Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews

Replying To poguemahone:  "Yep but it was still an actual game unlike this nonsense. Dublin this Dublin that,, gets a bit tiresome. Attempts to make it controversial but it just isn't. Nothing new or illegal happended but you are probably right, folk love this crap."
It's all crazy carry on. Surprised with Jim Gavin. Not his style normally. People need to get a bit of perspective on all this. Claiming this as some sort managerial stroke of genius is a bit much. It's the oldest trick in the book. Generating a siege mentality is yellow pack sports psychology used forever in every sport. The Dublin players using this as motivation. Come on now. That's ridiculous.
This subject had all but disappeared but Jim Gavin brought it all up again. Yes folk love it but it was the Dublin manager who brought the whole thing to the surface again.
The Dublin team don't really need this messing for motivation. As far as I can see their motivation is clearly being generated by competition for places within the squad. Poor from Jim. I've admired him up to this but yesterday's carry on was just pure nonsense. He's still an excellent manager of course but yesterday was unnecessary and ill judged.
The football by the Dublin players yesterday was unbelievable at times regardless of the opposition.

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 26/06/2017 13:25:12    2005686

Jesus I am so browned off with all this right now it's unreal but I'm very annoyed also. I can't understand why this whole scenario, which by yesterday was a dying ember, has now been reignited by Jim Gavin throwing petrol on it. What was his purpose and please don't mention this siege mentality craic, if the Dubs need a siege mentality to beat Westmeath or any team being honest there is something wrong, they've done pretty well up to now without any siege mentality. What Spillane said in no way threw Connolly under a bus, Connolly is well able to throw himself under such vehicles, and in my view his comment were not any way excessive or targeting of the man yet the two sheep, namely Brolly and Dolan, seemed very scripted in their views last night where it looked to me that RTÉ went into panic mode and wanted to claw back ground with the Dubs for fear of no more interviews for the remainder of the summer. Jim Gavin is a man I had a lot of respect for both as a player and manager, but his ramblings yesterday about Connolly's good name (now come on please) and his comments, which combined with Brolly, suggested that Spillane and to a lesser extent O'Rourke somehow influenced the CCC with their analysis, are just off the wall and certainly Jim Gavin went down in my estimation yesterday, not that he will care of course but there you are. Jim Gavin has made an issue out of nothing here and like him or loathe him Pat Spillane did not deserve the Judas treatment he got last night and Dublin are ill served by their reaction to this and their inaction on trying to manage Connolly properly.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 26/06/2017 13:38:36    2005693

Replying To Richieq:  "Jesus I am so browned off with all this right now it's unreal but I'm very annoyed also. I can't understand why this whole scenario, which by yesterday was a dying ember, has now been reignited by Jim Gavin throwing petrol on it. What was his purpose and please don't mention this siege mentality craic, if the Dubs need a siege mentality to beat Westmeath or any team being honest there is something wrong, they've done pretty well up to now without any siege mentality. What Spillane said in no way threw Connolly under a bus, Connolly is well able to throw himself under such vehicles, and in my view his comment were not any way excessive or targeting of the man yet the two sheep, namely Brolly and Dolan, seemed very scripted in their views last night where it looked to me that RTÉ went into panic mode and wanted to claw back ground with the Dubs for fear of no more interviews for the remainder of the summer. Jim Gavin is a man I had a lot of respect for both as a player and manager, but his ramblings yesterday about Connolly's good name (now come on please) and his comments, which combined with Brolly, suggested that Spillane and to a lesser extent O'Rourke somehow influenced the CCC with their analysis, are just off the wall and certainly Jim Gavin went down in my estimation yesterday, not that he will care of course but there you are. Jim Gavin has made an issue out of nothing here and like him or loathe him Pat Spillane did not deserve the Judas treatment he got last night and Dublin are ill served by their reaction to this and their inaction on trying to manage Connolly properly."
Gavin is free to do what he wants

He addressed the media at the press conference

If he doesn't want to feed the Sunday game a few sound bites than so be it!

It's interesting that it's even caused much of a stir...

Some seem very bothered by it for some reason but sure any excuse to have a go at this time of year!

Also I'm sure Dublin playing so well irked a few and sure they need to vent in some manner

On we go!

