Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews

Replying To as_ky:  "I actually think Jim Gavin has come across foolish here. Pat Spillane was in no way wrong for bringing up the subject, it had been all over social media, including here before the sunday game aired. If it wasn't brought up as a significant moment in the match by the sunday game we would all be giving out for them ignoring it here.
It reminds me of the time Mickey harte was giving out because tyrone were getting more players banned because they were having more league games televised in the national league, these things are the cost of success, you have to learn to deal with them.
After a not so impressive league campaign and after this stunt to try create some sort of siege mentality, it's the first time in a while that other counties will see weakness in the Dubs. I actually fancy kildare to turn them over in the leinster final"
I'm sure you'd get great odds on that fancy!

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 28/06/2017 18:05:14    2007038

Replying To as_ky:  "I actually think Jim Gavin has come across foolish here. Pat Spillane was in no way wrong for bringing up the subject, it had been all over social media, including here before the sunday game aired. If it wasn't brought up as a significant moment in the match by the sunday game we would all be giving out for them ignoring it here.
It reminds me of the time Mickey harte was giving out because tyrone were getting more players banned because they were having more league games televised in the national league, these things are the cost of success, you have to learn to deal with them.
After a not so impressive league campaign and after this stunt to try create some sort of siege mentality, it's the first time in a while that other counties will see weakness in the Dubs. I actually fancy kildare to turn them over in the leinster final"
Not so successful league campaign...Jesus i will take that every year
1) Got to the League final unbeaten...3 Pt clear at the end of the without ever playing near top gear
2) Lost to a Kerry team by 1 pt who were blessed to get to the final. Dubs had ye by the bxllox in the final 1-6 to 3 in the last 10mins until one of the most cynical pieces of play witnessed in Croke park ( 1 - Sheehan pull down of MDMA in All-Ireland Final 2011, 2 - A Maher league final pull down, 3 - Cavanagh V Monaghan) a very inexperienced ref got ye out of jail.

3) Dubs were approx 2/3 months behind everyone in term of training / Physical work. .Didnt start back until end of January, 5 Weeks back with the Club after the League final. They only came back 3 weeks before the Carlow game.

Lads the Dubs are only starting now. Ye are all after falling into a false sense of security based on Dublin getting to a League final!!!

Bring on the rest of the year. I have a feeling its going to be a good one...

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 28/06/2017 18:16:32    2007044

Replying To essmac:  "Connolly becoming a liability. Dublin better off without him."
He is to Dublin what El Diego was to Argentina, a flawed genius. Every team wants him but he comes with some baggage.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 28/06/2017 18:47:12    2007060

Replying To Damothedub:  "You've come late and missed the point completely , the injustice isn't the sentence , the player himself has put his hand up , he could have but has chosen not to find one of those loopholes you refer to, in every single post Ive said if its 12 weeks its 12 weeks , Ive said we need to send a message to the young kids who play our games , however every single person be it in life or be it in sport is entitled to due process that shouldn't depend if you are Dermot Connoly Michael Murphy or Aidan O Shea, there was a reaction because it was Connoly , there was glee because it was Connoly , I remember seeing the Gooch getting his bad injury and thinking crap we are going to miss seeing a superstar all summer , however there are many who thought this a great opportunity to get rid of one for the summer"
Gooch picked up an injury he didnt break the rules. It was through no fault of his own , there's absolutely no comparison.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 28/06/2017 20:24:06    2007099

Replying To keithlemon:  "If Dublin do win 3 in a row this season, will Gavin be labelled a genius for using this incident as a rallying cry?
If they don't win it, this incident will surely be used as a stick to beat him with.

Lets speculate for a second, lets say we have the semi final that a number of us are expecting - Dublin vs Tyrone and Connolly is named on the bench (what I'd expect). Lets say the game is in the mix with 15 minutes to go and Connolly gets the shout to come on.
Can you imagine the fireworks?? Dubs will be getting revved up with the return of their hero while Tyrone will just be dying to have a cut at him.
Interesting times ahead regardless"
Win or not this incident will have nothing to do with it. Tired listening to people saying one way or another that it was a ploy. Nonsense. Almost as nonsensical as Gavin claiming their legal advisor told them they would win but Connolly told them to leave it. Such a bullshit statement. Childish stuff.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7897 - 28/06/2017 20:42:52    2007107

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Not so successful league campaign...Jesus i will take that every year
1) Got to the League final unbeaten...3 Pt clear at the end of the without ever playing near top gear
2) Lost to a Kerry team by 1 pt who were blessed to get to the final. Dubs had ye by the bxllox in the final 1-6 to 3 in the last 10mins until one of the most cynical pieces of play witnessed in Croke park ( 1 - Sheehan pull down of MDMA in All-Ireland Final 2011, 2 - A Maher league final pull down, 3 - Cavanagh V Monaghan) a very inexperienced ref got ye out of jail.

