Dublin refusing to do one-on-one broadcast interviews

This is just crazy.12 weeks because the ball hit the umpire.
Jaysus, this is real gombeen land stuff altogether.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 27/06/2017 19:11:37    2006466

Replying To Canuck:  "Anyone who believes that the CCCC are not influenced by a pundit quoting the rule, section , punishment etc. also believe in alternative facts and fake news. The bottom like is that all incidents should be dealt with on the field of play with the team of officials appointed to control the game. It should be under extreme circumstances where a player is injured that a review takes place. Connolly should not have been suspended as no action was taken on the field. Bennett should not have been suspended because no action was taken on the field and he did not injure anyone. It is hay making day for these pundits when the game gets played off the field. We here it said these commentators are just doing their job. Well if so hi- light the treatment these players are getting before they react. No because they can not exert the same influence as re running the tape and quoting the rule book."
You honestly have no idea how the actual system works in reality.

This idea that the cccc and refs etc only react to what's in the media is laughable. A Louth player just got suspended for 12 weeks, what pundit was responsible for that?

You can't have a disciplinary system based on "it's ok as long as a player doesn't get injured" as you seem to be suggesting. A player can punch another player and do no damage and the exact same thing can happen 2 minutes later and result in doing serious damage, what do you propose, punish one and not the other?

Every single game is analysed from referees reports whether they are televised or not, whether pundits comment or not. Believe it or not the cccc and those running it know the rules pretty well and don't really care if a pundit quotes them or not.

Referees are human as are all officials, they are going to miss things and they are going to get things wrong, they review all that when inputting their match reports from which all these incidents are dealt with. Referees hold their hand up and say I got that wrong or I should have dealt with that differently etc in their reports.

If you break the rules and get caught then simply deal with it.

More and more players and supporters should take their lead from John Mullane who did exactly that.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 27/06/2017 19:16:03    2006469

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "Brendan Murphy must of crossed you in a former life Hill!!! Every reply you've had for the last couple of weeks has been about Brendan Murphy!"
It's relevant as he committed the offence in the same game ib the same official and goes along way to prove my point as not one person from outside dublin is even bothered with his offence.
tell me honestly if Connolly has of got off at that same chc meeting that Murphy did and got sent off on Sunday like Murphy did,do you honestly not think hoganstand would be trending on Twitter with the amount of posters on here salvaging on their keyboards to get posts uploaded about him, hoganstand would probably crash. It's easy to just ignore his offences for non dubs I wonder why?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/06/2017 19:30:50    2006475

Jaysus don't be pointing finger at Spillane and O'Rourke. The Connolly thing was all over the internet and I think on this site too 24 hours before Sunday Game. All they can be accused of is jumping on the bandwagon.

Bawner (Sligo) - Posts: 39 - 27/06/2017 19:32:52    2006476

Replying To SaffronDon:  ""if your opponent is of choleric temper, seek to irritate him" Sun Tzu at around 500BC,

but sure that was before DC and Hill came along. a timeless philosophy needs rewritten for this exceptional circumstance."
There's seeking to irrate and committing offences that are not within the rule book
think that backside of yours ain't smart as you think pal.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/06/2017 19:33:17    2006477

Replying To TheFlaker:  "And the lads comparing Murphy giving the official verbals to Connolly actually confronting the linesman is just hilarious. Totally different. I can't believe Gavin has reignited the flames again, tiresome."
How is it totally different it carries a one match ban, which Philly McMahon was serving for that exact offence for that game. Or is it only applicable to Dublin players that's what make a it t ottally different in your rule book

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/06/2017 19:35:27    2006478

Replying To catch22:  "This is just crazy.12 weeks because the ball hit the umpire.
Jaysus, this is real gombeen land stuff altogether."
He threw the ball at the umpire and it struck him.It wasn't an accident.Refs Linesmen and umpires are a vital part of the game and they have to be protected, simple as that.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 27/06/2017 20:12:31    2006484

I like Eamon McGee's comment (HS) on Gavin reopening the Connolly controversy. I couldn't agree more.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 27/06/2017 20:14:01    2006485

Replying To tearintom:  "You honestly have no idea how the actual system works in reality.

