Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Dubs it's time to hit these hoores where it hurts.... No more holidays in Kerry. Off to Wexford from now on. Why line the pockets of these feckers"
We don't want them either!

CamanEileen (Wexford) - Posts: 9 - 26/06/2017 11:09:41    2005535

just on Brolly. He is a complete weather-vane. By far the worst ever action by a pundit was his rant against Sean Cavanagh , not for an eye-gouge or an assault or dangerous tackle or an altercation with a linesman or ref but a match-saving foul that anyone would have done and are still doing despite the black card. However Brolly now makes snide remarks against teams who are niaive i.e. not cynical in such circumstances. Conor Moynagh was lambasted by everybody for not hauling down the same Conor McManus a few weeks ago . Brolly and Spillane are both sickening doses but Brolly is the worst and should be stood down.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 26/06/2017 11:16:43    2005541

Jim Gavin doesn't care about Pat Spillane's comments.

He doesn't care about Colm O'Rourke.

All Jim is doing is using the lads as a tool to increase the already huge motivation within the Dublin camp to instill a siege mentality in his players.

Dublin went out and performed. Every player absolutely laid into Westmeath no mercy shown.

Jim and his management are simply being clever. Brilliant management from JG..

Dublin are doing everything right, Priming themselves for August. Kildare will be disposed off then after that the real stuff starts and I expect Dublin to be as good as ive seen them under this management.

STROKE.....OF.......GENIUS

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 26/06/2017 11:18:21    2005545

Sorry am I missing something here but I'm pretty sure I heard Gavin say that he did not condone Connolly's actions. He also said that Dermot accepted his punishment and his wrongdoing.

The issue is that there is a suggestion that the referee's report may have been influenced or changed based on the media storm against Connolly that followed the Carlow match. Lots of us have complained in the past about the negative commentary by panelists on The Sunday Game, I'm not at all surprised that a Manager has taken this stance when he perceives (rightly or wrongly) that the commentary has had an influence on the action taken against his player.

It is also a really clever move by Jim in that is sends a very strong message to the squad that he is 100% with them and will help deal with any rumblings by any of the players unhappy with Dermot's suspension.

bubba83 (Dublin) - Posts: 333 - 26/06/2017 11:26:09    2005551

I'd just like to say that all Dubs are WELCOME to come to Laois on their holidays. We're not far down the road and have plenty of tourist attractions like the Rock of Dunamase and Donaghmore Workhouse. Lovely walks in the Slievemargy and Sliabh Bloom mountains to clear the head after stressfull tight championship matches with controversial incidences. Bring a few bob to spend and help the local economy ;)

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 26/06/2017 11:29:47    2005553

*incidents

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 26/06/2017 11:32:33    2005557

Jaysis lads , a bit of perspective. The actual thread on the game itself gets 90 replies and this issue gets 122 and counting. As said already, not the first or last time that someone has taking this stance with the media. If the title read 'Carlow management not talking to the media' would we have so many strong (some ridiculously so) replies?

I get the rivalry thing and understand most want to see Dublin dethroned. No bother with that. I see Mayo, Kerry and Tyrone as our big rivals. However could not imagine giving a rat's erse about any of their management doing this. Would much prefer to focus on the game itself. Phoney war stuff here. Roll on August.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 26/06/2017 11:36:09    2005565

Replying To waynoI:  "Jim Gavin doesn't care about Pat Spillane's comments.

All Jim is doing is using the lads as a tool to increase the already huge motivation within the Dublin camp to instill a siege mentality in his players.

Dublin went out and performed. Every player absolutely laid into Westmeath no mercy shown.

Dublin are doing everything right, Priming themselves for August. Kildare will be disposed off then after that the real stuff starts and I expect Dublin to be as good as ive seen them under this management.

STROKE.....OF.......GENIUS"
So let me get this straight, everyone and their mother knows it's just Gavin stirring up a nothing story to build a siege mentality within the group,
but the players think it's genuine and have fallen for the masterstroke from Jim? Seriously lads. Dublin don't need a half baked conspiracy to go out and paste teams. Let's not try and make it something it isn't.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 26/06/2017 11:43:25    2005571

I wouldn't go as far as calling it a stroke of genius.

It was a very obvious situation where one could create a 'them and us' siege mentality attitude. The likes of Ger Loughnane (Colin Lynch episode and many others), Mickey Harte, Jim McGuinness (stating that he wanted better protection for his players after Mark McHugh suffered an injury against Monaghan in 2013) have been at it for years.

Not taking from Jim's brilliance as a coach.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 26/06/2017 11:47:15    2005573

Replying To CamanEileen:  "We don't want them either!"
My arse you don't!

Wexford's local economy around the coast very much do!

