Cavan V Monaghan

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "There is some tension building on here already. Lads are getting very tetchy and its still only Tuesday... quite something for an early season meeting of 2 supposed also-rans. Anyone looking in from outside must be wondering whats going on. (I hope none of you are on the 'Mike McGurns' or you might not make it to Friday...)
My sources over in Coill an Chollaigh tell me that big Argue will be the rabbit out of the hat on Sunday. McVeety is not going to make it; he will be sitting across from Darren Hughes who will not be risked for this one."
Your source is not good then as Argue left panel weeks ago.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 06/06/2017 19:58:56    1995951

Replying To patk:  "That's a strange take on things. Doogan had a fine league in Division 1 and is the type of player all teams need these days - a lad who will work all day up and down the pitch. The work the likes of he does allows the lads further up the pitch to take the scores and the headlines."
I dunno. .

Tyrone have Peter Harte doing it, Dublin Paul Flynn, Donegal Ryan McHugh, Kerry Donnacha Walsh, Mayo Kev McLaughlin. . .compare what else those players bring to the table and there's a reason why Monaghan are a level below (I don't mean that disrespectfully but if you name the favourites for Sam those teams are above monaghan)

A good footballer who will run all day is better than an athlete who will run all day.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5018 - 06/06/2017 20:59:47    1996010

Believe me cavan will get there fill of doogan before the game is over cavan will move 2 to 3 men on him

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 06/06/2017 21:18:50    1996036

Replying To cavanman47:  "I dunno. .

Tyrone have Peter Harte doing it, Dublin Paul Flynn, Donegal Ryan McHugh, Kerry Donnacha Walsh, Mayo Kev McLaughlin. . .compare what else those players bring to the table and there's a reason why Monaghan are a level below (I don't mean that disrespectfully but if you name the favourites for Sam those teams are above monaghan)

A good footballer who will run all day is better than an athlete who will run all day."
Again, this is a strange take on things. I don't know why you're focusing on Doogan in particular. Is championship success down to the quality of your half forward line alone? That's probably not our strongest area no, but then I'd say we have a stronger full forward line than the likes of Tyrone or Donegal.

These things even out over the pitch, and as far as those two teams are concerned I don't know why you're putting them on a pedastal above Monaghan. In my mind there's a clear top 3 and then a group below, and there's no Ulster team in that top 3.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 06/06/2017 22:03:19    1996073

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "There is some tension building on here already. Lads are getting very tetchy and its still only Tuesday... quite something for an early season meeting of 2 supposed also-rans. Anyone looking in from outside must be wondering whats going on. (I hope none of you are on the 'Mike McGurns' or you might not make it to Friday...)
My sources over in Coill an Chollaigh tell me that big Argue will be the rabbit out of the hat on Sunday. McVeety is not going to make it; he will be sitting across from Darren Hughes who will not be risked for this one."
Ha Ha your "sources" in Bailieborough are making a fool of you.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 07/06/2017 06:57:47    1996159

Replying To s goldrick:  "Ha Ha your "sources" in Bailieborough are making a fool of you."
Actually on the topic of Bailieborough, just finished Alan' O Mara's book there yesterday; very interesting read. He's no part in this years panel ?

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 07/06/2017 09:27:19    1996205

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "Actually on the topic of Bailieborough, just finished Alan' O Mara's book there yesterday; very interesting read. He's no part in this years panel ?"
He was at start but left during year.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 07/06/2017 09:43:44    1996228

This is a difficult one to call in some respects. from the get go i'd have said that cavan don't have a chance. maybe i should just keep saying that...... there's several different variables you could bring into this discussion. I suppose since 2015 not a whole pile has changed. Cavan game of the back of a pretty similar league campaign. they stayed up in division 2 but didn't impress anyone. Monaghan done their usual in division 1 and finished very well. On that game, Cavan played Argue FF on a visibly uncomfortable Wylie who was only delighted to have a big man in on him so he didn't have to move much. I always thought cavan missed a trick here... Monaghan had Clerkin, Gallogly and Walsh to bring on that day which really was the turning point. Owen Duffy played the role the last day against fermanagh and ended up with the MOTM award. Not to disrespect anyone but i believe that Fermanagh are a notch below Cavan and Duffy is a notch or two below Clerkin or Walsh in terms of impact. I'm also not fully convinced about the form of Mc Manus this year and anyway i think Cavan have a few good lads there that'll shackle both himself and Mc Carron.
Midfield is critical and Cavan have been blowing cold in this area. But i'd still put it as odds even. Defensively Monaghan are decent and tbf any defense that is decent won't have much fear of Cavan at the moment. Mc Veety will be a big loss here. All in all Monaghan look the best placed to win but its a local derby and that can often be worth several points either way. you'd imagine cavan should have that little bit more motivation considering they haven't beaten Monaghan in their last 3 outings.
It's hard to look past Monaghan but i'll say Cavan because why not!!!

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 07/06/2017 10:10:55    1996247

Replying To cavanman47:  "I dunno. .

A good footballer who will run all day is better than an athlete who will run all day."
I have yet to be convinced that Tyrone and Donegal are ahead of Monaghan at the moment. All teams had similar league performances. There are weak points and strong points in all of them.

