Diarmuid Connolly to appeal his ban after all

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "END OF THREAD

--------------------------------

Can we all move on now?"
Amen to that.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 16/06/2017 10:48:59    2000254

Replying To realdub:  "I see this as an excellent challenge to reignite our hunger to really go and try win this 3-in-a-row.
I think we'll see added steel and not so much free flowing attacking attacking football, but a hell-bent desire to win.
Hopefully:D"
I can see it now realdub, Dublin v Tyrone allireland semifinal, the game is neck and neck going into the last 15 mins and then the stand by reff raises the board and it reads number 26 for number 12 and Connolly runs to the pitch with a full crokepark going crazy.

What I can't see is will he have an effect or not, 12 weeks outside the bubble , training on his own means he's gotta come in and play off the cuff.

Would you think Jim gavin would risk him for 15/20 mins?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/06/2017 12:23:06    2000301

Youd have to be naïve to think Diarmuid Connolly will just be sitting on his arse now for 12 weeks doing nothing.

I'd imagine Diarmuid has still been given a program now for the next few months to keep himself match fit... He may not be allowed to train with the team, and he may not be allowed any involvement in GAA related activities, But I fully, 100% expect someone in the huge Dublin back room team will be keeping him updated on what the group are working on and give him a few 1v1 sessions or something away from the collective to make sure he is ready to rock if we make it to the 27th of August.

And Diarmuid is naturally a very, very well built, fit, person. He wont come back out of shape you can be certain on that. I wouldn't be the slightest bit surprised if we make it to the semi final, to see Diarmuid start the game. If not, he will definitely get game time (this is all of course, assuming we get that far)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 16/06/2017 12:44:40    2000310

Replying To waynoI:  "Youd have to be naïve to think Diarmuid Connolly will just be sitting on his arse now for 12 weeks doing nothing.

I'd imagine Diarmuid has still been given a program now for the next few months to keep himself match fit... He may not be allowed to train with the team, and he may not be allowed any involvement in GAA related activities, But I fully, 100% expect someone in the huge Dublin back room team will be keeping him updated on what the group are working on and give him a few 1v1 sessions or something away from the collective to make sure he is ready to rock if we make it to the 27th of August.

And Diarmuid is naturally a very, very well built, fit, person. He wont come back out of shape you can be certain on that. I wouldn't be the slightest bit surprised if we make it to the semi final, to see Diarmuid start the game. If not, he will definitely get game time (this is all of course, assuming we get that far)"
I agree wayno he will have a program to work to but there is a massive difference training on you own compared to working within the team.

You'll always push yourself harder within the group, now look he's lucky he's a forward and Jim gavin could always throw him in the full forward line although he wouldn't be known as an out and out ball winner and if you stuck a tight marking cornerback to him it might be tough for him.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/06/2017 14:24:45    2000360

Replying To waynoI:  "Youd have to be naïve to think Diarmuid Connolly will just be sitting on his arse now for 12 weeks doing nothing.

And Diarmuid is naturally a very, very well built, fit, person. He wont come back out of shape you can be certain on that. I wouldn't be the slightest bit surprised if we make it to the semi final, to see Diarmuid start the game. If not, he will definitely get game time (this is all of course, assuming we get that far)"
Cant agree wayno
unless himself and philly are suddenly bff's and knocking over to each others gaffs then its hard to see him having the one v one training necessary like the rest of them.
And its no good going off training with a diff sport for the summer as none of them can replicate getting a shoulder at full pelt ball in hand off Lee Keegan or Tadhg Morley with 60 mins hard ball to your name

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/06/2017 15:00:25    2000381

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I can see it now realdub, Dublin v Tyrone allireland semifinal, the game is neck and neck going into the last 15 mins and then the stand by reff raises the board and it reads number 26 for number 12 and Connolly runs to the pitch with a full crokepark going crazy.

What I can't see is will he have an effect or not, 12 weeks outside the bubble , training on his own means he's gotta come in and play off the cuff.

Would you think Jim gavin would risk him for 15/20 mins?"
Not unless we're up shit creek without a paddle, I wouldn't!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 16/06/2017 16:05:17    2000411

If he cannot train at all for the summer, even with club then it'll be tough for him to be ready for a potential semi-final.

Now I don't know Diarmuid Connolly's work or financial situation but if I was him and it was feasible I'd be off away for the summer! Head to the airport and get away from it all!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 16/06/2017 16:37:35    2000421

The Sunday Game has become a kangaroo court and the first forum of post game GAA justice. All wrong and totally agree with Gailamh Abu. The only people who should have had a say were the officials, who noted nothing on the day.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 16/06/2017 17:28:51    2000435

Replying To realdub:  "Not unless we're up shit creek without a paddle, I wouldn't!"
I'd be thinking the same.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/06/2017 18:41:07    2000455

I think he will be involved somehow to be honest and in and around the hive, how can you actually police that its impossible, i bet he will be in "having treatment on a long term injury" or "using the gym",the GAA have no jurisdiction over a closed training camp and some of the facilities Dublin use.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/06/2017 18:49:40    2000460

