Diarmuid Connolly to appeal his ban after all

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "So is he allowed to train with the squad while banned or not?"
No. It's a ban from ALL GAA activities

AHP (Dublin) - Posts: 323 - 14/06/2017 12:42:16    1999544

Replying To AHP:  "No. It's a ban from ALL GAA activities"
More than a 12 week ban then, in real terms. No way could any player expect to walk into a club league game at full pace, let alone an all-ireland semi final if the Dubs make it that far.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 14/06/2017 13:03:13    1999555

Appeal culture in the GAA needs to stop. As harsh a ban as 12 weeks is, it's in black and white in the rule book. Take it on the chin and move on ~PHS

Pope_has_spoken (Dublin) - Posts: 138 - 14/06/2017 13:12:49    1999558

It's a bit mad suspended players are not allowed to train with their squads, surely a suspension of any degree is punishment enough for a player, three months away from inter county championship collective training would set a player back so much.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1913 - 14/06/2017 13:17:20    1999560

Replying To AHP:  "Exactly, as Jinxie also pointed out last night's appeal was only the first step in the process, and it was never in a position to overturn the ban, simply review if the incident took place. It will be at the third stage of the appeals process that a decision will finally be made one way or the other. This is perhaps the most frustrating aspect of the GAAs disciplinary machinery. There are so many layers to get through before a ruling is eventually made that from the outside it looks as though players or County boards are ignoring or belittling the likes of the cccc, when in fact they are forced to go through all the various steps of the appeals process before anyone makes a decision."
I don't know why we need these in between committees, just have a DRA style body and go directly to them. Let them make one single final decision and not drag every issue out for weeks. This will mostly likely end up at the DRA's door anyway. Everything in between is just a waste of time.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 14/06/2017 13:50:39    1999581

I didn't realize a ban means you can't train with the team, seems very harsh. Is it the same for every type of ban? Say you get a 2-week suspension, does that mean you can't train with the team or is it just for particular offences?

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 14/06/2017 15:09:13    1999618

Replying To kildare73:  "I don't know why we need these in between committees, just have a DRA style body and go directly to them. Let them make one single final decision and not drag every issue out for weeks. This will mostly likely end up at the DRA's door anyway. Everything in between is just a waste of time."
This.

You cannot condemn anyone from using the appeals process as laid out. It's THERE to be used. If the current process is not deemed fit for purpose, then yes, redesign it. I don't think there are is anyone on this forum, or in wider GAA circles, who would not appreciate a quick, decisive and consistent disciplinary and appeals process.

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 14/06/2017 15:12:35    1999621

Replying To Jaden:  "This.

You cannot condemn anyone from using the appeals process as laid out. It's THERE to be used. If the current process is not deemed fit for purpose, then yes, redesign it. I don't think there are is anyone on this forum, or in wider GAA circles, who would not appreciate a quick, decisive and consistent disciplinary and appeals process."
You misread what I am saying. I'm NOT condemning anybody for using the appeals process as is. Everyone is perfectly entitled to do that. I'm merely saying that is too multi layered, too drawn out and too much time pass before a definitive decision is made. The DRA seems to have final say, so why not cut out everything in between and go directly to them or a body constructed close to that model and let them adjudicate and make a final binding decision. The present process is too cumbersome but by all means, use it while it's there.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 14/06/2017 15:29:02    1999626

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Hill
They are two different situations.
Kerrigan put his hand on his shoulder in a non aggressive way.
Connolly aggressively marched over, Shouting and pushed his hand into the linesman.
You see what Kerrigan done all the time. You are about to get a yellow card and you try to influence the ref by putting a hand on the shoulder as if he's your best mate, make out as if you done nothing wrong even though you and the ref know know fine rightly."
We either have a rule or we don't and the rule is you can't put a hand on the official is that not minor interference aswell?
It's like saying it's not verbal abuse unless you use bad language, like come on.
The whole thing is rotten here as Murphy gets off his red card no even mention of his verbal towards the linesman so he gets off Scott free. So it's now ok to say what you like to an official ? The rules seem to be made up as they go along

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 14/06/2017 22:40:57    1999761

Replying To Barnowl94:  "Incorrect. Now the appeal goes to the CAC and if it fails there it moves on to the DRA.If he's still banned after the DRA they may even go to the courts.
The GAA disciplinary process really does leave a lot to be desired ."
The purpose of CAC and DRA is to stop people going to courts. They put in place a system robust enough that no court will listen to an appeal.
If you go through the full process, are still not happy, you're case won't have a leg to stand on in the courts.

