Cavan V Monaghan

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Ah yes, Faulkner a class player. Completely dominated against McManus in blayney. I think Cavan would not have been relegated had he stayed fit."
Yes cavan look formidable from 1 to 9 its there after 10 to 15 wheres the scores gonna come from now this is a massive massive match for cavan 2013 beaten 2015 beaten so with cavans history and underage success they have to deliver on the promise of the future is blue show it lads show it 5 17 Tyrone put past cavan last year in u semi last year doesn't bode well

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 08/06/2017 23:30:05    1997159

Replying To Iamlegion666:  "Didn't know you could be over rated when most people don't rate you as a top forward(yet) sounds like Cavan men are quite shook."
I'm not sure that's it.

I think anyone questioning McCarron is justified until he replicates his league form in a championship game. He certainly didn't against Fermanagh.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 09/06/2017 06:44:03    1997177

Unchanged team for Monaghan plus Darren Hughes is fit to make the bench which is a big plus.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 09/06/2017 08:34:45    1997185

Replying To prideof85:  "Yes cavan look formidable from 1 to 9 its there after 10 to 15 wheres the scores gonna come from now this is a massive massive match for cavan 2013 beaten 2015 beaten so with cavans history and underage success they have to deliver on the promise of the future is blue show it lads show it 5 17 Tyrone put past cavan last year in u semi last year doesn't bode well"
1 to 12 we look good. It's full forward line I'd be worried about. McVeety is such a huge loss.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 09/06/2017 09:34:41    1997203

Replying To prideof85:  "Yes cavan look formidable from 1 to 9 its there after 10 to 15 wheres the scores gonna come from now this is a massive massive match for cavan 2013 beaten 2015 beaten so with cavans history and underage success they have to deliver on the promise of the future is blue show it lads show it 5 17 Tyrone put past cavan last year in u semi last year doesn't bode well"
All this is compounded by the fact Monaghan have pure class from 1-15 and an embarrassment of riches off the bench. They're All-Ireland contenders no doubt about it and lets not forget they won a National League in 1985.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 09/06/2017 10:25:40    1997221

Great to see Buchannon at Midfield. Yous will have your fill of it with him.
Plenty of pace in the defence also with the Likes of Clarke,Murray,Faulkner.

should be a good hard game with plenty of hard-hitting. hope no silly reds or blacks though.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 09/06/2017 17:16:26    1997387

Replying To MadgeKing:  "There's a lot of emphasis being put on league form as the reason Monaghan are strong favourites for Sunday. That's fair enough on face value but you can look at a bit different too.

v Dublin: Both lost
Head to head: A draw (that Cavan probably should have won)
v Tyrone: Both lost
v Donegal: Cavan lost, Monaghan draw (thanks to a dodgy injury time penalty)
v Mayo: Both won
v Kerry: Cavan draw, narrow Monaghan win (1 point swing)

So the real differences came down to Cavan tanking against Roscommon while Monaghan beat Roscommon like every other team in the Division did. We are not that far off when you look at it that way. If Cavan can avoid the nightmare 'Roscommon-type' performance then its there for them. Plus Monaghan hate the favourites tag..."
Or…..
V Dublin - Cavan were comprehensively beaten by Dublin, Monaghan deservedly beaten but gave a better account of themselves
V Monaghan - Neither team deserved a win
V Tyrone - again ye were more comprehensively beaten
V Donegal - Cavan were trounced by Donegal…We got out of jail and could easily have lost this one….but we didn't!
V Mayo - Fair enough. A great performance by Cavan against a Mayo team with a few games under the belt.
V Kerry -We won when it mattered, ye didn't!
V Roscommon - Again we won when it mattered, ye didn't!
We finished with 4 more points with a much better points difference. We finished above Tyrone (by a point) and below Donegal by virtue of points difference (+7 in their favour)
This is the actual real difference. Comfort yourself whatever way you want.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 09/06/2017 17:54:44    1997403

Replying To Cavanlife:  "Cavan by 2. Mccarron is overrated for one thing and it will only take 2 players to mark himself and McManus Killian on conor and padraig on jack the so called "star""
Nice.

1-09 against the reigning All Ireland and League champions in April, 1-05 from play.

Thats more than the ENTIRE Cavan team mustered up when ye faced them.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 09/06/2017 18:00:22    1997405

Cavan could win this one out of pure desperation and possibly down to beat them in an ulster semi final as they have better forwards

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 09/06/2017 21:16:51    1997444

