Kerry's easy path

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Second time I have heard about this HS Clique in as many days

Would you mind telling me who is in this "clique" you speak of and how I was inducted without my knowledge?

Cheers!"
kerry would not have won many all irelands if cork only played football hurling is the dominant sport in cork kerry is like mayo tyrone and kilkenny in hurling ye only play one sport imagine if cork galway offaly only played one sport e.g football they would have won a lot more all irelands i would rather come from cork than kerry they have seen there county win hurling and football all irelands also cork city win fai cup irish premier league

gboy (Galway) - Posts: 25 - 02/06/2017 13:06:28    1993497

Replying To greatpoint:  "Any comparison of Kerry with Cork doesn't wash; football plays and always has played second fiddle to hurling in Cork."
Only in East Cork. There isn't a single Senior Hurling Club West of Cork City. It's all Football.

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 02/06/2017 13:07:55    1993498

Replying To gboy:  "kerry would not have won many all irelands if cork only played football hurling is the dominant sport in cork kerry is like mayo tyrone and kilkenny in hurling ye only play one sport imagine if cork galway offaly only played one sport e.g football they would have won a lot more all irelands i would rather come from cork than kerry they have seen there county win hurling and football all irelands also cork city win fai cup irish premier league"
We were in the same division as Galway in hurling this year genius!!

If I hear one more ignorant gombeen talking about Kerry being a one code county I'll scream.

Just because a county doesn't have a successful tradition in a code DOESN'T MEAN THEY DON'T HAVE A TRADITION.

Come down to north Kerry this summer and watch the county championship and you'll see real tribal, hurling at it best- not the one club pucking sliothars among themselves you get in half the counties on this island!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/06/2017 13:24:40    1993515

Replying To Forpucksake:  "Only in East Cork. There isn't a single Senior Hurling Club West of Cork City. It's all Football."
Now now, don't let facts get in the way of this.

These lads have a myth to peddle and they can do without such things, thanks very much...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/06/2017 13:25:35    1993517

Replying To Forpucksake:  "Only in East Cork. There isn't a single Senior Hurling Club West of Cork City. It's all Football."
So only in the population centres then?

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 02/06/2017 13:39:53    1993523

Here's a stat that backs up the point made in the original article...
In 2015, to win the All-Ireland by 'beating what was put in front of them', Donegal would had to have beaten Tyrone, then Armagh, then Derry, then Monaghan followed by Tyrone again, then Kerry, then Dublin.
To win the same competition, by beating what was put in front of them, Kerry would had to have overcome Tipperary, Cork, Kildare, Tyrone (who had been on the road since meeting Donegal in the preliminary round of Ulster) and Dublin. Both failed - but it is blindingly obvious which path was easiest. Surely there is no debate? Can any Kerry posters see the inequality here?
(Perhaps the quarter-final line-up would have been altered by Donegal's presence as they'd already have played Tyrone, in which case they would have instead got Fermanagh or Kildare followed by Dublin, Mayo, Kerry, Monaghan or Tyrone and then Dublin, Mayo, Kerry, Monaghan or Tyrone. Still...)

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 02/06/2017 14:05:37    1993534

Replying To Administrator:  "Here's a stat that backs up the point made in the original article...
In 2015, to win the All-Ireland by 'beating what was put in front of them', Donegal would had to have beaten Tyrone, then Armagh, then Derry, then Monaghan followed by Tyrone again, then Kerry, then Dublin.
To win the same competition, by beating what was put in front of them, Kerry would had to have overcome Tipperary, Cork, Kildare, Tyrone (who had been on the road since meeting Donegal in the preliminary round of Ulster) and Dublin. Both failed - but it is blindingly obvious which path was easiest. Surely there is no debate? Can any Kerry posters see the inequality here?
(Perhaps the quarter-final line-up would have been altered by Donegal's presence as they'd already have played Tyrone, in which case they would have instead got Fermanagh or Kildare followed by Dublin, Mayo, Kerry, Monaghan or Tyrone and then Dublin, Mayo, Kerry, Monaghan or Tyrone. Still...)"
TESTIFY!!