This idea that the cccc and refs etc only react to what's in the media is laughable. A Louth player just got suspended for 12 weeks, what pundit was responsible for that?

You can't have a disciplinary system based on "it's ok as long as a player doesn't get injured" as you seem to be suggesting. A player can punch another player and do no damage and the exact same thing can happen 2 minutes later and result in doing serious damage, what do you propose, punish one and not the other?

Every single game is analysed from referees reports whether they are televised or not, whether pundits comment or not. Believe it or not the cccc and those running it know the rules pretty well and don't really care if a pundit quotes them or not.

Referees are human as are all officials, they are going to miss things and they are going to get things wrong, they review all that when inputting their match reports from which all these incidents are dealt with. Referees hold their hand up and say I got that wrong or I should have dealt with that differently etc in their reports.

If you break the rules and get caught then simply deal with it.

More and more players and supporters should take their lead from John Mullane who did exactly that."
You can't have a disciplinary system that decides when it wants to 're ref matches based on public pressure!
No pressure Brendan Murphy equals no cccc case. What about national league games I say incidents in games that never get any attention from the cccc simply because there's not much coverage.
there is probably melees in division 3 and 4 and don't get reported by media so the cccc don't have any head on them to investigate.
The ref and linesman both seen or felt in linesman case Connolly touch him, decided it didn't merit anything therefore it wasn't a non seen incident by officials that meritted investigation until the media went into hysteria.
now we have another home of a suspension as a knock in effect for the Louth player because the ball accidentally hit an umpire when he was kicking it back towards the goal. Like come on officiating is at a poor standard and all they want to do is punish players left right and centre instead of actually look at the foot of the problem which is the inability of most of these officials to officiate games correctly

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/06/2017 20:40:08    2006504

Replying To hill16no1man:  "There's seeking to irrate and committing offences that are not within the rule book
think that backside of yours ain't smart as you think pal."
yea that's right, rubbish the words of a timeless general because it was used against one of your own.

Do you honestly believe that DC is the only player in the game who gets singled out for rough treatment?? a club mate of mine is a top player in the county and I've seen with my own eyes on the field of play the type of things he is subjected to. Things that often escape the eyes of the law. Of course I'd like to see justice in all instances but lashing out or laying a hand on an official in an aggressive manner is first blood to your opponent. The best response is to keep your cool and let your performance be your retaliation. That might make some think twice about setting him off. At this stage he should have grasped that and that is why he is still a victim of a proven principal of battle.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 27/06/2017 20:50:43    2006510

Replying To hill16no1man:  "It's relevant as he committed the offence in the same game ib the same official and goes along way to prove my point as not one person from outside dublin is even bothered with his offence.
tell me honestly if Connolly has of got off at that same chc meeting that Murphy did and got sent off on Sunday like Murphy did,do you honestly not think hoganstand would be trending on Twitter with the amount of posters on here salvaging on their keyboards to get posts uploaded about him, hoganstand would probably crash. It's easy to just ignore his offences for non dubs I wonder why?"
Hill that post was incredibly hard to see what your point was. All I'll say is this. I won't defend Murphy. Because I've no idea what he said and to who. I won't lay into him either. Because I don't know what he said. If you know what he said tell us. The Connolly incident was clear cut. Gavin and Connolly have both stated he did wrong. The media did not punish Connolly I watched it in a pub and once the Connolly incident happened everyone was talking about how much trouble he was in. Nobody needed to wait for Sky pundits or RTE pundits or social media. It was clear as day he overstepped the mark. Pat Spillane didn't go to town on anyone. Nor O Rourke. He made a mistake and received his punishment as per the rule book. The whole thing with Gavin I really don't get. He said they questioned his good name. Or character. They didn't. They read from a rule book.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 591 - 27/06/2017 20:57:32    2006515

Gavin is 100% in the right. And if I were him or any of his players I'd not give them any interviews in the near future either. In fact if he never wanted to speak to them again I'd say he was in the right. The biggest joke of the lot though has to be Brolly calling out Spillane after the way he has gone after the Cavanaghs and other Tyrone players over the years.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 27/06/2017 20:59:51    2006519

Replying To SaffronDon:  "yea that's right, rubbish the words of a timeless general because it was used against one of your own.

