Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews

Replying To Damothedub:  "Like most threads its dissolved into nothing have a look back its started out as a thread about Dublin not doing interviews which is fair and relevant conversation , its become like every other thread a chance to slate other counties , get defensive throw more mud back where it came from and it goes on and on .
Any decent thread started to discuss games barely gets a mention before hand , then when result is in chance to vent that superiority/inferiority complex all over again"
Most threads that go past 1 page deviate into a slagging match, not always good-natured. Depending on who's doing the slagging It could add pages to the thread in a few hours. No real harm, people expressing their opinions, getting heated defending their county and players, and spotting other posters that are easy to windup. A small bit like going to a match sitting beside an opposing supporter and ye arguing about the ref giving handy frees, the players diving, square ball decisions, etc. But only a very small bit.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 30/06/2017 12:09:01    2007890

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Most threads that go past 1 page deviate into a slagging match, not always good-natured. Depending on who's doing the slagging It could add pages to the thread in a few hours. No real harm, people expressing their opinions, getting heated defending their county and players, and spotting other posters that are easy to windup. A small bit like going to a match sitting beside an opposing supporter and ye arguing about the ref giving handy frees, the players diving, square ball decisions, etc. But only a very small bit."
Fair enough each to there own , bit of banter never done anyone any harm , but is that all it is really ? great if it is , I suspect for some a deep held hatred of one another manifests itself on here , let me put it this way I have great craic slagging opposing supporters in watering holes around Dublin and in Croker and vice versa , but there's always times were a decent serious conversation can take place were you chew the cud and listen to each others side , that doesn't happen enough here IMO .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 30/06/2017 14:06:31    2007959

Replying To Damothedub:  "Fair enough each to there own , bit of banter never done anyone any harm , but is that all it is really ? great if it is , I suspect for some a deep held hatred of one another manifests itself on here , let me put it this way I have great craic slagging opposing supporters in watering holes around Dublin and in Croker and vice versa , but there's always times were a decent serious conversation can take place were you chew the cud and listen to each others side , that doesn't happen enough here IMO ."
I've no doubt that their are weirdo's on here that hate my guts

I've been called a Nazi in the past by one such weirdo hahahha

Unfortunately some are great at dishing it but just cant stand it coming back at them....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/06/2017 14:15:50    2007966

Replying To TheFlaker:  "2011? Hmmm? Sorry not having that. Scoreless and quiet enough if I remember? 2013 semi in patches. 2013 final quiet. 2015 final quiet. 2016 final quiet twice. I have seen him do very little against Mayo now on multiple occasions on the biggest day. Again not doubting his class but the Dubs seem to hold him above other players who have offered far more on the biggest day. Ciaran McDonald won a club All Ireland on his own too by the way, it has been done."
Yes McDonald was one of those players alright, but I stand by what I said.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 30/06/2017 16:06:41    2008032

Replying To realdub:  "Yes McDonald was one of those players alright, but I stand by what I said."
Fair enough, so do I and the stats back me up!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 30/06/2017 16:16:58    2008035

Replying To realdub:  "Yes McDonald was one of those players alright, but I stand by what I said."
Saw McDonald on many occassions, an absolute Rolls Royce of a player. One of the best performances I ever witnessed in the Neller over 25 years of watching games there was from McDonald about 12 years or so ago in the league. He was spraying passes around like confetti. Comparable to Connolly in many ways but I just think Dermo, on form, is a cut above. We just don't see it enough of it though.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 30/06/2017 16:23:07    2008039

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Fair enough, so do I and the stats back me up!"
If you had Connolly you'd have won at least 2 All Irelands this decade.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/06/2017 17:20:20    2008078

The current Mayo team are well capable of winning the All Ireland if the opposition in the final dont perform. If the opposition turns up Mayo fans will feel deja vu again. Mayos biggest problem is they lack scoring forwards. They are on a par defensively with any other outfit. They just lack a couple of marquee scorers.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 30/06/2017 17:40:07    2008085

Replying To jimbodub:  "If you had Connolly you'd have won at least 2 All Irelands this decade."
If we had Brogan, Flynn etc we would have. Or any amount of forwards from other teams. That isn't the point. Jesus you would swear I said he is average, Dubs are so sensitive when it comes to Connolly. I'll put it like this, if had to choose any forward from the Dublin team in the last 10 years he wouldn't be it.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 30/06/2017 19:46:49    2008120

Replying To jimbodub:  "If you had Connolly you'd have won at least 2 All Irelands this decade."
He'd have been suspended too often to help.

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 30/06/2017 19:53:26    2008124

Replying To Iamlegion666:  "He'd have been suspended too often to help."
Lol hats off to you!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 30/06/2017 20:54:48    2008142

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Most threads that go past 1 page deviate into a slagging match, not always good-natured. Depending on who's doing the slagging It could add pages to the thread in a few hours. No real harm, people expressing their opinions, getting heated defending their county and players, and spotting other posters that are easy to windup. A small bit like going to a match sitting beside an opposing supporter and ye arguing about the ref giving handy frees, the players diving, square ball decisions, etc. But only a very small bit."
Debate over and back is excellent and hearing the other teams supporters opinions. However some posters cross the line with attacks on players and other posters. Some posters go the extra mile to try and pull down ( not physically) players trying to make a point. On another forum a poster ripped Dan Shanahan to pieces. Don't know him personally but from others who say he is a gentleman on and off the field. Known to get out of his vehicle and hurl with kids in a field or school yard.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 30/06/2017 20:58:47    2008144

Replying To TheFlaker:  "If we had Brogan, Flynn etc we would have. Or any amount of forwards from other teams. That isn't the point. Jesus you would swear I said he is average, Dubs are so sensitive when it comes to Connolly. I'll put it like this, if had to choose any forward from the Dublin team in the last 10 years he wouldn't be it."
No seriously

You'd have two.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/06/2017 21:15:13    2008153

Replying To jimbodub:  "No seriously

You'd have two."
Yep and same for the other forwards. Again totally missing the point I was making. Not even best Dub forward in last 10 years.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 30/06/2017 21:44:31    2008177

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Yep and same for the other forwards. Again totally missing the point I was making. Not even best Dub forward in last 10 years."
Definitely better forwards for Dublin currently and in the past 10yrs.

Flynn or either Brogan would have got Mayo over the line.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 30/06/2017 22:42:13    2008193

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Yep and same for the other forwards. Again totally missing the point I was making. Not even best Dub forward in last 10 years."
Definitely better forwards for Dublin currently and in the past 10yrs.

Flynn or either Brogan would have got Mayo over the line.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 30/06/2017 22:42:52    2008194

the_flaker you're right, but he's our most flamboyant and you know us dubs, we like a bit o'that auld flash :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 30/06/2017 22:55:47    2008197

Replying To realdub:  "the_flaker you're right, but he's our most flamboyant and you know us dubs, we like a bit o'that auld flash :D"
Ha nothing wrong with that!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 01/07/2017 07:14:27    2008229

Anyone read Liam Hayes article on extra.ie What a Tool

jd1963 (Dublin) - Posts: 16 - 01/07/2017 19:05:52    2008458

Replying To jd1963:  "Anyone read Liam Hayes article on extra.ie What a Tool"
Are you really surprised..???

Himself and Flynn are always at it.
Very biased anti Dub rhetoric.
Any excuse to have a pop..

Wouldn't rate either of them when it comes to anything they have to say about Dublin.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 01/07/2017 23:35:46    2008667