Mayo v Derry

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I think Derry would have preferred a replay, they were very unlucky not to have won it in the 70 mins, just hope we avoid Mayo in the draw Monday morning."
Take what we get without fear. Rather go out with honor in 3a rather than fall over the line as we are doing and get a trimming in croke park

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 01/07/2017 20:36:07    2008512

Congrats to Mayo, Connacht could have a big say in Big 8 this year. Derry sideline needs to take responsibility for kickouts.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 01/07/2017 20:57:53    2008536

Lads one thing ye can't deny Mayo games are worth watching. Never a dull moment. They put years on us

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 01/07/2017 20:58:43    2008538

Fair play to Derry but Mayo missed a sight of chances to finish the game in normal time. Derry ran out of steam.

Mayo will keep improving and will beat whoever they draw the next day even if its Donegal.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 01/07/2017 21:19:17    2008558

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Congrats to Mayo, Connacht could have a big say in Big 8 this year. Derry sideline needs to take responsibility for kickouts."
I think the brutality of the qualifiers will probably catch us out in the end out sure we are still in the pot.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 01/07/2017 21:26:59    2008568

lads, people who say Clarke is a top keeper.... Genuine question, based on what? I don't see it atall. I would say the opposite.....

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/07/2017 22:18:54    2008619

Rochford and his backroom staff can thank Conor Loftus, 2 mins to go and the county board had their P45s in envelopes and walking down the steps towards the sideline to hand to them after the game, they survive for another day. On the Mayo performance we were taught as youngsters when you have nothing good to say, say nothing at all.

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 01/07/2017 22:47:01    2008642

expect pictures doing the rounds of Derry forward gouging Diarmuid O'Connor will get him in a bit of bother,

apart from that and Mayo red card, game played in good spirit, very exciting, Mayo fitness and long campaigns of recent years stood to them in extra time.
Mayo will certainly improve, they improve as the year goes on

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 01/07/2017 22:52:05    2008645

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "lads, people who say Clarke is a top keeper.... Genuine question, based on what? I don't see it atall. I would say the opposite....."
Shot stopping, decision making under pressure, changes up kickouts(not his fault mid-fielders can't catch). What else do you need? Kicking every free too?

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 01/07/2017 23:24:31    2008659

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "lads, people who say Clarke is a top keeper.... Genuine question, based on what? I don't see it atall. I would say the opposite....."
You must on the wind-up Liam. That young Derry lad has a lot of ability also - just needs a bit of experience. I hope fans are not too critical of his mistakes today.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 01/07/2017 23:30:48    2008665

Replying To riverboys:  "Rochford and his backroom staff can thank Conor Loftus, 2 mins to go and the county board had their P45s in envelopes and walking down the steps towards the sideline to hand to them after the game, they survive for another day. On the Mayo performance we were taught as youngsters when you have nothing good to say, say nothing at all."
Just watched a recording of the Mayo v Derry game and no offence but Mayo are currently miles off winning Sam.
Definitely going backwards.
Honestly a huge improvement in required in the next few weeks and I can't see them doing it based on their performances so far.

Kerry will never have an easier route to an All Ireland Final unfortunately.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 01/07/2017 23:33:28    2008666

What do you want in a goalkeeper Brilliant shot stopper Long kickouts when he wants Very good under the high ball The defenders have confidence in him

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 01/07/2017 23:51:46    2008679

Ah Liam - he is an excellent goalie.
The decision to drop him last year cost Mayo a Sam imo.

Will be interesting to see who Mayo get next as both Durcan and Keegan would appear to be missing next time out.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 01/07/2017 23:58:14    2008681

Ah Liam book yourself a trip to spec savers.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 02/07/2017 00:04:13    2008684

Replying To tommy132:  "Dont get what you mean? Mayo arent going on about 'long suffering' its the neutrals that come out with that stuff.."
Seems to be forgotten that the long suffering line is pedalled a lot by the media and also forgotten the we Mayo people have to listen to it or the is it their year line like what was said at the throw in for the Sligo match.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 02/07/2017 00:09:18    2008688

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "Would seem like a good idea. Might try it a few more times in extra time."
roscommon could use that against Galway ' scores will come'!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 02/07/2017 00:10:29    2008689

Cluxton aside he is as good as anyone else. The oppsosite of all those good things? Zzzzzzzzzzzz. What games do you be watching?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7899 - 02/07/2017 00:44:00    2008705

Replying To arock:  "Whats with commentator - "poor Mayo, long suffering etc etc" spare a thought for the long suffering neutral having to watch this misery every year. Mayo need a good root up the butt and told to get on with it. They still will probably win at this stage but the saga is wearing thin now."
Stupid post. Mayo players don't feel sorry for themselves. They might not be good enough but they don't keep going out of hope for a sympathy vote. If you take any notice of what Ger Canning says than you need to have a chat with yourself.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7899 - 02/07/2017 00:50:28    2008708

Replying To BlastCalyle:  "expect pictures doing the rounds of Derry forward gouging Diarmuid O'Connor will get him in a bit of bother,

apart from that and Mayo red card, game played in good spirit, very exciting, Mayo fitness and long campaigns of recent years stood to them in extra time.
Mayo will certainly improve, they improve as the year goes on"
Will there also be pictures of o Connor's incident with the keeper off the ball or Keegan on kielt Mind you kielt got his retribution.

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 02/07/2017 08:54:23    2008758

Replying To Spoddgy:  "roscommon could use that against Galway ' scores will come'!"
Yes I would expect that alright, unlike Mayo Roscommon have the forwards to cause us problems

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 02/07/2017 10:10:46    2008790