Do you honestly believe that DC is the only player in the game who gets singled out for rough treatment?? a club mate of mine is a top player in the county and I've seen with my own eyes on the field of play the type of things he is subjected to. Things that often escape the eyes of the law. Of course I'd like to see justice in all instances but lashing out or laying a hand on an official in an aggressive manner is first blood to your opponent. The best response is to keep your cool and let your performance be your retaliation. That might make some think twice about setting him off. At this stage he should have grasped that and that is why he is still a victim of a proven principal of battle."
Your words don't apply to the reference you were using towards a gaa pitch
You can't physically manhandle or verbally abuse a player off the ball therefore you can use whatever quite you like my friend

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/06/2017 21:23:54    2006535

Replying To hill16no1man:  "You can't have a disciplinary system that decides when it wants to 're ref matches based on public pressure!
No pressure Brendan Murphy equals no cccc case. What about national league games I say incidents in games that never get any attention from the cccc simply because there's not much coverage.
there is probably melees in division 3 and 4 and don't get reported by media so the cccc don't have any head on them to investigate.
The ref and linesman both seen or felt in linesman case Connolly touch him, decided it didn't merit anything therefore it wasn't a non seen incident by officials that meritted investigation until the media went into hysteria.
now we have another home of a suspension as a knock in effect for the Louth player because the ball accidentally hit an umpire when he was kicking it back towards the goal. Like come on officiating is at a poor standard and all they want to do is punish players left right and centre instead of actually look at the foot of the problem which is the inability of most of these officials to officiate games correctly"
You keep going on about Brendan Murphy yet you have no idea, not a clue what he said? Yet you keep going on about it.

What did he say that deserved to be included in a referees report, tell us cos you keep going on about it.

You have this obsession with everything being in the media, you do know that hundreds of games every year have a match report for them which the cccc look at, you do realise that?

This idea that referees only report transgressions that happen in matches in the media or on the telly or commented on by pundits is laughable really. Referees have people monitoring them from the stands so when they make mistakes or don't report incidents etc they are basically writing themselves off in regard to getting further games.

I mean it's laughable this suggestion that all they want to do is punish players left right and centre, no, all they want to do is have nothing to report from games, no flash points to deal with.

It's quite simple really, players need start taking responsibility for their own actions the game and people constantly making excuses for them in the long term doesn't them no good, plain and simply.

Refs aren't perfect and many of them aren't very good but that doesn't give any player from anywhere free reign to do what they want and get away with it. That's life.

One thing I will say on Jim Gavin bringing the whole thing up again though is I think he has done it for a reason and it has nothing to do with this suggestion of this siege mentality bull people are coming up with. I mean seriously we are dealing with one of the greatest football teams of all time and definitely the most professional and people think oh he needs to develop a siege mentality to get the best out of them

I mean in all fairness have people been looking at the same bunch of players, they need nothing more to motivate them than going down in history.

But Gavin hates dealing with the media, he has said it before that he sees no benefit for Dublin to be dealing with the media so I personally think he sees an opportunity now to cut dealing with the media altogether because he can't be bothered in all honesty. It's a perfect excuse now for getting out of doing something he has no interest in or sees no benefit from. Maybe he's right.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 27/06/2017 21:25:14    2006536

Brendan Murphy had an Angelic game last Sunday but came away with 2 yellows and the line followed, seems to be in a spot of bother at the minute not looking good for the Leitrim game and perhaps beyond. If I was Brendan I would refuse to give an interview to KCLR.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 27/06/2017 21:28:46    2006538