GO ON THE ADMIN!

YA BOYA YA!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/06/2017 14:18:33    1993545

In 2015 the Ulster champions played Cavan, Fermanagh and Donegal to win the provincial crown. The Munster champions beat Tipperary, drew with Cork and beat them in a replay. I don't see much difference in how much energy them 2 campaigns would have taken from the 2 teams. The Ulster champions failed to win another game, the Munster champions made it to the All-Ireland final.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 02/06/2017 14:53:38    1993563

Replying To Administrator:  "Here's a stat that backs up the point made in the original article...
(Perhaps the quarter-final line-up would have been altered by Donegal's presence as they'd already have played Tyrone, in which case they would have instead got Fermanagh or Kildare followed by Dublin, Mayo, Kerry, Monaghan or Tyrone and then Dublin, Mayo, Kerry, Monaghan or Tyrone. Still...)"
Care to put up an opinion piece any time soon about the money being pumped into the Dublin GAA at the expense of the rest?

Couldn't some argue that's much more serious and blatant inequality?

By the way cherry picking one year, i.e. 2015 as in this example, is not sufficient basis to support your argument.

As I already stated in 2014 we played 3 Division One teams to win.

The system is unbalanced, but that's the system we have. People claiming we have 37 ALL-Ireland just because of it need to go off and climb a tree.

P.S. It's nice to see the Admin come out and state clearly what ourselves in the Kerry forum always suspected - the main page is hostile territory for the sons and daughters of the Kingdom ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/06/2017 14:59:44    1993568

Bandon are a senior side. Newcestown are a senior side. Both are west Cork. Ballymartle is west of Cork City. They are senior. There are plenty of areas west of Cork city that are all hurling. Timoleague, Barryroe, Ballinspittle, Kilbrittain as examples. That is not to deny the fact that most of the area (in terms of square miles) west of Cork city is predominantly football. There is no doubt about that. You would probably say that nearly half the county is predominantly football (in terms of square miles). In terms of population centres, it is mixed then. Soccer, rugby and other sports popular obviously. Then it is probably about 50/50 in terms of participation in gaelic sports. In terms of attendance at local matches (ie county championship, leagues, club soccer etc), hurling is well on top.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 02/06/2017 15:09:53    1993573

Replying To Soma:  "In 2015 the Ulster champions played Cavan, Fermanagh and Donegal to win the provincial crown. The Munster champions beat Tipperary, drew with Cork and beat them in a replay. I don't see much difference in how much energy them 2 campaigns would have taken from the 2 teams. The Ulster champions failed to win another game, the Munster champions made it to the All-Ireland final."
Very good post.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 02/06/2017 15:10:50    1993574

What would have been Mayo and Dublins route?

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 02/06/2017 15:13:14    1993576

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "I cannot believe how sensitive Kerry posters are : I really can't . It's amazing really .

Anyone who plays football knows that peaking at the right time is everything . It's some difference having to peak in late May and mid to late July .

Donegal made the All- Ireland final in 2014 - one of the many reasons was the favourable draw we got in Ulster. We had a lovely draw and we peaked when we played Monaghan in July .

Very seldom in Ulster does a side like Tyrone , Monaghan , Donegal or Armagh( in their pomp ) beat 2 or 3 good sides in Ulster as it's so difficult .

Leinster has been much tougher in the past 30 years where usually Meath , Dublin or Kildare had to win a couple of tough matches to win the province .

Imagine Kerry playing Donegal in Ballybofey in Mid May and the winners playing Monaghan or Tyrone in the first round.

Tomás Ó Sé back in 2014 ' I played in a very good Kerry team but we would have struggled to put back to back titles if we were playing in Ulster. I have so much respect for Ulster teams because of what they have to do just to win a provincial medal '

He continues ' with all respect to others , it generally comes down to beating Cork '

Now come on guys - this was one of the greatest. Dara has often mentioned peaking for August too .