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 14/06/2017 22:56:02    1999768

Replying To hill16no1man:  "We either have a rule or we don't and the rule is you can't put a hand on the official is that not minor interference aswell?
It's like saying it's not verbal abuse unless you use bad language, like come on.
The whole thing is rotten here as Murphy gets off his red card no even mention of his verbal towards the linesman so he gets off Scott free. So it's now ok to say what you like to an official ? The rules seem to be made up as they go along"
The problem with most GAA rules is they are open to interpretation because they are poorly written. For example a 12 week ban is just that even if the player has no matches!! Then its from all GAA competition and activity, hurling, training, coaching, handball, probably fundraising - are these people for real! where is the natural justice in that? Absolutely ridculous that a "match ban" actually means a "GAA suspension" - where is Joe Brolly and legal books when they are needed. Now the actual incident no officials sanctioned Connolly on field of play - but on "mature reflection"/Post match review or maybe just listening to the radio the incident gets written into match report, the whole process is screwed and. I really wish a proper legal action (outside of the GAA) was tested in the courts because this is just not right. It makes a farce of the real issue of abuse of officials by leaving the same officials open to ridicule. The GAA rules and procedures should not be a black art but should facilitate fairness, consistency and at the heart of that should be natural justice, this is a joke.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 15/06/2017 08:31:49    1999806

Saw Lee Keegan being asked was it being more highlighted because it was Diarmuid Connolly and jaysus but the lad didn't know where to be be looking.
The GAA is a complete laughing stock when you see all this carry on and the drawn out appeals process that is available to players.Meetiings in the middle of the night ,it's like some sort of mafia coming together.
As for fellas saying you either have a rule or you don't , that's just a smoke screen.
If a player stumbles and puts a hand on the ref to steady himself is that then a ban.
It's not, it's a completely innocent act and the ref knows the manner in which it took place. A bit of cop on wouldn't go astray. Murphy should have been carded and reported for his abuse also and that's just more of the craic that is doing the GAA no good at all.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 15/06/2017 08:52:54    1999816

Replying To Green_Gold:  "I didn't realize a ban means you can't train with the team, seems very harsh. Is it the same for every type of ban? Say you get a 2-week suspension, does that mean you can't train with the team or is it just for particular offences?"
Most playing suspensions are game based and not time based. Game based suspensions are for the same code, same level and in the same competition. Technically you could get sent off playing for the 2nd team and jump across and play for the 1st team on the pitch beside (if it happened to be going on!!!!)

Yes, you can continue to train, play the other code and other competitions while serving your game bases suspension.

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 15/06/2017 08:56:55    1999818

This is a witch hunt pure and simple! I just watched the first 30 minutes of the Galway-Mayo game (I missed that part of the match on Sunday because GAAGO was having technical issues at the time). At about the 16 minute mark, Sean Armstrong clearly and deliberately puts his hand on the ref. It occurs just after Fintan O'Curraoin's sliding tackle for which he received a yellow card. A number of Galway players are pleading with the ref and Armstrong grabs the ref's arm from behind and says something to him. This "incident" received absolutely no comment from anyone. The commentators did not mention it at the time and I have seen no mention of it in the media. Why? Because it was completely trivial and most people (probably the ref included) did not even notice it. The only difference between the two incidents is that "The Sunday Game" decided to made a big deal about Connolly. All the people who are on their high horse talking about how "a rule is rule" should be petitioning for Armstrong to get the same punishment, otherwise they are complete hypocrites. (For those of you with no Gaeilge, I am a Galway man by the way).

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 15/06/2017 15:47:41    2000000

Diarmuid Connolly has dropped his appeal against the 12-week suspension handed down to him by the CCCC, Dublin county board have confirmed this afternoon.

It means the St Vincent's clubman will miss up to three matches in this summer's championship for the All-Ireland champions, having been handed the ban for a 'minor physical inference' with linesman Ciaran Brannigan in their Leinster SFC quarter-final victory over Carlow earlier this month.

The 29-year-old's ban elapses on August 26th - a day before the All-Ireland semi-finals take place.

Diarmuid Connolly and Dublin GAA have decided not to appeal the decision of the Central Hearings Committee to the Central Appeals Committee
- Dublin GAA (@DubGAAOfficial) June 15, 2017

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 15/06/2017 16:32:51    2000018

END OF THREAD

--------------------------------

Can we all move on now?

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 15/06/2017 16:42:32    2000021

When Connolly plays well Dublin play well and it's no coincidence that Dublin's performances have dipped this past while as Connelly's form and focus have been off.
I can understand Connolly feeling frustrated as opponents target and wind him up but great players rise above this. Peter Canavan, Colm Cooper, Stevie O'Neill etc all faced this as well but didn't by and large lose their focus. Diarmuid needs to refreshen and refocus his discipline, he is one of the few players many of us would pay into watch and the game needs skillful ball players like him. This is not anti Connolly or anti Dublin, it's common sense and the desire for a level playing field.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 15/06/2017 17:00:33    2000029

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "END OF THREAD

--------------------------------

Can we all move on now?"
Totally agreed he was guilty in the first place and a disgrace he appealed it and only did it as he got off in the all ireland semi final when he was again 100% guilty for striking, ( one of the biggest most disgracful decisions I've seen ) but i have to say its a shame we won't see this top class player play until August.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 706 - 16/06/2017 00:04:18    2000173

I see this as an excellent challenge to reignite our hunger to really go and try win this 3-in-a-row.
I think we'll see added steel and not so much free flowing attacking attacking football, but a hell-bent desire to win.
Hopefully:D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 16/06/2017 01:09:12    2000179

The parameters of the challenge have been set.

Just up to us now, its our way.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/06/2017 09:39:11    2000223