Are Galway now better than Mayo?

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Galway probably have the stronger panel anyway. Kevin Walsh was very shrewd over the winter. He brought back Meehan, Armstrong and couple of other lads who were fed up after previous management teams.

So he has a panel full of players with championship experience. Danny Cummins was one of his best forwards last year and he was a sub yesterday. I'd rather have him as my number 25 than Evan Regan. In general Galway have the better forwards than Mayo. That Galway full back line won't be so naive this year in Croke park and they will be better protected too.

I wouldn't write Mayo off just yet. Losing Higgins was a huge blow. If they showed some composure in injury time they would have snatched a draw.

It's like 1998 all over again. Mayo running out of steam after some heartbreaking near misses. Galway coming through with a young exciting team that also has some battle hardened veterans."
It's not at all like '98 imo. I'd say three to five of the current Galway squad would have got a look in on the '98 winning team, and as little as two or three of the current squad would have had a shot at enhancing the 2001 Galway all-ireland winning side. There's clearly a gulf in class there. It's being bridged gradually by some of the younger players arriving on the scene at the moment.

The current squad are doing outstandingly well in recent times under KW, and the bonus for Galway now is that the u21 and minor stocks seem to be flusher than they've been for awhile. How much comes through to improve the current team in the medium term remains to be seen. Galway are a top8 side now, but haven't proven to be top4 material yet. I don't think Mayo produced 'top4' form in Connacht in 2016 or 2017, and that's why we caught them both times imo.

Comparing Galway 2016-2017 to Galway 1998-2001 is a bit like comparing Tyrone 2016-2017 with Tyrone 2003-2008. In other words, there's no comparison.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 12/06/2017 18:39:47    1998682

Better forwards yes, better team no, pair them in an AI Final in September and I'd lump the mortgage on Mayo!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 12/06/2017 18:48:20    1998691

Replying To MesAmis:  "Hard to say. On the one hand Galway have now beaten Mayo the last two times they've played in Championship so it seems the obvious answer is that Galway have overtaken their neighbours.

On the other hand though I wouldn't be as sure. Mayo are still a quality side and played much of the game yesterday with 14 men.

As a Dublin supporter if you asked me who would I rather the Dubs play in a big game in August/September I'd rather be coming up against Galway than Mayo to be honest."
have to agree with you. If Galway meet Dublin in semi for example, this is bonus territory for us. Mayo on the other hand need the win more and would be more dangerous for the Dubs. I also believe that Galway performance yesterday was grand for 60 odd minutes but would not beat big blue.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1675 - 12/06/2017 19:29:29    1998705

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "That's 2 in a row now. Mayo have still won f*ckall of note outside of Connacht so are Galway now ahead of Mayo?"
Yes

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1197 - 12/06/2017 19:31:26    1998706

Saw them in Rd 5 of the league in navan and they were very average at best....must have done alot of work in last 2 months

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 891 - 12/06/2017 19:32:13    1998707

i think by the end of this summer Galway will be one of the top 4 teams that's if they are not already as we speak ..

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 12/06/2017 19:41:18    1998716

Mayo have quality all over their squad. I think that a number of factors are effecting their Connacht form, the safety net that is the back door, they've won Connacht 5 times in the last 6 years and the novelty may be wearing off and the uncertainty about the management, team selection, player power etc. may be leaving some players with a grudge. If Galway v Mayo was a best of 3 I'd fancy Mayo to take it. It's a case of the old dog for the hard road and I expect to see their tried and tested squad in the QFs. Galway on the otherhand may struggle just now outside of Connacht.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 12/06/2017 19:41:45    1998717

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "It's not at all like '98 imo. I'd say three to five of the current Galway squad would have got a look in on the '98 winning team, and as little as two or three of the current squad would have had a shot at enhancing the 2001 Galway all-ireland winning side. There's clearly a gulf in class there. It's being bridged gradually by some of the younger players arriving on the scene at the moment.

The current squad are doing outstandingly well in recent times under KW, and the bonus for Galway now is that the u21 and minor stocks seem to be flusher than they've been for awhile. How much comes through to improve the current team in the medium term remains to be seen. Galway are a top8 side now, but haven't proven to be top4 material yet. I don't think Mayo produced 'top4' form in Connacht in 2016 or 2017, and that's why we caught them both times imo.

Comparing Galway 2016-2017 to Galway 1998-2001 is a bit like comparing Tyrone 2016-2017 with Tyrone 2003-2008. In other words, there's no comparison."
Time will tell. I think this is a very good Galway team with bags of ability. They showed some serious physicality too.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 12/06/2017 20:28:02    1998733

Galway could very well end up in an All Ireland final this year.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 12/06/2017 20:49:30    1998737

Nothing much between them in my opinion.Mayo could easily have won yesterday but even if they did its clear that their old failings are still there.
I'ld be more optimistic for Galway football than Mayo, Galway are on the up Mayo on the slide.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 12/06/2017 20:57:44    1998743

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Saw them in Rd 5 of the league in navan and they were very average at best....must have done alot of work in last 2 months"
WAS thinking similar, if Galway are top 4, then what is Meath? Top 2??? Nah. I would love to draw Galway in qualifiers or last 8.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/06/2017 21:01:32    1998746

Replying To salvador:  "Galway could very well end up in an All Ireland final this year."
We're expecting a tough game from your boys, who I'm sure will be out for revenge for 2016. (Provided you account for Leitrim first, of course)

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 497 - 12/06/2017 21:14:27    1998752

Replying To royaldunne:  "WAS thinking similar, if Galway are top 4, then what is Meath? Top 2??? Nah. I would love to draw Galway in qualifiers or last 8."
We were missing our goto man in Navan Damian Comer. On any given day he is likely to do more damage than any Royal forward including biggy. Both Meath and Galway are improving in fairness although I think we have more overall quality. On the thread we won yesterday playing average. Of course we could have lost but one thing is for sure we won't be bullied by any team or lacking in the physical stakes, an area we have come up short on in recent yrs.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 12/06/2017 21:19:17    1998755

Replying To royaldunne:  "WAS thinking similar, if Galway are top 4, then what is Meath? Top 2??? Nah. I would love to draw Galway in qualifiers or last 8."
We would love to draw ye too.

bud14 (Galway) - Posts: 296 - 12/06/2017 21:34:11    1998765

Replying To salvador:  "Galway could very well end up in an All Ireland final this year."
A quarter final against probably Tyrone or Donegal two established Div one teams and semi final against probably Kerry a top two team or Mayo in a possible rematch gunning for revenge = little or no chance of Galway reaching this years All Ireland final.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 12/06/2017 21:46:31    1998769

Replying To bud14:  "We would love to draw ye too."
Over recent times Galway have a very poor record v Meath. Not having a pop, Galway are improvement as are Meath, but I don't think either are within a asses roar of been serious all ire contenders, yet

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/06/2017 21:51:06    1998770

As players or spectators?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 12/06/2017 23:36:11    1998831

Galway V Meath in a championship match? Galway all the way!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 13/06/2017 01:42:35    1998843

Division 2.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2224 - 13/06/2017 02:40:21    1998846

Yeah in the hurling.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 13/06/2017 03:04:10    1998850