A plea to Parnell Park

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "
Replying To ziggy32001:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "honestly think it was because dublin were not involved or it was too big for them been a champ game.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts:7731 - 28/05/2017 12:07:34

I wouldn't say it was anything to do with it being a non Dublin game or even it being a Championship game. I mean they get enough sell outs there where they haven't had these issues.

Possibly as Royaldunne said they were caught on the hop nor expecting a sell out or something. Which is fairly stupid if we're honest.

I don't see why they are bringing Louth and Meath into Donnycarney in anyways as it is an awkward spot but then again it is hard to understand anything the Leinster Council do in terms of venue selection as we've seen with the Dublin footballers!

The problem with PP for sell outs is that everyone has to enter the ground on the one side but normally the gates would be open fairly early. I've been in the ground well over an hour before it starts for example.

Obviously they messed up last year and need to ensure that doesn't happen again, if it does then no more championship games should be scheduled there in my opinion. They are well able to handle the full house so it is disappointing that they didn't handle it at all.

Hopefully they do better this year but it's an unsuitable location for a game between Meath and Louth imo. Parking must be a nightmare, it's bad enough with Dublin hurling games, or club championships, for parking when full but a lot of people would be walking/using public transport for those occasions so I can only imagine the chaos trying to get in and out for Louth/Meath fans."
personally i find it a pain in the arse,as you say location is terrible and generally you don't get that championship feel from it to be honest."
It is my favorite stadium in Ireland if I am honest.
Especially when it is full or near full and under floodlights Dublin matches/Club games.
I always make sure to get there about 45 minutes before throw in and it is grand.
I was at a game between Louth and Wicklow a few years ago and it was great as a neutral.
There was a big crowd at it and it all went off without a hitch.
I always come prepared with water and maybe sambos ( I would have thought our travelling country cousins are used to being suitably prepared?)

I hope that any issues RoyalDunne experience will not occur again, and he can enjoy a game in comfort in the home of football."]Id associate croke park as the home of football, but that's a side issue.
It is not only for me and my family, it is for all patrons. Honestly to the man woman and child from Meath and Louth everyone was annoyed by what happened last year, a few not bringing children this year. As was pointed out pp are well used to sell outs , for some reason everything went astray for this last year, all we ask is that those mistakes are learned from and rectified, no one wants to pit anyone's safety at risk, and that is certainly true for pp as it would destroy them going forward, it was a situation that occurred, that should not have. I am confident it will not happen again and hopefully the highlighting of it may make other grounds just double check that all ducks are in a row and prevent this happening again at any ground, All anyone can be thankful is that no one was seriously injured.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/05/2017 11:54:13    1992110

Royaldunne
Why haven't you told us the reason Parnell park gave for the gates not been open when you contacted them?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 30/05/2017 11:58:53    1992116

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Hahahahahahaha
All this from a Meath man who regularly visits the dinosaur that is pairc tailteann.
seriously you should have been at the Dublin club final between plunketts and vincents couple years ago that was Parnell park packed to the rafters literally standing in the stand no room on the path at side terrace yet nobody had any problems it went off smoothly. Didn't realise the meathers were that soft these days, make sure you bring the hand sanitizer the bars might not be swept since Louth v Wicklow haha
oh maybe an idea bring a bottle of water with you before you go the ground haha
come on man Parnell is similiar to most county grounds of its size. Louth and Meath both have run down grounds for home venues surely of all counties ye shouldn't be overly fussed at facilities at this stage."
Wow. While I agree this isn't the place for RD's original post and he should have sent it direct to Parnell Park, laughing at kid's safety is beyond pathetic. Don't know why I'm surprised given some of the stuff I've read from you here.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 30/05/2017 12:06:57    1992124

Dubs shouldn't be getting so defensive about parnell park.....their home ground is croke park which is a lovely stadium and a credit to them and their county board. This thread shouldn't be dragging out this long.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 30/05/2017 12:08:05    1992126

Replying To waynoI:  "a long winded plea that is about as much use as suncream in the north pole."
You most definitely need sun cream in the North Pole. Bad comparison.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 30/05/2017 12:08:39    1992127

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Royaldunne
Why haven't you told us the reason Parnell park gave for the gates not been open when you contacted them?"
I thought I had explained that. Last year
The response was to say they were looking into it, and they apologised for what happened, they also stated that they were aware of issues regarding the late opening of grounds. But did not specify exactly what those issues were.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/05/2017 13:07:57    1992167