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "Hill that post was incredibly hard to see what your point was. All I'll say is this. I won't defend Murphy. Because I've no idea what he said and to who. I won't lay into him either. Because I don't know what he said. If you know what he said tell us. The Connolly incident was clear cut. Gavin and Connolly have both stated he did wrong. The media did not punish Connolly I watched it in a pub and once the Connolly incident happened everyone was talking about how much trouble he was in. Nobody needed to wait for Sky pundits or RTE pundits or social media. It was clear as day he overstepped the mark. Pat Spillane didn't go to town on anyone. Nor O Rourke. He made a mistake and received his punishment as per the rule book. The whole thing with Gavin I really don't get. He said they questioned his good name. Or character. They didn't. They read from a rule book."
It was clear as day the officials choose not to take action at the time the incident took place, now don't try blow smoke up people's backsides and tell me the linesman suddenly a whole 40 minutes later awoke from a bout of amnesia? Or that he only then felt the full force of Connollys hand on his chest?
Seriously you know full well that the match report had nothing in it and then out of nowhere it had a side note attached to it at the cccc meeting haha
Now the gaa can dress it up whatever way they want but the fact is the media turned into rulebook sommeliers and the gaa new they would recieve a backlash of not acting so they fixed it up to punish Connolly. Now the point in Murphy is even more clear that you say you didnt see it and that's the point had that of been Connolly of course you would have seen it highlighted and discussed and the rulebook thrown at him for a suspendable offence. Does that not show you the imbalance in the analysis?????

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/06/2017 21:35:09    2006543

who cares, their interviews are generally boring. Jim Gavins outburst the other night was mad, you'd swear he was pissed off with Pat Spillane for ratting DC out. Mad stuff. Anyway, onwards and upwards.

galwaydublin (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 27/06/2017 21:49:12    2006554

Tearintom
Anybody in portlaoise could see he wasn't thanking him, he was lacing into him with venom walking off the pitch, the linesman heard it clearly, I don't need to know his words as i didn't know Philly McMahon words either and he was given the suspension.

What officials get dropped for poor performances as that linesman made an unbelievable poor call for the actual line ball, then choose not to do anything about Connolly, then informed the red about Murphy's tackle for him sent off then choose not to inform the ref of his verbal abuse, yet after all that actually got promoted to the man in the middle a week later for cork v tipp.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/06/2017 21:56:14    2006560

Replying To hill16no1man:  "It was clear as day the officials choose not to take action at the time the incident took place, now don't try blow smoke up people's backsides and tell me the linesman suddenly a whole 40 minutes later awoke from a bout of amnesia? Or that he only then felt the full force of Connollys hand on his chest?
Seriously you know full well that the match report had nothing in it and then out of nowhere it had a side note attached to it at the cccc meeting haha
Now the gaa can dress it up whatever way they want but the fact is the media turned into rulebook sommeliers and the gaa new they would recieve a backlash of not acting so they fixed it up to punish Connolly. Now the point in Murphy is even more clear that you say you didnt see it and that's the point had that of been Connolly of course you would have seen it highlighted and discussed and the rulebook thrown at him for a suspendable offence. Does that not show you the imbalance in the analysis?????"
You have a great habit of reading what you want to read. Nobody has said they didn't see the Murphy incident. What people are saying is we have no idea what he said. So again if you know what he said tell us.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 591 - 27/06/2017 22:05:00    2006568

Replying To hill16no1man:  "It was clear as day the officials choose not to take action at the time the incident took place, now don't try blow smoke up people's backsides and tell me the linesman suddenly a whole 40 minutes later awoke from a bout of amnesia? Or that he only then felt the full force of Connollys hand on his chest?
Now the gaa can dress it up whatever way they want but the fact is the media turned into rulebook sommeliers and the gaa new they would recieve a backlash of not acting so they fixed it up to punish Connolly. Now the point in Murphy is even more clear that you say you didnt see it and that's the point had that of been Connolly of course you would have seen it highlighted and discussed and the rulebook thrown at him for a suspendable offence. Does that not show you the imbalance in the analysis?????"
I started a thread last year called

"Selective condemnation"

It unfortunately very much applies to 2017

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/06/2017 22:05:08    2006569