Mayo v Derry

Replying To Belclare1:  "How do you know Comer wound him up??"
Come on man...he must have said or done something for Higgins to react. Not defending Keith, he deserved his red card. You would be very naive to think sledging does not go on and I am sure our lads are well able to give it too. Senior intercounty is not for angels.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 27/06/2017 17:24:24    2006423

Replying To Belclare1:  "How do you know Comer wound him up??"
The same way we know Santy and the tooth fairy ain't real! It's not the first time Comer has been involved in the sending-off of a Mayo player, and while the lad is a fine footballer, he's not the helpless innocent that Galway fans seem to think he is.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 27/06/2017 18:40:11    2006451

Replying To yew_tree:  "Come on man...he must have said or done something for Higgins to react. Not defending Keith, he deserved his red card. You would be very naive to think sledging does not go on and I am sure our lads are well able to give it too. Senior intercounty is not for angels."
Ye have no prove lads.. absolutely none, Comer stood his ground and had his arms up in the air, the footage shows nothing else.. Higgins and co were under huge pressure in their full back line and Keith couldnt take it...

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 28/06/2017 07:58:37    2006634

Lots of rumors around this week on the injuries front ranging from Leegan, Aidan O Se, Barrett and Cafferkey. Most worrying has been talk of Keegan gone for the year and Aidan with another long term injury.

I am not buying into the talk that injuries are that severe just yet. That said with those lads possibly out for the Derry game along with Keith Higgins suspended we may get a closer game than neutrals think.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 28/06/2017 10:34:05    2006708

Replying To Gleebo:  "The same way we know Santy and the tooth fairy ain't real! It's not the first time Comer has been involved in the sending-off of a Mayo player, and while the lad is a fine footballer, he's not the helpless innocent that Galway fans seem to think he is."
Ha ha ha so its Comers fault - ah here!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 28/06/2017 10:38:29    2006714

Replying To The_DOC:  "Ha ha ha so its Comers fault - ah here!"
He didn't say that in fairness.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 28/06/2017 11:11:52    2006726

Replying To yew_tree:  "He didn't say that in fairness."
Not directly, but that's the synthesis of the statement. Look the camera footage shows Comer standing there saying nothing with his hands in the air, it was a cheap shot my Higgins....look Comer probably did say something but IF he did then it was earlier so this was pre-mediated by Higgins which make its even more of a crazy thing to do - maybe he just had a rush of blood to the head/knee, either way its Higgins fault 100%

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 28/06/2017 13:53:39    2006840

Anyone who has watched a few Galway games knows that Comer likes to "trash talk" and also has a tendency to go down easy. However, it's no excuse for Keith's daft actions. Deserved red card. On a more important note, is this thread not meant to be about the Mayo v Derry game? Am weary enough of Derry and based on Mayo's current for we could be in for a tight one. Hopefully Mayo come through but without a functioning midfield or forward line I feel we'll struggle. Aidan not being fit is a much bigger problem than I thought it'd be.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 28/06/2017 14:21:14    2006877

Replying To pdempsey:  "Anyone who has watched a few Galway games knows that Comer likes to "trash talk" and also has a tendency to go down easy. However, it's no excuse for Keith's daft actions. Deserved red card. On a more important note, is this thread not meant to be about the Mayo v Derry game? Am weary enough of Derry and based on Mayo's current for we could be in for a tight one. Hopefully Mayo come through but without a functioning midfield or forward line I feel we'll struggle. Aidan not being fit is a much bigger problem than I thought it'd be."
Sounds like the defence will be the most disrupted from what's going around. Could be a FB line of Harrison, Vaughan, and Nally or Newcombe, and halfbacks Boyler, Durcan and Coen. Aidan's still not right after his basketball injury and may also be having problems with that groin problem which plagued him a couple of years back. Midfield should be ok if Seamie or someone else gives Tom Parsons a hand. Think Tom's been consistently good this year and last. If Cillian's gone and with no Freeman anymore, we'll be stuffed for an accurate free taker. Let's hope it's all just BS!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 28/06/2017 18:30:20    2007051

If Barton starts the starting team he did against Tyrone, It makes no sense. The team I currently think that should be starting is.

