Mayo v Derry

My motm would have been Aidan too. Or Parsons.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 02/07/2017 19:13:58    2009152

Replying To Belclare1:  "Too busy watching Galway teams lifting silverware.. 2 more cups in the bag today, the hurlers and our ladies hammered Mayo in the Conn final"
Just as well your lad didn't win the Eurovision! We'd never hear the end of it.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 02/07/2017 19:28:07    2009159

Replying To Belclare1:  "Mayos forwards !!! Ye wouldn't worry Carlow.. if it wasn't Coc and his frees ye would be finished years ago.."
Sure if you're so confident about Galway then give us the margin you think you'll beat the Rossies by. You're surely confident that Comer will clean out McManus at fullback and improve on his massive tally against us. Them Galway forwards will have Roscommon backs shaking in their boots after their 5 points from play at home to 14 men for 50 mins. Our forwards are poor, no doubt, can't take their chances. Passing off when good scoring chances come their way. I can't understand why the Galway defence were so praised after ye beat us. Gave away loads of frees and a less wasteful forward line would have beaten ye. Armstrong won ye the game, well-deserved on the day but McStay can sleep well enough to name his team a week ahead.

So go on then, how much do ye think ye'll beat the Rossies by?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 02/07/2017 20:28:35    2009194

Replying To Belclare1:  "Too busy watching Galway teams lifting silverware.. 2 more cups in the bag today, the hurlers and our ladies hammered Mayo in the Conn final"
Sure bet your wetting yourself at the idea of a Galway man lifting a Nestor cup! Wasn't good enough when Mayo were lifting them to some of Ye! All these lovely trophies and I can bet there will be a real lack of all Ireland silverware heading west!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 02/07/2017 20:56:42    2009217

Replying To Belclare1:  "Mayos forwards !!! Ye wouldn't worry Carlow.. if it wasn't Coc and his frees ye would be finished years ago.."
Have some respect to Carlow they gave a good account of themselves against Dublin I'm sure their defence could be tough to crack but we won't meet them at this stage. Very cocky these days belcare probably cocky when Mayo were spanking Ye and giving out about Mayo fans being cocky. When it comes to your senior men's team Ye haven't proved anything yet this year. Ye will probably win Connacht then a quarter final to be played but then that is one monkey on your back.......

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 02/07/2017 21:05:54    2009222

Mayo survived a serious scare in normal time

Their shot selection was very poor

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/07/2017 21:16:22    2009227

Replying To Spoddgy:  "Have some respect to Carlow they gave a good account of themselves against Dublin I'm sure their defence could be tough to crack but we won't meet them at this stage. Very cocky these days belcare probably cocky when Mayo were spanking Ye and giving out about Mayo fans being cocky. When it comes to your senior men's team Ye haven't proved anything yet this year. Ye will probably win Connacht then a quarter final to be played but then that is one monkey on your back......."
Hardly cocky , if you ever read posts in relation to the Mayo Galway game I never said Galway were world beaters.. But what gets me is Mayo boys coming on here saying Galway defence when he struggled so badly against us.. We are far from a top 5 team but I believe the tide is turning. .. slowly. Galway to win next week by 3..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 02/07/2017 22:31:32    2009262

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "Derry played well all of the 70 mins. Keeper cost ye a few with poor kicking and decision making; although some decent saves.

As for Mayo being no where near a medal spot, I don't know.I still believe they will somehow end up in the last 4 with a bit of luck depending on who they are playing.Biggest mistake is writing a Mayo team off. They love that.No matter how useless they might look they are can turn it on occasionally. I'm sure Fermanagh fans felt similar after last years defeat and most of the country thought they wouldn't get within 10 points of the Dubs. They're the 14 year olds of the GAA world. Unstable,dramatic,confused about their life gameplan yet stubborn . They looked very rocky yesterday. .I thought they were buried in the last ten mins....but now I'm even more confused because of their extra time performance and the display of young Loftus who looks a bit of a baller from what I've seen of him in last years U21's and yesterdays game.

Tyrone Dub final would be nice..but at least playing Dublin you know who you are playing. This Mayo team is topsy turvy and seems to have no real gameplan and make it up as they go along. A manager change would do them the world of good."
If Mayo meet Dublin Tyrone or Kerry at quarter final stage they will be gone . I'd even throw Monaghan and Down into that equation . Derry showed how to carve them up the middle and they have a superior midfield to our own .

Agreed , Dublin v Tyrone final would be a cracker and we'd finally see if Dublin could finally shrug off the drubbings Tyrone handed them in the 00's. I'd pay any money to see that final.

johnjoseph (Derry) - Posts: 158 - 02/07/2017 22:43:05    2009266

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Stupid post. Mayo players don't feel sorry for themselves. They might not be good enough but they don't keep going out of hope for a sympathy vote. If you take any notice of what Ger Canning says than you need to have a chat with yourself."
They play like they need a sympathy vote, they would be scratching their backsides tonight only only for a young inexperienced keeper. Commentator is only reflecting the reality - we'll be years reading about the misery years from this crop of players autobiographies.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 02/07/2017 22:44:50    2009267

Replying To johnjoseph:  "If Mayo meet Dublin Tyrone or Kerry at quarter final stage they will be gone . I'd even throw Monaghan and Down into that equation . Derry showed how to carve them up the middle and they have a superior midfield to our own .

