Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews

Replying To hill16no1man:  "How is it totally different it carries a one match ban, which Philly McMahon was serving for that exact offence for that game. Or is it only applicable to Dublin players that's what make a it t ottally different in your rule book"
You are not understanding my point. Anyway this is being done to death. Eamon Mcgee said more or less what I was saying yesterday so I'm sticking to my opinion. The poor us attitude really is tiresome and that is from someone who has defended the Dubs on here many times in the past but not this time. Time to move on.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 27/06/2017 22:10:51    2006575

I'm weighing into this fairly late but a few things appear really obvious to me. Firstly, Connolly pushed the linesman and if it carries a 12 week ban, then it carries a 12 week ban. The Louth player deserves his ban too for kicking the ball at at an official. Why this sense of injustice prevails among fans and county managers is beyond me. It sets a terrible example for young kids. There's a loophole out of everything and if there isn't, well we will just blame somebody else... Serious culture change needed here among all counties and all levels of the game. A culture of respect is absent. Connolly is a genius of a player and a wonderful athlete but the bottom line, the cold hard facts are that he did the crime, so do the time. He isn't one of the Birmingham 6 or the Guildford 4, it's frankly embarrassing for the Gaa as a whole and I think they themselves are to blame as their structure for disciplinary procedures is too complicated and too open for flipping decisions on their head. Jim Gavin has usually been a classy operator but this time it's nonsense.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 28/06/2017 08:16:18    2006639

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "I'm weighing into this fairly late but a few things appear really obvious to me. Firstly, Connolly pushed the linesman and if it carries a 12 week ban, then it carries a 12 week ban. The Louth player deserves his ban too for kicking the ball at at an official. Why this sense of injustice prevails among fans and county managers is beyond me. It sets a terrible example for young kids. There's a loophole out of everything and if there isn't, well we will just blame somebody else... Serious culture change needed here among all counties and all levels of the game. A culture of respect is absent. Connolly is a genius of a player and a wonderful athlete but the bottom line, the cold hard facts are that he did the crime, so do the time. He isn't one of the Birmingham 6 or the Guildford 4, it's frankly embarrassing for the Gaa as a whole and I think they themselves are to blame as their structure for disciplinary procedures is too complicated and too open for flipping decisions on their head. Jim Gavin has usually been a classy operator but this time it's nonsense."
You've come late and missed the point completely , the injustice isn't the sentence , the player himself has put his hand up , he could have but has chosen not to find one of those loopholes you refer to, in every single post Ive said if its 12 weeks its 12 weeks , Ive said we need to send a message to the young kids who play our games , however every single person be it in life or be it in sport is entitled to due process that shouldn't depend if you are Dermot Connoly Michael Murphy or Aidan O Shea, there was a reaction because it was Connoly , there was glee because it was Connoly , I remember seeing the Gooch getting his bad injury and thinking crap we are going to miss seeing a superstar all summer , however there are many who thought this a great opportunity to get rid of one for the summer

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 28/06/2017 08:56:20    2006653

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Your words don't apply to the reference you were using towards a gaa pitch
You can't physically manhandle or verbally abuse a player off the ball therefore you can use whatever quite you like my friend"
it can be applied to many walks of life and sport being one of the most commonly used. Give it a read when you finish all the Dublin players autobiographies.

I assume you're aware that you cant abuse officials as well as players while your quoting the rules there?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 28/06/2017 09:15:58    2006662

Replying To Damothedub:  "You've come late and missed the point completely , the injustice isn't the sentence , the player himself has put his hand up , he could have but has chosen not to find one of those loopholes you refer to, in every single post Ive said if its 12 weeks its 12 weeks , Ive said we need to send a message to the young kids who play our games , however every single person be it in life or be it in sport is entitled to due process that shouldn't depend if you are Dermot Connoly Michael Murphy or Aidan O Shea, there was a reaction because it was Connoly , there was glee because it was Connoly , I remember seeing the Gooch getting his bad injury and thinking crap we are going to miss seeing a superstar all summer , however there are many who thought this a great opportunity to get rid of one for the summer"
I haven't missed the point completely at all. in fact, you've really just clarified my point with your response ... 'There was a reaction because it was Connolly' ... has absolutely nothing to do with it. As you said, a 12 week ban is deserved and he took it. Fair enough. But Jim Gavin and 'some' Dublin fans are going down a ridiculous road. If he has past disciplinary issues, that's really his problem to solve. Others aren't to blame and definitely he's no victim. He got the 12 week ban because it was a 12 week ban. If he has a reputation it's because he's built it up himself by his own actions. Listen, he's a brilliant footballer.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 28/06/2017 09:38:18    2006669

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "I haven't missed the point completely at all. in fact, you've really just clarified my point with your response ... 'There was a reaction because it was Connolly' ... has absolutely nothing to do with it. As you said, a 12 week ban is deserved and he took it. Fair enough. But Jim Gavin and 'some' Dublin fans are going down a ridiculous road. If he has past disciplinary issues, that's really his problem to solve. Others aren't to blame and definitely he's no victim. He got the 12 week ban because it was a 12 week ban. If he has a reputation it's because he's built it up himself by his own actions. Listen, he's a brilliant footballer."
He didnt even get sent off! Like the Louth boy (who just kicked a ball in anger and hit an unfortunate umpire) got sent off. The officials acted.

