Antrim hurling RIP

Antrim are a proud GAA county with a great history and a great future. Ignore the poster who started this.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1671 - 11/06/2017 11:49:00    1997843

The Antrim man who started this is obviously feeling rock bottom and I can sympathise with that. But Antrim hurling won't die and you must give credit to Carlow, highly underrated side in my view

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 11/06/2017 12:04:10    1997850

Exactly, full credit to Carlow. Sometimes teams are overwhelmed on the pitch regardless how talented or experienced they might be.

Antrim players had that awful feeling of the game slipping away from them beyond reach. Full credit to Carlow on that.

The qualifier group level arguably should be 8 teams in 2 groups if that can be slotted into the format debate. While initially a qualifier group of 4 was appropriate, the current hurling climate would suggest more should be involved at that level for it to be more vibrant.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7871 - 11/06/2017 13:40:32    1997871

It's tough on Antrim losing 2 consecutive CRC in a row. I remember Kerry been in a similar situation but they kept coming back.
Carlow are a good team but I think Antrim need to bring more players through the U21 ranks and they need games at those grades to improve. Trashings in minor quarter finals and U21 semi finals is of no use to them.
The buck stops there and they need to get into a competitive championship to build for the future.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 11/06/2017 14:03:10    1997877

Ulsterman is right. Conceding 5-23 to a mediocre Carlow team is shocking.

M Lyster (Antrim) - Posts: 463 - 11/06/2017 15:22:44    1997898

Antrim are masters of their own downfall, all they want is their annual day in the sun for the pathetic plaudits of 'keep it going up their lads ' etc......every progressive attempt to do anything different to support hurling ACROSS Ulster and Antrim will always object as it takes the focus off them......

Look at the way they will pull all their players to play likes of Down or Derry in minors /u21 etc yet come to all Ireland q finals and half the same players don't even turn up as job was done stopped any other county developing but no real interest in testing themselves.....

Fair play to Carlow great county who have been making massive efforts and deserve their place in qualifier group next year.....but I remember both Down and Kerry among others winning the Christy Ring yet not being allowed into the Mc Carthy cup but now Antrim get promoted without even winning it......you would swear Sambo was on the HDC or something influencing the structures...oh wait....

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 11/06/2017 16:20:03    1997916

Replying To Whammo86:  "Congrats Carlow. Good luck in the qualifiers.

It wasn't all bad this season from Antrim by any means. Promotion to 1B should help us progress.

It looks like we'll be in the development group next season in championship, is more opportunity to play at a good standard. I do feel this to be unfair on Meath and there should be a playoff between the 2 teams for that final spot. May not be feasible now but between league and championship it could be fit in.

If we'd won I think everyone would be looking at this season as being fantastic.

Our county board are not completely inept like some would have you believe. They run a very strong program of club games in both codes and at underage level.

There are challenges that probably hold us back at intercounty level. I don't want a pity parade by naming them. They won't be fixed overnight and they won't be fixed with the sort of attitude the OP has shown.

I also hate when supporters question the mentality of players. You don't deserve to, these are the guys who have put in the hard work to get where they are. Sometimes things don't go right for them on the day, that doesn't mean their dedication and will to win should be brought into question."
With respect that's bulls**t. Many of the players AREN'T trying their best. They are mentally and physically very weak and collapse at the slightest hint of pressure. It's happening time....... and time........and time again. It's Groundhogs Day with Antrim, they are so predictable. Instead of mollycoddling them they need a hard dose of reality drummed into them. Hurling and football at the top level is tough and demanding, if they aren't prepared for that ship them out or withdraw from competitions.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 11/06/2017 17:13:11    1997947

Replying To Ulsterman:  "With respect that's bulls**t. Many of the players AREN'T trying their best. They are mentally and physically very weak and collapse at the slightest hint of pressure. It's happening time....... and time........and time again. It's Groundhogs Day with Antrim, they are so predictable. Instead of mollycoddling them they need a hard dose of reality drummed into them. Hurling and football at the top level is tough and demanding, if they aren't prepared for that ship them out or withdraw from competitions."
Nonsense

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 290 - 11/06/2017 17:42:56    1997953

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "Antrim are masters of their own downfall, all they want is their annual day in the sun for the pathetic plaudits of 'keep it going up their lads ' etc......every progressive attempt to do anything different to support hurling ACROSS Ulster and Antrim will always object as it takes the focus off them......

Look at the way they will pull all their players to play likes of Down or Derry in minors /u21 etc yet come to all Ireland q finals and half the same players don't even turn up as job was done stopped any other county developing but no real interest in testing themselves.....

Fair play to Carlow great county who have been making massive efforts and deserve their place in qualifier group next year.....but I remember both Down and Kerry among others winning the Christy Ring yet not being allowed into the Mc Carthy cup but now Antrim get promoted without even winning it......you would swear Sambo was on the HDC or something influencing the structures...oh wait...."
Is this the best you can do?

Some very sour grapes in there.

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 290 - 11/06/2017 17:44:21    1997954

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "Antrim are masters of their own downfall, all they want is their annual day in the sun for the pathetic plaudits of 'keep it going up their lads ' etc......every progressive attempt to do anything different to support hurling ACROSS Ulster and Antrim will always object as it takes the focus off them......

