Kerry's easy path

Replying To tipp11:  "We beat Antrim in 2012....out of interest how many game against northern teams have we played? Coming from the weakest province we haven't done bad, 2011 was the last time a team from Leinster beat us in laois, since then we have beaten laois, longford, Louth, offaly, wexford. In that time the teams in the championship we have lost to have been kerry, cork, Galway, Tyrone, mayo and down."
You're absolutely correct, my mistake.

So that makes it 2 wins in 16 years then.

I have no issue with Tipperary but I do have an issue with people inventing stats to fit their narrative.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 01/06/2017 14:53:36    1993091

Replying To Breffni39:  "Tune up the violins lads, The Hermit is feeling sorry for himself."
I thought you were 'indifferent' to these Kerry topics...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/06/2017 15:00:09    1993092

Replying To greatpoint:  "
Replying To TheHermit:  "[quote=TheUsername:  "[quote=TheHermit:  "And as a final comment on this, to see a poster from Dublin going on about another county having a easy provincial route! Jesus wept. :D

P.S. to be a little more serious, Munster the weakest Liam? Really? When's the last time a team from Connacht won an All-Ireland or a team from Leinster outside Dublin?

How come since the advent of the back door there has only been three All-Ireland's contested by teams from the same province and twice it was Cork/Kerry!

In fact since 2001, tell me how many times a team from Connacht or Leinster (outside of Mayo and Dublin) have even reached an AL semi-final! I'll tell you, twice: Meath 01 and 09!

Long love the Munster football championship and give me Clare v Kerry any day over Down and Armagh this Sunday!"
To be fair mate, it makes sense that Munster team will generally get further in the championship latter stages in the examples you give, if the provincial championship is weak, has less matches, weaker opposition or leaves more in the tank for August football as opposed to other provinces i think that is the point of the article. I don't think that line is really helping your argument.

I mean Clare and Tipperary last year or Cork and Kerry finals were these teams helped due to Munsters weakness? would if it happened if these counties were comign out of Ulster or Leinster? would it have happened without a short championship, extra recovery/preparation time, two game championship for the bigger teams. Its a lot of advantages for a strong August which was the general point.

Just to be balanced i dont think Leisnter has been fit for purpose the last 6-7 years but that is a relatively new thing.

Perhaps the super 8 will counter the imbalance."
To reiterate what others have posted, where are Antrim and Galway's mountain of Liam McCarthy's?

Cavan couldn't be beat in Ulster until the 1960's where are their scores of All-Irelands?

This argument is baloney and always was.

It's an easy bit of propaganda thrown out to try and explain the short comings of others.

Cream rises to the top.

As Woops said, isn't it amazing how well Clare, Tipp and Limerick have done in the qualifiers if they are so weak.

And to give you a valid counter-argument - Kerry have actually suffered due to weakness of Munster in certain past years. Last year was the classic example, Cork weak and beaten before they played us, facile wins over Clare and Tipperary so that we only get our first serious game against Dublin where we don't perform for the first 20 mins because we were so rusty. If we had played a fired up Cork in a Munster final or a Donegal in the Q-final we would have been much better prepared.

However I don't expect most of ye to take any of that on board.

Yet if an open drawn every those come in, I'd love to see how ye explain away the fact Kerry will still be winning titles ;D"]If you're trying to convince everyone that this is actually a parody account then you're doing well!

Multiple ex-Kerry players have written articles conceding the benefit to Kerry of Munster's advantageous provincial setup. Get your head out of the sand instead of just typing reams of rubbish in defense of Kerry's honour (or whatever in God's name you believe you're doing)."]Oh as long as there's posters on here fishing and having a go, I'll be here to add a rebuttal.

If you want an echo chamber, I'm sure there is somewhere you can all go to agree with yourselves.

An Riocht Abu!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/06/2017 15:02:53    1993094

Replying To TheHermit:  "And as a final comment on this, to see a poster from Dublin going on about another county having a easy provincial route! Jesus wept. :D

P.S. to be a little more serious, Munster the weakest Liam? Really? When's the last time a team from Connacht won an All-Ireland or a team from Leinster outside Dublin?

How come since the advent of the back door there has only been three All-Ireland's contested by teams from the same province and twice it was Cork/Kerry!

In fact since 2001, tell me how many times a team from Connacht or Leinster (outside of Mayo and Dublin) have even reached an AL semi-final! I'll tell you, twice: Meath 01 and 09!

Long love the Munster football championship and give me Clare v Kerry any day over Down and Armagh this Sunday!"
Meath also.reached all ire semi final in 07, and Kildare in 10.
Look between 66 and 91 ulster football was a haims not too far behind was Connaught, it is fair to say that from 66 to 2000 3/4 of the best 6 counties would have been from Leinster, Meath Dublin, and Offaly Kildare interchangeable at different times. If Kerry had been in Leinster or the had been a back door Kerry would have less all ires, its not a stretch to say this.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/06/2017 15:06:56    1993095

Since the qualifiers began we have played 12 qualifier games and we have won all 12, that's a100% record and we are the only team in the country to have such a record .

