Cavan V Monaghan

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "How'd Doogan do?"
Grand. How did Cavan do today?

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 11/06/2017 21:28:51    1998136

Replying To cavanman47:  "We haven't made the step-up. . I won't deny that for a second. Ulster is a competitive province and we've lost to the winners by a point twice and after a replay over the past 4 years.

But you can't claim that Monaghan have either! You can't win big games in croker and for a 'top 6' team that should be happening.

I wasn't having a go at Monaghan but a few of ye seem to have taken it that way! If anything I was offering constructive criticism. I've been to plenty of Monaghan games over the past few years as one of my best mates is a Monaghan man. He would share my opinion on Doogan."
We can win big games in Breffni Park though....

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 11/06/2017 21:31:21    1998137

Replying To foxes_denn:  "Great post Bref.

forget about it monaghan - we will beat youse out the gate next weekend."
Indeed, wrong as per usual.

Enjoy the back door (again)

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 11/06/2017 21:34:18    1998139

Replying To seanfinn:  "Grand. How did Cavan do today?"
Some awfully quiet Cavan men at the moment , I wonder why?

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 11/06/2017 21:45:04    1998146

Replying To seanfinn:  "We can win big games in Breffni Park though...."
Kingspan Breffni

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 11/06/2017 21:52:42    1998153

Replying To Iamlegion666:  "Some awfully quiet Cavan men at the moment , I wonder why?"
I posted on Monaghan page complimenting your team, supporters and wishing you well in rest of Ulster.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 11/06/2017 21:54:06    1998157

Did the player that had the shot on goal at the end not trip beggan and a black card given to him

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 11/06/2017 22:09:44    1998164

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "I posted on Monaghan page complimenting your team, supporters and wishing you well in rest of Ulster."
I posted using the word "some" plus I'm sure you know who I'm talking about.

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 11/06/2017 22:12:26    1998167

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "I posted on Monaghan page complimenting your team, supporters and wishing you well in rest of Ulster."
Theres always a few Dora, you know that.
Fair play to both teams on a great contest in bad conditions. Cavan played very well for periods but just didnt carry the major scoring threat when it mattered. I thought young gerry smith had a fine game, as did martin reilly. Mcveety worked hard when he came in but fitness might not have been 100%. Im not mackeys biggest fan but credit where its due today.
It looked like ye were let down by midfield, not so much in the air but on the ground. Mckiernan, for all his ability to kick a score, ran out of steam early on and hadnt the legs to drive on. Killian clarke was spiky in the tackle but he too ran out of gas which was a surprise to me. Joe dillon probably should have been given more time.
All told i would not be too harsh on your lads, they busted a gut but came up short. If they keep the head you should skittle through a few teams in the qualifiers. August in croke park is your benchmark now.
Finally, well done to the stewards in Breffni PARK today, you kept a soaked crowed moving well.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 11/06/2017 22:21:44    1998172

Only one Cavan forward scored from play and that's not good enough in a Championship game.
Cavan need to urgently unearth a few scoring forwards.
I thought the half-back line were poor today too.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 11/06/2017 22:43:44    1998183

Why wont givney and keating commit to cavan feel they could go places if they had them two with mcveety in f forward line

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 11/06/2017 23:39:58    1998201

Hard luck to Cavan today. Mattie has yez playing with fire in the belly. Think yez are on the right track if ye can unearth a scoring forward or 2. Still only width of a post between us in the end!

RightFull (Monaghan) - Posts: 74 - 11/06/2017 23:48:44    1998203

Thought Cavan were the better team all through the game, but I had the feeling Monaghan would do them at the end. Don't know why Cavan took off Buchanan - I thought he was having a fine game. Mcveety was quite poor when he came on. Monaghan really do give teams every chance to beat them - it shows when they come up against the better teams in August. McCarron had a stinker today - I thought he was a find this year when I saw him during the league - he looked over eager to impress and he snatched at all his shots.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 12/06/2017 02:29:09    1998226

