Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews

If you can create a bit of siege mentality in a camp what harm. Dublin want an angle to create an edge for themselves this year.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 25/06/2017 21:31:52    2005097

I'm surprised so many of our country brethren are so concerned about firstly Dublin GAA's sponsors and secondly about what the Dubs lads might say in the post match interviews.

I feel sorry for yous that sleep will be so hard to come by not knowing what Johnny Cooper thought of the game. Stay strong boys everyone!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 25/06/2017 21:32:29    2005098

Replying To Joxer:  "Glad to see Dublin take a stand on it. If other counties are ok with Spillane being judge, jury and executioner every time one of their players crosses the line then let them continue to be sheep. It's important that the all powerful anslysts are put back in their box and denying them interviews is a subtle enough message that teams won't stand for on-the-pitch decisions being overturned by wasnabe sports hacks in the SG studio. It's nothing that Harte hasn't been doing for years anyway."
Connolly man handled the linesman not pat Spillane.

The sooner ye let him take responsibility for his own actions the better it'll be for him.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/06/2017 21:33:11    2005100

Replying To Joxer:  "Glad to see Dublin take a stand on it. If other counties are ok with Spillane being judge, jury and executioner every time one of their players crosses the line then let them continue to be sheep. It's important that the all powerful anslysts are put back in their box and denying them interviews is a subtle enough message that teams won't stand for on-the-pitch decisions being overturned by wasnabe sports hacks in the SG studio. It's nothing that Harte hasn't been doing for years anyway."
Didn't hear you saying that when your hero Whelan led the witch hunt against Lee Keegan the dub supporters were more than happy with the pundits view then I'm disappointed with the Dublin management with their decision its petty in the extreme thought Gavin was a bigger man than that the only person to blame for Connolly's suspension is the player himself surely everyone accepts this

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 25/06/2017 21:39:00    2005104

I think Jim Gavin was 100% correct, if Spillane and co hadn't made such a big thing of it there would have been no more said about it, the linesman didn't seem too worried, no word about the 3 men manhandling Connolly before he interacted with the linesman you'll find,
I think this will just fuel Dublin's fire and the 3 in a row could be achieved with style and some more huge winning margins.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 25/06/2017 21:39:49    2005106

RTE should refuse to show any advertisements or promotions showcasing Dublin footballers. Hit them boys where it hurts, in the pocket.

Not speaking to the national broadcaster, give me a break. Who do they think they are.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2550 - 25/06/2017 21:46:23    2005115

Replying To uibhfhaili1986:  "This media ban nonsense has to stop with every single county.If they don't go along with it being interviewed by TV,Radio and newspapers the county board should be fined heavily and funding from the central pot should be cut.How difficult is it for them to just go through the motions of being interviewed or even better if they aren't happy with the media treatment of the tea perhaps the managers can simply use it as platform to have a cut back at Spillane and co if they want.

This I'm not doing an interview because the media weren't nice to me really needs to stop once and for all."
The old Trump tactic, if the media doesn't bow down to us or only report the good things we just won't do an interview.

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 25/06/2017 21:47:19    2005117

Replying To Laois76:  "If you can create a bit of siege mentality in a camp what harm. Dublin want an angle to create an edge for themselves this year."
Exactly.

Time to stand up for ourselves and enough of this softly softly approach to biased tv pundits who only want to see the Dubs punished when others get away scot free.

Jim is dead right as were Tyrone previously.

The Kerry Meath axis is way past its sell by date. Give me Brolly any day.

The Dubs never let up today on the pitch and no more of this holding on to the ball to run down the clock. A wounded animal is a dangerous beast so some pundits should be careful what they wish for.

Hopefully we will be fresher this year and our injuries will clear up but the pace of t
our guys today was a joy to behold.

How do you like that Pat Spillane....!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 25/06/2017 21:49:00    2005118

Replying To runnerin:  "Didn't hear you saying that when your hero Whelan led the witch hunt against Lee Keegan the dub supporters were more than happy with the pundits view then I'm disappointed with the Dublin management with their decision its petty in the extreme thought Gavin was a bigger man than that the only person to blame for Connolly's suspension is the player himself surely everyone accepts this"
Did Keegan lose his summer over it?

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 25/06/2017 21:50:33    2005119

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I think Jim Gavin was 100% correct, if Spillane and co hadn't made such a big thing of it there would have been no more said about it, the linesman didn't seem too worried, no word about the 3 men manhandling Connolly before he interacted with the linesman you'll find,
I think this will just fuel Dublin's fire and the 3 in a row could be achieved with style and some more huge winning margins."
3 men manhandled him. So what. That's always going to happen. Brolly saying linesman should have protected him. Should Brannigan have went in and hit the Carlow players????