Replying To hill16no1man:  "
Replying To ormondbannerman:  "You wrote a journal of things you want done and had problems with in your opening post though so you can't pull the you didn't read it right.
ok you wrote to Parnell office and what was their answer to the gates not being opened? It's not usual for Parnell park all the times I have played or gone as supporter have never witnesed that so would have to have been a reason.
Of course nobody wants crushes at games so cannot understand why that would be.but you seem to be making a meal of it literally with a litany of things from upset at craobh chirann clubhouse having a function on to the shop running out of water to the stand seats been filled without seat numbers.
I was at a league final when we beat Derry in 2014 and they only had the middle of the hill open and it was well overfull with the steps filled with people the whole way down,people were squashed heard people next to me pleading with gardai to get them to open another section as section a and the nally were empty but they just said its not up to us
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:12030 - 27/05/2017 19:14:09
But hill how is the OP making a meal of things? If anyone's making a meal of it its you. If what OP said is true then stadium management need to completely change their policies and improve their services within the ground for supporters."
I never said he was Making anything up what I said was I go there and play there throughout the whole year and I have never encountered anything like that.
so I'm asking what they said was the reason when he mailed.
he's making a meal out of things like a function being on in craobh clubhouse and doesn't want that to be allowed this year haha that's silly now.
Also about shop running out of water all you have to do is being your own before you go like"
U might not have encountered it but Meath and louth supporters did.it was a disgrace.it's just a kip.end of.

Kc77 (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 30/05/2017 13:37:04    1992178

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Fairy house rent out their facilities to the Meath gaa on the Easter festival day when they get their biggest crowds of the year the same thing as croabh chirann renting out their facilities for a function on the same day as a big crowd in the neller next door. It prevents people from using that facility who arent part of the meath gaa function, which causes bigger quewes at the other bar.
hope that clears it up for you haha"
Class.oersume that's a wind up.you good for a laugh lol

Kc77 (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 30/05/2017 13:40:22    1992181

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Fairy house rent out their facilities to the Meath gaa on the Easter festival day when they get their biggest crowds of the year the same thing as croabh chirann renting out their facilities for a function on the same day as a big crowd in the neller next door. It prevents people from using that facility who arent part of the meath gaa function, which causes bigger quewes at the other bar.
hope that clears it up for you haha"
Fairyhouse has numerous corporate facilities within its structures as normal and believe me when I say that allowing companies or organisations use its facilities for race days does not cause delays or queues elsewhere as unlike Craobh Chiaran or Parnell Park the racecourse at Fairyhouse has developed significantly to the point where it has the space and capacity to deal with regular and corporate customers simultaneously with no issue so I fear your comparison proves nothing really

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 30/05/2017 13:45:10    1992185

Replying To GaaGaa78:  "Wow. While I agree this isn't the place for RD's original post and he should have sent it direct to Parnell Park, laughing at kid's safety is beyond pathetic. Don't know why I'm surprised given some of the stuff I've read from you here."
Where did I laugh at a child's safety.
You have problems interpreting a post if you came to that conclusion or your just trying to twist something to suit your view

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 30/05/2017 16:25:15    1992284

Replying To royaldunne:  "I thought I had explained that. Last year
The response was to say they were looking into it, and they apologised for what happened, they also stated that they were aware of issues regarding the late opening of grounds. But did not specify exactly what those issues were."
If they were going to look into it then maybe its the leinater council you should be looking to for reasons as it's under their auspicious and that's probably who Parnell were going to contact to look into it.
side note tesco are doing two litre bottles of riverrock water half price this week, a good deal for you to invest in me thinks hahahaha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 30/05/2017 16:31:34    1992288

Replying To hill16no1man:  "If they were going to look into it then maybe its the leinater council you should be looking to for reasons as it's under their auspicious and that's probably who Parnell were going to contact to look into it.
side note tesco are doing two litre bottles of riverrock water half price this week, a good deal for you to invest in me thinks hahahaha"
If Parnell does its job there's no need for Tesco.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/05/2017 17:31:56    1992316

Replying To royaldunne:  "If Parnell does its job there's no need for Tesco."
Don't mind him RD, I wonder would he be so carefree and head to Tesco himself if they suddenly ran out of water at the back of Hill 16, I doubt it somehow. You see our friend here is an institutionalised supporter, unable to appreciate a world outside of Croke Park, who feels he has the right and ability to dictate to us country bumpkins who have the nerve to highlight faults and failings with the sacred 'Neller despite the fact that he probably hardly sets foot in it, and feels the need to use a laugh as an exclamation point at the end of each post to help him feel good about himself and also to help him believe the tripe he's spouting. Don't worry RD we won't have to experience places like Parnell much longer when we have our own shiny new stadium we can call our own in Pairc Tailteann selling an abundance of fresh water and high quality gourmet ham sandwiches accompanied by that greatest of Meath condiments......Dijon mustard, we won't have to worry about christenings in Donnycarney then or having to die of thirst, we can enjoy a match in nice surroundings and if the Dubs come to visit we will make sure they get a warm hospitable welcome.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 30/05/2017 19:46:49    1992365