Hopefully this tired, transitional, injury plagued Dubs team can continue to limp on and at least try to go out with a fight

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 26/06/2017 13:52:30    2005700

Replying To as_ky:  "He appealed the ban"
When I posted that comment he had accepted the ban and declined to appeal further.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 26/06/2017 13:57:25    2005708

Replying To as_ky:  "I imagine all analysts if they are to be any bit professional will have notes taken before the show. I would rather they have done there homework than to just go ad lib on the show.
I honestly don't get what dublin fans wanted. The incident was all over social media. Were the Sunday game just meant to ignore the attention it was getting. Pat Spillane and colm of Rourkes job was to analyze the game and that's what they did."
Well then, why didn't they mention the Carlow player abusing the lines man when he was sent to the line?

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 26/06/2017 13:59:29    2005710

Replying To runnerin:  "Spillane didn't do any worse than Whelan did or brolly did with cavanagh or the whole of rte did with Joe Sheridan it happens all the time I'm just surprised at Jim Gavin he's bigger and better than stooping to this bull in fairness"
Was it balanced? Was that the only incident of its type in the game? Yet it was the only one highlighted.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 26/06/2017 14:00:39    2005711

Replying To Marse:  "Was it balanced? Was that the only incident of its type in the game? Yet it was the only one highlighted."
A player verbally attacks and pushes a official, ye have no leg to stand on, grow up,grow a pair and move on

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 26/06/2017 14:08:29    2005718

I can sympathise with all sides of this to be honest.

What Connolly did was wrong.
Rules are rules.
Why wasn't he punished on the pitch if it was so blatant and unacceptable?
Spillane went too far.
Brolly and Dolan had a point last night.
The Sunday Game has an undoubted influence on GAA disciplinary measures.
12 weeks is harsh.
99% of players would get away scot free for this incident.
Gavin is entitled to defend his player.

It's telling that so many Kerry posters have such a vested interest in this. They're clearly loving it. Nothing to do with them of course.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 26/06/2017 14:09:00    2005719

Ah jasus lads give over. You think this cute hoorism thing still works?

Spillane, a Kerry man, gushed as he read from "the rulebook". He was delighted with himself.... I'll be the man down in Kerry.....sticking it to the Jackeens.

Yeah, all the haters got Connolly suspended.....

Jim didnt do an interview!? So what!

You got your pound of flesh.....you dont like Dublin. Stop this cry baby nonsense. Dermo wasnt around yesterday. We moved on.....and Jim gave those cheerleaders a gentle tap on their paws.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 26/06/2017 14:12:44    2005720

Replying To jimbodub:  "Gavin is free to do what he wants

He addressed the media at the press conference

If he doesn't want to feed the Sunday game a few sound bites than so be it!

It's interesting that it's even caused much of a stir...

Some seem very bothered by it for some reason but sure any excuse to have a go at this time of year!

Also I'm sure Dublin playing so well irked a few and sure they need to vent in some manner

On we go!

Hopefully this tired, transitional, injury plagued Dubs team can continue to limp on and at least try to go out with a fight"
I have no interest in having a go and I've seen the Dubs play well on too many occasions now to let that get to me either, I just don't like the manner of how things unfolded at that press conference or on the Sunday Game last night, Jim Gavin's reference to Spillane and O'Rourke being teachers was unnecessary and my view is that he totally overreacted and sought to find collusion between the Sunday Game and the CCC. RTE are now running scared and attempted to coerce the sacred cow back into the barn by having Spillane's character and motives questioned by his supposed colleagues. If Jim Gavin wants to see vile and unnecessary comments made about people perhaps he should look up some of the Dublin supporters Facebook pages where insulting and inciteful comments are often two a penny, let him chastise them if he feels he needs to let off some steam but I can not see any benefit to Dublin nor can I see any justifiable reason at all as to why he did what he did yesterday.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 26/06/2017 14:13:07    2005721

First of all lads Tyrone have a completely different reason to avoid RTE so people comparing Dublin to Tyrone really need to get a grip.

Gavin, Dublin GAA and Dublin fans can have no one else to blame but Connolly himself. The CCCC have found that Connolly breached the rules and has been punished accordingly. They also have stated that TSG or any of the pundits had no bearing on the outcome of their findings. Connolly has accepted his ban and Gavin has stated that too.

Jim Gavin is completely in the wrong saying that Spillane was the reason that Connolly got suspended. No Jim, Diarmuid Connolly is the reason Connolly got suspended. Spillane just stated facts, the same way other pundits stated facts about Galvin, Keegan, Sheridan. Gavin and Dublin GAA are throwing the toys out of the pram.

Finally Brolly was over the top again last night and he does it quite a bit (Cavanagh incident). He loves the attention he gets from it. Spillane, Brolly and Dolan probably all need to go from TSG in my opinion as they aren't up to the standard required.

