Cork football - has it come to this

Replying To bennybunny:  "Kerry are capable of playing the game at a much higher intensity than Cork.

If they were to reach somewhere close to that level then Cork will get hammered.

They won't need to get to that level. They will play within themselves and still win.

Hammering Cork might not suit them. Winning by a few points might be better for them. I don't know.

I do know that the niceties being spoken from 'concerned' Kerry folk means it is no longer a real rivalry. It is more Wenger/Ferguson 2010 than Wenger/Ferguson 2004."
That's a perfect summary of what's going on here. Kerry could decide to put a stake into the heart of Cork football or to let them garner an air of respectability by only beating them by a few points.

I've seen first hand what taking constant hammerings from your main provincial rival can do to the moral and belief of players. It's very hard for teams to recover for a qualifier match after that. It's completely humiliating and makes lads want to give up the game.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 11/06/2017 11:15:32    1997826

Replying To TheHermit:  "Ziggy Cork are always dangerous, I won't be taking them for granted if we win today!"
ask the dubs if meath are always dangerous and they will laugh at that. cork in a similar boat to meath,although meath are a better side than cork now.
it is a pity because i like to see the traditional teams doing well.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 11/06/2017 11:33:39    1997834

Replying To TheHermit:  "Their in the Munster final, and they are stilll more than capable of big performance in front of their own. Kerry or Clare will have a fight on their hands in 3 weeks"
They really aren't capable of beating Kerry. Not even close.

This is the poorest Cork team I've ever seen.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 11/06/2017 12:56:04    1997861

Kerry Cork games always take on a life of there own, if there's one thing that'll motivate a cork player its the sight of a Kerry jersey .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts:5290 - 10/06/2017 22:00:55

The only motivation for Cork now is to avoid the humiliation of Kerry opening up the new Park by putting 20+ points on Cork.

Kerry's biggest challenge to winning Munster will be in Ennis. Win there and they're in the quarter final.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 11/06/2017 12:59:51    1997862

Replying To ziggy32001:  "ask the dubs if meath are always dangerous and they will laugh at that. cork in a similar boat to meath,although meath are a better side than cork now.
it is a pity because i like to see the traditional teams doing well."
One champ win against Louth and you suddenly put yourself on a high pedestal being better than other teams. Your only close reason to suggest this would be matches against Cork. Last one in the league was a draw when Cork fell asleep and let you back in. We have just beaten an AI semi finalist, who have you beaten?

Anyway I'm under no illusions as to the quality or lack of it in this Cork team, but I wouldn't go around making statements like you just did after one half decent day out.

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 11/06/2017 17:05:02    1997943

So the new PUC won't be ready for either Munster final. That's disappointing I was very curious to have a gawk at it, will the game be put in Killarney now I wonder or will they opt for Thurles or Limerick?

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/06/2017 13:16:45    1998446

Replying To TheHermit:  "So the new PUC won't be ready for either Munster final. That's disappointing I was very curious to have a gawk at it, will the game be put in Killarney now I wonder or will they opt for Thurles or Limerick?"
Game moved to Killarney that's the agreement.
I'm delighted, far better atmosphere, more colour, more cork fans and a savage session!

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 12/06/2017 13:25:06    1998451

Replying To westkerry:  "Game moved to Killarney that's the agreement.
I'm delighted, far better atmosphere, more colour, more cork fans and a savage session!"
Jesus WestKerry we will be playing in PUC so for the next 5 years on account of all this!! We will be sick of it come 2020!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/06/2017 13:38:59    1998457

Just as well.

They don't want to open the new Park with a humiliation for Cork GAA.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 12/06/2017 14:10:21    1998469

Replying To TheHermit:  "Shocking lack of respect for Cork football around here, that county has done far more in the game than most of ye combined.