100%

So who want to explain that one?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/06/2017 15:08:59    1993096

Replying To TheHermit:  "I thought you were 'indifferent' to these Kerry topics..."
My post was about you not Kerry. You are not Kerry.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 01/06/2017 15:16:17    1993098

Replying To royaldunne:  "
Replying To TheHermit:  "And as a final comment on this, to see a poster from Dublin going on about another county having a easy provincial route! Jesus wept. :D

Meath also.reached all ire semi final in 07, and Kildare in 10.
Look between 66 and 91 ulster football was a haims not too far behind was Connaught, it is fair to say that from 66 to 2000 3/4 of the best 6 counties would have been from Leinster, Meath Dublin, and Offaly Kildare interchangeable at different times. If Kerry had been in Leinster or the had been a back door Kerry would have less all ires, its not a stretch to say this."
Don't forget we hammered Meath in the allireland semifinal in 09 as well royaldune.

So that's another semifinal ye were in.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/06/2017 15:17:51    1993101

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Since the qualifiers began we have played 12 qualifier games and we have won all 12, that's a100% record and we are the only team in the country to have such a record .

100%

So who want to explain that one?"
And what does that have to do with the price of butter in Listowel?

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 01/06/2017 15:20:22    1993103

Replying To Breffni39:  "My post was about you not Kerry. You are not Kerry."
You know after the last couple of days, I have started to notice how much of an inordinate interest you seem take in me.

While I am flattered, unfortunately I'm a hermit in username only. ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/06/2017 15:25:28    1993104

Hermit, as I have said before, for a fella who calls himself a hermit, you talk a lot...........A LOT..................:)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/06/2017 15:29:31    1993106

Kerry have had a cake walk really.

Tomas OSe said that Kerry probably wouldn't have done back to back had they been in Ulster .

Dara has said similar a few times saying they could peak for August .

Dublin had stiff competition for long periods and it's only recently it's become a farce .

Had Dublin been in Munster- they would have had more Sams to their belt .

At most - Kerry have had to only beat 1 division one to reach the last 8.

Not their fault .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 01/06/2017 15:44:01    1993110

Replying To greatpoint:  "You're absolutely correct, my mistake.

So that makes it 2 wins in 16 years then.

I have no issue with Tipperary but I do have an issue with people inventing stats to fit their narrative."
2 wins in 16 years sounds awful I'll give you that but it's 2 wins from 5 games....we lost to donegal, Tyrone and down, maybe you can correct me if I'm wrong. Hardly worth pointing out 2 wins in 16 years when there's been so few game? One walk over to fermangh aswell in that time

tipp11 (Tipperary) - Posts: 353 - 01/06/2017 16:03:30    1993121

Look, it's clearly much more difficult to navigate the minefield that is the Ulster championship than any of the others at present. This is not to say necessarily that the Ulster championship is great to watch (IMO it isn't) but for the past several years one team in each of the other provinces have dominated in a way which isn't really possible up there.

The championship is clearly lopsided in terms of its competition structure, and this benefits my own county (most years), as it does Kerry.

I really can't see why some posters are getting so upset over something that's glaringly obvious.

This does not detract from Kerry's glorious past, or suggest that they wouldn't win All-Irelands if they had to play in our northernmost province. All it says is that any competition where different teams have to play a different number of fixtures to reach the same stage of competition is flawed.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 01/06/2017 16:08:02    1993122

Replying To TheHermit:  "You know after the last couple of days, I have started to notice how much of an inordinate interest you seem take in me.

While I am flattered, unfortunately I'm a hermit in username only. ;)"
Well if you didn't whine so much on a public forum, I wouldn't have any interest at all.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 01/06/2017 16:08:20    1993123

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "Kerry have had a cake walk really.

Tomas OSe said that Kerry probably wouldn't have done back to back had they been in Ulster .

Dara has said similar a few times saying they could peak for August .

Dublin had stiff competition for long periods and it's only recently it's become a farce .

Had Dublin been in Munster- they would have had more Sams to their belt .

At most - Kerry have had to only beat 1 division one to reach the last 8.

Not their fault ."
Jayzis............He will combust when he read's this was written by a non Dub!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/06/2017 16:20:50    1993127

its not kerrys fault.in fact it was worse back in the "golden years" i think one year they beat waterford and cork to get to a semi. against what then i think was a "handy" at the time northern team..so beat cork and ur in the final time!!

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 01/06/2017 16:29:48    1993132

Replying To Breffni39:  "Well if you didn't whine so much on a public forum, I wouldn't have any interest at all."
Breff, I think in one way we should be grateful to him for showing us the true colour of many Kingdom fans and not the yerra yerra bellyaching from the Woops and Westkerrys of this world :)
(Sorry lads!!!)
But honestly like, Hermit really hasn't read the script down there has he!
But maybe, that's a good thing!!! Going off script takes character...............

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/06/2017 16:34:08    1993137

When is the last time Kerry have played and beaten a Div 1 team in the championship?

It must be a couple of seasons, open to correction on that.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/06/2017 16:42:56    1993144

Replying To Breffni39:  "Well if you didn't whine so much on a public forum, I wouldn't have any interest at all."
Again flattered that you wish to 'whine' and dine me but alas I'm taken.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/06/2017 16:46:52    1993147

Replying To TheUsername:  "When is the last time Kerry have played and beaten a Div 1 team in the championship?

It must be a couple of seasons, open to correction on that."
Tyrone maybe was it?
Mayo in the semi 3 years ago in limerick?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/06/2017 16:50:31    1993150