Replying To neverright:  "When?"
1952 ?

Tim_NicebutDim (Monaghan) - Posts: 347 - 07/06/2017 23:53:31    1996738

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "He your club man?"
He's not from my club Dora.

RightFull (Monaghan) - Posts: 74 - 08/06/2017 07:22:12    1996748

Replying To Iamlegion666:  "He's not from my club, but this poster is definitely right, Cavan threw everything at us that day in Blayney and our manager still felt confident enough of not losing he was willing to take off one of our best players,"
That's some David Moyes logic there.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 08/06/2017 10:09:01    1996794

Replying To cavanman47:  "Mayo 51
Cavan 52"
High scoring game.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 08/06/2017 10:09:59    1996795

There's a lot of emphasis being put on league form as the reason Monaghan are strong favourites for Sunday. That's fair enough on face value but you can look at a bit different too.

v Dublin: Both lost
Head to head: A draw (that Cavan probably should have won)
v Tyrone: Both lost
v Donegal: Cavan lost, Monaghan draw (thanks to a dodgy injury time penalty)
v Mayo: Both won
v Kerry: Cavan draw, narrow Monaghan win (1 point swing)

So the real differences came down to Cavan tanking against Roscommon while Monaghan beat Roscommon like every other team in the Division did. We are not that far off when you look at it that way. If Cavan can avoid the nightmare 'Roscommon-type' performance then its there for them. Plus Monaghan hate the favourites tag...

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 08/06/2017 13:06:54    1996902

Replying To MadgeKing:  "There's a lot of emphasis being put on league form as the reason Monaghan are strong favourites for Sunday. That's fair enough on face value but you can look at a bit different too.

So the real differences came down to Cavan tanking against Roscommon while Monaghan beat Roscommon like every other team in the Division did. We are not that far off when you look at it that way. If Cavan can avoid the nightmare 'Roscommon-type' performance then its there for them. Plus Monaghan hate the favourites tag..."
And what exactly was dodgy about the penalty in the Donegal game?

turkeyplucker (UK) - Posts: 137 - 08/06/2017 13:30:19    1996911

Replying To MadgeKing:  "There's a lot of emphasis being put on league form as the reason Monaghan are strong favourites for Sunday. That's fair enough on face value but you can look at a bit different too.

So the real differences came down to Cavan tanking against Roscommon while Monaghan beat Roscommon like every other team in the Division did. We are not that far off when you look at it that way. If Cavan can avoid the nightmare 'Roscommon-type' performance then its there for them. Plus Monaghan hate the favourites tag..."
Sorry Madge King, but are you saying Cavan should have beaten Dublin?? Really?? I watched that game on TV and Dublin cruised to a win

Bermuda Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 106 - 08/06/2017 13:39:29    1996916

Replying To Bermuda Gael:  "Sorry Madge King, but are you saying Cavan should have beaten Dublin?? Really?? I watched that game on TV and Dublin cruised to a win"
Eh, where did I say that? Dublin deservedly beat Cavan. Dublin deservedly beat Monaghan.
That is all.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 08/06/2017 14:44:53    1996965

Ye well thats what you have to live with when your top 4 /6 team madge maybe when cavan start developing real forwards not journey men you will get there some day small discomfort when you know the opposition are poor but would love to beat us muineachain abu

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 08/06/2017 14:49:06    1996969

On a lighter note its great to see the Cavan/ Monaghan relations as good as always on this thread hahahahaha!!!! Sunday won't be the same without Dick will it!!!!!

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 08/06/2017 16:30:46    1997009

Replying To theweanling:  "On a lighter note its great to see the Cavan/ Monaghan relations as good as always on this thread hahahahaha!!!! Sunday won't be the same without Dick will it!!!!!"
The day that Cavan and Monaghan people aren't slagging each other off before a derby, is the day the game isn't worth playing.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 08/06/2017 18:31:50    1997056

Replying To patk:  "The day that Cavan and Monaghan people aren't slagging each other off before a derby, is the day the game isn't worth playing."
Cavan by 2. Mccarron is overrated for one thing and it will only take 2 players to mark himself and McManus Killian on conor and padraig on jack the so called "star"

Cavanlife (Cavan) - Posts: 54 - 08/06/2017 19:21:52    1997074

Replying To Cavanlife:  "Cavan by 2. Mccarron is overrated for one thing and it will only take 2 players to mark himself and McManus Killian on conor and padraig on jack the so called "star""
Padraig who?

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 08/06/2017 20:12:04    1997084

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Padraig who?"
Padraig o'cinneide.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2177 - 08/06/2017 20:28:32    1997088

i think Monaghan,s defenders with have there hands full with big G . Once its a good game and not like that display in Castleblaney but i think both teams will start off a bit defective and then they will go at each other!!

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 08/06/2017 20:34:51    1997090

Replying To Cavanlife:  "Cavan by 2. Mccarron is overrated for one thing and it will only take 2 players to mark himself and McManus Killian on conor and padraig on jack the so called "star""
Sounds like yous have it all figured out. We may as well start preparing for the qualifiers now.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 08/06/2017 20:47:57    1997092

Faulkner

Cavanlife (Cavan) - Posts: 54 - 08/06/2017 20:49:16    1997093

Killian who

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 08/06/2017 21:00:53    1997095

Didn't know you could be over rated when most people don't rate you as a top forward(yet) sounds like Cavan men are quite shook.

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 08/06/2017 21:31:40    1997109

Ah yes, Faulkner a class player. Completely dominated against McManus in blayney. I think Cavan would not have been relegated had he stayed fit.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 08/06/2017 22:08:07    1997126