You should see the fecking state of culchies in our city every Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday night

Costing the state hundreds of millions tidying up after your vile behaviour!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 26/06/2017 11:49:21    2005577

Replying To poguemahone:  "Jaysis lads , a bit of perspective. The actual thread on the game itself gets 90 replies and this issue gets 122 and counting. As said already, not the first or last time that someone has taking this stance with the media. If the title read 'Carlow management not talking to the media' would we have so many strong (some ridiculously so) replies?

I get the rivalry thing and understand most want to see Dublin dethroned. No bother with that. I see Mayo, Kerry and Tyrone as our big rivals. However could not imagine giving a rat's erse about any of their management doing this. Would much prefer to focus on the game itself. Phoney war stuff here. Roll on August."
90 comments on a non event like yesterday is generous to say the least. Controversy is always a sexier topic and when you have several Dublin defence attorneys ready to defend any wrong doing committed by anyone associated with Dublin, then your in for a long journey, so buckle down.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 26/06/2017 11:59:45    2005592

Replying To galwayfball:  "Dolan and brolly were a disgrace tonight. How many times has brolly gone on a rant about a player/team. Yes you can accuse spillane of overreacting but Connolly broke the rules. It was already been spoken about on social media, on this forum, on sky . Dolan and brolly are spillanes colleagues and the way they spoke about him and threw him under the bus was horrible.and completely shut Cahill down If he dared defend spillane"
Ya and brolly said that it would suit pat Spillane and Kerry to have Connolly suspended , how would it suit us to have Connolly suspended?

We'd have no chance of meeting the dubs until a final in which case Connolly would be back and the lift that'll give the dubs surely wouldn't suit us!

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/06/2017 12:03:01    2005596

Replying To jimbodub:  "My arse you don't!

Wexford's local economy around the coast very much do!

You should see the fecking state of culchies in our city every Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday night

Costing the state hundreds of millions tidying up after your vile behaviour!"
"our city"
who are you speaking on behalf of?
Me and the whole country as in our capital city?

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 26/06/2017 12:12:51    2005606

If a player gets sent off then grand and it's clearcut, let the media have their opinion straightaway. If there's a contentious decision or possible retrospective action then the media should just refer to the contentious decision and not comment on it until after possible disciplinary procedures have finished. Stops any possibility of pundits influencing public opinion which could affect any judgements.

The Sunday Game should go into the dairy industry with their ability to milk stories like Connolly this year and McMahon in 2015. They could have used their time better showing some teams not in the Super 8 after the Dublin v Carlow highlights.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 26/06/2017 12:18:27    2005611

Siege mentality in June against Westmeath ?
Haha lad will the siege last till September?

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 26/06/2017 12:23:08    2005616

Replying To SaffronDon:  "90 comments on a non event like yesterday is generous to say the least. Controversy is always a sexier topic and when you have several Dublin defence attorneys ready to defend any wrong doing committed by anyone associated with Dublin, then your in for a long journey, so buckle down."
Yep but it was still an actual game unlike this nonsense. Dublin this Dublin that,, gets a bit tiresome. Attempts to make it controversial but it just isn't. Nothing new or illegal happended but you are probably right, folk love this crap.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 26/06/2017 12:37:40    2005634

Replying To westkerry:  "It's been happening for years Joxer.
Its only because it's a Dub that there is this reaction.
Not talking to the media? Get a grip."
And Tyrone?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 26/06/2017 12:50:26    2005656

Replying To hill16no1man:  "What a load of rubbish on here. All based on where your from it seems as nobody on here wanted to condem Brendan Murphy for verbally abusing the same linesman in that game and he then had the ability to get his red card overturned and no case to answer over his verbal abuse again nobody on here choose to comment on that just Connolly.
then Murphy gets sent off again yesterday for second game running the horror of it all no calling out on his character on here, no suggesting the chc got it wrong and yesterday proved that no no no he's a Carlow man remember not a dub i hear haha seems Dublins win yesterday has gotten under the skin of a lot on here"
You nailed it there Hill.

No a peep about it.
High profile players and counties are very easy targets just ask Tyrone also.

But the rules are still Not being enforced equally. And no one can deny that fact.

But sure as some Westmeath fans said to me yesterday - the GAA have done Dublin a huge favour this year as he has never seen the Dublin team so determined and relentless. And expects them to get stronger and even more ruthless as season goes on.
Hopefully ...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 26/06/2017 12:51:44    2005658

I have to hand it to Jim Gavin, he is an avid student of the greats of the game.

He learned defence from Jim McGuinness, he has obviously swotted up on Mickey Harte for public relations, where will it end? Davy Fitz for sideline demenaour? Or will he go outside the GAA for inspiration and start sporting a Donald Trump like quiff or take up naked trampolining like Gerry Adams?

The possibilities are endless.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 26/06/2017 12:54:12    2005663

Replying To Joxer:  "And Tyrone?"
That was a non football personal reason why Tyrone are not speaking with RTE.
Dublin have thrown the toys out of the pram for a totally different reason.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 26/06/2017 13:03:28    2005668