Fair play to Carlow great county who have been making massive efforts and deserve their place in qualifier group next year.....but I remember both Down and Kerry among others winning the Christy Ring yet not being allowed into the Mc Carthy cup but now Antrim get promoted without even winning it......you would swear Sambo was on the HDC or something influencing the structures...oh wait...."
totally agree, but again down wouldn't compete in an ulster league or antrim to allow the rest of the counties clubs to play against supposed better teams.

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 11/06/2017 17:45:07    1997956

Replying To Glensboy:  "Nonsense"
There are none so blind as those who cannot see.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 11/06/2017 17:52:06    1997961

Replying To Glensboy:  "Nonsense"
Glensboy your inferiority complex post paying tribute to everyone and his dog for promoting our national games in this county says it all. Keep on keeping on!! Grow a set, call a spade a spade man think for yourself. Take a look at our county from top to bottom in an honest light. If you can't see it then you're part of the problem, but don't come on here trying to correct me when I call it as it is.

oso (Antrim) - Posts: 168 - 11/06/2017 17:53:17    1997963

Ulsterman, you call Antrim players bottlers yet you come on here after every defeat both at club and county level to call for a withdrawal from the game which is an even bigger example of bottling it imo. Not having county teams will mean there is no platform for young players and we will lose every younster with an interest in team sport to soccer and rugby, then what?

Some of the points you make are indeed relevant. I agree that the division between certain clubs is ridiculous. Its not as if club rivalries in Kilkenny and Tipp are anything less that ferocious yet the players are man enough to put it aside for the pride of their county when they come calling. In Antrim, this one doesn't play if that one does which is extremely childish and does show a lack of character. Some of our top players waltz about like superstars who suit themselves which is embarrassing when compared to the committed heros from successful counties.

We need to be pragmatic. 'Saffron Vision' needs to listen to ideas from top GAA people instead of pushing them aside like the previous county board did. Investment needs to come from hq, it doesnt reflect well on them that Dublin gets the investment it gets while Irelands second city gets next to nothing from them.

Congrats to Carlow. They deserve plenty of praise for tallying up a scoreline like that, regardless of opposition. As for Antrim, I feel the pain like i have many a days walking away from bad results and yes I do ask wjere do we go from here tome and again but quitting is not an option nor should it ever be.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 11/06/2017 17:57:12    1997967

Replying To oso:  "Glensboy your inferiority complex post paying tribute to everyone and his dog for promoting our national games in this county says it all. Keep on keeping on!! Grow a set, call a spade a spade man think for yourself. Take a look at our county from top to bottom in an honest light. If you can't see it then you're part of the problem, but don't come on here trying to correct me when I call it as it is."
Lol, 'inferiority complex'.

We won the league. Sure yesterday was a setback but the lads will dust down and go again.

If you translate the sentiments in your original post to club level. The GAA would be dead. However it is not and never will be, and I know dozens of good people in Antrim GAA, including myself, who love what they do.

But you just carry on criticising and leave the hard, enjoyable work, to the rest of us.

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 290 - 11/06/2017 18:17:19    1997985

I'm always a bit wary of these threads. You don't want to come on and pile on to Antrim hurling, because you're unlikely going to say anything that Antrim hurling supporters don't already know, and you can end up (maybe unintentionally) kicking people while they're down.

But I think it'd be just as bad to come on and plámás Antrim/Ulster hurling people, with the old "ye've great little hurlers, ye're day will come, etc, etc" stock clichés. If everyone is being honest, that was a poor display from Antrim yesterday. Like most people, I genuinely want Antrim at the top tier in hurling, so its just so frustrating to see them, if not completely going backwards, not progressing. And when you see what's going on with the U21 team, who I believe still don't have anyone to manage them (has that changed?), it doesn't inspire confidence in future improvement. Maybe I'm wrong, and there's things happening at underage within the county that I don't know of. I hope that's the case.

What probably frustrates/confuses outsiders, is the potential that's appears to be there, that seems to be wasted at inter-county level (and this may be where the stock clichéd encouragement comes from). Antrim u21's beating a good Wexford side in 2012. Loughgiel winning the club AI the year before. Ruairi Og beating Sarsfields to make the final last year. To the outsider, that seems to indicate potential for success, if the will was there. I know Antrim hurlers are isolated, and the provincial system doesn't help them. But still.

That said, getting back to 1b was a positive step, that should prove fruitful. It just must be soul destroying for Antrim supporters, to see them get beaten so comprehensively yesterday, by a team they beat 2 months ago to achieve that promotion.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 11/06/2017 18:42:54    1997997

Replying To Glensboy:  "Is this the best you can do?

Some very sour grapes in there."
Nothing sour about it but a bit of reality...........ye criticise Dublin for getting money from to but forget to say a lot if the clubs in Dublin are providing at least partial funding for their games development officers, what are Antrim doing, nothing but expecting Croker to fork out more money to them sure didn't they get 100k already what was that spent on????