Doogan is a footballer and athlete. He can have off days but on the most part he is a fine ball player. Hopefully you get to see that on Sunday for yourself!

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 07/06/2017 14:24:48    1996476

Replying To seanfinn:  "I have yet to be convinced that Tyrone and Donegal are ahead of Monaghan at the moment. All teams had similar league performances. There are weak points and strong points in all of them.

Doogan is a footballer and athlete. He can have off days but on the most part he is a fine ball player. Hopefully you get to see that on Sunday for yourself!"
I think both are but not by a whole lot.
Tyrone are a C/ship team and always were since Mickey took over.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 07/06/2017 15:00:13    1996506

Cavanman47, judging by his username alone, is still hanging on to ancient past Breffni glories to find some solace! Those days are so long ago that even Mayo's last All Ireland is more recent than that!
He's obviously trying to be a wind-up merchant disrespecting G Doogan's ability. As someone mentioned already, he'll be absolutely sick of the sight of Doogan by the time Sunday is over. A class, intelligent player and has been for many years now.
But what really makes me laugh is the '47-Man talking about Monaghan's failure to move on to the next level! Cavan have won an Ulster minor and 4 U21s in the last 7 years and haven't looked remotely like reaching a senior final in all that time. Moving on to the next level!!.....Give me a break!

RightFull (Monaghan) - Posts: 74 - 07/06/2017 18:05:47    1996603

Replying To RightFull:  "Cavanman47, judging by his username alone, is still hanging on to ancient past Breffni glories to find some solace! Those days are so long ago that even Mayo's last All Ireland is more recent than that!
He's obviously trying to be a wind-up merchant disrespecting G Doogan's ability. As someone mentioned already, he'll be absolutely sick of the sight of Doogan by the time Sunday is over. A class, intelligent player and has been for many years now.
But what really makes me laugh is the '47-Man talking about Monaghan's failure to move on to the next level! Cavan have won an Ulster minor and 4 U21s in the last 7 years and haven't looked remotely like reaching a senior final in all that time. Moving on to the next level!!.....Give me a break!"
I'm friends with plenty of Monagahan lads who aren't convinced by him either. Also your manager took him of in the league so he mustn't be convinced either.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 07/06/2017 18:34:12    1996615

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "I'm friends with plenty of Monagahan lads who aren't convinced by him either. Also your manager took him of in the league so he mustn't be convinced either."
Monaghan fans haven't seen enough of Doogan the last few years with injury etc. He was probably our most consistent player over the seven league games. Actually had a decent game in Blayney too. Came off with 5 to go when Malachy was trying something different up front to try and win it. Cavan should be more concerned with the lack of punch in their own attack than having to mentioning any of our forwards!

RightFull (Monaghan) - Posts: 74 - 07/06/2017 20:31:18    1996659

Replying To RightFull:  "Cavanman47, judging by his username alone, is still hanging on to ancient past Breffni glories to find some solace! Those days are so long ago that even Mayo's last All Ireland is more recent than that!
But what really makes me laugh is the '47-Man talking about Monaghan's failure to move on to the next level! Cavan have won an Ulster minor and 4 U21s in the last 7 years and haven't looked remotely like reaching a senior final in all that time. Moving on to the next level!!.....Give me a break!"
just to educate you, Cavan have won an All-ireland since Mayo's last win.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 07/06/2017 20:38:01    1996663

Replying To s goldrick:  "just to educate you, Cavan have won an All-ireland since Mayo's last win."
No problem S Goldrick. I stand corrected. :) My stats from back then might be a bit hazy as I only started going to matches myself 30 years later. In the early 80's!

RightFull (Monaghan) - Posts: 74 - 07/06/2017 20:49:40    1996668

Replying To RightFull:  "Monaghan fans haven't seen enough of Doogan the last few years with injury etc. He was probably our most consistent player over the seven league games. Actually had a decent game in Blayney too. Came off with 5 to go when Malachy was trying something different up front to try and win it. Cavan should be more concerned with the lack of punch in their own attack than having to mentioning any of our forwards!"
He your club man?

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 07/06/2017 21:47:22    1996690

Replying To s goldrick:  "just to educate you, Cavan have won an All-ireland since Mayo's last win."
When?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 07/06/2017 22:59:12    1996718

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "He your club man?"
He's not from my club, but this poster is definitely right, Cavan threw everything at us that day in Blayney and our manager still felt confident enough of not losing he was willing to take off one of our best players,

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 07/06/2017 23:03:07    1996720

We haven't made the step-up. . I won't deny that for a second. Ulster is a competitive province and we've lost to the winners by a point twice and after a replay over the past 4 years.

But you can't claim that Monaghan have either! You can't win big games in croker and for a 'top 6' team that should be happening.

I wasn't having a go at Monaghan but a few of ye seem to have taken it that way! If anything I was offering constructive criticism. I've been to plenty of Monaghan games over the past few years as one of my best mates is a Monaghan man. He would share my opinion on Doogan.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5018 - 07/06/2017 23:33:44    1996731

Replying To neverright:  "When?"
Mayo 51
Cavan 52

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5018 - 07/06/2017 23:34:17    1996732