Replying To Richieq:  "Don't mind him RD, I wonder would he be so carefree and head to Tesco himself if they suddenly ran out of water at the back of Hill 16, I doubt it somehow. You see our friend here is an institutionalised supporter, unable to appreciate a world outside of Croke Park, who feels he has the right and ability to dictate to us country bumpkins who have the nerve to highlight faults and failings with the sacred 'Neller despite the fact that he probably hardly sets foot in it, and feels the need to use a laugh as an exclamation point at the end of each post to help him feel good about himself and also to help him believe the tripe he's spouting. Don't worry RD we won't have to experience places like Parnell much longer when we have our own shiny new stadium we can call our own in Pairc Tailteann selling an abundance of fresh water and high quality gourmet ham sandwiches accompanied by that greatest of Meath condiments......Dijon mustard, we won't have to worry about christenings in Donnycarney then or having to die of thirst, we can enjoy a match in nice surroundings and if the Dubs come to visit we will make sure they get a warm hospitable welcome."
Amen brother

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/05/2017 19:55:08    1992366

Bahahahahahaha
Buy water at hill16 I come prepared my royal friend, buy before you go easy.
typical Meath men fail to prepare
prepare to fail and if your bringing kids surely you should have food and drink and not rely on rubbish in grounds.
Oh how little you know as i go to all Dublin games length and breath of this island so yeah I can't see anything outside croker your spot on there haha.
You jump to assumptions something terrible my friend now quite funnily suggesting I don't go to Parnell park I think a simple look at the Dublin forum would solve that for you as i follow and play club football and report on games, very silly again from you.
Oh Dijon mustard is French perhaps your the one needs to leave the homeland and get accustomed hahahahaha
I also love how you whinged that dublin should be made play in Cullen park despite the obvious problems that venue would incure with not being able to fulfil ticket scheme policies but are quick on the draw here to pull the owl safety issues you couldn't make it up pal.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 30/05/2017 20:34:04    1992378

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Bahahahahahaha
prepare to fail and if your bringing kids surely you should have food and drink and not rely on rubbish in grounds.
Oh how little you know as i go to all Dublin games length and breath of this island so yeah I can't see anything outside croker your spot on there haha.
You jump to assumptions something terrible my friend now quite funnily suggesting I don't go to Parnell park I think a simple look at the Dublin forum would solve that for you as i follow and play club football and report on games, very silly again from you.
Oh Dijon mustard is French perhaps your the one needs to leave the homeland and get accustomed hahahahaha
I also love how you whinged that dublin should be made play in Cullen park despite the obvious problems that venue would incure with not being able to fulfil ticket scheme policies but are quick on the draw here to pull the owl safety issues you couldn't make it up pal."
You're embarrassing yourself now. Quit while you're behind.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 30/05/2017 20:39:08    1992382

Replying To GaaGaa78:  "You're embarrassing yourself now. Quit while you're behind."
Why would I do that because you say so hahahahaha your too funny embarrasing that's not something I worry about pal, water and ducks backs

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 30/05/2017 20:44:42    1992386

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Bahahahahahaha
I also love how you whinged that dublin should be made play in Cullen park despite the obvious problems that venue would incure with not being able to fulfil ticket scheme policies but are quick on the draw here to pull the owl safety issues you couldn't make it up pal."
Someone take his shovel away

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 30/05/2017 20:45:21    1992387

Replying To seadog54:  "Someone take his shovel away"
No leave it with him, I tried to give him a out a couple of days ago, he didn't take it. Also he just refers time and again to the water and clubhouse situation, and has never said that to allow crushing where children and elderly people were. He hasn't once said that was wrong. Watch he still wont.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/05/2017 21:45:19    1992412

Replying To GaaGaa78:  "You're embarrassing yourself now. Quit while you're behind."
He wont though. Its like watching a train wreck in slow motion,
Hill be the bigger person here, just say you misunderstood my original post, no one wants to see patrons put in danger of been crushed. Say i hope it doesn't happen again, And move on

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/05/2017 21:49:27    1992415