Look would Donegal have 37 or 38 All- Irelands if we played in Munster - 100% no , probably not a quarter of that however we would have sneaked through to way more semis and finals .

Would Kerry have more than 10 All- Irelands playing in Ulster or Leinster - 100% yes but they wouldn't be on the figure they are on.

Dublin have had way more competition in the past 40 years as various counties have come and gone and won the province ."
Pat was one of the greatest and he called Tyrone's style puke football.....does that make him right?

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 02/06/2017 15:26:41    1993580

I think most posters from Kerry and beyond agree that Northern teams have the toughest route, it's undeniable and I haven't seen anybody dispute that.

What I do dispute is Connacht and Leinster teams complaining about Kerry's easy route. It has always been just as straightforward for the good teams in these provinces, they just haven't been good enough to take advantage to the extent that Kerry have.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 02/06/2017 15:27:09    1993582

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I think most posters from Kerry and beyond agree that Northern teams have the toughest route, it's undeniable and I haven't seen anybody dispute that.

What I do dispute is Connacht and Leinster teams complaining about Kerry's easy route. It has always been just as straightforward for the good teams in these provinces, they just haven't been good enough to take advantage to the extent that Kerry have."
Thats just about the most ridicuous thing I have read on here!

You think Leinster historically is as easy to get out of as Munster in football!!!

Gerry, as your fellow Riocht man would say, would you go climb a tree!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/06/2017 15:34:43    1993585

Replying To Soma:  "In 2015 the Ulster champions played Cavan, Fermanagh and Donegal to win the provincial crown. The Munster champions beat Tipperary, drew with Cork and beat them in a replay. I don't see much difference in how much energy them 2 campaigns would have taken from the 2 teams. The Ulster champions failed to win another game, the Munster champions made it to the All-Ireland final."
The fact that Kerry ended up playing an extra game due to the replay is irrelevant. There is absolutely nothing in the provincial structures dictating that Kerry would play that replay in 2015.

If Monaghan had drawn the Ulster final, they would have had an extra game. If they had drawn the semi-final as well, they would have had another extra game.

You can see why including incidental replays in the discussion is disingenuous, can't you?

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 02/06/2017 15:35:30    1993586

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Thats just about the most ridicuous thing I have read on here!

You think Leinster historically is as easy to get out of as Munster in football!!!

Gerry, as your fellow Riocht man would say, would you go climb a tree!"
The article mainly concerned the modern game. Forget about the history. Do you really think Dublin have a more difficult route than Kerry. Who in Leinster would give you a harder game than Tipp or Cork?

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 02/06/2017 15:48:27    1993595

I don't know whether to laugh or cry and some of these posts .

What's more comical is people saying so and so beat in the back door etc - we would be here all day if that's the case .

Like Kerry couldn't beat Tyrone in the 00s yet Donegal and Derry beat them yet neither could win Ulster . Ulster was tough .

There is not a Kerry footballer past or present wouldn't admit it - it's an unfair system .

As previously stated - Kerry would still have many many All-Irelands but they have won a lot because of their nice route which by and large Ulster and Leinster teams ( in the past ) haven't had the luxury off .

Disgraceful that people are positing that people are dishing Kerry - it's fact folks .

Should we all bow down and apologise to them ?

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 02/06/2017 16:03:37    1993604

Replying To Superglue:  "Pat was one of the greatest and he called Tyrone's style puke football.....does that make him right?"
He stated a few week ago he was wrong :)

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 02/06/2017 16:04:53    1993605

Replying To Forpucksake:  "The article mainly concerned the modern game. Forget about the history. Do you really think Dublin have a more difficult route than Kerry. Who in Leinster would give you a harder game than Tipp or Cork?"
Look back at my points....
I have said from the start of this thread that i am talking historically, not just last 10 years

do I think leinster is as easy as munster right now? its easier...i have no qualms saying that atall.
But to say its always been this way is beyond ridiculous
Poor Leinster is a recent phenomenon

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/06/2017 16:05:36    1993606