Antrim complain about being excluded from hurling top table yet try their best to do the same to every other northern county......there are as many hurling clubs in Antrim as Clare but it's everyone else's fault but antrim's for their demise, maybe it's time for some self reflection

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 11/06/2017 19:07:58    1998015

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "Nothing sour about it but a bit of reality...........ye criticise Dublin for getting money from to but forget to say a lot if the clubs in Dublin are providing at least partial funding for their games development officers, what are Antrim doing, nothing but expecting Croker to fork out more money to them sure didn't they get 100k already what was that spent on????

Antrim complain about being excluded from hurling top table yet try their best to do the same to every other northern county......there are as many hurling clubs in Antrim as Clare but it's everyone else's fault but antrim's for their demise, maybe it's time for some self reflection"
Who is blaming everyone else?

There are undoubtedly problems for all Ulster hurling teams being so isolated from the hurling heartlands, That's a fact. And if you talk to Ulster club and county teams, sure we could all do with more funding.

Do you honestly think the way to improve Ulster hurling is to ship 20 points to a decent Antrim team, on their day?

What i do know is that there are many many dedicated people in Ulster hurling who, with some more central support and a proper development plan, could improve the lot of the teams they represent.

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 290 - 11/06/2017 19:31:50    1998031

Replying To Ulsterman:  "With respect that's bulls**t. Many of the players AREN'T trying their best. They are mentally and physically very weak and collapse at the slightest hint of pressure. It's happening time....... and time........and time again. It's Groundhogs Day with Antrim, they are so predictable. Instead of mollycoddling them they need a hard dose of reality drummed into them. Hurling and football at the top level is tough and demanding, if they aren't prepared for that ship them out or withdraw from competitions."
Can't agree with that.

Antrim have put in a huge effort since last year to improve and beat carlow in the league final.

I would put Antrim ahead of Westmeath at the moment and they are the fittest they have been in 4 years.

Carlow are a serious hurling team who have beaten Dublin u21 twice in the last four years and our minor team reached the leinster final a few years before that.

Antrim need to compete at senior level to improve as do Meath and the gaa should make this happen.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 11/06/2017 20:02:18    1998053

Replying To Marlon_JD:  "I'm always a bit wary of these threads. You don't want to come on and pile on to Antrim hurling, because you're unlikely going to say anything that Antrim hurling supporters don't already know, and you can end up (maybe unintentionally) kicking people while they're down.

But I think it'd be just as bad to come on and plámás Antrim/Ulster hurling people, with the old "ye've great little hurlers, ye're day will come, etc, etc" stock clichés. If everyone is being honest, that was a poor display from Antrim yesterday. Like most people, I genuinely want Antrim at the top tier in hurling, so its just so frustrating to see them, if not completely going backwards, not progressing. And when you see what's going on with the U21 team, who I believe still don't have anyone to manage them (has that changed?), it doesn't inspire confidence in future improvement. Maybe I'm wrong, and there's things happening at underage within the county that I don't know of. I hope that's the case.

What probably frustrates/confuses outsiders, is the potential that's appears to be there, that seems to be wasted at inter-county level (and this may be where the stock clichéd encouragement comes from). Antrim u21's beating a good Wexford side in 2012. Loughgiel winning the club AI the year before. Ruairi Og beating Sarsfields to make the final last year. To the outsider, that seems to indicate potential for success, if the will was there. I know Antrim hurlers are isolated, and the provincial system doesn't help them. But still.

That said, getting back to 1b was a positive step, that should prove fruitful. It just must be soul destroying for Antrim supporters, to see them get beaten so comprehensively yesterday, by a team they beat 2 months ago to achieve that promotion."
I don't think it's kicking us when we are down.

I think you talk a lot of sense.

There's a tradition of Antrim hurling that means hopefully there is some potential there but it's not going to be realised overnight.

I can't see us being anything but second tier for the time being.

We don't have the underage structure. Clubs are doing a good job but the schools game is shocking.

If you look at the Dublin model the clubs are working in tandem with the schools to make sure children are getting a proper exposure to Gaelic games. That isn't the case at all in Antrim for either code.

We also just don't have enough coaches.

I still hate the attitude of some on here though. Give up, that's ridiculous.

Our players are probably just not good enough, that's not a reason to attack their character. Their season was not the disaster you lads made it out to be. Things are looking a whole lot better than what happened last year in the league first London. I also think people just make such rash judgements off the back of 1 game. They beat Carlow twice this year, they were the 2 best teams around their level this year.

If Antrim are in the qualifier group next year I think we will be very competitive.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4238 - 11/06/2017 21:00:10    1998121

Replying To carlovia:  "Can't agree with that.

Antrim have put in a huge effort since last year to improve and beat carlow in the league final.

I would put Antrim ahead of Westmeath at the moment and they are the fittest they have been in 4 years.

Carlow are a serious hurling team who have beaten Dublin u21 twice in the last four years and our minor team reached the leinster final a few years before that.

Antrim need to compete at senior level to improve as do Meath and the gaa should make this happen."
Carlow beat Dublin in the U21 hurling in 2013, when was the second time?

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 11/06/2017 21:02:08    1998122