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 25/06/2017 21:53:57    2005122

Absolutely fair play to Dublin. RTE are a joke. Just look at the nasty abuse Dunphy has given Ireland soccer managers this past 30 plus years.
Connolly didn't push the linesman. It was so harmless. Paul Kerrigan for one should have been retrospectively suspended too. Jim Gavin is a class manager. He standing up for his man in public. Form like that is one reason why Dublin are so fit and hungry. RTE even were very begrudging towards Connolly when he appealed. And remember it was his right to appeal and he shouldn't have been sneered at for doing so.
Fair play to Dublin and Tyrone if they blank RTE. They are fake news people in lots of areas to quote the Donald. And BTW, I would never be a dubs fan, I just think the pc brigade have it in for Connolly.

theborderfox (Monaghan) - Posts: 138 - 25/06/2017 21:54:40    2005123

Replying To as_ky:  "When Galvin got the ban for the finger in the mouth incident one of the cork lifted Gooch off his feet by the throat in the same game. End of the day, as with Galvin, if you are a high profile player with a reputation everything you will do will be under the spotlight. Like with Galvin, while they often got singled out they can only blame themselves for having no temperament. Connolly broke the rules, should of just accepted the ban and it all to end there and then"
He did accept the ban.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 25/06/2017 21:59:37    2005127

Replying To Iamlegion666:  "The old Trump tactic, if the media doesn't bow down to us or only report the good things we just won't do an interview."
sure its only a matter of time before they trot out the Fake News angle

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 25/06/2017 21:59:54    2005128

Replying To DonahysHedFones:  "Shows how low the dubs are. Wasn't it RTE and Ciaran Whelan that launched a media campaign against Lee Keegan last year"
How long was Keegans ban?

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 25/06/2017 22:00:42    2005130

Replying To Marse:  "Did Keegan lose his summer over it?"
Obviously not but the reason the dubs didn't talk to rte after the game was because of the pundits take on the connolly incident Whelan did the same with Keegan it's an awful pity Dublin have taken this stance they were superb today as good as ever we should be talking about that and not this

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 25/06/2017 22:01:01    2005131

Replying To theborderfox:  "Absolutely fair play to Dublin. RTE are a joke. Just look at the nasty abuse Dunphy has given Ireland soccer managers this past 30 plus years.
Connolly didn't push the linesman. It was so harmless. Paul Kerrigan for one should have been retrospectively suspended too. Jim Gavin is a class manager. He standing up for his man in public. Form like that is one reason why Dublin are so fit and hungry. RTE even were very begrudging towards Connolly when he appealed. And remember it was his right to appeal and he shouldn't have been sneered at for doing so.
Fair play to Dublin and Tyrone if they blank RTE. They are fake news people in lots of areas to quote the Donald. And BTW, I would never be a dubs fan, I just think the pc brigade have it in for Connolly."
He did push him. He put his hands on him and moved him backwards. The very definition of a push.

Kerrigan put his hand on referee but was just laying it on him. Did not interfere as rule states. It's all about context.

Connolly was aggressive and then wagged his finger in his face. Context.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 25/06/2017 22:07:06    2005139

Replying To runnerin:  "Obviously not but the reason the dubs didn't talk to rte after the game was because of the pundits take on the connolly incident Whelan did the same with Keegan it's an awful pity Dublin have taken this stance they were superb today as good as ever we should be talking about that and not this"
It's because Spillane went after Connolly in a predetermined manner, reading what seemed like a statement, Spillane's intent was malicious and self serving. Sky mentioned it after the game too, but they were not nearly as pointed as Spillane.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 25/06/2017 22:14:19    2005143

Replying To icehonesty:  "RTE should refuse to show any advertisements or promotions showcasing Dublin footballers. Hit them boys where it hurts, in the pocket.

Not speaking to the national broadcaster, give me a break. Who do they think they are."
Muppets.

They getting as bad as that shower up north.

Dublin are a brilliant team. Let your football do the talking and start acting like men and not spoilt brats.

Dr.Watson (Kildare) - Posts: 208 - 25/06/2017 22:15:02    2005146

Replying To icehonesty:  "RTE should refuse to show any advertisements or promotions showcasing Dublin footballers. Hit them boys where it hurts, in the pocket.

Not speaking to the national broadcaster, give me a break. Who do they think they are."
Ha, ha. Do you honestly think Dublin GAA care about RTE and money from RTE? You're having a laugh.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 25/06/2017 22:16:39    2005148

Fairly pointless stuff from Gavin. But at least he has done something interesting. Great manager but we are hardly missing much from his post match interviews. And this poor us attitude is hilarious considering what happened to Keegan!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 25/06/2017 22:18:18    2005150