Replying To TheUsername:  "I think he will be involved somehow to be honest and in and around the hive, how can you actually police that its impossible, i bet he will be in "having treatment on a long term injury" or "using the gym",the GAA have no jurisdiction over a closed training camp and some of the facilities Dublin use."
Out of interest what would be the penalty if they did catch someone training with their team when they're not supposed to be?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/06/2017 21:19:16    2000494

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Out of interest what would be the penalty if they did catch someone training with their team when they're not supposed to be?"
I have no idea mate, i would assume it would be an increased ban given the original penalty i think it would be impossible to prove though.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/06/2017 11:39:34    2000574

Replying To TheUsername:  "I have no idea mate, i would assume it would be an increased ban given the original penalty i think it would be impossible to prove though."
Of course he will continue training with the team anyone who thinks he won't our naive, any player banned at club level including managers etc will still train who's going to stop them or who's going to turn up from county board or leinster council to watch over this get a grip lads/ladies he will be fully fit and knowing whats going on if dublin reach the semi finals.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 706 - 17/06/2017 12:30:52    2000587

Replying To Yourjoking:  "Of course he will continue training with the team anyone who thinks he won't our naive, any player banned at club level including managers etc will still train who's going to stop them or who's going to turn up from county board or leinster council to watch over this get a grip lads/ladies he will be fully fit and knowing whats going on if dublin reach the semi finals."
Are training sessions closed in Dublin? I could go watch Monaghan train if I wanted, anyone could report him training,

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 17/06/2017 14:10:45    2000604

Replying To Iamlegion666:  "Are training sessions closed in Dublin? I could go watch Monaghan train if I wanted, anyone could report him training,"
Sessions are closed in more than just Dublin.
You will find that's the case in a few counties.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 17/06/2017 14:30:14    2000612

Replying To Iamlegion666:  "Are training sessions closed in Dublin? I could go watch Monaghan train if I wanted, anyone could report him training,"
Ya our training sessions are closed now but they were opened when Galvin was banned so that's how we know he didn't train with the lads.

Galvin trained with cork city at the time.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/06/2017 14:30:39    2000613

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya our training sessions are closed now but they were opened when Galvin was banned so that's how we know he didn't train with the lads.

Galvin trained with cork city at the time."
Have you cut down the trees to keep them private?

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 17/06/2017 14:57:38    2000618

Donegal will send a fella up a tree to spy

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 17/06/2017 15:02:45    2000622

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "This is a witch hunt pure and simple! I just watched the first 30 minutes of the Galway-Mayo game (I missed that part of the match on Sunday because GAAGO was having technical issues at the time). At about the 16 minute mark, Sean Armstrong clearly and deliberately puts his hand on the ref. It occurs just after Fintan O'Curraoin's sliding tackle for which he received a yellow card. A number of Galway players are pleading with the ref and Armstrong grabs the ref's arm from behind and says something to him. This "incident" received absolutely no comment from anyone. The commentators did not mention it at the time and I have seen no mention of it in the media. Why? Because it was completely trivial and most people (probably the ref included) did not even notice it. The only difference between the two incidents is that "The Sunday Game" decided to made a big deal about Connolly. All the people who are on their high horse talking about how "a rule is rule" should be petitioning for Armstrong to get the same punishment, otherwise they are complete hypocrites. (For those of you with no Gaeilge, I am a Galway man by the way)."
Well said.

The majority of fair minded unbiased posters will acknowledge that. And the ones who don't, just want Connolly and Dublin handicapped in their preparations for the rest of the season.

Farcical rules when not applied across the board consistently. If I got that type of ban for what DC did, and then told I could not play club football or even train with Club or County for 3 months I would be very tempted to say stuff this and just walk away. It would completely un-motivate me to make the sort of commitments and sacrifices players do for what is an amateur sport.

We put out lives on hold and bodies on the line for the love of the sport and then get this treatment for that reaction to a line ball decision.

Madness.

So all you posters out their who still think the punishment fits the crime well then you clearly don't play the game...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 17/06/2017 16:38:55    2000634

Replying To Fionn:  "Well said.

The majority of fair minded unbiased posters will acknowledge that. And the ones who don't, just want Connolly and Dublin handicapped in their preparations for the rest of the season.

Farcical rules when not applied across the board consistently. If I got that type of ban for what DC did, and then told I could not play club football or even train with Club or County for 3 months I would be very tempted to say stuff this and just walk away. It would completely un-motivate me to make the sort of commitments and sacrifices players do for what is an amateur sport.

We put out lives on hold and bodies on the line for the love of the sport and then get this treatment for that reaction to a line ball decision.

Madness.

So all you posters out their who still think the punishment fits the crime well then you clearly don't play the game...!"
Hi kid if Connolly didn't man handle the linesman none of this would be an issue, this has been coming for a while now what with him getting away with other on field stuff.

At the end of the day the man has put his hand up and admitted he was wrong and accepted his ban and fair play to him.

And maybe now he'll come back a better player for it as well and I for one would not be surprised and would expect him to do a Paul Galvin next year and win the player of the year .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/06/2017 18:18:19    2000650