Reasons To Ban Blanket Defence

Replying To oakleafersir:  "I was at the Derry vs Tyrone on Sunday and the minor match was close to great, it was mainly attacking football with man on man of course there was a small bit of defensive football but it was nothing major, it was an enjoyable game to watch and the people there were hooked in the last 10 minutes. Then after that a very boring defensive Senior match. I was talking to a Cavan lad today who was at the Cavan vs Monaghan minor match yesterday and he said it was brilliant match with a lot of man on man marking and great attacking football, I also did read a few articles of it this morning and it did seem a great match, there is also some praise about it on a few posts today. Also in Donegal vs Antrim minors match it was apparently ten times better than the senior match, I also read a few articles about it as well and it did seem very entertaining. And there is also a good few positive posts about it as well. So in a way its good that people are enjoying the minors as they do deserve more recognition than they get but unfortunately Senior matches have gone bad. The league final between Dublin and Kerry was one of the best matches in years because they were playing attacking man on man football and yes sadly there was still some defensive football. So if there is any way for people to enjoy football again is get rid of defensive football. There must be a way or a rule to make to prevent blanket defence. It would be different ballgame if there no such thing of blanket defence, people would enjoy football again and there would be much more players looking to play county again. And last but not least it would be a much more competitive sport with much better teams. The likes of Derry, Armagh , Rosscommon, Cork, Clare, Meath, Kildare, Louth, Cavan and Armagh etc.etc. would all benefit and be much better teams and get further in the league and championship, maybe the top teams like Kerry, Mayo, Dublin, Tyrone and Donegal might not be the top teams if there was no defensive football although they would still probably be great teams. I don't understand why Galway, Monaghan, Meath and Kildare etc.etc decide to play defensive because they have some of the best forwards in the country. Attendances would go up because of more entertaining matches, with a much better atmosphere, the GAA would make much more money if so. Kids would be more happy and encouraged to play football. The sport would of course get more recognition. So all I am saying is get a rule quickly to ban blanket defence please!!!"
You post about blanket defences and you use the Tyrone game last Sunday and the Donegal game the week before as references to back up your point. Tyrone scored 22 points and Donegal scored 3-19 and were only in 3rd gear. Worst blanket defences I have ever heard of. The game is just fine the way it is. Teams are beating blanket defences and the game will keep evolving.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7908 - 30/05/2017 15:29:31    1992256

.seen and heard it all before.always hated the blanket defense set up.cant understand how people pay to watch it.no matter how much you love your county people' if you hate seeing your team playing like this boycott it...simple as..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 30/05/2017 19:18:29    1992354

How about have a rule where a forward can't go back inside his own half of the field unless he is in possession of the ball?

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 30/05/2017 20:45:48    1992388

Replying To Whammo86:  "I think the blanket defence's days are numbered.

Ulster teams are losing ground on the rest of the pack. It's a matter of time before they realise it.

Tyrone look like they'll persist with their mass defence but Donegal and Monaghan seem to be moving toward a better style of play.

It's been found out especially in Croke Park.

Tyrone's defence wasn't even particularly good. When Derry ran at them they caused problems. The ref for me gave Tyrone more of the marginal calls. Very hard to see this Tyrone team cope with the runners Dublin commit to their attack. Mickey Harte going could signal the end of this particular era."
I think you're right. Ulster football is losing ground on Dublin, Kerry, Mayo etc and it's crap to watch as well. It's become stop the opposition at all costs at the expense of skill and scoring. I used to REALLY look forward to the Championship but in all honesty I can take or leave it now. The Canavans, O'Neills, McGuigans, McDonnells, McConvilles, Clarke's, Marsdens etc are just a memory now while Croke Park's obsession with Dublin at the expense of others is also a major contribution to the current apathy and disinterest.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 30/05/2017 21:07:25    1992395

Replying To Ulsterman:  "I think you're right. Ulster football is losing ground on Dublin, Kerry, Mayo etc and it's crap to watch as well. It's become stop the opposition at all costs at the expense of skill and scoring. I used to REALLY look forward to the Championship but in all honesty I can take or leave it now. The Canavans, O'Neills, McGuigans, McDonnells, McConvilles, Clarke's, Marsdens etc are just a memory now while Croke Park's obsession with Dublin at the expense of others is also a major contribution to the current apathy and disinterest."
That's probably one of you're best posts on here since the last 40 years..fair play

Mickey Harte and Jim Mcguinness always said they were not in the business of entertainment..But when they were young lads they fell in love with the game because it was entertaining ! If Mickey Harte was a young lad now looking at Tyrone last Sunday i am sure that young Mickey Harte would end up playing cricket or a manger of a beach volleyball team ..

Blanket defence football is cancer !

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 30/05/2017 21:39:25    1992410

Replying To Killarney.87:  "How about have a rule where a forward can't go back inside his own half of the field unless he is in possession of the ball?"
I couldn't see this working. Unless you were to also stop the other team's backs from crossing into the opposite half, then you could end up with the team in possession having a 3 or 4 man advantage. There would be ridiculous overlaps created.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2053 - 30/05/2017 22:21:17    1992431

Replying To Ulsterman:  "I think you're right. Ulster football is losing ground on Dublin, Kerry, Mayo etc and it's crap to watch as well. It's become stop the opposition at all costs at the expense of skill and scoring. I used to REALLY look forward to the Championship but in all honesty I can take or leave it now. The Canavans, O'Neills, McGuigans, McDonnells, McConvilles, Clarke's, Marsdens etc are just a memory now while Croke Park's obsession with Dublin at the expense of others is also a major contribution to the current apathy and disinterest."
It was when them lads were playing that the blanket defence came about!

