws over their behaviour. Just reminding them that they were there to analyse the game. Not adjudicate."
You and others felt the same way when Keegan was called out last year? I don't remember it that way here, indeed there was plenty of cheer leading. That was not analyzing the game either now was it?

For the record I believe 12 weeks of a ban is a joke over a nothing incident.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 26/06/2017 17:17:30    2005906

Have to say this all comes back to inconsistent and poor officiating.
Countless instances every season of referees,linesmen and umpires not being able to carry out the job properly. It's a rotten job too by the way and they are only human but jaysus you have to laugh at some of the stuff that goes on.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 26/06/2017 17:47:49    2005921

Replying To Laois76:  "That type of motivation and rage only lasts so long.

'The tiger is loose'. Mother of Jesus!! If Spillane coined the phrase 'puke football' that's definitely puke commentary.

Is that Tony the Tiger the Frosties cereal mascot?"
Sit back and enjoy the show mate.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 26/06/2017 18:08:34    2005932

Replying To TheUsername:  "Sit back and enjoy the show mate."
I enjoyed the show. It was the excellent football yesterday from Dublin. That's the 'show' in my opinion. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

It had nothing to do with tigers though. The British have a phrase for the Connolly/Brolly/Gavin side show and it's apt here, playing silly buggers.

Actually i never thought Jim Gavin would engage in the mind games and psychological bull that the likes of Ger Loughnane, Warren Gatland, Eddie Jones, Ferguson, Mourinho et al do.

What does it say that he's acting like this. I suppose the obvious is he'll leave no stone unturned in gaining an edge for Dublin in his quest for 3 in a row. If he was my county's manager i'd probably defend him.

I wouldn't defend Connolly however. When Joanne Cantwell asked Paul Galvin what had changed when he won footballer of the year in 2009 as opposed to the controversy he was in during 2008 he simply replied. Look it was high time i copped myself on and played a bit of football. Connolly is at a similar stage of his career. It's par for the course you'll have lads pulling out of you and clattering into you. Time for him to man up and realise all the good/great players have to get used to this. After Conor McManus of Monaghan got clattered early in the Down game he didn't go looking for people to blame. Got on with it and kicked a few fine scores from play. If he had any help Monaghan would have completed their comeback.

Lads would soon stop 'pulling the tail' with Connolly if he wasn't so easily wound up.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 26/06/2017 18:38:27    2005944

Replying To poguemahone:  "By monopoly, ye mean there is more Dublin posters than other counties? Does that not balance out then when posters from other counties who have no obvious rivalry with Dublin (eg Antrim) get stuck in on debates involving Dublin too? Dublin get 90 odd comments cos , like it or not, they cause and divide opinion whereby Antrim don't. It's just the way it is. Folk talk and analyse Dublin more than other counties whether folk like it or not. I don't like plenty of posts and comments started by some Dubs and likewise from other country posters. Like the comments here, folk foaming at the mouth about nothing in particular except it involves the name 'Dublin'."
from a personal perspective I usually ignore the majority of Dublin related threads. A lot of them are started by Dublin posters who seem to want to dangle topics in front of the rest of the country on the main page and then get offended when people from other counties respond to what's in front of them. Dublin are also the reigning AI champions and are happy to take the praise for just that but any criticism seems almost unspeakable to a few on here. Kerry and Tyrone went through the exact same when they were dominant. Controversy is perspective no matter what the sport. what more can really be said on yesterday's game?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 26/06/2017 18:54:43    2005951

The problem with the GAA is it's so bloody parochial! While it's the Association's great strength it's also it's great weakness. The vast majority of commentators, county board members, analysts, managers will defend the indefensible when it concerns their own county or club. You only get a small percentage of people who are big enough to rise above the malaise.

I think the hurling commentators are less petty than the football ones. They tend to be what is termed 'hurling people'. Though many would argue that this group are also a law onto themselves and have a strong element of snobbery towards gaelic football.

I'm on here about a year and there are some remarkably fair minded people on the forum. Killarney87, Damothedub, Ballydalane are just a few who come to mind.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 26/06/2017 19:25:28    2005971

Replying To Laois76:  "The problem with the GAA is it's so bloody parochial! While it's the Association's great strength it's also it's great weakness. The vast majority of commentators, county board members, analysts, managers will defend the indefensible when it concerns their own county or club. You only get a small percentage of people who are big enough to rise above the malaise.

I think the hurling commentators are less petty than the football ones. They tend to be what is termed 'hurling people'. Though many would argue that this group are also a law onto themselves and have a strong element of snobbery towards gaelic football.

I'm on here about a year and there are some remarkably fair minded people on the forum. Killarney87, Damothedub, Ballydalane are just a few who come to mind."
Exactly,
There are some who can be less offended or outraged but they are in the minority and it's the same for all counties.
It's bred into lads from an early age and the rivalry even at Club level is the same and often worse.
People just cannot handle the truth.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 26/06/2017 20:34:30    2006004