Replying To seanfinn:  "Or…..
V Dublin - Cavan were comprehensively beaten by Dublin, Monaghan deservedly beaten but gave a better account of themselves
V Monaghan - Neither team deserved a win
V Tyrone - again ye were more comprehensively beaten
V Donegal - Cavan were trounced by Donegal…We got out of jail and could easily have lost this one….but we didn't!
V Mayo - Fair enough. A great performance by Cavan against a Mayo team with a few games under the belt.
V Kerry -We won when it mattered, ye didn't!
V Roscommon - Again we won when it mattered, ye didn't!
We finished with 4 more points with a much better points difference. We finished above Tyrone (by a point) and below Donegal by virtue of points difference (+7 in their favour)
This is the actual real difference. Comfort yourself whatever way you want."
Comprehensively beaten by donegal? Here lad our captain got red carded in the first 15 mins then we got another player sent off with a yellow and a black. Yous wouldn't have put up much of a better fight now in fairness and tyrone we were up by 4 at HT mad fell apart in the 2nd. Cavan were miles the better team in blayney we had about 50 shots either into keepers hands or wide, do u honestly think that's gonna happen Sunday ur dreaming if that's the case. Listen mate we have better players than yous 1-12our FB miles better than yours anyone who disagrees is a fool. Just that yous have better forwards than us that is why we are where we are atm. But ur forwards won't come into context on Sunday cus they will be man marked by Faulkner and Clarke and we seen how good jack mc carron was when he was man marked against Donegal.

Cavanlife (Cavan) - Posts: 54 - 10/06/2017 00:55:17    1997484

Replying To prideof85:  "Cavan could win this one out of pure desperation and possibly down to beat them in an ulster semi final as they have better forwards"
Ah no no. Monaghan will walk it and hammer Down in the semi.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 10/06/2017 01:44:04    1997487

hows kingspan breffni holding up with all the rain lads?

cavan14 (Cavan) - Posts: 32 - 10/06/2017 09:04:14    1997508

Replying To Hardtimes:  "Ah no no. Monaghan will walk it and hammer Down in the semi."
Possibly the most honest Cavan man on these forums so far!

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 10/06/2017 09:40:02    1997513

Really looking forward to this game. I have been very impressed with Monaghan this year but I think we could be underestimating Cavan. Cavan have some excellent players but need to make the beeakthrough soon. I am expecting Monaghan to win by 3 to 4 points but wouldn't be shocked if Cavan won. This could be the game to light up the championship, lets hope so.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 10/06/2017 10:44:51    1997524

Hope Cavan keep their discipline and have no silly dismissals.
Looking forward to the game as it will tell Cavan exactly where they are now under Mattie.
They will have to be at their very best to beat a very good Monaghan team.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 10/06/2017 11:00:56    1997532

Replying To Cavanlife:  "Comprehensively beaten by donegal? Here lad our captain got red carded in the first 15 mins then we got another player sent off with a yellow and a black. Yous wouldn't have put up much of a better fight now in fairness and tyrone we were up by 4 at HT mad fell apart in the 2nd. Cavan were miles the better team in blayney we had about 50 shots either into keepers hands or wide, do u honestly think that's gonna happen Sunday ur dreaming if that's the case. Listen mate we have better players than yous 1-12our FB miles better than yours anyone who disagrees is a fool. Just that yous have better forwards than us that is why we are where we are atm. But ur forwards won't come into context on Sunday cus they will be man marked by Faulkner and Clarke and we seen how good jack mc carron was when he was man marked against Donegal."
Jack McCarron got 6 points against Donegal McGee was taken to the cleaners in the first half and was withdrawn at half time. In the second half Monaghan played into a gael force wind and McCarron didnt score, but it was more to do with the conditions as Monaghan didnt really score in the second half full stop.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 10/06/2017 15:28:47    1997596

Hard one to call.Cavan were out of the traps much quicker than us in 13 and 15 but we reigned them in. We really need to start this one well unlike our last match as see us struggling to reign in this cavan side if they get a lead as they have improved despite relegation and will be fired up at home.We have a good side but tend to switch off in some games and will need to be at our best to win this.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 10/06/2017 16:10:29    1997600

Replying To Cavanlife:  "Comprehensively beaten by donegal? Here lad our captain got red carded in the first 15 mins then we got another player sent off with a yellow and a black. Yous wouldn't have put up much of a better fight now in fairness and tyrone we were up by 4 at HT mad fell apart in the 2nd. Cavan were miles the better team in blayney we had about 50 shots either into keepers hands or wide, do u honestly think that's gonna happen Sunday ur dreaming if that's the case. Listen mate we have better players than yous 1-12our FB miles better than yours anyone who disagrees is a fool. Just that yous have better forwards than us that is why we are where we are atm. But ur forwards won't come into context on Sunday cus they will be man marked by Faulkner and Clarke and we seen how good jack mc carron was when he was man marked against Donegal."
If Cavan have better players than Monaghan then they wouldn't have zero medals at senior level in the past decade.

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 10/06/2017 16:17:44    1997603

Mc Manus doing some diving so far in this game!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 11/06/2017 14:24:55    1997888

Possibly the most bizarre statement ever uttered by a commentator.
Martin Carney informing viewers that Niel McAdam of Monaghan has got planning permission to live in Gareth Mckiernan of Cavan.
Jaysus above,If you know the right people you can get away with anything !

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 11/06/2017 14:45:26    1997892