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 30/05/2017 22:58:30    1992449

Replying To GGdub:  ".seen and heard it all before.always hated the blanket defense set up.cant understand how people pay to watch it.no matter how much you love your county people' if you hate seeing your team playing like this boycott it...simple as.."
Do you boycott dublin games so?

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 30/05/2017 22:59:18    1992450

Replying To Killarney.87:  "How about have a rule where a forward can't go back inside his own half of the field unless he is in possession of the ball?"
Many down the pub?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7908 - 30/05/2017 23:19:51    1992458

Replying To GGdub:  ".seen and heard it all before.always hated the blanket defense set up.cant understand how people pay to watch it.no matter how much you love your county people' if you hate seeing your team playing like this boycott it...simple as.."
I'll take it you dont go to dublin games then? The rule book according to spillane etc when it comes to playing blanket defence is exactly the system the dubs have.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 30/05/2017 23:37:48    1992462

It's like trying to stop the tide. Personally, I've no problem with teams playing any which way. It would make football less free flowing. Besides, the Two most attack minded teams are Dublin and Kerry, have won every national title since 2012. As a galway fan, we have much more success when we go for it, and that'll be our best chance of national silverware in the coming years.

galwaydublin (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 31/05/2017 06:21:00    1992480

Replying To galwaydublin:  "It's like trying to stop the tide. Personally, I've no problem with teams playing any which way. It would make football less free flowing. Besides, the Two most attack minded teams are Dublin and Kerry, have won every national title since 2012. As a galway fan, we have much more success when we go for it, and that'll be our best chance of national silverware in the coming years."
2012 all ireland winners were Donegal. Kerry and Dublin are not attacking sides and will regularly have 13 outfield players in their own half.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 31/05/2017 11:42:51    1992578

Replying To gotmilk:  "2012 all ireland winners were Donegal. Kerry and Dublin are not attacking sides and will regularly have 13 outfield players in their own half."
But the media say they're attacking so they must be!

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 31/05/2017 12:18:55    1992590

Its sad when people take against something and then are led by the hand by a media with self interest at heart the old ban this that and the rest comes in. It smacks of Father Ted, ' Down with this sort of thing!!!' ...................'Careful now.'

For what its worth the GAA's ban on cynical play is working a treat ; ), ban on collective training that worked didn't it, the ban on foreign games went with a few shillings, ban on managers being paid. We dont do bans.

I'm not the biggest fan of some other sports, soccer would bore the backside of me, but banning it, I think they'd have the padded cell ready for me. The blanket is a misnomer and has been for years, successful teams these days are counter attacking, some teams are just really rubbish at the attacking piece hence the negativity, the Ireland rugby team wins a game against England and it is a fantastic defensive effort, the soccer team drew with the Italians last year, rearguard action and that kind of nonesence.

Dublin and Kerry have made hay over the last few years, do they see anything fundamentally wrong with football, I'd guess not. To win a game you still have to score more than the other team, restricting their scores is all well and good if you cant then go and get the scores you need you're in a bit of trouble, banning a blanket defence isn't going to make 20+ counties better at scoring.

duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts: 175 - 31/05/2017 12:59:03    1992600

Replying To WanPintWin:  "I couldn't see this working. Unless you were to also stop the other team's backs from crossing into the opposite half, then you could end up with the team in possession having a 3 or 4 man advantage. There would be ridiculous overlaps created."
Yeah that's the problem with it, you'd have to stop backs crossing into the opposition half too which would take so much from the game.

The problem is being created by having 5 forwards behind the ball.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 31/05/2017 13:04:43    1992602

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Many down the pub?"
I was hesitant to add that you would have to stop backs crossing into the other half too.

I think we need an offside rule. HQ wouldn't go for it cos it's too much like soccer, even though other sports have an offside rule too.

So there you go, have an offside rule. What would you suggest yourself?

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 31/05/2017 13:06:51    1992603

Replying To gotmilk:  "2012 all ireland winners were Donegal. Kerry and Dublin are not attacking sides and will regularly have 13 outfield players in their own half."
Dublin & Kerry are attacking sides. It is not about men behind the ball it is about committing when u attack and they both fully commit when they attach.

Donegal won playing very negative stuff but they are the exception. Generally the defensive stuff will make u competitive but not bring u all the way.

Some Dublin player suggested 2 points for a score outside the 45. this would encourage teams to push out a bit more leaving a little more space inside. I haven't thought it through but at least it is different. Might work.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1837 - 31/05/2017 13:15:36    1992606

While I don't agree with your proposal, i would love to watch one game where it was in force. It would be hilarious! There would be a 9000% increase on rugby style diving tackles on the half way line!

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 31/05/2017 13:17:17    1992609

Replying To Killarney.87:  "I was hesitant to add that you would have to stop backs crossing into the other half too.

I think we need an offside rule. HQ wouldn't go for it cos it's too much like soccer, even though other sports have an offside rule too.

So there you go, have an offside rule. What would you suggest yourself?"
Lol are you serious? I wouldn't suggest anything, there is nothing wrong with the game. Record league attendances and scoring averages up. Are all the people attending our games going because they don't like what they are watching. The standard of our games has increased rapidly over the last 20 years. The only problem with the game is the growing gap in class between the top 7 or 8 and the rest. Poor teams setting up defensively to keep the score down is a worrying issue. Not the standard overall.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7908 - 31/05/2017 13:54:59    1992631

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "While I don't agree with your proposal, i would love to watch one game where it was in force. It would be hilarious! There would be a 9000% increase on rugby style diving tackles on the half way line!"
Its not a straightforward puzzle to solve. You need some sort of offside rule or line where backs or forwards can't operate beyond.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 31/05/2017 14:02:14    1992636