Kerry's easy path

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Tyrone maybe was it?
Mayo in the semi 3 years ago in limerick?"
Don't think Tyrone were in Div 1 at the time, they just came back up this year.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/06/2017 16:52:17    1993151

Replying To TheHermit:  "Again flattered that you wish to 'whine' and dine me but alas I'm taken."
Bizarre response

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 01/06/2017 17:00:53    1993152

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Hermit, as I have said before, for a fella who calls himself a hermit, you talk a lot...........A LOT..................:)"
How many threads have you started this week alone Liam????

Yes I like to talk on here sometimes, it's important there's a dissenting voice when the clique on here gets together and indulgies in their collective anti- obsession.

If ye don't like what myself and other Kerry posters say than don't read us. Simple as.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/06/2017 17:01:16    1993153

i never claimed to be anything different Hermie!!

BTW, who are this "clique" you refer to?
I'd say there isn't a member on here I haven't gone to war with at some point over the last 15 years!!

But at the end of the day......................... :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/06/2017 17:06:52    1993154

Replying To tipp11:  "2 wins in 16 years sounds awful I'll give you that but it's 2 wins from 5 games....we lost to donegal, Tyrone and down, maybe you can correct me if I'm wrong. Hardly worth pointing out 2 wins in 16 years when there's been so few game? One walk over to fermangh aswell in that time"
I was responding to some who said that Tipperary consistently beat Ulster teams in the championship. That was a fabrication as you know yourself.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 01/06/2017 17:08:59    1993155

Replying To TheHermit:  "How many threads have you started this week alone Liam????

Yes I like to talk on here sometimes, it's important there's a dissenting voice when the clique on here gets together and indulgies in their collective anti- obsession.

If ye don't like what myself and other Kerry posters say than don't read us. Simple as."
Most of what you post would be better suited to a Kerry supporters' forum really.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 01/06/2017 17:10:29    1993156

I am not going to start posting here about whose path is easier or who are more disadvantaged, how much I love fluffy kittens or that all this flirting between Breffni and Hermit is intriguing. All I would love is to see an open draw where it doesn't matter which Province you are in, which Division you are in and that everyone goes in to one big hat and let lady luck cast her hand. One thing for sure is it would do away with these types of debates if nothing else!!!

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 01/06/2017 17:31:10    1993170

Replying To kavvie:  "Just read the article on the main page. Very well written and really shows up the inequality that exists at the moment..no blame on Kerry. They have to play by the rules buts its so unfair."
cccc

Roger (Meath) - Posts: 471 - 01/06/2017 17:33:53    1993172

Here is the article in question for those of you looking for it link

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 01/06/2017 17:37:33    1993173

Replying To TheHermit:  "How many threads have you started this week alone Liam????

If ye don't like what myself and other Kerry posters say than don't read us. Simple as."
Ignore him Hermit. Not worth the energy wasted getting vexed or replying to him.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 01/06/2017 17:39:27    1993175

Replying To greatpoint:  "Most of what you post would be better suited to a Kerry supporters' forum really."
I post regularly on the Kerry forum yes. And I post a bit on the main forum too at times. If there is a topic started about Kerry, and there always seems to be most weeks, I usually like to give my tuppence worth.

As I've said if you or others don't like what I post you can simply ignore it.

I'm not going to stop posting just because what I say might go against the prevailing bah humbug Kerry and Kerry posters attitude displayed by a number of posters on here. Like it or lump it.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/06/2017 17:57:51    1993185

Article states that it's not having a pop at kerry but it clearly is. If you wanted to highlight inequality in the provinces would dublin against carlow this weekend not have been a more apt example. Clare have been making fantastic progress, they are a division 2 side and they qualified for the quarters last year, I can't imagine Carlow will be making their way to croker in August any time soon.
The argument that Kerry are fresh going into the quarter final compared to other teams is laughable, it's the one game most Kerry fans fear every year as we are going in rusty and lacking game time. In any other discussion GAA players are super fit athletes except when having a pop at Kerry when other teams suddenly are suffering from exhaustion. You can't replicate the benefits of playing games and each province has more than enough recovery time going into the quarters.
Cork have had some serious teams down through the years buts its not too oftwn people pass commet on Corks easy path to Croker.