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 26/06/2017 14:23:51    2005731

Haven't really commented on this up until now but seeing as how the whole issue has been raised again, thought I'd add my tuppence worth.

First off DC deserved his 12 week ban, no probs with that, he pushed the linesman and quite hard too in my opinion, nothing trivial about it.
However, DC accepted that, JG accepted that and DC accepted the ban without argument. It was JG who challenged the CCCC decision. So nobody should be making comments that DC should just accept the ban and move on, he has already done that

Having said all that, Gavin is quite right about DC being tried and convicted in the media before the official report was made. And there is no doubt in the minds of many Dubs that there is an anti-Connolly agenda out there. He gets absolutely no protection from the officials, its like they have declared open season on him now, following the call from Dara O Se to "pull his tail" and see how he reacts. Happens time after time.

I challenge anyone to name 1 incident involving DC where he was not reacting to something that had been done to him earlier by the opposition. He never instigates these incidents, in the most recent 1 there were 3 Carlow players dragging out of him and he got no protection from the linesman after an obvious mistaken award of a line ball to Carlow. No protection whatsoever. When he got red-carded against Mayo (Keegan) for punching he had been caught in a choke hold around the neck and was trying to defend himself as anyone would do. His last black card (vs Kerry) was a retaliation for an earlier cynical drag down which could easily have led to a Dublin goal etc. etc.

People on here have commented that he does not have a "good name". Excuse me, when was that decided? All you do is reveal that JG is right, he is presumed guilty by default if that is how you view things.

DC has a short fuse, its well known but if the officials are not prepared to protect him whatsoever then how is he supposed to protect himself except in the way that he does? The respect campaign calls for "Give respect Get respect" ... but DC is getting no respect from the officials. It has to be a two way street. The net result is that us Dubs are feeling pretty aggrieved, one of our best players is routinely targeted for roughhouse treatment and the officials turn a blind eye. So nobody gets to see DC play Championship football this year, is that what we want as supporters, for the best players to be banned for an entire season? If he'd been red-carded at the time he would be back in contention for the Leinster Final. Seems totally unbalanced that his season is basically over, he won't have the match time under his belt to come into an AI semi-final if we make it that far.

All this means that Dublin are wounded, you could see that yesterday ... and that is a good place for a team looking for 3 in a row to be. This could all backfire on Spillane and Kerry yet. Hopefully it does.

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 26/06/2017 14:24:30    2005732

Replying To BlastCalyle:  ""our city"
who are you speaking on behalf of?
Me and the whole country as in our capital city?"
Ah, aren't you just great craic altogether!

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 26/06/2017 14:27:35    2005735

Replying To Laytown Legend:  "Managers will always stick up for and try and protect their players so I can understand the Dublin point of view somewhat

I'm a big fan of Jim Gavin and the way he conducts himself but I'm disappointed in him doing this I must say. Spillane and O'Rourke were merely expressing their views are what they are paid to do as pundits. You must remember Diarmuid Connolly is one of the country's top players and Dublin are big news so anything he does is analysed and scrutinised to death, hence why it got more attention than say what the player of a lesser so-to-speak county would. Also there was the recent precedent with Evan Comerford so it was always going to draw that comparison.

An excellent point made about Paul Galvin's carry on in recent times and how Kerry just on with it and I think Dublin should have done the same."
But in the same game Brendan Murphy verbally abused the same linesman and spillane and o Rourke didn't even mention it never mind have video slides of his lips to see the exact word's and afterall there was a recent precedent set with Philly McMahon having been suspended for that very game for that very offence.
so it was clear they had their Kerry and Meath jerseys on that night and didn't give any balance to the analysis of the game.
Murphy was sent off again after having his red rescinded in that game yet there is no media after his character. Could you imagine if connolly had of got off at that same cccc meeting and got sent off yesterday against westmeath, the Sunday game would go into meltdown and hoganstand would have its biggest thread in one day ever.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/06/2017 14:35:32    2005747

Replying To Breffni39:  "I can sympathise with all sides of this to be honest.

What Connolly did was wrong.
Rules are rules.
Why wasn't he punished on the pitch if it was so blatant and unacceptable?
Spillane went too far.
Brolly and Dolan had a point last night.
The Sunday Game has an undoubted influence on GAA disciplinary measures.
12 weeks is harsh.
99% of players would get away scot free for this incident.
Gavin is entitled to defend his player.