B.McKinnles
N.Keenan
B.Rodgers
Karl McKaige
D.Heavron
C.McKaige
M.Lynch
C.McAtamney
J.Keilt
E.Lynn
R.Bell
N.Loghlain
D.Tallon
E.McGuckin
S.McGuigan

As I have said before, imagine a few shock debuts or returns. A return from Christopher Bradley, Patsy Bradley, Emmet Bradley, Niall Holly etc etc etc. And a few debuts from Keelan Ferny, Ronan Bradley etc. Would be huge for Derry. Unlikely though

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 29/06/2017 01:12:31    2007215

Replying To pdempsey:  "Anyone who has watched a few Galway games knows that Comer likes to "trash talk" and also has a tendency to go down easy. However, it's no excuse for Keith's daft actions. Deserved red card. On a more important note, is this thread not meant to be about the Mayo v Derry game? Am weary enough of Derry and based on Mayo's current for we could be in for a tight one. Hopefully Mayo come through but without a functioning midfield or forward line I feel we'll struggle. Aidan not being fit is a much bigger problem than I thought it'd be."
If there's no excuse for Higgins actions, then why the precursor text, "Anyone who has watched a few Galway games knows that Comer likes to "trash talk" and also has a tendency to go down easy?"

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 29/06/2017 08:53:49    2007254

Replying To The_DOC:  "Not directly, but that's the synthesis of the statement. Look the camera footage shows Comer standing there saying nothing with his hands in the air, it was a cheap shot my Higgins....look Comer probably did say something but IF he did then it was earlier so this was pre-mediated by Higgins which make its even more of a crazy thing to do - maybe he just had a rush of blood to the head/knee, either way its Higgins fault 100%"
No, it isn't.

Higgins had to go, once you raise your arms (or in this case, knee) to an opponent, you're asking for trouble. However, bear in mind that Keith Higgins has played for Mayo since 2004, and had never previously been red carded for violent conduct (that I can remember, anyway). Bear also in mind that Comer has some previous with getting involved when he shouldn't (like a couple of Mayo players, it would have to be said).

Comer is an excellent forward with a lot of potential, but he also sails a bit close to the wind at times, and I wouldn't be surprised if that trait comes back to bite him at some point in the future.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 29/06/2017 10:27:08    2007307

Replying To The_DOC:  "If there's no excuse for Higgins actions, then why the precursor text, "Anyone who has watched a few Galway games knows that Comer likes to "trash talk" and also has a tendency to go down easy?""
None of us were on the pitch DOC, so all we know is that Higgins did something outrageous which was completely out of character and got punished correctly. Comer thankfully wasn't injured and looked fit and strong when flattening Diarmuid O'Connor with a shoulder in the back later in the game. Mayo lost and are playing Derry on Saturday, and now we're wondering how that will go.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 29/06/2017 10:28:15    2007309

Replying To oakleafersir:  "If Barton starts the starting team he did against Tyrone, It makes no sense. The team I currently think that should be starting is.

B.McKinnles
N.Keenan
B.Rodgers
Karl McKaige
D.Heavron
C.McKaige
M.Lynch
C.McAtamney
J.Keilt
E.Lynn
R.Bell
N.Loghlain
D.Tallon
E.McGuckin
S.McGuigan

As I have said before, imagine a few shock debuts or returns. A return from Christopher Bradley, Patsy Bradley, Emmet Bradley, Niall Holly etc etc etc. And a few debuts from Keelan Ferny, Ronan Bradley etc. Would be huge for Derry. Unlikely though"
Lynch at HB and no McFaul?

Seamy_Hendrix (Derry) - Posts: 47 - 29/06/2017 11:01:41    2007342

Replying To Pericles:  "None of us were on the pitch DOC, so all we know is that Higgins did something outrageous which was completely out of character and got punished correctly. Comer thankfully wasn't injured and looked fit and strong when flattening Diarmuid O'Connor with a shoulder in the back later in the game. Mayo lost and are playing Derry on Saturday, and now we're wondering how that will go."
I just cant fathom why the need for all the smart/snide remarks - plenty of Mayo incident we could underline as well but we don't.

Show some class in defeat lads, seriously.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 29/06/2017 11:27:26    2007357

Will be interesting to see what Mayo team is named with all the rumors swirling around. Then again the team named can not be paid much heed to either. Can't wait for 5pm Saturday to roll around and see if we can get the show back on the road.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 29/06/2017 12:32:13    2007395

Replying To The_DOC:  "I just cant fathom why the need for all the smart/snide remarks - plenty of Mayo incident we could underline as well but we don't.

Show some class in defeat lads, seriously."
You're the one not letting it go Doc. Nothing worse than a sore winner.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 29/06/2017 13:58:28    2007459

I smell a surprise in the air here ...Derry to win after extra time!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 29/06/2017 14:34:10    2007486

Replying To BigJohn.6_8:  "I smell a surprise in the air here ...Derry to win after extra time!"
Wonder what odds you'd get. Might be worth a fiver.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 29/06/2017 15:02:40    2007498

Replying To Pericles:  "You're the one not letting it go Doc. Nothing worse than a sore winner."
Ive wished Mayo all the best more than once on this, Im all for a strong Connacht showing in the Championship....but you are beginning to show why people don't mind seeing it when ye'r quietened

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 29/06/2017 21:38:23    2007706