The officials only decided to act after the game because of a media storm. It was put in the match report and then Spillane weighed in pretty much saying Connolly deserved to be banned when the officials on the day didnt act because they thought nothing of it.

Reality is we cant rely on kangaroo courts and trial by former Kerry greats. These kind of incidents highlight how inconsistent referreeing and the enforcement of the rules actually are. The way the Connolly was handled brings the game into disrepute! Brolly had it spot on after the incident and on last Sundays highlights programme.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 28/06/2017 10:17:02    2006695

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "I haven't missed the point completely at all. in fact, you've really just clarified my point with your response ... 'There was a reaction because it was Connolly' ... has absolutely nothing to do with it. As you said, a 12 week ban is deserved and he took it. Fair enough. But Jim Gavin and 'some' Dublin fans are going down a ridiculous road. If he has past disciplinary issues, that's really his problem to solve. Others aren't to blame and definitely he's no victim. He got the 12 week ban because it was a 12 week ban. If he has a reputation it's because he's built it up himself by his own actions. Listen, he's a brilliant footballer."
Answer the question re due process , is he entitled to it or not , is undue scrutiny encouraged due to past indiscretions yes or no they are simple questions
Connoly is no victim , No where have I said he is .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 28/06/2017 10:21:21    2006700

As the dust settles on this story, I still can't believe how Brolly and Dolan threw Pat Spillane under the bus, especially Brolly, what a hypocrit

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 28/06/2017 13:52:31    2006838

Replying To tearintom:  "You honestly have no idea how the actual system works in reality.

This idea that the cccc and refs etc only react to what's in the media is laughable. A Louth player just got suspended for 12 weeks, what pundit was responsible for that?

You can't have a disciplinary system based on "it's ok as long as a player doesn't get injured" as you seem to be suggesting. A player can punch another player and do no damage and the exact same thing can happen 2 minutes later and result in doing serious damage, what do you propose, punish one and not the other?

Every single game is analysed from referees reports whether they are televised or not, whether pundits comment or not. Believe it or not the cccc and those running it know the rules pretty well and don't really care if a pundit quotes them or not.

Referees are human as are all officials, they are going to miss things and they are going to get things wrong, they review all that when inputting their match reports from which all these incidents are dealt with. Referees hold their hand up and say I got that wrong or I should have dealt with that differently etc in their reports.

If you break the rules and get caught then simply deal with it.

More and more players and supporters should take their lead from John Mullane who did exactly that."
There is selective reviewing of incidents. Yes refs makes mistakes and often whole teams are punished with the game result. Individual players commit an offence and it is retrospectively dealt with. There is not a proper fair balance. The rule book is not always right and sometimes needs to be looked at. What is not dealt on the field and can be reviewed needs to be tightened up. Or else review every missed call and play every game ten times. The system of officiating sets the referee up to fail. The reality is the standard of match officials ( not just there referee) is not good enough. 6 in all at a game with one having all the responsibility and some of the others along for the perks.
You are really naive if you believe action taken is not influenced by the court of t.v.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 28/06/2017 14:01:20    2006848

Replying To JayP:  "He didnt even get sent off! Like the Louth boy (who just kicked a ball in anger and hit an unfortunate umpire) got sent off. The officials acted.

The officials only decided to act after the game because of a media storm. It was put in the match report and then Spillane weighed in pretty much saying Connolly deserved to be banned when the officials on the day didnt act because they thought nothing of it.

Reality is we cant rely on kangaroo courts and trial by former Kerry greats. These kind of incidents highlight how inconsistent referreeing and the enforcement of the rules actually are. The way the Connolly was handled brings the game into disrepute! Brolly had it spot on after the incident and on last Sundays highlights programme."
Kangaroo courts!!!!! Jesus will you give over please, some of you are getting pure deluded at this stage.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 28/06/2017 14:28:43    2006885

Replying To Richieq:  "Kangaroo courts!!!!! Jesus will you give over please, some of you are getting pure deluded at this stage."
How can a disciplinary process be anything other than in disrepute when the people at the centre of incidents are villafied before the committees sit to review the necessary evidence. In any legal case the media are asked to refrain from comment until due process has occurred.

The latest Diarmuid Connolly fiasco started with what I would consider a nothing event. So did the linesman and ref at the time. Anybody who does not agree after choosing not to deal with the incident at the time, the handling thereafter of the incident was nothing short of farcical. The added notes in the refs report, the trial by tv and social media and Spillanes involvement....and the ridiculous comments that the CCCC werent influenced by any of it point to what I can only describe as extremely poor handling.

It is the job of the match officials to deal with incidents on the pitch. No card was deemed neccessary. What happened since can only be described as a farce.