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 01/06/2017 18:08:41    1993193

Replying To as_ky:  "Article states that it's not having a pop at kerry but it clearly is. If you wanted to highlight inequality in the provinces would dublin against carlow this weekend not have been a more apt example. Clare have been making fantastic progress, they are a division 2 side and they qualified for the quarters last year, I can't imagine Carlow will be making their way to croker in August any time soon.
The argument that Kerry are fresh going into the quarter final compared to other teams is laughable, it's the one game most Kerry fans fear every year as we are going in rusty and lacking game time. In any other discussion GAA players are super fit athletes except when having a pop at Kerry when other teams suddenly are suffering from exhaustion. You can't replicate the benefits of playing games and each province has more than enough recovery time going into the quarters.
Cork have had some serious teams down through the years buts its not too oftwn people pass commet on Corks easy path to Croker."
That's cause Cork playing hurling to so we respect their achievement a bit more. You played Clare Tipp and Clare to get to an All Ireland semi in what world do you think that's a fair system? no one is disputing your the kings of football but sweet Jesus yous have had it handy over the years and to then say "oh Clare are improving" Do me a favour they'll be gone missing again in no time just like Wexford in 08 or Leitrim in '94. In '97 just to reach a final you played Waterford Clare and Cavan ffs. At least I can admit if Leinster stays the same for another 50 years then Dublin will win a heap more of Sams cause it's so handy right now, but Meath and Kildare will be back soon it won't last forever them being so bad. You'd swear hoganstand was making their article up.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/06/2017 18:30:08    1993198

In the last 7 years all the Munster counties have played in at least one quarter final. Three have played in at least one semi final and two have won the competition.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 01/06/2017 18:33:09    1993199

Strange year to have this article as all 4 teams left in Munster come from the top 2 league divisions and 3 of them were in the last 8 of last years championship. Munster has rarely been stronger! It will be interesting to see if the Super 8s change how often Kerry win All-Irelands, I think if anything it will help them just as the backdoor has.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 01/06/2017 18:36:17    1993200

im surprised any kerry posters are viewing the article as anti kerry.its totally not.its just stating the facts.its no slight on kerry.we all know as long as we live kerry will be top or near the top of the football pile.but if they had to take say monaghan this years path they would have to peak earlier and have a totally harder path to the quarters..its just stating facts.

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 01/06/2017 18:39:09    1993201

There is no doubt that at the moment both Kerry and Dublin have quite easy routes into the quarter finals.

That is indisputable, although there's some on here that will dispute it until the cows come home.

Up until last year Mayo have also had an easy route into the quarter finals although the gap in Connacht seems to be closing.

Leinster is historically weak at the moment but you'd have to imagine that the likes of Meath and Kildare will become competitive again soon and in the past Dublin have not had the easy path into the All-Ireland stages that Kerry have enjoyed. Again that shouldn't be seen as a controversial statement.

Cork are sometimes very good, it's true but they're often not as they are first and foremost a hurling county.

Good competitive Ulster teams are at a disadvantage as there is usually at least another 3/4 decent sides there that could derail a potential Ulster All-Ireland winning team. This does take it's toll as competitive matches will lead to more injuries as players push themselves more and more suspensions etc because the games are so much more intense. For example Dublin players in the last few years have rarely been injured or picked cards during our Leinster campaign as the levels needed just aren't as high as later in the year.

The sooner the provinces are gone the better imo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 01/06/2017 18:43:49    1993205

Replying To TheHermit:  "
Replying To OLLIE:  "[quote=TheHermit:  "And as a final comment on this, to see a poster from Dublin going on about another county having a easy provincial route! Jesus wept. :D

P.S. to be a little more serious, Munster the weakest Liam? Really? When's the last time a team from Connacht won an All-Ireland or a team from Leinster outside Dublin?

How come since the advent of the back door there has only been three All-Ireland's contested by teams from the same province and twice it was Cork/Kerry!

In fact since 2001, tell me how many times a team from Connacht or Leinster (outside of Mayo and Dublin) have even reached an AL semi-final! I'll tell you, twice: Meath 01 and 09!

Long love the Munster football championship and give me Clare v Kerry any day over Down and Armagh this Sunday!"
Don't forget Kildare in 2010. They reached the All Ireland semi-final."
My apologies, I forgot Kildare got that far. I thought they lost to Down in the Q-final but it was actually us they beat, will we ever beat them in the Championship!,"]I am sure Kerry will beat Down one day in the Championship. I thought the Kingdom would finally do it in 2010.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 01/06/2017 18:46:43    1993208

Replying To TheUsername:  "When is the last time Kerry have played and beaten a Div 1 team in the championship?

It must be a couple of seasons, open to correction on that."
Cork in the Munster Final in 2015 after a replay.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 01/06/2017 18:55:02    1993209

Replying To greatpoint:  "I was responding to some who said that Tipperary consistently beat Ulster teams in the championship. That was a fabrication as you know yourself."
Didn't realise that was said in the first place

tipp11 (Tipperary) - Posts: 353 - 01/06/2017 18:56:19    1993211