3) Dubs were approx 2/3 months behind everyone in term of training / Physical work. .Didnt start back until end of January, 5 Weeks back with the Club after the League final. They only came back 3 weeks before the Carlow game.

Lads the Dubs are only starting now. Ye are all after falling into a false sense of security based on Dublin getting to a League final!!!

Bring on the rest of the year. I have a feeling its going to be a good one..."
You have to laugh, a Dub moaning about cynical play and the referee!!!

We won the League final fair and square boyo, less of the sour grapes now ...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/06/2017 21:42:30    2007136

Replying To Joxer:  "He is to Dublin what El Diego was to Argentina, a flawed genius. Every team wants him but he comes with some baggage."
This is the best yet. Comparing DC to Maradona. This whole debacle is the gift that just keeps giving. Maradona! I've heard it all now.

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 28/06/2017 22:16:27    2007153

Replying To Condorman:  "I agree with you Jay, its all down to poor refereeing.Connolly should have been sent off at the time end of story."
You also get my total agreement.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 29/06/2017 00:04:33    2007200

Replying To Joxer:  "He is to Dublin what El Diego was to Argentina, a flawed genius. Every team wants him but he comes with some baggage."
Not a Dublin fan or Connolly but we have seen so many times when it becomes fashionable to get the long knives out for certain players. Some of it they may have drawn on themselves but mostly they have been singled out for off the ball treatment by the opposition or the pundit association. It is not too long ago that John Mullane's name was kicked around in the mud. Terrible things said about him that were not true. After been dished out special treatment in a game reacted and got sent off. He was then hailed as a great guy for not contesting it.
Once the knives are out every band wagoner jumps in to land another few kicks. Is this an Irish thing ? Kick the guy when he is down ?

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 29/06/2017 00:18:37    2007205

I didnt see many people from Dublin complaining when the media was used against Lee Keegan last year but you's dont like it one little bit now that you's think the media are working against you's

glasagusdhearg (Mayo) - Posts: 55 - 29/06/2017 07:40:11    2007233

Replying To glasagusdhearg:  "I didnt see many people from Dublin complaining when the media was used against Lee Keegan last year but you's dont like it one little bit now that you's think the media are working against you's"
Feel better? Good man.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 29/06/2017 10:19:29    2007303

Replying To glasagusdhearg:  "I didnt see many people from Dublin complaining when the media was used against Lee Keegan last year but you's dont like it one little bit now that you's think the media are working against you's"
Does that not re-enforce the belief that there is a trial by media though? A number of Mayo supporters believed that there was a media campaign to insure Lee Keegan would get special attention from the officials in the replayed All Ireland final last year. Earlier this year, Eamon Fitzmaurice weighed in confirming he thought there was a media campaign against Keegan as well as a campaign against his own team being portrayed in a bad light with no attention being brought to a number of transgressions by Dublin players.
If people believed that these campaigns existed, both supporters and managers, and that the media has such a large influence in how gaelic football is played then why is it so hard to believe that the media's coverage of the Connolly incident didn't have an impact on his suspension.
For the record I'm not defending Connolly, by the letter of the law he got the suspension as per the rules.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 29/06/2017 10:39:22    2007320

Replying To keithlemon:  "Does that not re-enforce the belief that there is a trial by media though? A number of Mayo supporters believed that there was a media campaign to insure Lee Keegan would get special attention from the officials in the replayed All Ireland final last year. Earlier this year, Eamon Fitzmaurice weighed in confirming he thought there was a media campaign against Keegan as well as a campaign against his own team being portrayed in a bad light with no attention being brought to a number of transgressions by Dublin players.
If people believed that these campaigns existed, both supporters and managers, and that the media has such a large influence in how gaelic football is played then why is it so hard to believe that the media's coverage of the Connolly incident didn't have an impact on his suspension.
For the record I'm not defending Connolly, by the letter of the law he got the suspension as per the rules."
The Lee Keegan thing was started by the Dublin backroom team during interviews, Dublin used the media to their advantage last year.
Connolly was wrong end of story they should have left it there.
Dublin are an incredible football team and they need to focus on winning a third title on the bounce they are good enough to do it. The only team that will beat them is themselves