Comes back to good/bad refereeing and the lack of clarity in how the GAA discipline procedures work.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 28/06/2017 15:37:42    2006949

Replying To Damothedub:  "Answer the question re due process , is he entitled to it or not , is undue scrutiny encouraged due to past indiscretions yes or no they are simple questions
Connoly is no victim , No where have I said he is ."
Yes he should get due process. And he did. If he got above and beyond the normal ban for what he did then we would have an issue. But we don't.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 28/06/2017 15:48:35    2006955

the bottom line is if it happened in a lesser game there would have been nothing about it.the louth lad was just used to "prove" that its happening at all levesl.it is not.i recently seen an umpire being "interfered" with after he failed to give a point..the reperters never reported it or i never heard any more about it..connolly is the most scrutinised player in ireland(lee keegan second) as was paul galvin before him..and jim gavin was dead right to say what he said.

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 28/06/2017 16:02:02    2006970

Replying To maroondiesel:  "As the dust settles on this story, I still can't believe how Brolly and Dolan threw Pat Spillane under the bus, especially Brolly, what a hypocrit"
Joe Brolly had a meltdown on live TV a few years ago when Sean Cavanagh dived against Monaghan. It was far worse than anything that was said about Connolly on TV.

Am I right in thinking pundits should not make a comment on any incident until after the referee's report? Is that what people want? In that case the Sunday game will have to be moved to a Monday or Tuesday night.

I think everyone needs to take a step back as this whole incident has been overblown and done to death.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 28/06/2017 16:36:26    2006988

Replying To JayP:  "How can a disciplinary process be anything other than in disrepute when the people at the centre of incidents are villafied before the committees sit to review the necessary evidence. In any legal case the media are asked to refrain from comment until due process has occurred.

The latest Diarmuid Connolly fiasco started with what I would consider a nothing event. So did the linesman and ref at the time. Anybody who does not agree after choosing not to deal with the incident at the time, the handling thereafter of the incident was nothing short of farcical. The added notes in the refs report, the trial by tv and social media and Spillanes involvement....and the ridiculous comments that the CCCC werent influenced by any of it point to what I can only describe as extremely poor handling.

It is the job of the match officials to deal with incidents on the pitch. No card was deemed neccessary. What happened since can only be described as a farce.

Comes back to good/bad refereeing and the lack of clarity in how the GAA discipline procedures work."
I agree with you Jay, its all down to poor refereeing.Connolly should have been sent off at the time end of story.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 28/06/2017 16:53:34    2006998

Replying To yew_tree:  "Joe Brolly had a meltdown on live TV a few years ago when Sean Cavanagh dived against Monaghan. It was far worse than anything that was said about Connolly on TV.

Am I right in thinking pundits should not make a comment on any incident until after the referee's report? Is that what people want? In that case the Sunday game will have to be moved to a Monday or Tuesday night.

I think everyone needs to take a step back as this whole incident has been overblown and done to death."
yes your right," The Sunday Brawl" could be aired midweek. I think analysts should comment on everything because refs will miss stuff. Brolly/Dolan were unbelievable the other night though. They offered no punishment for Connolly for pushing official and blamed poor Pat.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 28/06/2017 16:55:10    2006999

Replying To maroondiesel:  "As the dust settles on this story, I still can't believe how Brolly and Dolan threw Pat Spillane under the bus, especially Brolly, what a hypocrit"
What Brolly done was throw a fit after an incident that was dealt with on the spot and is not comparable to the Connolly incident.
Not that Connolly didn't do a silly thing but the linesman and ref were on hand and did feck all at the time. Their indecision was Inexplicable. For two intercounty standard referees to not be able to make the call on the spot is not good enough.
When you get that sort of a scenario and the delay in taking action you are leaving the door wide open to the conspiracy theories.
Brolly loves an aul kick at Spillane but sure you couldn't blame him too much for that as he's as blinkered a lad as you'd come across.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 28/06/2017 17:12:57    2007009

If Dublin do win 3 in a row this season, will Gavin be labelled a genius for using this incident as a rallying cry?
If they don't win it, this incident will surely be used as a stick to beat him with.

Lets speculate for a second, lets say we have the semi final that a number of us are expecting - Dublin vs Tyrone and Connolly is named on the bench (what I'd expect). Lets say the game is in the mix with 15 minutes to go and Connolly gets the shout to come on.
Can you imagine the fireworks?? Dubs will be getting revved up with the return of their hero while Tyrone will just be dying to have a cut at him.
Interesting times ahead regardless

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 28/06/2017 17:19:53    2007012

I actually think Jim Gavin has come across foolish here. Pat Spillane was in no way wrong for bringing up the subject, it had been all over social media, including here before the sunday game aired. If it wasn't brought up as a significant moment in the match by the sunday game we would all be giving out for them ignoring it here.
It reminds me of the time Mickey harte was giving out because tyrone were getting more players banned because they were having more league games televised in the national league, these things are the cost of success, you have to learn to deal with them.
After a not so impressive league campaign and after this stunt to try create some sort of siege mentality, it's the first time in a while that other counties will see weakness in the Dubs. I actually fancy kildare to turn them over in the leinster final

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 28/06/2017 17:53:45    2007032

Connolly becoming a liability. Dublin better off without him.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 28/06/2017 18:01:50    2007035