It's telling that so many Kerry posters have such a vested interest in this. They're clearly loving it. Nothing to do with them of course."
Hard to disagree with any of that

Especially the last point!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 26/06/2017 14:37:26    2005748

Where are all the Dub fans who have ridiculed Mickey Harte for his stance on RTE - I know it's not all the fans but there was certainly quite a few.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 26/06/2017 14:42:10    2005755

Replying To Richieq:  "I have no interest in having a go and I've seen the Dubs play well on too many occasions now to let that get to me either, I just don't like the manner of how things unfolded at that press conference or on the Sunday Game last night, Jim Gavin's reference to Spillane and O'Rourke being teachers was unnecessary and my view is that he totally overreacted and sought to find collusion between the Sunday Game and the CCC. RTE are now running scared and attempted to coerce the sacred cow back into the barn by having Spillane's character and motives questioned by his supposed colleagues. If Jim Gavin wants to see vile and unnecessary comments made about people perhaps he should look up some of the Dublin supporters Facebook pages where insulting and inciteful comments are often two a penny, let him chastise them if he feels he needs to let off some steam but I can not see any benefit to Dublin nor can I see any justifiable reason at all as to why he did what he did yesterday."
those dublin facebook pages... uh... every one of the people that run them are -----

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 26/06/2017 14:42:39    2005757

Replying To poguemahone:  "Yep but it was still an actual game unlike this nonsense. Dublin this Dublin that,, gets a bit tiresome. Attempts to make it controversial but it just isn't. Nothing new or illegal happended but you are probably right, folk love this crap."
its more to do with the fact that Dublin posters have a monopoly on this forum and cant keep a lot of internal debates on the Dublin page because they know there will be enough interest on the main page. You mentioned this wouldnt be an issue if a smaller county stopped talking to rte well the same could be said for a no contest game that involved a smaller county. My county were thumped by Donegal and it went unnoticed on here for good reason. Dublin get 90 plus comments which tells you all you need to know really

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 26/06/2017 14:44:37    2005760

Replying To Weary:  "It's all crazy carry on. Surprised with Jim Gavin. Not his style normally. People need to get a bit of perspective on all this. Claiming this as some sort managerial stroke of genius is a bit much. It's the oldest trick in the book. Generating a siege mentality is yellow pack sports psychology used forever in every sport. The Dublin players using this as motivation. Come on now. That's ridiculous.
This subject had all but disappeared but Jim Gavin brought it all up again. Yes folk love it but it was the Dublin manager who brought the whole thing to the surface again.
The Dublin team don't really need this messing for motivation. As far as I can see their motivation is clearly being generated by competition for places within the squad. Poor from Jim. I've admired him up to this but yesterday's carry on was just pure nonsense. He's still an excellent manager of course but yesterday was unnecessary and ill judged.
The football by the Dublin players yesterday was unbelievable at times regardless of the opposition."
I genuinely have no issue with what Jim Gavin has done. He gives a press conference but doesn't want to give RTE a one on one interview. He is entitled to make this decision. What does that mean to the TV viewer? Nothing cos Jim, like most managers, gives little away post match. Typically it is a calmed measured few sentences. Courtesy and respect to the opponents, contained praise of his own team ('room for improvement' is the general comment). We are more likely to get better questions or a reaction at the full press conference but not often. Unless you are interviewing a Davy Fitz or someone, very little insight, controversy or basic interesting points are picked up at these interviews.

Agree that this has nothing to do with motivation. He is having a go at RTE and nothing else to see here. If folk choose to lose respect for him over this stance, that's their entitlement. However if a Micky Harte or Maurice Fitz does the same, it'll mean nothing to me as a supporter.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 26/06/2017 14:47:38    2005763

To be honest I think that Gavin should probably have let sleeping dogs lie. No need to bring it all up again, especially after an excellent performance.

However, I think the more important point in all of this is being missed. In that a player is far more likely to receive a suspension if he is highlighted on the Sunday Game. If two players commit the same offence in two different games and one gets highlighted on TV and the other does not, the one who has had his transgression highlighted on the TV is far more likely to be sanctioned.

Remember Tiernan McCann? The Sunday Game went hell for leather after him the night of the game and low and behold a ban was forthcoming to appease the media furore. Obviously he didn't serve the ban because the CCCC had essentially made it up.

The GAA disciplinary process is a joke and badly needs to be overhauled. All incidents need to be looked at equally not in the current ad hoc basis depending on how strongly people complain about it.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 26/06/2017 14:54:21    2005771