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 29/06/2017 10:58:55    2007340

There is something i cant understand in all this. He did it !!! He pushed the lines man !! Trial by media ???? he pushed the lines man on a televised match. Twitter was hopping before Pat got to say a thing. Connolly is the creator of his own down fall. He has a collection of black cards red cards suspensions. Why has Jim decided to take it out on the media. He has the best panel in the country . Realistically if they play to their potential they will win sam . What is all this about. Siege mentality ??? what a load of Shi*e. When is he going to tackle the connolly situation . When is he going to drop him . Cause while he is one of the best footballers in the country reality is we could cost the dubs an all ireland. He has received black cards in the past that should have been red . When is Jim going to deal with the real issue and tell conolly that pick up one more card and your off the panel. Connolly is a liability to the dubs and reality is one day a move by him will cost the dubs a match just like he cost them the league final this year

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 29/06/2017 11:05:39    2007345

Embarrassing really. Saw the Ciarán Kilkenny interview yesterday and he looked embarrassed even talking about it ~PHS

Pope_has_spoken (Dublin) - Posts: 138 - 29/06/2017 11:57:55    2007371

Lee Keegan should have been sent off twice in the drawn game. Player of the year......for fouling? He got black carded because he was trying to foul. A technically incorrect decision. But the ref made a decision. If your game is constantly fouling...... decisions will go your way and against you.

The reason people mentioned "poor Lee" after the drawn game was the complete lack of help Connolly got from the officials. You lads make me laugh...... you claim the Dubs have blinkers yet ignore what cases involving your own.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 29/06/2017 12:02:31    2007374

Replying To ritchie:  "There is something i cant understand in all this. He did it !!! He pushed the lines man !! Trial by media ???? he pushed the lines man on a televised match. Twitter was hopping before Pat got to say a thing. Connolly is the creator of his own down fall. He has a collection of black cards red cards suspensions. Why has Jim decided to take it out on the media. He has the best panel in the country . Realistically if they play to their potential they will win sam . What is all this about. Siege mentality ??? what a load of Shi*e. When is he going to tackle the connolly situation . When is he going to drop him . Cause while he is one of the best footballers in the country reality is we could cost the dubs an all ireland. He has received black cards in the past that should have been red . When is Jim going to deal with the real issue and tell conolly that pick up one more card and your off the panel. Connolly is a liability to the dubs and reality is one day a move by him will cost the dubs a match just like he cost them the league final this year"
Did he? Why didnt they send him off?

Look lad we all seen way worse in games, just heated passion. It was a nothing incident and only became a problem because it was "Connolly". It was box office so the media hopped on it.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 29/06/2017 12:05:32    2007375

The weakest argument anyone can make when trying to defend the obvious is to talk about what someone else did.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 29/06/2017 12:30:21    2007393

Replying To JayP:  "

Lee Keegan should have been sent off twice in the drawn game. Player of the year......for fouling? He got black carded because he was trying to foul. A technically incorrect decision. But the ref made a decision. If your game is constantly fouling...... decisions will go your way and against you.

The reason people mentioned "poor Lee" after the drawn game was the complete lack of help Connolly got from the officials. You lads make me laugh...... you claim the Dubs have blinkers yet ignore what cases involving your own."
Absolute nonsense and that is from a Mayo supporter who will call a spade a spade on here especially when it comes to Mayo. This whole Keegan fouling Connolly off the ball constantly is absolute bull. Anyone who was at the games could see that.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7897 - 29/06/2017 13:06:13    2007419

Replying To galwayfball:  "Gooch picked up an injury he didnt break the rules. It was through no fault of his own , there's absolutely no comparison."
Christ almighty of course there is a comparison fans not getting to see gifted players play , nowhere did I say the reason they missed the summer was the same , my point was in one aspect there are fans out there that want to watch good players play , and get disappointed if they are not on show for the summer , I've missed Sheflin , Canning , Cooper O Donaghue to name but a few when not on the field.
Or is it a case you don't miss them and would rather watch less talented players because there absence was self inflicted ???

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 29/06/2017 13:41:48    2007449