Mayo v Derry

Replying To Fionn:  "Ah Liam - he is an excellent goalie.
The decision to drop him last year cost Mayo a Sam imo.

Will be interesting to see who Mayo get next as both Durcan and Keegan would appear to be missing next time out."
In relation to keepers. Since introduction of mark you need big fielders in middle. When team pushes up on kick outs sometimes you have to put it long down middle. Over pass ten year some team neglected this area. Mayo , Dublin and Kerry have big men and can see these teams giving big beating to teams that don't have big fielders as. Derry while unlucky to lose is normal were find ball hard to get it up field compared to mayo.

madbull (Westmeath) - Posts: 195 - 02/07/2017 10:21:03    2008799

Why was Durcan sent off lads?

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 02/07/2017 10:53:28    2008813

Replying To Belclare1:  "Yes I would expect that alright, unlike Mayo Roscommon have the forwards to cause us problems"
Mayos forwards caused Ye enough problems and they had an extra Galway sweeper to content with. Maybe keep an eye on your own house falling down instead of watching ours.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 02/07/2017 11:33:11    2008832

Replying To DannyMcA:  "Why was Durcan sent off lads?"
Off the ball punch. No excuse really.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 02/07/2017 11:43:48    2008840

I thought at 66 minutes and two points up we could squeeze a win after completely writing us off before the game . Credit to the Derry team and Damien Barton for putting it up to Mayo . We've a good few players coming through minor and under 21 . Since doc and Patsy Bradley are gone we need to look for a proper midfield . I wouldn't blame the keeper as he had no one to hit . Mayo won't be anywhere near it when they're handing out medals . I want a Dublin Tyrone final

I'm off to eat some humble pie then watch Kerry put a big score on Cork .

johnjoseph (Derry) - Posts: 158 - 02/07/2017 11:48:30    2008843

Superb goal from Loftus. It would have bee so easy for him to clip the ball over the bar and tie the game up but he showed great confidence in burying the goal. Well done to him. I'd like to see more of the boy.

I think that game will stand to Mayo I think. Good win.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 02/07/2017 12:01:39    2008849

Replying To yew_tree:  "Off the ball punch. No excuse really."
I thought it might have been cos he retaliated after the eye gouge but i now understand that was D O"Connor.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 02/07/2017 12:09:55    2008852

Replying To MesAmis:  "Superb goal from Loftus. It would have bee so easy for him to clip the ball over the bar and tie the game up but he showed great confidence in burying the goal. Well done to him. I'd like to see more of the boy.

I think that game will stand to Mayo I think. Good win."
Took the goal very well and his point was just as good. He is a grandson of former GAA president Dr Mick Loftus.

He has to start the next day.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 02/07/2017 12:44:48    2008867

Replying To yew_tree:  "Lads one thing ye can't deny Mayo games are worth watching. Never a dull moment. They put years on us"
I'm sure they put years on the Mayo supporters. But the game was dreadful for 65mins. 65-75 were good and exciting. Game was over after 5mins off extra time.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 02/07/2017 12:56:28    2008874

Durcan done his best Mick Conlon impression.....and got the line!

On another note, how bad were Aidan O'Shea and Lee Keegan. O'Shea ran into traffic and threw himself to the ground repeatedly, and Keegan was AWOL at centre back. How easy was it for Derry to run through centrally, with no Keegan!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 02/07/2017 13:09:25    2008877

Replying To JayP:  "Durcan done his best Mick Conlon impression.....and got the line!

On another note, how bad were Aidan O'Shea and Lee Keegan. O'Shea ran into traffic and threw himself to the ground repeatedly, and Keegan was AWOL at centre back. How easy was it for Derry to run through centrally, with no Keegan!"
Aidan O Se was brilliant for Mayo. Don't k ow what you were watching but you'd want to invest in a pair of glasses

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 02/07/2017 13:26:02    2008887

Replying To JayP:  "Durcan done his best Mick Conlon impression.....and got the line!

On another note, how bad were Aidan O'Shea and Lee Keegan. O'Shea ran into traffic and threw himself to the ground repeatedly, and Keegan was AWOL at centre back. How easy was it for Derry to run through centrally, with no Keegan!"
Everyone in Mayo is at a loss as to why Keegan is playing centre back. Footballer of the year at right half back and that's where he should be. As for O Shea, you are just making a lazy comment as most do. He had a huge impact yesterday especially in the second half and was constantly fouled. That is a fact.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 02/07/2017 13:35:54    2008894

What game did you watch thinking Aidan had a bad game? Lee was poor enough defensively. Had to contribute too much in attack cos the forwards couldn't take their scores.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 02/07/2017 13:38:24    2008899

Totally agree with you JayP about Keegan being no stopper and it's a waste to try and curtail him by making him one. Aidan had a good game though...

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 02/07/2017 15:42:30    2008982

Replying To johnjoseph:  "I thought at 66 minutes and two points up we could squeeze a win after completely writing us off before the game . Credit to the Derry team and Damien Barton for putting it up to Mayo . We've a good few players coming through minor and under 21 . Since doc and Patsy Bradley are gone we need to look for a proper midfield . I wouldn't blame the keeper as he had no one to hit . Mayo won't be anywhere near it when they're handing out medals . I want a Dublin Tyrone final

I'm off to eat some humble pie then watch Kerry put a big score on Cork ."
Derry played well all of the 70 mins. Keeper cost ye a few with poor kicking and decision making; although some decent saves.

As for Mayo being no where near a medal spot, I don't know.I still believe they will somehow end up in the last 4 with a bit of luck depending on who they are playing.Biggest mistake is writing a Mayo team off. They love that.No matter how useless they might look they are can turn it on occasionally. I'm sure Fermanagh fans felt similar after last years defeat and most of the country thought they wouldn't get within 10 points of the Dubs. They're the 14 year olds of the GAA world. Unstable,dramatic,confused about their life gameplan yet stubborn . They looked very rocky yesterday. .I thought they were buried in the last ten mins....but now I'm even more confused because of their extra time performance and the display of young Loftus who looks a bit of a baller from what I've seen of him in last years U21's and yesterdays game.

Tyrone Dub final would be nice..but at least playing Dublin you know who you are playing. This Mayo team is topsy turvy and seems to have no real gameplan and make it up as they go along. A manager change would do them the world of good.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 02/07/2017 15:48:11    2008986

You should watch games without bias, O'Shea was hauled to the ground and fouled non-stop and notice he never once complained. Your own country has a few players that could learn from him.

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 02/07/2017 16:27:29    2009022

Fair play to a few posters on here. I have always called out O Shea on poor performances on the biggest days but he shouldn't be ignored when playing well and getting abuse from all angles like yesterday. People need to get over the Fermanagh game last year and move on with their lives. It's pathetic.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 02/07/2017 16:42:29    2009034

Your getting as bad as the Sunday game panel jayp!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 02/07/2017 17:17:02    2009061

Replying To Spoddgy:  "Mayos forwards caused Ye enough problems and they had an extra Galway sweeper to content with. Maybe keep an eye on your own house falling down instead of watching ours."
Mayos forwards !!! Ye wouldn't worry Carlow.. if it wasn't Coc and his frees ye would be finished years ago..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 02/07/2017 18:02:18    2009095

Replying To Spoddgy:  "Mayos forwards caused Ye enough problems and they had an extra Galway sweeper to content with. Maybe keep an eye on your own house falling down instead of watching ours."
Too busy watching Galway teams lifting silverware.. 2 more cups in the bag today, the hurlers and our ladies hammered Mayo in the Conn final

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 02/07/2017 18:07:29    2009102