Can't believe I actually just stood up for Cork football, I feel dirty..."
Not really a lack of respect Hermit, you can give credit to their overall record while still acknowledging the current side is basically there to make up the numbers.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 12/06/2017 14:23:13    1998484

Not really a lack of respect Hermit, you can give credit to their overall record while still acknowledging the current side is basically there to make up the numbers.
MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts:1815 - 12/06/2017 14:23:13

Exactly.

Patronising comments are much more disrespectful imo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 12/06/2017 14:46:59    1998512

Replying To BaldyBadger:  "One champ win against Louth and you suddenly put yourself on a high pedestal being better than other teams. Your only close reason to suggest this would be matches against Cork. Last one in the league was a draw when Cork fell asleep and let you back in. We have just beaten an AI semi finalist, who have you beaten?

Anyway I'm under no illusions as to the quality or lack of it in this Cork team, but I wouldn't go around making statements like you just did after one half decent day out."
I don't think he's trying to say Meath are good. In fact he's actually saying the opposite. That things have sunk so low that Dublin don't fear us anymore which is true. The same situation looks like it could materialise between Kerry and Cork, hopefully not though.

As to Meath being better than Cork, I couldn't say. I would say that both counties are much of a muchness and won't be winning anything anytime soon.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 12/06/2017 15:15:13    1998534

Replying To MesAmis:  "Just as well.

They don't want to open the new Park with a humiliation for Cork GAA."
This isn't the Leinster Championship were teams just roll over and take a 15 point defeat in Croke Park, we will be made work very hard to win like the Clare game yesterday

KerryAnimal37 (Kerry) - Posts: 20 - 12/06/2017 19:47:06    1998718

For the first time in many a year I wont be going to a Kerry-Cork Munster final.
I will find myself a nice watering hole in Cork and enjoy a few pints to watch the match.
Kerry by 10 if they put their mind to it.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 14/06/2017 15:06:49    1999617

Replying To woops:  "For the first time in many a year I wont be going to a Kerry-Cork Munster final.
I will find myself a nice watering hole in Cork and enjoy a few pints to watch the match.
Kerry by 10 if they put their mind to it."
Larry Tompkins Woops, the rest of em wont even show it!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 14/06/2017 16:42:54    1999656

Replying To KerryAnimal37:  "This isn't the Leinster Championship were teams just roll over and take a 15 point defeat in Croke Park, we will be made work very hard to win like the Clare game yesterday"
Fair play to you for setting up an account to defend your bitter rivals' honour. Nothing remotely suss about this.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 14/06/2017 16:59:44    1999663

All 4 Munster championship games have been competitive. Kerry are rightly favourites based on recent league and championship form. It won't count for anything come throw in on Munster final day. Cork nearly turned us over in Killarney a couple of years ago. It'll be a similar contest this year.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7873 - 14/06/2017 17:25:28    1999677

Replying To Breffni39:  "Fair play to you for setting up an account to defend your bitter rivals' honour. Nothing remotely suss about this."
Hahaha - just what I was thinking. There's a lot of cute hoorism going on on this thread.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 14/06/2017 18:05:46    1999686

Replying To Breffni39:  "Fair play to you for setting up an account to defend your bitter rivals' honour. Nothing remotely suss about this."
Actually I lost my password for an another account , I know all about your obsession about Kerry don't worry

KerryAnimal37 (Kerry) - Posts: 20 - 14/06/2017 22:51:10    1999764

This isn't the Leinster Championship were teams just roll over and take a 15 point defeat in Croke Park, we will be made work very hard to win like the Clare game yesterday
KerryAnimal37 (Kerry) - Posts:2 - 12/06/2017 19:47:06

Well observed. Neither Kerry nor Cork are in Leinster.

Kerry will the game by as much as they want. If they go out all guns blazing they'll easily put 10+ points on Cork.

This is the worst Cork team I've ever seen.

Also I've literally seen better Cork teams than this roll over and take big defeats off Kerry, in Croke Park too.

The stuff from some posters, notable exception of woops, here towards Cork football is real patronising stuff.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 15/06/2017 08:19:17    1999802