Agreed , Dublin v Tyrone final would be a cracker and we'd finally see if Dublin could finally shrug off the drubbings Tyrone handed them in the 00's. I'd pay any money to see that final."
I seem to remember Mayo being told Tyrone would beat us last year too. Even go back to 2012 and weren't Down tipped to lock us out...anyway we still have 2 qualifier games to try and win before we think about the quarter finals.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 02/07/2017 22:55:30    2009270

Replying To johnjoseph:  "If Mayo meet Dublin Tyrone or Kerry at quarter final stage they will be gone . I'd even throw Monaghan and Down into that equation . Derry showed how to carve them up the middle and they have a superior midfield to our own .

Agreed , Dublin v Tyrone final would be a cracker and we'd finally see if Dublin could finally shrug off the drubbings Tyrone handed them in the 00's. I'd pay any money to see that final."
The Mayo attack was a shambles yesterday and but for the fact that Mayo had the players on the bench plus a serious advantage in fitness terms we'd have been gone. The championship is a marathon more than a sprint and whatever the Mayo panel's being doing in preparation so far seems to have involved very little football, or at least that's the impression they're giving, but seriously, Down?

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 02/07/2017 23:04:29    2009274

Eh they've well shook off the drubbing. Qf 2011 ring a bell?

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 02/07/2017 23:10:17    2009275

Replying To arock:  "They play like they need a sympathy vote, they would be scratching their backsides tonight only only for a young inexperienced keeper. Commentator is only reflecting the reality - we'll be years reading about the misery years from this crop of players autobiographies."
Keep up the good work there. Another super post.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7899 - 02/07/2017 23:15:31    2009276

Replying To arock:  "They play like they need a sympathy vote, they would be scratching their backsides tonight only only for a young inexperienced keeper. Commentator is only reflecting the reality - we'll be years reading about the misery years from this crop of players autobiographies."
you shouldn't have a go at the young keeper arock. He made four or five saves that Cluxton would have been proud of.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 02/07/2017 23:24:01    2009279

Replying To yew_tree:  "I seem to remember Mayo being told Tyrone would beat us last year too. Even go back to 2012 and weren't Down tipped to lock us out...anyway we still have 2 qualifier games to try and win before we think about the quarter finals."
You will meet Tyrone and they will beat Mayo by 5-6 points . Keep a copy of this thread .

johnjoseph (Derry) - Posts: 158 - 02/07/2017 23:36:19    2009283

Replying To Belclare1:  "Hardly cocky , if you ever read posts in relation to the Mayo Galway game I never said Galway were world beaters.. But what gets me is Mayo boys coming on here saying Galway defence when he struggled so badly against us.. We are far from a top 5 team but I believe the tide is turning. .. slowly. Galway to win next week by 3.."
We'll see in the Connacht Final. Ye gave our bad forwards enough chances that a better forward line would have taken. Ye have very good forwards who need to score a bit more than in the semi. We know Roscommon won't be sitting back like last year so it should be a great game of football.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 03/07/2017 07:42:16    2009330

Yeah but we're not scratching our backsides and it was Conor Loftus, not the Derry keeper that got us through. We were blessed. Sure we'll probably feel sorry for ourselves when we go out, based on that performance it'll be soon. But it's the media and not Mayo that have little to be doing but making a story of how sorry they feel for us. Derry go little or no credit for a great performance on Saturday, played great football. But the media will ignore that and talk about Mayo.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 03/07/2017 07:56:39    2009335

The Mayo forwards you are saying are no good outscored the Galway forwards- the starting forwards..
O Connor i think scored 5 frees and 1 from play and Armstrong scored 6 frees and none from play so would ye be no good without his frees?

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 602 - 03/07/2017 08:19:49    2009339

Just watched a recording of the game and what a ding-dong battle it was, really entertaining to watch. Derry were the better team for much of normal time but Mayo just refused to give up. You can talk all you want about the failings of this Mayo team but they really put their heart and soul into it. I thought AOS had a towering game and young Loftus made te difference at the end.

Hard luck to Derry, they are showing some green shoots and hopefully can improve next season, they ave some fantastic players - Niall Keenan, Chrissy McKauige, Benny Hevron and Mark Lynch. Where has Caolan Boyle gone?

Mayo's season is starting to turn out like last year. If they coud improve their shooting then they could be contenders.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 03/07/2017 09:23:58    2009365

Why would we be looking for sympathy? Personally I got great enjoyment from the last few years and wouldn't swap places with any supporters bar maybe Kerry or the Dubs. Of course we are not playing well but we are still there and, as the soccer lads say, we'll take it one game at a time. With two minutes to go, two points down and having missed numerous chances, our lads could have been forgiven for packing it in and saying it's not our day. There is still a bit of life in them yet. As for blaming the Derry goalkeeper, you will always find reasons for a lucky win, such as defenders giving away own goals, keepers giving away daft penalties etc. Now if we were really looking for sympathy we could always blame the Sunday Game.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 03/07/2017 09:50:50    2009393