First of all well done and best of luck to Monaghan. For all the rivalry its mostly all respectful and that showed yesterday. its a telling tale that this is the biggest margin of defeat in this meeting in over 10 games so huge respect has to be given to the players on both sides. Obviously cavan and all the supporters are very disappointed but having said that i never once thought cavan would win the game. infact to be winning for the majority of the game and to only lose by 3 points was a feat in my eyes giving some of the aspects of the game yesterday.
First of all i cannot understand why cavan continued with what i presume was a tactic of conceding all our own kickouts. usually when this happens it allows the defense to build a wall on the half back line to meet and turnover ball. this mostly never happened as our defense for all its numbers only seemed to fill space with no one wanting to commit to a tackle which was allowing monaghan to come deeper and deeper into attack all the time. this non committal approach was seen on the run up to the Monaghan goal and when Moynagh missed a tackle to allow him waltz past and bury it while in the background you can see Moynagh with hands out as if to say ''i didn't touch him ref''. Can you imagine Wylie allowing a man past so easy.
where was our midfield. we started with two big men and always had at least one of them (Gearoid Mc Kiernan mostly) there at all times. but hardly ever sent a long kickout in their direction. you'd have to wonder why were they being bypassed when supposedly we had the better fielding players in that position.
Our forwards don't need much mention. take of Mackey and we'd have been at sea. mc Veety i thought done well when he came in. I still believe for all my negativity that these issues can be worked out but most worrying for me seems to be the total fear and lack of belief in the cavan team. slow lateral and backward play at half pace seems to have taken a vice grip on the team. they look brainwashed and unable to see things around them. their game awareness seems very poor and they cant see any options to play only whats straight on front of them and if that option isn't there they turn around and pass it back to someone else. I've thought a good bit about this and i really think these cavan players are a lot better than they're showing. the fear of playing football has taken them over.

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 12/06/2017 10:05:58    1998300

Replying To prideof85:  "Why wont givney and keating commit to cavan feel they could go places if they had them two with mcveety in f forward line"
Givney is working in London.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 12/06/2017 12:29:04    1998403

I'm bitterly disappointed by Cavans performance in a game that was there for the taking.
I was right about McCarron, he's not shown in the championship yet, and no right thinking Monaghan fan can disagree that Doogan was terrible as expected.
McManus yet again the difference. Should've been double marked. Should've been taken down for the goal.
I think had we equalised with that last kick it would have papered over a lot of cracks. We should have the beating of offaly/westmeath who will have a quick turnaround but I wouldn't be putting my house on it!
As for Monaghan, I fancy them to beat Down. They will need to improve drastically to win Ulster or to catch tyrone/Donegal on a bad day.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 12/06/2017 12:36:01    1998411

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "Thought Cavan were the better team all through the game, but I had the feeling Monaghan would do them at the end. Don't know why Cavan took off Buchanan - I thought he was having a fine game. Mcveety was quite poor when he came on. Monaghan really do give teams every chance to beat them - it shows when they come up against the better teams in August. McCarron had a stinker today - I thought he was a find this year when I saw him during the league - he looked over eager to impress and he snatched at all his shots."
Agree on Jack - he did snatch at efforts and was trying too hard rather than playing sensible.

However, Monaghan deservedly won that game. The scoreboard reflected where both teams are and were in the game yesterday. We are not miles better, just a wee bit better.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 12/06/2017 12:37:52    1998412

Replying To cavanman47:  "I'm bitterly disappointed by Cavans performance in a game that was there for the taking.
I was right about McCarron, he's not shown in the championship yet, and no right thinking Monaghan fan can disagree that Doogan was terrible as expected.
McManus yet again the difference. Should've been double marked. Should've been taken down for the goal.
I think had we equalised with that last kick it would have papered over a lot of cracks. We should have the beating of offaly/westmeath who will have a quick turnaround but I wouldn't be putting my house on it!
As for Monaghan, I fancy them to beat Down. They will need to improve drastically to win Ulster or to catch tyrone/Donegal on a bad day."
Doogan and McCarron had off days yes, but others stepped up and performed like Duffy and McCarthy off the bench. That's the benefit of having a good squad. A few years ago we might have been in big bother if two of our starting forwards underperformed like that in a similar game, but we have more options now so it's not as big of a problem. I think McCarron for one could be much improved again Down, I think he'll get a bit more breathing space against their defence.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 12/06/2017 14:12:58    1998473

Gavin doogan had a poor day alright, messing up a mark and coughing up 3 points at the end of the first half that gave Cavan a lifeline. However he ran and tackled hard despite his obvious frustration with himself, which was commendable. You can say that shows his limitations as a footballer, but i would prefer to have him than some of the more 'talented' players who spent much of yesterday's game hiding around the middle of the field.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 12/06/2017 14:37:26    1998503

Replying To prideof85:  "Did the player that had the shot on goal at the end not trip beggan and a black card given to him"
I think he did. I thought he was going to be black-carded . Fair play to Monaghan. Drew Wylie is some man. I love his attitude. Owen Duffy was great again. Mackey was our best player. Good luck to Monaghan in Ulster. I think we should have a decent run in the qualifiers if they all stick at it.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 12/06/2017 15:20:31    1998540